Summary
Applicant’s arguments and claim amendments submitted June 30, 2026 have been entered into the file. Currently, claims 1 and 2 are amended and claims 1-5 are pending for examination.
Claim Interpretation
It is noted that the phrases “constituted of” (pg. 9 line 22) and “constituted solely of” (pg. 12 line 11) are both used in the instant specification. In light of the instant specification, “constituted of” is interpreted as open language (e.g., including, comprising), where additional components/elements may be included, and “constituted solely of” is interpreted as closed language (e.g. consisting of), where additional components/elements are excluded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamaoka (US 2021/0234221 A1) in view of Ikeda (JP 2013125650 A, English Translation used for citations).
It is noted that Applicant’s amendments to claim 1 necessitated an alternative interpretation of the Hamaoka reference.
Regarding claim 1, Hamaoka teaches a power storage module (Hamaoka Fig. 7) comprising:
a plurality of bipolar electrodes stacked on top of one another (34, Hamaoka Fig. 7);
an outermost positive electrode located on one outer side of a set of the plurality of bipolar electrodes in a stacking direction of the plurality of bipolar electrodes (39 and 45, Hamaoka Fig. 7);
an outermost negative electrode located on the other outer side of the set of the plurality of bipolar electrodes in the stacking direction (38 and 44, Hamaoka Fig. 7);
a first sealing part that seals a first outer region (41, annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below), the first outer region being formed between the outermost positive electrode (39) and a bipolar electrode among the plurality of bipolar electrodes facing the outermost positive electrode (34) (Hamaoka Fig. 7);
a second sealing part that seals a second outer region (41, annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below), the second outer region being formed between the outermost negative electrode (38) and a bipolar electrode among the plurality of bipolar electrodes facing the outermost negative electrode (34) (Hamaoka Fig. 7);
an inner sealing part that seals an inner region (41, annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below), the inner region being formed between a pair of the bipolar electrodes that are adjacent to each other in the stacking direction (region between bipolar electrodes 34, Hamaoka Fig. 7);
a first insulating member that insulates the outermost positive electrode from the bipolar electrode among the plurality of bipolar electrodes facing the outermost positive electrode (33, annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below);
a second insulating member that insulates the outermost negative electrode from the bipolar electrode among the plurality of bipolar electrodes facing the outermost negative electrode (33, annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below); and
an inner insulating member that insulates a pair of the bipolar electrodes that are adjacent to each other in the stacking direction, from one another, (33, annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below)
where each of the bipolar electrodes of the plurality of bipolar electrodes has:
a current collector (35, Hamaoka Fig. 7) including a positive electrode current-collecting foil (surface of 35 facing the positive electrode) and a negative electrode current-collecting foil (surface of 35 facing the negative electrode);
a positive electrode active material layer provided on the positive electrode current-collecting foil of the current collector (36, Hamaoka Fig. 7); and
a negative electrode active material layer provided on the negative electrode current-collecting foil of the current collector (37, Hamaoka Fig. 7),
the outermost positive electrode (39) has:
a positive electrode current-collecting foil (35 and 45, Hamaoka Fig. 7);
and a positive electrode active material layer provided on the positive electrode current-collecting foil (36, Hamaoka Fig. 7),
the outermost negative electrode has:
a negative electrode current-collecting foil (35 and 44, Hamaoka Fig. 7); and
a negative electrode active material layer provided on the negative electrode current-collecting foil (37, Hamaoka Fig. 7),
at each of a periphery of the positive electrode current-collecting foil of the current collector and a periphery of the positive electrode current-collecting foil of the outermost positive electrode, a positive-electrode-free portion that is not covered with the positive electrode active material layer is formed (Hamaoka Fig. 7, positive electrode active material layer 36 is not covering the entire surface of the positive electrode current-collecting foil of the current collector or the positive electrode current-collecting foil, annotated Fig. 7 shown below),
at each of a periphery of the negative electrode current-collecting foil of the current collector and a periphery of the negative electrode current-collecting foil of the outermost negative electrode, a negative-electrode-free portion that faces the positive-electrode-free portion in the stacking direction and that is not covered with the negative electrode active material layer is formed (Hamaoka Fig. 7, negative electrode active material layer 37 is not covering the entire surface of the negative electrode current collecting foil of the current collector or the negative electrode current-collecting foil, annotated Fig. 7 shown below),
a region between the positive-electrode-free portion of the outermost positive electrode and the negative-electrode-free portion facing the positive-electrode-free portion of the outermost positive electrode constitutes the first outer region (Hamaoka Fig. 7),
a region between the negative-electrode-free portion of the outermost negative electrode and the positive-electrode-free portion facing the negative-electrode-free portion of the outermost negative electrode constitutes the second outer region (Hamaoka Fig. 7),
a region between a pair of the bipolar electrodes that are adjacent to each other, specifically between the positive-electrode-free portion and the negative-electrode-free portion facing each other in the stacking direction, constitutes the inner region (Hamaoka Fig. 7),
the first insulating member includes a first outer insulating part located in the first outer region (annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below),
the second insulating member includes a second outer insulating part located in the second outer region (annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below),
the inner insulating member includes an inner insulating part located in the inner region (annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below),
each of a thickness of the first outer insulating part and a thickness of the second outer insulating part is more than a thickness of the inner insulating part (annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below).
the positive-electrode-free portion of the outermost positive electrode and the negative-electrode-free portion of the outermost negative electrode are deformed inwardly in the stacking direction (annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below)
Hamaoka does not explicitly teach the pressure of the first outer region, the second outer region, and the inner region being below atmospheric pressure.
However, Hamaoka teaches that the power storage module “may have a pressure adjusting valve configured to adjust a pressure of the internal space” (Hamaoka [10]).
Ikeda teaches a method for manufacturing a power storage module comprising the step of sealing a case containing a positive electrode, negative electrode, and electrolyte while creating a negative pressure in the case (Ikeda [20]). Since Ikeda teaches that it is suitable for the pressure inside a power storage module to be a negative pressure (less than atmospheric), it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the power storage module of Hamaoka having a pressure lower than atmospheric pressure in the first outer region, the second outer region, and the inner region, in order to obtain the predictable solution of a sealed power storage module suitable for a desired application.
Additionally, there are only three options for the pressure of the first outer region, the second outer region, and the inner region: a pressure lower than atmospheric pressure, a pressure equal to atmospheric pressure, or a pressure higher than atmospheric pressure. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select a pressure value from one of these three options, including a pressure less than atmospheric, in order to obtain a power storage module suitable for a desired application.
Regarding claim 2, Hamaoka in view of Ikeda teaches all features of claim 1, as described above. Modified Hamaoka further teaches:
the first insulating member includes a first separator that is interposed between the outermost positive electrode and the bipolar electrode among the plurality of bipolar electrodes facing the outermost positive electrode (annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below),
the first separator has:
a first interposed part that is interposed between the positive electrode active material layer of the outermost positive electrode and the negative electrode active material layer of the bipolar electrode (annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below);
and a first peripheral part that is connected with the first interposed part and located in the first outer region (annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below),
the first outer insulating part has:
the first peripheral part (annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below);
and a first insulating film that is a separate member from the first separator and that is located in the first outer region (annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below),
the second insulating member includes a second separator that is interposed between the outermost negative electrode and the bipolar electrode among the plurality of bipolar electrodes facing the outermost negative electrode, the second separator having the same thickness as the first separator (annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below),
the second separator has:
a second interposed part that is interposed between the negative electrode active material layer of the outermost negative electrode and the positive electrode active material layer of the bipolar electrode (annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below);
and a second peripheral part that is connected with the second interposed part and located in the second outer region (annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below),
the second outer insulating part has:
the second peripheral part (annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below);
and a second insulating film that is a separate member from the second separator and that is located in the second outer region (annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below),
the inner insulating member includes an inner separator that is interposed between a pair of the bipolar electrodes that are adjacent to each other in the stacking direction (annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below),
the inner separator has:
an inner interposed part that is interposed between the positive electrode active material layer of one bipolar electrode of the pair and the negative electrode active material layer of the other bipolar electrode of the pair (annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below);
and an inner peripheral part that is connected with the inner interposed part and located in the inner region, and the inner insulating part is constituted of the inner peripheral part (annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below).
Hamaoka is silent to the thickness of the inner separator and the first separator. However, there are only three options for the thickness of the inner separator relative to the first separator: less than, equal to, or greater than. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected one of these three relationships between the inner separator and the first separator, including the inner separator having the same thickness as the first separator, in order to obtain a power storage module suitable for a desired application.
Additionally, Hamaoka does not appear to disclose differences between the separator elements (33) depicted in Fig. 7 for the bipolar electrodes, outermost positive electrode, and the outermost negative electrode. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use separators with the same thickness for the inner separator and the first separator.
Regarding claim 3, Hamaoka in view of Ikeda teaches all features of claims 1 and 2, as described above. Modified Hamaoka further teaches:
the first insulating film being located in the first outer region and on an inside of the first peripheral part in the stacking direction (annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below),
and the second insulating film being located in the second outer region and on an inside of the second peripheral part in the stacking direction (annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below).
Regarding claim 4, Hamaoka in view of Ikeda teaches all features of claims 1-3, as described above. Modified Hamaoka further teaches:
the first insulating film being made of the same material as a material of the first sealing part and integrally formed with the first sealing part (first insulating film + first sealing part = element 41 of Hamaoka Fig. 7),
and the second insulating film being made of the same material as a material of the second sealing part and integrally formed with the second sealing part (second insulating film + second sealing part = element 41 of Hamaoka Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 5, Hamaoka in view of Ikeda teaches all features of claim 1, as described above. Modified Hamaoka further teaches:
the first insulating member includes a first separator that is interposed between the outermost positive electrode and the bipolar electrode among the plurality of bipolar electrodes facing the outermost positive electrode (annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below),
the first separator has:
a first interposed part that is interposed between the positive electrode active material layer of the outermost positive electrode and the negative electrode active material layer of the bipolar electrode (annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below);
and a first peripheral part that is connected with the first interposed part and located in the first outer region (annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below),
the first outer insulating part is constituted of the first peripheral part (annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below),
the second insulating member includes a second separator that is interposed between the outermost negative electrode and the bipolar electrode among the plurality of bipolar electrodes facing the outermost negative electrode (annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below),
the second separator has:
a second interposed part that is interposed between the negative electrode active material layer of the outermost negative electrode and the positive electrode active material layer of the bipolar electrode (annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below);
and a second peripheral part that is connected with the second interposed part and located in the second outer region (annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below),
the second outer insulating part is constituted of the second peripheral part (annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below),
the inner insulating member includes an inner separator that is located between a pair of the bipolar electrodes that are adjacent to each other in the stacking direction (annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below),
the inner separator has:
an inner interposed part that is interposed between the positive electrode active material layer of one bipolar electrode of the pair and the negative electrode active material layer of the other bipolar electrode of the pair (annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below);
and an inner peripheral part that is connected with the inner interposed part and located in the inner region (annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below)
the inner insulating part is constituted of the inner peripheral part (annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below).
Hamaoka is silent to the thicknesses of the first separator, the second separator, and the inner separator.
There are only three options for the thickness of the second separator relative to the first separator: less than, equal to, or greater than. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected one of these three relationships between the second separator and the first separator, including the second separator having the same thickness as the first separator, in order to obtain a power storage module suitable for a desired application.
Additionally, Hamaoka does not appear to disclose differences between the separator elements (33) depicted in Fig. 7 for outermost positive electrode and the outermost negative electrode. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed to use separators with the same thickness for the second separator and the first separator.
There are only three options for the thickness of the inner separator relative to the first separator: less than, equal to, or greater than. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected one of these three relationships between the inner separator and the first separator, including the inner separator having a thickness less than the first separator, in order to obtain a power storage module suitable for a desired application.
Response to Arguments
Response – Claim Objections
The objection to claim 1 due to informalities is overcome by applicant’s amendments to claim 1 in the response received on June 30, 2026. The objection to claim 1 is withdrawn.
Response – Claim Rejections 35 USC § 112
The rejections of claims 1-5 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention are overcome by applicant’s amendments to claims 1 and 2 in the response received June 30, 2026. These rejections to claims 1-5 are withdrawn.
Response – Claim Rejections 35 USC § 103
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nakamura (US 2021/0296706 A1): appears to disclose a power storage module containing stacked bipolar electrodes and sealing parts (Fig. 2, Fig. 5).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.S.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1789
/MARLA D MCCONNELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1789