CTNF 18/472,635 CTNF 100477 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 07-30-03-h AIA Claim Interpretation It is noted that the phrases “constituted of” (pg. 9 line 22) and “constituted solely of” (pg. 12 line 11) are both used in the instant specification. In light of the instant specification, “constituted of” is interpreted as open language (e.g., including, comprising), where additional components/elements may be included, and “constituted solely of” is interpreted as closed language (e.g. consisting of), where additional components/elements are excluded. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: It is suggested that claim 1, pg. 1 line 29, be amended to recite “each of the bipolar electrodes of the plurality of bipolar electrodes has” to improve clarity . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claim 1 , claim 1 recites “an inner insulating member than insulates a pair of the bipolar electrodes that are adjacent to each other in the stacking direction from one another, where each of the plurality of bipolar electrodes has ”. It is unclear if “each of the plurality of bipolar electrodes” refers to each of the bipolar electrodes of the pair of bipolar electrodes (claim 1, pg. 1 line 27) or each of the bipolar electrodes of the plurality of bipolar electrodes (claim 1, pg. 1 line 5). Regarding claim 1, claim 1 recites “the positive-electrode-free portion” in line 25 of pg. 2. It is unclear which of the positive-electrode-free portions this refers to (pg. 2 lines 15-18 claimed two positive-electrode-free portions). For the purpose of examination, the limitation “the positive-electrode-free portion” of line 25 on pg. 2 of the claims is interpretated as “the positive-electrode-free portion of the outermost positive electrode”, pending further clarification from applicant. Regarding claim 1, claim 1 recites “the negative-electrode-free portion” in line 28 of pg. 2. It is unclear which of the negative-electrode-free portions this refers to (pg. 2 lines 19-23 claimed two negative-electrode-free portions). For the purpose of examination, the limitation “the negative-electrode-free portion” of line 28 on pg. 2 of the claims is interpretated as “the negative-electrode-free portion of the outermost negative electrode”, pending further clarification from applicant. Claim 2-5 are indefinite as they depend from an indefinite base and fail to cure the deficiencies of said claim. Regarding claim 2 , claim 2 (pg. 3 line 20) recites “active material layer of the bipolar electrode”. It is unclear which bipolar electrode this limitation refers to. For the purpose of examination, this limitation is interpretated as “active material layer of the bipolar electrode among the plurality of bipolar electrodes facing the outermost positive electrode”, pending further clarification from applicant. Regarding claim 2 , claim 2 (pg. 4 line 5) recites “electrode active material layer of the bipolar electrode”. It is unclear which bipolar electrode this limitation refers to. For the purpose of examination, this limitation is interpretated as “electrode active material layer of the bipolar electrode among the plurality of bipolar electrodes facing the outermost negative electrode”, pending further clarification from applicant. Claim 3-4 are indefinite as they depend from an indefinite base and fail to cure the deficiencies of said claim. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamaoka (US 2021/0234221 A1) in view of Ikeda (JP 2013125650 A, English Translation used for citations) . Regarding claim 1, Hamaoka teaches a power storage module (Hamaoka Fig. 7) comprising: a plurality of bipolar electrodes stacked on top of one another (34, Hamaoka Fig. 7); an outermost positive electrode located on one outer side of a set of the plurality of bipolar electrodes in a stacking direction of the plurality of bipolar electrodes (39, Hamaoka Fig. 7); an outermost negative electrode located on the other outer side of the set of the plurality of bipolar electrodes in the stacking direction (38, Hamaoka Fig. 7); a first sealing par t that seals a first outer region (41, annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below), the first outer region being formed between the outermost positive electrode (39) and a bipolar electrode among the plurality of bipolar electrodes facing the outermost positive electrode (34) (Hamaoka Fig. 7); a second sealing part that seals a second outer region (41, annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below), the second outer region being formed between the outermost negative electrode (38) and a bipolar electrode among the plurality of bipolar electrodes facing the outermost negative electrode (34) (Hamaoka Fig. 7); an inner sealing part that seals an inner region (41, annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below), the inner region being formed between a pair of the bipolar electrodes that are adjacent to each other in the stacking direction (region between bipolar electrodes 34, Hamaoka Fig. 7); a first insulating member that insulates the outermost positive electrode from the bipolar electrode among the plurality of bipolar electrodes facing the outermost positive electrode (33, annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below); a second insulating member that insulates the outermost negative electrode from the bipolar electrode among the plurality of bipolar electrodes facing the outermost negative electrode (33, annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below); and an inner insulating member that insulates a pair of the bipolar electrodes that are adjacent to each other in the stacking direction, from one another, (33, annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below) where each of the bipolar electrodes of the plurality of bipolar electrodes has : a current collector (35, Hamaoka Fig. 7) including a positive electrode current-collecting foil (surface of 35 facing the positive electrode) and a negative electrode current-collecting foil (surface of 35 facing the negative electrode); a positive electrode active material layer provided on the positive electrode current-collecting foil of the current collector (36, Hamaoka Fig. 7); and a negative electrode active material layer provided on the negative electrode current-collecting foil of the current collector (37, Hamaoka Fig. 7), the outermost positive electrode (39) has: a positive electrode current-collecting foil (35, Hamaoka Fig. 7); and a positive electrode active material layer provided on the positive electrode current-collecting foil (36, Hamaoka Fig. 7), the outermost negative electro de has: a negative electrode current-collecting foil (35, Hamaoka Fig. 7); and a negative electrode active material layer provided on the negative electrode current-collecting foil (37, Hamaoka Fig. 7), at each of a periphery of the positive electrode current-collecting foil of the current collector and a periphery of the positive electrode current-collecting foil of the outermost positive electrode, a positive-electrode-free portion that is not covered with the positive electrode active material layer is formed (Hamaoka Fig. 7, positive electrode active material layer 36 is not covering the entire surface of the positive electrode current-collecting foil of the current collector or the positive electrode current-collecting foil, example shown below annotated Fig. 7), at each of a periphery of the negative electrode current-collecting foil of the current collector and a periphery of the negative electrode current-collecting foil of the outermost negative electrode, a negative-electrode-free portion that faces the positive-electrode-free portion in the stacking direction and that is not covered with the negative electrode active material layer is formed (Hamaoka Fig. 7, negative electrode active material layer 37 is not covering the entire surface of the negative electrode current collecting foil of the current collector or the negative electrode current-collecting foil, example shown below annotated Fig. 7), a region between the positive-electrode-free portion of the outermost positive electrode and the negative-electrode-free portion facing the positive-electrode-free portion constitutes the first outer region (Hamaoka Fig. 7), a region between the negative-electrode-free portion of the outermost negative electrode and the positive-electrode-free portion facing the negative-electrode-free portion constitutes the second outer region (Hamaoka Fig. 7), a region between a pair of the bipolar electrodes that are adjacent to each other, specifically between the positive-electrode-free portion and the negative-electrode-free portion facing each other in the stacking direction, constitutes the inner region (Hamaoka Fig. 7), the first insulating member includes a first outer insulating part located in the first outer region (annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below), the second insulating member includes a second outer insulating part located in the second outer region (annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below), the inner insulating member includes an inner insulating part located in the inner region (annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below), each of a thickness of the first outer insulating part and a thickness of the second outer insulating part is more than a thickness of the inner insulating part (annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below). PNG media_image1.png 845 1531 media_image1.png Greyscale PNG media_image2.png 903 992 media_image2.png Greyscale Hamaoka does not explicitly teach the pressure of the first outer region, the second outer region, and the inner region being below atmospheric pressure. However, Hamaoka teaches that the power storage module “may have a pressure adjusting valve configured to adjust a pressure of the internal space” (Hamaoka [10]). Ikeda teaches a method for manufacturing a power storage module comprising the step of sealing a case containing a positive electrode, negative electrode, and electrolyte while creating a negative pressure in the case (Ikeda [20]). Since Ikeda teaches that it is suitable for the pressure inside a power storage module to be a negative pressure (less than atmospheric), it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the power storage module of Hamaoka having a pressure lower than atmospheric pressure in the first outer region, the second outer region, and the inner region, in order to obtain the predictable solution of a sealed power storage module suitable for a desired application. Additionally, there are only three options for the pressure of the first outer region, the second outer region, and the inner region: a pressure lower than atmospheric pressure, a pressure equal to atmospheric pressure, or a pressure higher than atmospheric pressure. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select a pressure value from one of these three options, including a pressure less than atmospheric, in order to obtain a power storage module suitable for a desired application. Regarding claim 2, Hamaoka in view of Ikeda teaches all features of claim 1, as described above. Modified Hamaoka further teaches: the first insulating member includes a first separator that is interposed between the outermost positive electrode and the bipolar electrode among the plurality of bipolar electrodes facing the outermost positive electrode (annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below), the first separator has : a first interposed part that is interposed between the positive electrode active material layer of the outermost positive electrode and the negative electrode active material layer of the bipolar electrode (annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below); and a first peripheral part that is connected with the first interposed part and located in the first outer region (annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below), the first outer insulating part has: the first peripheral part (annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below); and a first insulating film that is a separate member from the first separator and that is located in the first outer region (annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below), the second insulating member includes a second separator that is interposed between the outermost negative electrode and the bipolar electrode among the plurality of bipolar electrodes facing the outermost negative electrode, the second separator having the same thickness as the first separator (annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below), the second separator has: a second interposed part that is interposed between the negative electrode active material layer of the outermost negative electrode and the positive electrode active material layer of the bipolar electrode (annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below); and a second peripheral part that is connected with the second interposed part and located in the second outer region (annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below), the second outer insulating part has: the second peripheral part (annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below); and a second insulating film that is a separate member from the second separator and that is located in the second outer region (annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below), PNG media_image3.png 872 932 media_image3.png Greyscale the inner insulating member includes an inner separator that is interposed between a pair of the bipolar electrodes that are adjacent to each other in the stacking direction (annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below), the inner separator has: an inner interposed part that is interposed between the positive electrode active material layer of one bipolar electrode of the pair and the negative electrode active material layer of the other bipolar electrode of the pair (annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below); and an inner peripheral part that is connected with the inner interposed part and located in the inner region, and the inner insulating part is constituted of the inner peripheral part (annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below). PNG media_image4.png 806 753 media_image4.png Greyscale Hamaoka is silent to the thickness of the inner separator and the first separator. However, there are only three options for the thickness of the inner separator relative to the first separator: less than, equal to, or greater than. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected one of these three relationships between the inner separator and the first separator, including the inner separator having the same thickness as the first separator, in order to obtain a power storage module suitable for a desired application. Additionally, Hamaoka does not appear to disclose differences between the separator elements (33) depicted in Fig. 7 for the bipolar electrodes, outermost positive electrode, and the outermost negative electrode. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use separators with the same thickness for the inner separator and the first separator. Regarding claim 3, Hamaoka in view of Ikeda teaches all features of claims 1 and 2, as described above. Modified Hamaoka further teaches: the first insulating film being located in the first outer region and on an inside of the first peripheral part in the stacking direction (annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below), and the second insulating film being located in the second outer region and on an inside of the second peripheral part in the stacking direction (annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below). PNG media_image3.png 872 932 media_image3.png Greyscale Regarding claim 4, Hamaoka in view of Ikeda teaches all features of claims 1-3, as described above. Modified Hamaoka further teaches: the first insulating film being made of the same material as a material of the first sealing part and integrally formed with the first sealing part (first insulating film + first sealing part = element 41 of Hamaoka Fig. 7), and the second insulating film being made of the same material as a material of the second sealing part and integrally formed with the second sealing part (second insulating film + second sealing part = element 41 of Hamaoka Fig. 7). Regarding claim 5, Hamaoka in view of Ikeda teaches all features of claim 1, as described above. Modified Hamaoka further teaches: the first insulating member includes a first separator that is interposed between the outermost positive electrode and the bipolar electrode among the plurality of bipolar electrodes facing the outermost positive electrode (annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below), the first separator has: a first interposed part that is interposed between the positive electrode active material layer of the outermost positive electrode and the negative electrode active material layer of the bipolar electrode (annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below); and a first peripheral part that is connected with the first interposed part and located in the first outer region (annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below), the first outer insulating part is constituted of the first peripheral part (annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below), the second insulating member includes a second separator that is interposed between the outermost negative electrode and the bipolar electrode among the plurality of bipolar electrodes facing the outermost negative electrode (annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below), the second separator has: a second interposed part that is interposed between the negative electrode active material layer of the outermost negative electrode and the positive electrode active material layer of the bipolar electrode (annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below); and a second peripheral part that is connected with the second interposed part and located in the second outer region (annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below), the second outer insulating part is constituted of the second peripheral part (annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below), the inner insulating member includes an inner separator that is located between a pair of the bipolar electrodes that are adjacent to each other in the stacking direction (annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below), the inner separator has: an inner interposed part that is interposed between the positive electrode active material layer of one bipolar electrode of the pair and the negative electrode active material layer of the other bipolar electrode of the pair (annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below); and an inner peripheral part that is connected with the inner interposed part and located in the inner region (annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below) the inner insulating part is constituted of the inner peripheral part (annotated Hamaoka Fig. 7 shown below). PNG media_image5.png 801 959 media_image5.png Greyscale Hamaoka is silent to the thicknesses of the first separator, the second separator, and the inner separator. There are only three options for the thickness of the second separator relative to the first separator: less than, equal to, or greater than. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected one of these three relationships between the second separator and the first separator, including the second separator having the same thickness as the first separator, in order to obtain a power storage module suitable for a desired application. Additionally, Hamaoka does not appear to disclose differences between the separator elements (33) depicted in Fig. 7 for outermost positive electrode and the outermost negative electrode. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed to use separators with the same thickness for the second separator and the first separator. There are only three options for the thickness of the inner separator relative to the first separator: less than, equal to, or greater than. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected one of these three relationships between the inner separator and the first separator, including the inner separator having a thickness less than the first separator, in order to obtain a power storage module suitable for a desired application . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Nakamura (US 2021/0296706 A1): appears to disclose a power storage module containing stacked bipolar electrodes and sealing parts (Fig. 2, Fig. 5). Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JULIA S CASERTO whose telephone number is (571)272-5114. The examiner can normally be reached 7:30 am - 5 pm ET. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Marla McConnell can be reached at 571-270-7692. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /J.S.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1789 /MARLA D MCCONNELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1789 Application/Control Number: 18/472,635 Page 2 Art Unit: 1789 Application/Control Number: 18/472,635 Page 4 Art Unit: 1789 Application/Control Number: 18/472,635 Page 5 Art Unit: 1789 Application/Control Number: 18/472,635 Page 6 Art Unit: 1789 Application/Control Number: 18/472,635 Page 7 Art Unit: 1789 Application/Control Number: 18/472,635 Page 8 Art Unit: 1789 Application/Control Number: 18/472,635 Page 9 Art Unit: 1789 Application/Control Number: 18/472,635 Page 10 Art Unit: 1789 Application/Control Number: 18/472,635 Page 11 Art Unit: 1789 Application/Control Number: 18/472,635 Page 12 Art Unit: 1789 Application/Control Number: 18/472,635 Page 13 Art Unit: 1789 Application/Control Number: 18/472,635 Page 14 Art Unit: 1789 Application/Control Number: 18/472,635 Page 15 Art Unit: 1789 Application/Control Number: 18/472,635 Page 16 Art Unit: 1789