Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 10-13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHRIVASTAVA et al. (US 20230396965 A1, hereinafter, "SHRIVASTAVA") in view of GHIMIRE et al. (US 20230111603 A1, hereinafter, "GHIMIRE").
Regarding claim 10, SHRIVASTAVA teaches a user equipment used in a mobile communication
system for providing a multicast broadcast service (MBS) from a network node to the user equipment,
the user equipment comprising:
SHRIVASTAVA writes, “FIG. 1 depicts a system 100 comprising a UE 101 and a wireless network 102,
wherein the system 100 is configured to manage RRC state of the UE 101 and reception of MBS after
expiry of a Timer Alignment (TA) timer, according to embodiments as disclosed herein. As depicted in
FIG. 1, the UE 101 comprises a processor 103, a memory 104, a communication interface 105, and a
display 106...The wireless network 102 may determine whether MBS needs to be delivered to the UE
101 through the PTM bearer (by switching from the PTP bearer) or through the PTP bearer (by switching
from the PTM bearer). In an embodiment, a bearer configuration having both PTM and PTP legs can be
termed as MBS split bearer” (paragraph 0048; figure 1).
a receiver configured to receive from the network node, a threshold value of radio quality on
reception of multicast session, the radio quality being one of RSRP and RSRQ;
SHRIVASTAVA writes, “In an embodiment, the UE 101 may decide to stay in the RRC_CONNECTED state
based on the signal strength conditions such as Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP), Reference
Signal Received Quality (RSRQ), Reference Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI), Signal and Interference to
Noise Ratio (SINR), and Channel Quality Indicator (CQI), as estimated based on link measurements and
adaptation. Further, the UE 101 may consider thresholds for each signal strength conditions, which are
configured by the wireless network 102 (paragraph 0111). FIG. 1 depicts a system 100 comprising a UE
101 and a wireless network 102, wherein the system 100 is configured to manage RRC state of the UE
101 and reception of MBS after expiry of a Timer Alignment (TA) timer, according to embodiments as
disclosed herein. As depicted in FIG. 1, the UE 101 comprises a processor 103, a memory 104, a
communication interface 105, and a display 106” (paragraph 0048).
SHRIVASTAVA fails to explicitly disclose in full information regarding, “a controller configured to
measure a radio quality of a serving cell from which the multicast session is received when the user
equipment is in a predetermined RRC state;” and “and a transmitter configured to transmit to the serving cell, predetermined information when the user equipment is in the predetermined RRC state, when the measured radio quality being lower than the threshold value.”
However, in similar art, GHIMIRE teaches a controller configured to measure a radio quality of a serving cell from which the multicast session is received when the user equipment is in a predetermined RRC state;
GHIMIRE writes, “A UE in RRC_CONNECTED state can be configured to measure and report the RSRP (Reference Signal Receive Power), RSRQ (Reference Signal Receive Quality) and SINR (Signal to Interference+Noise Ratio) for a serving cell as well as a neighboring cell” (paragraph 0347). GHIMIRE adds, “A further embodiment comprises a processing means, for example a computer, or a programmable logic device, configured to or adapted to perform one of the methods described herein” (paragraph 0504). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to merge the teachings of GHIMIRE with SHRIVASTAVA, since SHRIVASTAVA writes, “In an embodiment, the UE 101 may decide to stay in the RRC_CONNECTED state based on the signal strength conditions such as Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP), Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ), Reference Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI), Signal and Interference to Noise Ratio (SINR), and Channel Quality Indicator (CQI), as estimated based on link measurements and adaptation. Further, the UE 101 may consider thresholds for each signal strength conditions, which are configured by the wireless network 102” (paragraph 0111). SHRIVASTAVA explains, “FIG. 1 depicts a system 100 comprising a UE 101 and a wireless network 102, wherein the system 100 is configured to manage RRC state of the UE 101 and reception of MBS after expiry of a Timer Alignment (TA) timer, according to embodiments as disclosed herein. As depicted in FIG. 1, the UE 101 comprises a processor 103, a memory 104, a communication interface 105, and a display 106” (paragraph 0048). Since the methods of GHIMIRE can be implemented by a processing means, and SHRIVASTAVA indicates the UE possess a processor. The processor may be configured to measure radio quality of a serving cell, from which the multicast session is received, when the UE is in the RRC_CONNECTED state.
and a transmitter configured to transmit to the serving cell, predetermined information when the user equipment is in the predetermined RRC state, when the measured radio quality being lower than the threshold value.
GHIMIRE writes, “A UE in RRC_CONNECTED state can be configured to measure and report the RSRP (Reference Signal Receive Power), RSRQ (Reference Signal Receive Quality) and SINR (Signal to Interference+Noise Ratio) for a serving cell as well as a neighboring cell” (paragraph 0347). GHIMIRE adds, “...the UE is configured for...reporting the measurement report to the wireless communication network...” (paragraph 0022). GHIMIRE notes, “...the measurement report may indicate at least one or an RSRP, an RSRQ, an SINR...” (paragraph 0148) GHIMIRE explains, “The measurement report may be generated for all links between the UE and a TRP that comprises a channel quality of at least a threshold value. This threshold value may be understood as all links that are known to the UE, e.g., based on a determined activity on the channel. However, limitation of such a full measurement report may be obtained by setting the threshold to a predefined minimum channel quality and/or to a predefined number of channels to be reported” (paragraph 0360). GHIMIRE indicates the UE is configured to transmit a measurement report, consisting of at least one of RSRP, RSRQ, and an SINR. The reporting as stated occurs when the UE is in the RRC_CONNECTED state. GHIMIRE also indicates the measurement report may be generated based on a threshold value for channel quality. Though GHIMIRE suggests the measurement report be generated based on the channel quality being greater than or equal to a threshold value, one of ordinary skill in the art can determine that the same can be true for channel quality less than a predefined threshold value. GHIMIRE explain the UE can be configured to measure and report RSRP, RSRQ and SINR. SHRIVASTAVA mentions, “As depicted in FIG. 1, the UE 101 comprises a processor 103, a memory 104, a communication interface 105, and a display 106” (paragraph 0048). The communication interface of the UE may consist of a transmitter that may be used for reporting (i.e. transmitting) the at least one of RSRP, RSRQ, and an SINR in the measurement report.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of SHRIVASTAVA to include aspects described by GHIMIRE that “relates to methods for operating a wireless networks and to apparatuses that may form at least parts thereof such as user equipment (UE), a controller entity. The present invention further relates to a wireless communication network and to a computer program.” The disclosure of a UE in a predefined state being configured to measure and report radio quality of a servicing cell is the motivation to include the prior art of GHIMIRE.
Claim 1 is a method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 10 that has already been
rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 10. Claim 1 is rejected
under the same rational as claim 10.
Additionally, SHRIVASTAVA teaches a communication control method used in a mobile
communication system for providing a multicast broadcast service (MBS) from a base station network
node to a user equipment, the communication control method comprising:
SHRIVASTAVA writes, “Further, embodiments herein disclose methods and systems for utilizing a data
inactivity timer and a Multicast and Broadcast Service (MBS) specific data inactivity timer for tracking
transmission and reception of unicast, and multicast services, and managing RRC state of the UE”
(paragraph 0047).
Claim 11 is a method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 10 that has already been
rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 10. Claim 11 is rejected
under the same rational as claim 10.
Additionally, SHRIVASTAVA teaches a chipset for a user equipment used in a mobile
communication system for providing a multicast broadcast service (MBS) from a network node to the
user equipment, the chipset configured to execute processing of:
SHRIVASTAVA writes, “The device may also include means, which could be, for example, a hardware
means, for example, an Application-specific Integrated Circuit (ASIC), or a combination of hardware
and software means, for example, an ASIC and a Field Programmable Gate Array (FPGA), or at least one
microprocessor and at least one memory with software modules located therein. The method
embodiments described herein could be implemented partly in hardware and partly in software.
Alternatively, the invention may be implemented on different hardware devices, e.g. using a plurality of
Central Processing Units (CPUs)” (paragraph 0140).
Claim 12 is a method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 10 that has already been
rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 10. Claim 12 is rejected
under the same rational as claim 10.
Additionally, SHRIVASTAVA teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising,
stored thereupon, computer program instructions for execution by a user equipment used in a mobile
communication system for providing a multicast broadcast service (MBS) from a network node to the
user equipment, the computer program instructions being configured to cause the user equipment to
execute processing of:
SHRIVASTAVA writes, “The device may also include means, which could be, for example, a hardware
means, for example, an Application-specific Integrated Circuit (ASIC), or a combination of hardware
and software means, for example, an ASIC and a Field Programmable Gate Array (FPGA), or at least one
microprocessor and at least one memory with software modules located therein. The method
embodiments described herein could be implemented partly in hardware and partly in software.
Alternatively, the invention may be implemented on different hardware devices, e.g. using a plurality of
Central Processing Units (CPUs)” (paragraph 0140).
Claim 13 is a method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 10 that has already been
rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 10. Claim 13 is rejected
under the same rational as claim 10.
Additionally, SHRIVASTAVA teaches a mobile communication system comprising a network
node configured to provide a multicast broadcast service (MBS) to a user equipment; and the user
equipment configured to:
SHRIVASTAVA writes, “FIG. 1 depicts a system 100 comprising a UE 101 and a wireless network 102,
wherein the system 100 is configured to manage RRC state of the UE 101 and reception of MBS after
expiry of a Timer Alignment (TA) timer, according to embodiments as disclosed herein. As depicted in
FIG. 1, the UE 101 comprises a processor 103, a memory 104, a communication interface 105, and a
display 106...The wireless network 102 may determine whether MBS needs to be delivered to the UE
101 through the PTM bearer (by switching from the PTP bearer) or through the PTP bearer (by switching
from the PTM bearer). In an embodiment, a bearer configuration having both PTM and PTP legs can be
termed as MBS split bearer” (paragraph 0048; figure 1).
Conclusion
/Christopher A. Reyes/Examiner, Art Unit 2475 8/17/2026
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475