Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues:
First, Applicant respectfully submits that Kim fails to disclose "transmitting, by the user equipment to the serving cell, predetermined information when the user equipment is in the predetermined RRC state, in response to the measured radio quality being lower than the threshold value." While Kim may appear to describe logging "information on out-of-service area" when serving cell quality is low, Kim fails to teach the immediate transmission of such information in response to the measurement.
KIM writes, “In step S704, the UE may perform measurement logging based on the received logged measurement configuration” (column 14, lines 37-38). KIM adds, “… perform measurement logging based on the received logged measurement configuration; and transmit the logged measurement to the network, wherein when the UE is in any cell selection state…” (column 2, lines 52-55). KIM notes, “The any cell selection state may be applicable for RRC_IDLE and RRC_INACTIVE state” (column 15, lines 20-21).
Second, according to an embodiment of the present application, the information may be transmitted to the "serving cell" from which the quality was measured. In contrast, Applicant respectfully submits that Kim appears to describe a process in which measurement is performed in one cell, and the logged information is subsequently transmitted to a different cell after an RRC connection procedure is completed (see FIG. 8 below, S822, RRC connection procedure is made to Cell#2 while the measurement is made in Cell #1).
KIM writes, “In step S704, the UE may perform measurement logging based on the received logged measurement configuration” (column 14, lines 37-38). KIM adds, “… perform measurement logging based on the received logged measurement configuration; and transmit the logged measurement to the network, wherein when the UE is in any cell selection state…” (column 2, lines 52-55). KIM notes, “The any cell selection state may be applicable for RRC_IDLE and RRC_INACTIVE state” (column 15, lines 20-21).
Third, embodiments of the present application may perform both measurement and transmission while the UE is in a specific RRC state (e.g., RRC_INACTIVE). Applicant respectfully submits that in Kim, however, measurements appear to be performed in the RRC_IDLE state, and transmission occurs only after the UE enters the RRC_CONNECTED state.
KIM writes, “In step S704, the UE may perform measurement logging based on the received logged measurement configuration” (column 14, lines 37-38). KIM adds, “… perform measurement logging based on the received logged measurement configuration; and transmit the logged measurement to the network, wherein when the UE is in any cell selection state…” (column 2, lines 52-55). KIM notes, “The any cell selection state may be applicable for RRC_IDLE and RRC_INACTIVE state” (column 15, lines 20-21).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHRIVASTAVA, et al. (US 20230396965 A1, hereinafter, "SHRIVASTAVA") in view of KIM (US 11363483 B2, hereinafter, "KIM").
Regarding claim 10, SHRIVASTAVA teaches a user equipment used in a mobile communication
system for providing a multicast broadcast service (MBS) from a network node to the user equipment,
the user equipment comprising:
SHRIVASTAVA writes, “FIG. 1 depicts a system 100 comprising a UE 101 and a wireless network 102,
wherein the system 100 is configured to manage RRC state of the UE 101 and reception of MBS after
expiry of a Timer Alignment (TA) timer, according to embodiments as disclosed herein. As depicted in
FIG. 1, the UE 101 comprises a processor 103, a memory 104, a communication interface 105, and a
display 106...The wireless network 102 may determine whether MBS needs to be delivered to the UE
101 through the PTM bearer (by switching from the PTP bearer) or through the PTP bearer (by switching
from the PTM bearer). In an embodiment, a bearer configuration having both PTM and PTP legs can be
termed as MBS split bearer” (paragraph 0048; figure 1).
a receiver configured to receive from the network node, a threshold value of radio quality on
reception of multicast session, the radio quality being one of RSRP and RSRQ;
SHRIVASTAVA writes, “In an embodiment, the UE 101 may decide to stay in the RRC_CONNECTED state
based on the signal strength conditions such as Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP), Reference
Signal Received Quality (RSRQ), Reference Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI), Signal and Interference to
Noise Ratio (SINR), and Channel Quality Indicator (CQI), as estimated based on link measurements and
adaptation. Further, the UE 101 may consider thresholds for each signal strength conditions, which are
configured by the wireless network 102 (paragraph 0111). FIG. 1 depicts a system 100 comprising a UE
101 and a wireless network 102, wherein the system 100 is configured to manage RRC state of the UE
101 and reception of MBS after expiry of a Timer Alignment (TA) timer, according to embodiments as
disclosed herein. As depicted in FIG. 1, the UE 101 comprises a processor 103, a memory 104, a
communication interface 105, and a display 106” (paragraph 0048).
SHRIVASTAVA fails to explicitly disclose in full information regarding, “a controller configured to measure a radio quality of a serving cell from which the multicast session is received when the user equipment is in a predetermined RRC state;” and “and a transmitter configured to transmit to the serving cell, predetermined information when the user equipment is in the predetermined RRC state, in response to the measured radio quality being lower than the threshold value.”
However, in analogous art, KIM teaches and a transmitter configured to transmit to the serving cell, predetermined information when the user equipment is in the predetermined RRC state, in response to the measured radio quality being lower than the threshold value.
KIM writes, “According to an embodiment of the present invention, the UE may store or log logged MDT
information with information on out-of-service area, when at least one of conditions is satisfied: If UE is
not able to detect any cells for which S criteria is fulfilled. If no suitable or acceptable cell can be found.
If UE is in any cell selection state. If UE is in out-of-service. If serving cell quality, i.e. RSRP, RSRQ or SINR,
is lower than a threshold configured by network” (column 15, lines 9-19). KIM notes, “...logged
measurement results which includes the out-of-service indicator” (column 2, lines 60-61). KIM adds,
“…transmitting the logged measurement to the network, wherein when the UE is in any cell selection
state, the logged measurement includes indicator indicating that there is no suitable cell or no
acceptable cell with available measurement results” (column 2, lines 2-6). KIM mentions, “A UE 600
includes a processor 610, a memory 620 and a transceiver 630” (column 21, lines 57-58; figure 9). Lastly, KIM remarks, “A predetermined operation may be performed according to the RRC state” (column 6, lines 55-56).
Both SHRIVASTAVA and KIM teach a controller configured to measure a radio quality of a serving cell from which the multicast session is received when the user equipment is in a predetermined RRC state;
SHRIVASTAVA writes, “In an embodiment, the UE 101 may decide to stay in the RRC_CONNECTED state
based on the signal strength conditions such as Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP), Reference
Signal Received Quality (RSRQ), Reference Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI), Signal and Interference to
Noise Ratio (SINR), and Channel Quality Indicator (CQI), as estimated based on link measurements and
adaptation. Further, the UE 101 may consider thresholds for each signal strength conditions, which are
configured by the wireless network 102 (paragraph 0111). FIG. 1 depicts a system 100 comprising a UE
101 and a wireless network 102, wherein the system 100 is configured to manage RRC state of the UE
101 and reception of MBS after expiry of a Timer Alignment (TA) timer, according to embodiments as
disclosed herein. As depicted in FIG. 1, the UE 101 comprises a processor 103, a memory 104, a
communication interface 105, and a display 106” (paragraph 0048). KIM contributes by noting, “A predetermined operation may be performed according to the RRC state” (column 6, lines 55-56).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of SHRIVASTAVA to include aspects described by KIM that “relates to a wireless communication system, and more particularly, to a method for constructing logged measurement entry and a device supporting the same.” KIM provides the motivation for modification stating, “According to embodiments of the present invention, network may efficiently figure out the out-of-service area based on the logged measurement results which includes the out-of-service indicator” (column 2, lines 58-61).
Claim 1 is a method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 10 that has already been
rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 10. Claim 1 is rejected
under the same rational as claim 10.
Additionally, SHRIVASTAVA teaches a communication control method used in a mobile
communication system for providing a multicast broadcast service (MBS) from a base station network
node to a user equipment, the communication control method comprising:
SHRIVASTAVA writes, “Further, embodiments herein disclose methods and systems for utilizing a data
inactivity timer and a Multicast and Broadcast Service (MBS) specific data inactivity timer for tracking
transmission and reception of unicast, and multicast services, and managing RRC state of the UE”
(paragraph 0047).
Claim 11 is a method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 10 that has already been
rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 10. Claim 11 is rejected
under the same rational as claim 10.
Additionally, SHRIVASTAVA teaches a chipset for a user equipment used in a mobile
communication system for providing a multicast broadcast service (MBS) from a network node to the
user equipment, the chipset configured to execute processing of:
SHRIVASTAVA writes, “The device may also include means, which could be, for example, a hardware
means, for example, an Application-specific Integrated Circuit (ASIC), or a combination of hardware
and software means, for example, an ASIC and a Field Programmable Gate Array (FPGA), or at least one
microprocessor and at least one memory with software modules located therein. The method
embodiments described herein could be implemented partly in hardware and partly in software.
Alternatively, the invention may be implemented on different hardware devices, e.g. using a plurality of
Central Processing Units (CPUs)” (paragraph 0140).
Claim 12 is a method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 10 that has already been
rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 10. Claim 12 is rejected
under the same rational as claim 10.
Additionally, SHRIVASTAVA teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising,
stored thereupon, computer program instructions for execution by a user equipment used in a mobile
communication system for providing a multicast broadcast service (MBS) from a network node to the
user equipment, the computer program instructions being configured to cause the user equipment to
execute processing of:
SHRIVASTAVA writes, “The device may also include means, which could be, for example, a hardware
means, for example, an Application-specific Integrated Circuit (ASIC), or a combination of hardware
and software means, for example, an ASIC and a Field Programmable Gate Array (FPGA), or at least one
microprocessor and at least one memory with software modules located therein. The method
embodiments described herein could be implemented partly in hardware and partly in software.
Alternatively, the invention may be implemented on different hardware devices, e.g. using a plurality of
Central Processing Units (CPUs)” (paragraph 0140).
Claim 13 is a method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 10 that has already been
rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 10. Claim 13 is rejected
under the same rational as claim 10.
Additionally, SHRIVASTAVA teaches a mobile communication system comprising a network
node configured to provide a multicast broadcast service (MBS) to a user equipment; and the user
equipment configured to:
SHRIVASTAVA writes, “FIG. 1 depicts a system 100 comprising a UE 101 and a wireless network 102,
wherein the system 100 is configured to manage RRC state of the UE 101 and reception of MBS after
expiry of a Timer Alignment (TA) timer, according to embodiments as disclosed herein. As depicted in
FIG. 1, the UE 101 comprises a processor 103, a memory 104, a communication interface 105, and a
display 106...The wireless network 102 may determine whether MBS needs to be delivered to the UE
101 through the PTM bearer (by switching from the PTP bearer) or through the PTP bearer (by switching
from the PTM bearer). In an embodiment, a bearer configuration having both PTM and PTP legs can be
termed as MBS split bearer” (paragraph 0048; figure 1).
Conclusion
/Christopher A. Reyes/Examiner, Art Unit 2475 3/19/2026
/ABDULLAHI AHMED/Examiner, Art Unit 2475