DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim 30 is given its broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 18, 29, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 18, 29, and 30 recites the limitation "the UL-SCH bits associated with the first subset…" on pages 1, 4, and 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is suggested to amend the claims to state “the UL-SCH data bits associated with the first subset…” if that is what the author intended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6, 14-15, 18-19, 23, and 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirik et al. (US 2023/0254852 A1; hereinafter Cirik) in view of 3GPP TSG RAN Rel-19 workshop; Source: ZTE, Sanechips; Agenda: 5; Views on high reliability and low complexity IoT in Rel-19 (RWS-230303; hereinafter 3GPP ZTE).
Regarding claims 1, 18, 29, and 30, Cirik teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 1A, element 106 Wireless Device; ¶ [0053] The wireless device may communicate with the RAN via radio communications over an air interface.; ¶ [0054] A wireless device may comprise a wireless user device (e.g., user equipment (UE)).),
comprising:
one or more memories (¶ [0200] Fig. 15B, element 1532 ROM, element 1533 RAM, element 1534 Removable Media, and element 1535 Hard Drive; ¶ [0200] Example elements of a computing device that may be used to implement the various devices including the wireless device. The computing device may include random access memory (RAM), the removable media, or any desired storage medium. Instructions may be stored in a hard drive.); and
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and configured to cause the UE (read as the computing device) to (Fig. 15B, element 1531 Processor; ¶ [0200] The computing device may include one or more processors, which may execute instructions stored in the random access memory (RAM) or any other desired storage medium.):
map uplink control information (UCI) bits and uplink shared channel (UL-SCH) data bits to a first subset of resources associated with a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (read as first repetition) (¶ [0088] A physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) may comprise/carry uplink data and signaling messages from the UL-SCH and in some instances uplink control information (UCI).; ¶ [0942] The first uplink transmission may be a first repetition of the uplink signal (e.g., PUSCH transmission, transport block, and UCI).; ¶ [1087] The wireless device may transmit the CSI report in a first repetition, among the repetitions of the PUSCH transmission, with a lowest starting resource block (RB). The wireless device may multiplex the CSI report in the first repetition. The PUSCH transmission may comprise a transport block.);
copy symbols associated with the UCI bits and the UL-SCH data bits from the first subset of resources to one or more remaining subsets of resources associated with the PUSCH, to obtain copied symbols associated with the UCI bits and the UL-SCH data bits, based at least in part on a repetition pattern (¶ [0088] A physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) may comprise/carry uplink data and signaling messages from the UL-SCH and in some instances uplink control information (UCI).; ¶ [0457] The one or more configuration parameters may indicate a repetition scheme.; ¶ [0568] The wireless device may send (e.g., transmit) the UCI in the first repetition of the PUSCH transmission and the second repetition of the PUSCH transmission.; ¶ [1073] The wireless device may transmit each of the frequency domain repetitions, of the PUSCH transmission, in a plurality of transmission occasions.);
Cirik does not explicitly teach apply an orthogonal cover code (OCC) across a plurality of subsets of resources, including the first subset of resources and the one or more remaining subsets of resources, associated with the PUSCH based at least in part on the repetition pattern; and transmit, based at least in part on the OCC applied across the plurality of subsets of resources, multiplexed UCI bits and UL-SCH data bits, the multiplexed UCI bits and UL-SCH data bits being based at least in part on the symbols associated with the UCI bits and the UL-SCH bits associated with the first subset of resources and the copied symbols associated with the UCI bits and the UL-SCH data bits associated with the one or more remaining subsets of resources.
In analogous art, 3GPP ZTE teaches apply an orthogonal cover code (OCC) across a plurality of subsets of resources (read as across PUSCH repetitions), including the first subset of resources and the one or more remaining subsets of resources, associated with the PUSCH based at least in part on the repetition pattern (Fig. 2, OCC-based PUSCH repetition; Fig. 8, Two collision cases of PUCCH repetition and PUSCH repetition; Slide 4, An orthogonal cover code (OCC) can be performed across PUSCH repetitions. The frequency resources can be fully or partially overlapped.); and
transmit, based at least in part on the OCC applied across the plurality of subsets of resources, multiplexed UCI bits and UL-SCH data bits, the multiplexed UCI bits and UL-SCH data bits being based at least in part on the symbols associated with the UCI bits and the UL-SCH bits associated with the first subset of resources and the copied symbols associated with the UCI bits and the UL-SCH data bits associated with the one or more remaining subsets of resources (Fig. 2, OCC-based PUSCH repetition; Fig. 4, LLS result for PUSCH repetition RV {0,0}(w/occ); Fig. 8, Two collision cases of PUCCH repetition and PUSCH repetition; Slide 4, An orthogonal cover code (OCC) can be performed across PUSCH repetitions.; Slide 8, PUSCH with repetition Type A. The conditions for multiplexing the UCI in the PUSCH. UCI multiplexing in a case of PUCCH with repetition overlapping PUSCH with repetition.; Slide 9, OCC-based PUSCH repetition. Apply OCC across PUSCH repetitions.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine OCC based PUSCH repetition taught by 3GPP ZTE with resource configuration as taught by Cirik. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve uplink reliability and system capacity by applying OCC across repeated PUSCH transmissions while configuring time/frequency resource subsets to allow overlapping or flexible allocation (3GPP ZTE: Slide 4).
Regarding claims 2 and 19, Cirik teaches wherein subcarriers allocated to the PUSCH are partitioned into the plurality of subsets of resources, and the first subset of resources is associated with a plurality of contiguous subcarriers or a plurality of non-contiguous subcarriers (¶ [0106] An RE may span one OFDM symbol in the time domain by one subcarrier in the frequency domain. An RB may span twelve consecutive REs in the frequency domain.; ¶ [0283] Each transmission occasion of the plurality of transmission occasions may have a non-overlapping frequency domain resource allocation. The frequency units may be consecutive. The frequency units may not be consecutive (e.g., may have a frequency/PRB/RB gap).; ¶ [0315] The repetitions of the uplink transmission (e.g., PUSCH transmission) may be in a frequency domain. The first repetition and the second repetition may not overlap in frequency. The first repetition and the second repetition may be in different frequencies (or different RBs or different PRBs).).
Regarding claims 6 and 23, Cirik teaches wherein symbols allocated to the PUSCH are partitioned into the plurality of subsets of resources, and the first subset of resources is associated with a plurality of contiguous symbols or a plurality of non-contiguous symbols (¶ [0281] The repetition scheme may be for repetitions of the uplink signal via an uplink resource (e.g., PUSCH resource).; ¶ [0282] In the time domain repetition, the plurality of transmission occasions may not overlap in time. Each transmission occasion may not overlap in time. Each transmission occasion of the plurality of transmission occasions may have a non-overlapping time domain resource allocation with respect to other transmission occasion(s). The time units may be consecutive. The time units may not be consecutive (e.g., may have a time/symbol/slot gap). The time units may be time symbols (e.g., OFDM symbols).).
Regarding claims 14 and 27, Cirik teaches wherein slots allocated to the PUSCH are partitioned into the plurality of subsets of resources, and the first subset of resources is associated with a plurality of contiguous slots or a plurality of non-contiguous slots (¶ [0282] Each transmission occasion of the plurality of transmission occasions may have a non-overlapping time domain resource allocation. The time units may be consecutive. The time units may not be consecutive (e.g., time/symbol/slot gap). The time units may be time slots.; ¶ [0285] The DCI may schedule repetitions of a PUSCH transmission. The repetitions of the PUSCH transmission may be time domain repetitions.).
Regarding claims 15 and 28, Cirik does not explicitly teach wherein the OCC is a slot-level OCC applied by multiplying, in a time domain, an OCC codeword across the plurality of subsets of resources.
In analogous art, 3GPP ZTE teaches wherein the OCC is a slot-level OCC applied by multiplying, in a time domain, an OCC codeword across the plurality of subsets of resources (Fig. 2, OCC based PUSCH repetition; Slide 4, An orthogonal cover code (OCC) can be performed across PUSCH repetitions.; Slide 8, PUSCH with repetition Type A over a second number of slots. Case 1: The overlapping PUCCH and PUSCH have the same starting slot and the same repetition factor (N>1) in the time domain.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine OCC based PUSCH repetition taught by 3GPP ZTE with resource configuration as taught by Cirik. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve uplink reliability and system capacity by applying OCC across repeated PUSCH transmissions while configuring time/frequency resource subsets to allow overlapping or flexible allocation (3GPP ZTE: Slide 4).
Claims 3, 7-8, 11, 20, and 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirik in view of 3GPP ZTE further in view of Hwang et al. (US 2017/0366380 A1; hereinafter Hwang).
Regarding claims 3 and 20, Cirik and 3GPP ZTE do not explicitly teach wherein demodulation reference signal (DMRS) symbols are excluded from the OCC, and the UCI bits or the UL-SCH data bits are excluded from being mapped to one or more unused resource elements (REs) of a symbol occupied by DMRS.
In analogous art, Hwang teaches wherein demodulation reference signal (DMRS) symbols are excluded from the OCC, and the UCI bits or the UL-SCH data bits are excluded from being mapped to one or more unused resource elements (REs) of a symbol occupied by DMRS (¶ [0008] Mapping on resource elements. The mapping may be carried out according to symbol index among symbols remaining after excluding symbols for a demodulation reference signal (DMRS).; ¶ [0254] Multiple PUCCHs may be permitted to be multiplexed by using the OCC with respect to an area other than the DMRS.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine mapping resource elements as taught by Hwang with OCC based PUSCH repetition taught by 3GPP ZTE and resource configuration as taught by Cirik. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve uplink reliability and improve system throughput by mapping data and control information onto available resource elements in a structured manner while applying OCC across repeated PUSCH transmissions and configuring flexible time and frequency domain resources (Hwang: ¶¶ [0004]- [0008]).
Regarding claims 7 and 24, Cirik and 3GPP ZTE do not explicitly teach wherein demodulation reference signal (DMRS) symbols are excluded from the OCC, and the UCI bits or the UL-SCH data bits are excluded from being mapped to the plurality of subsets of resources.
In analogous art, Hwang teaches wherein demodulation reference signal (DMRS) symbols are excluded from the OCC, and the UCI bits or the UL-SCH data bits are excluded from being mapped to the plurality of subsets of resources (¶ [0008] Mapping without applying an orthogonal cover code (OCC). The mapping may be carried out according to a symbol index among symbols remaining after excluding symbols for a demodulation reference signal (DMRS).; Mapping ¶ [0254] Multiplexed by using the OCC with respect to an area other than the DMRS.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine mapping resource elements as taught by Hwang with OCC based PUSCH repetition taught by 3GPP ZTE and resource configuration as taught by Cirik. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve uplink reliability and improve system throughput by mapping data and control information onto available resource elements in a structured manner while applying OCC across repeated PUSCH transmissions and configuring flexible time and frequency domain resources (Hwang: ¶¶ [0004]- [0008]).
Regarding claims 8 and 25, Cirik and 3GPP ZTE do not explicitly teach wherein demodulation reference signal (DMRS) symbols are included for the OCC, and at least one of the DMRS symbols is excluded from the first subset of resources.
In analogous art, Hwang teaches wherein demodulation reference signal (DMRS) symbols are included for the OCC, and at least one of the DMRS symbols is excluded from the first subset of resources (¶ [0008] Symbols remaining after excluding symbols for a demodulation reference signal (DMRS).; ¶ [0095] A plurality of DMRS symbols of the time domain is multiplied by a specific orthogonal cover code.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine mapping resource elements as taught by Hwang with OCC based PUSCH repetition taught by 3GPP ZTE and resource configuration as taught by Cirik. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve uplink reliability and improve system throughput by mapping data and control information onto available resource elements in a structured manner while applying OCC across repeated PUSCH transmissions and configuring flexible time and frequency domain resources (Hwang: ¶¶ [0004]- [0008]).
Regarding claims 11 and 26, Cirik and 3GPP ZTE do not explicitly teach wherein the OCC is a symbol-level OCC applied by multiplying, in a time domain, an OCC codeword across the plurality of subsets of resources.
In analogous art, Hwang teaches wherein the OCC is a symbol-level OCC applied by multiplying, in a time domain, an OCC codeword across the plurality of subsets of resources (¶ [0094] The block spreading technique means a method that spreads a symbol sequence in which ACK/NACK is a time domain by using a block spreading code.; ¶ [0095] An orthogonal cover code (OCC) may be used as the block spreading code. The DMRS symbol may generated and transmitted in a manner that a plurality of DMRS symbols of the time domain is multiplied by a specific orthogonal cover code.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine mapping resource elements as taught by Hwang with OCC based PUSCH repetition taught by 3GPP ZTE and resource configuration as taught by Cirik. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve uplink reliability and improve system throughput by mapping data and control information onto available resource elements in a structured manner while applying OCC across repeated PUSCH transmissions and configuring flexible time and frequency domain resources (Hwang: ¶¶ [0004]- [0008]).
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirik in view of 3GPP ZTE further in view of Kim et al. (US 2019/0052425 A1; hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 12, Cirik and 3GPP ZTE do not explicitly teach wherein one or more unused resource elements (REs) on demodulation reference signal (DMRS) symbols are used for the UL-SCH data bits with the OCC, and the DMRS symbols fall into the first subset of resources.
In analogous art, Kim teaches wherein one or more unused resource elements (REs) on demodulation reference signal (DMRS) symbols are used for the UL-SCH data bits with the OCC, and the DMRS symbols fall into the first subset of resources (read as DMRS symbols) (¶ [0081] DMRS placed on symbol indicated by symbol index 2.; ¶ [0082] DMRS placed on symbol indicated by symbol index 2 and symbol index 3. The symbols indicated by symbol index 2 and symbol index 3 may be each a DMRS symbol.; ¶ [0145] DMRSs may be multiplexed using OCCs. Map data to remaining available REs to which no DMRS ports are allocated.; ¶ [0163] Available RE pattern may be composed of REs not allocated to DMRS located on DMRS symbols. Receive UL data from the UE.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of multiplexing as taught by Kim with OCC based PUSCH repetition taught by 3GPP ZTE and resource configuration as taught by Cirik. One would have been motivated to do so in order to increase uplink reliability and increase throughput by multiplexing data and reference signals using available resource elements while applying OCC across repeated PUSCH transmissions (Kim: ¶ [0006]).
Regarding claim 13, Cirik and 3GPP ZTE do not explicitly teach wherein one or more unused resource elements (REs) on demodulation reference signal (DMRS) symbols are used for the UL-SCH data bits with the OCC, and a portion of DMRS symbols fall outside of the first subset of resources.
In analogous art, Kim teaches wherein one or more unused resource elements (REs) on demodulation reference signal (DMRS) symbols are used for the UL-SCH data bits with the OCC, and a portion of DMRS symbols fall outside of the first subset of resources (¶ [0099] The following embodiments may be applied to all of a front-loaded DMRS symbol regions and additional DMRS symbol regions.; ¶ [0145] DMRSs may be multiplexed using OCCs on the same DMRS RE. Map data to remaining available REs to which no DMRS ports are allocated.; ¶ [0163] Each available RE pattern may be composed of REs not allocated to DMRS among REs that are located on DMRS symbols. Receive UL data from the UE.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of multiplexing as taught by Kim with OCC based PUSCH repetition taught by 3GPP ZTE and resource configuration as taught by Cirik. One would have been motivated to do so in order to increase uplink reliability and increase throughput by multiplexing data and reference signals using available resource elements while applying OCC across repeated PUSCH transmissions (Kim: ¶ [0006]).
Claims 4-5 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirik in view of 3GPP ZTE further in view of Xiong et al. (US 2019/0306923 A1; hereinafter Xiong).
Regarding claims 4 and 21, Cirik and 3GPP ZTE do not explicitly teach wherein demodulation reference signal (DMRS) symbols are included for the OCC, and the UL-SCH data bits are mapped to one or more unused resource elements (REs) of a symbol occupied by DMRS.
In analogous art, Xiong teaches wherein demodulation reference signal (DMRS) symbols are included for the OCC, and the UL-SCH data bits are mapped to one or more unused resource elements (REs) of a symbol occupied by DMRS (¶ [0202] The total number of orthogonal DM-RS antenna ports (AP) is 8, which is realized by a length 2 orthogonal cover code (OCC) in both time and frequency domain.; ¶ [0347] UCI mapping on the DM-RS symbol. Available REs for UCI and UL-SCH mapping are the REs excluding DM-RS REs.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the use of OCC as taught by Xiong with OCC based PUSCH repetition taught by 3GPP ZTE and resource configuration as taught by Cirik. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce interference and increase robustness of uplink transmissions by applying OCC to maintain orthogonality across repeated PUSCH transmissions (Xiong: ¶¶ [0013]-[0016]).
Regarding claims 5 and 22, Cirik and 3GPP ZTE do not explicitly teach wherein the OCC is a frequency domain OCC applied by multiplying an OCC codeword across the plurality of subsets of resources.
In analogous art, Xiong teaches wherein the OCC is a frequency domain OCC applied by multiplying an OCC codeword across the plurality of subsets of resources (¶ [0202] The total number of orthogonal DM-RS antenna ports (AP) is 8, which is realized by a length 2 orthogonal cover code (OCC) in both time and frequency domain.; ¶ [0213] The output after block-wised spreading operation can be given as
y
k
=
w
n
k
*
r
k
m
o
d
M
, where k is the symbol index within one block, and k=0, 1,…,N-1.
w
n
k
is the OCC code.; ¶ [0214] DM-RS can be generated as
w
n
k
*
r
(
k
m
o
d
M
)
.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the use of OCC as taught by Xiong with OCC based PUSCH repetition taught by 3GPP ZTE and resource configuration as taught by Cirik. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce interference and increase robustness of uplink transmissions by applying OCC to maintain orthogonality across repeated PUSCH transmissions (Xiong: ¶¶ [0013]-[0016]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirik in view of 3GPP ZTE further in view of Seung Hee et al. (KR 20120041659A; hereinafter Seung Hee).
Regarding claim 16, Cirik and 3GPP ZTE do not explicitly teach wherein the OCC is associated with multiple OCC schemes simultaneously applied in a frequency domain and in a time domain.
In analogous art, Seung Hee teaches wherein the OCC is associated with multiple OCC schemes simultaneously applied in a frequency domain and in a time domain (¶ [0115] The ACK/NACK signal is transmitted through different resources consisting of different cyclic shifts (CS) (frequency domain codes) and orthogonal cover codes (OC or OCC) (time domain spreading codes).; ¶ [0131] CS (=same as DFT orthogonal code at the symbol level).; ¶ [0132] OC (orthogonal cover at the slot level).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the use of OCC as taught by Seung Hee with OCC based PUSCH repetition taught by 3GPP ZTE and resource configuration as taught by Cirik. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce interference and increase multiplexing efficiency by applying OCC to separate repeated transmissions while configuring time and frequency resources to support overlapping (Seung Hee: pages 2-3).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirik in view of 3GPP ZTE further in view of Yu et al. (US 2024/0008011 A1; hereinafter Yu).
Regarding claim 17, Cirik and 3GPP ZTE do not explicitly teach wherein a number of resource elements (REs) for the multiplexed UCI bits and UL-SCH data bits is based at least in part on a spreading factor for the PUSCH, and the spreading factor is based at least in part on the repetition pattern.
In analogous art, Yu teaches wherein a number of resource elements (REs) for the multiplexed UCI bits and UL-SCH data bits is based at least in part on a spreading factor for the PUSCH, and the spreading factor is based at least in part on the repetition pattern (¶ [0131] Nominal repetition encounters a slot boundary or an unavailable time domain resource unit, the nominal repetition is segmented. One segment may be referred to as one “actual repetition.”; ¶ [0191] The quantity of frequency domain resource units is determined based on the expansion factor.; ¶ [0192] The first expansion factor is a ratio of the quantity of time domain resource units.; ¶ [0248] Transport block size is calculated based on all resource elements (RE) that are used for data transmission and that are included in the plurality of slots.; ¶ [0300] When the slot for sending UCI through PUCCH conflicts with the slot for sending uplink data through PUSCH, the UCI to be sent through PUCCH is usually multiplexed into the slot of the conflicting PUSCH for transmission.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the multiplexing of UCI and PUSCH as taught by Yu with OCC based PUSCH repetition taught by 3GPP ZTE and resource configuration as taught by Cirik. One would have been motivated to do so in order to achieve robust performance and higher throughput by multiplexing control information and data on shared PUSCH resources while applying OCC across repeated transmissions (Yu: ¶¶ [0003]-[0005]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim et al. (US 2018/0167170 A1) discloses “Methods and Apparatuses for Performing Hybrid Automatic Retransmission Request in Wireless Access System Supporting Machine-Type Communication”
Seo et al. (US 2018/0124775 A1) discloses “Method and Apparatus Transmitting and Receiving Uplink Signal in Wireless Communication System”
Yamamoto et al. (US 2023/0396382 A1) discloses “Communication Device and Communication Method”
/D.M.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/RICKY Q NGO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2464