Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment submitted 06/13/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/13/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The amendments to the claims have changed the scope of the claims necessitating modified grounds of rejection. Please see modified grounds of rejection below.
The Applicant argues the prior art does not teach all limitations of the claims since “’monolithically formed’ has been interpreted by the USPTO and courts as indicated the elements are formed of ‘a single piece of continuous material’”.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The USPTO and courts have interpreted a monolithic body as being “a body formed as a single piece, which does not exclude a body formed by unitizing multiple pieces”, see Aisin Seiki Co., Ltd., Toyota Motor Corp., and American Honda Motor Co., Inc. v. Intellectual Ventures II LLC, PTAB Case IPR2017-01538 (whose decision was affirmed by the CAFC, Case 19-1718 Doc. 77). In this case, welding the parts together makes the parts integral thereby forming “a single piece of continuous material”. Further, the Applicant has made no special definition for “monolithically formed”.
The Applicant argues that the use of counterbored holes is not merely an issue of design choice because there are benefits to doing so, citing for example “minimizing stacking height”.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees as that is an expected result and Applicant has not disclosed any such benefits in Applicant’s disclosure as originally filed. However, for the purpose of compact prosecution, rejections regarding said counterbored holes will be made with new art.
The Applicant argues the prior art doesn’t teach all limitations of the claims since the “distal end of Kajiwara as currently interpreted cannot be configured to operably affix to an end plate” since by doing so “the end plate would cover the inlet and render the pump inoperable.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. In the rejections, the end plate is interpreted as the wall of housing (50) defining inlet (52) of Kajiwara, as shown in Figure 1. Flange member (70) at inlet (52) of Kajiwara is affixed to said wall via welding. For the purpose of clarity of the record, the Examiner will add more detail to the interpretation used in the rejections. The Examiner further notes there are other structures disclosed by Kajiwara that may be interpreted as a distal end, e.g. portion of intermediate housing (66) proximate impeller (58) or distal portion of diffuser (62) that abuts intermediate housing (66) as shown in Figure 1.
The Applicant further argues Pruitt does not teach wherein the “first/second set of coupling bores are coplanar with the port face bores on a face configured to face outward” since “base apertures 110 and neck apertures 114 can be coplanar at the rear surface of the flange adapter”.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Pruitt teaches that the same adapter shape can be used to attach the pump to a larger flow line which would result in a configuration where the adapter shown in the drawings would be larger and “reversed”.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites “monolitically" which should be “monolithically”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-8, 10-12, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 6390773 to Kajiwara in view of US 10450823 to Pruitt in further view of US 5364062 to Doyle.
(a) Regarding claim 1:
(i) Kajiwara discloses a pump casing system (pump part 48, Fig 1), the system comprising:
a body (housing 50 of pump part 48, Fig 1) comprising: a proximal end (end of housing 50 comprising wall 42, Fig 1) configured to be operably engaged with a pump bracket (bracket of pump housing 50 for attachment of the pump part 48 to motor part 46, Fig 1); a distal end (end of housing 50 comprising inlet opening 52, Fig 1) configured to be operably affixed to an end plate (wall defining inlet opening 52, Fig 1) to define a pumping chamber therein (first and second pumping chambers 66/68 containing impellers 58/60, Fig 1);
a first port and a second port (inlet opening 52, outlet opening 54, Fig 1) respectively comprising an opening of a first diameter (diameter of through hole 74, Figs 1-2), and respectively comprising a port face (outside surface 78, Figs 1-2) monolithically formed with the body (flange members 70 are welded to inlet and outlet openings 52/54, Col 3 Lns 33-38) and having a set of casing flange coupler receivers in a first pattern (pattern of bolt holes, Fig 2).
(ii) Kajiwara does not disclose:
a first modular port flange that comprises a first port configuration and a set of bores or vias arranged in a complementary pattern to the first pattern; and
a second modular port flange that comprises a second port configuration and a set of bores or vias arranged in a complementary pattern to the first pattern;
wherein the first modular port and the second modular port are configured to be operably fastened to the pump casing to provide the first port configuration and/or the second port configuration.
(iii) Pruitt is also in the field of flanges (see title) and teaches a modular port flange (flange adapter 106, Fig 1) comprising:
one of various port configurations (aperture 116 may taper in an axial direction to connect to a larger or smaller pipe and aperture 116 may have a constant diameter; Col 6 Ln 60 – Col 7 Ln 6),
a set of bores (base apertures 110, Fig 1) arranged in a complementary pattern to a first pattern (same pattern as pattern of attachment arms 104, Fig 1);
wherein the modular port is configured to be operably fastened to a casing (housing 100, via attachment arms 104, Fig 1) to provide the respective one of various port configurations.
(iv) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first and second ports as disclosed by Kajiwara to each further comprise a respective one of the modular port flange as taught by Pruitt for the purpose of allowing the pump to connect to flow lines of a different size thereby increasing usability, decreasing manufacturing costs, and reducing down time (Col 2 Lns 12-25).
(v) The Examiner notes that Pruitt teaches wherein the adapter plate may have various configurations, e.g. for connection with a larger or smaller flow line than nominal, and that the port configurations of the inlet and outlet ports of Kajiwara as modified by Pruitt may be the same (i.e. both inlet and outlet connected to pipes of the same size), resulting in both first and second ports having one of a first or second port configuration; or may be different (i.e. inlet and outlet connected to pipes of differing size), resulting in each of the first and second ports each having one of a first port configuration and second port configuration.
(vi) The Examiner further notes that the pump casing system of Kajiwara as modified by Pruitt teaches all structural limitations of the claim and therefore may perform the function of providing universal-type coupling for different port sizes to be selectively, operably engaged with the casing.
(vii) Kajiwara as modified by Pruitt does not teach wherein the set of bores or vias of the first modular port flange are counterbored to receive a plurality of fasteners such that the plurality of fasteners do not extend outward past an exterior face of the first modular port flange and/or the set of bores or vias of the second modular port flange are counterbored to receive a plurality of fasteners such that the plurality of fasteners do not extend outward past an exterior face of the second modular port flange.
(viii) Doyle is also in the field of adapter mounting plates (see abstract) and teaches:
a modular flange (adapter mounting plate 104 and/or flange 128, Fig 4) comprising a set of bores or vias (counterbores holes receiving bolts 124 and/or nuts 120, Fig 4),
wherein the set of bores or vias are counterbored (Col 3 Lns 52-55, Col 4 Lns 40-49, Fig 4) to receive a plurality of fasteners (bolts 124 and/or nuts 120, Fig 4) such that the plurality of fasteners do not extend outward past an exterior surface of the modular flange (Fig 4).
(ix) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the set of bores or vias for either or both of the first and second modular port flanges for the purpose of allowing a flush abutment connection (Col 2 Lns 18-19; Col 4 Lns 39-42; Col 5 Lns 21-23; Fig 4).
(b) Regarding claim 2:
(i) Kajiwara as modified by Pruitt as further modified by Boyle teaches the system of claim 1.
(ii) Kajiwara as modified by Pruitt further teaches the respective port faces comprising a gasket channel in which a gasket is operably disposed between the port face and the accompanying modular port flange (Kajiwara: O-ring receiving groove 80 which receives an O-ring, Col 2 Lns 56-62, Figs 1-4; Pruitt: port face 102 of housing 100 comprises groove seal base 107, Fig 1, which is aligned with a groove seal base 126 in the modular port flange adapter 106, Fig 5, with a seal therebetween; Col 6 Lns 52-55 and Col 7 Lns 6-8).
(c) Regarding claim 5:
(i) Kajiwara as modified by Pruitt as further modified by Boyle teaches the system of claim 1.
(ii) Pruitt further teaches the respective modular port flanges comprising a set of flange coupling bores (neck aperture 114, Figs 2/4) configured to facilitate fastening of a fluid line coupling flange to the port flange (Col 6 Lns 12-19), the flange coupling bores arranged in a second pattern complementary to the fluid line coupling flange (required as flow line are attached to flange adapter 106 by neck apertures 114, Col 6 Lns 12-19).
(d) Regarding claims 6-8:
(i) Kajiwara as modified by Pruitt as further modified by Boyle teaches the system of claim 1.
(ii) Kajiwara as modified by Pruitt as further modified by Boyle further teaches wherein:
a first, first modular port flange operably engaged with the first port and a second, first modular port flange operably engaged with the second port (wherein the port configurations of the inlet and outlet ports of Kajiwara as modified by Pruitt are the same, see rejection of claim 1 above; with “first” and “second” labelling assigned arbitrarily);
a first, second modular port flange operably engaged with the first port and a second, second modular port flange operably engaged with the second port (wherein the port configurations of the inlet and outlet ports of Kajiwara as modified by Pruitt are the same, see rejection of claim 1 above; with “first” and “second” labelling assigned arbitrarily); and
a first modular port flange operably engaged with the first port and a second modular port flange operably engaged with the second port (wherein the port configurations of the inlet and outlet ports of Kajiwara as modified by Pruitt are different, see rejection of claim 1 above; with “first” and “second” labelling assigned arbitrarily).
(e) Regarding claim 10:
(i) Kajiwara as modified by Pruitt as further modified by Boyle teaches the system of claim 1.
(ii) Kajiwara as modified by Pruitt as further modified by Boyle further teaches the second port configuration comprising a standard port type flange (every port configuration of Kajiwara as modified by Pruitt comprises a standard port type flange since the flange adapter 106 of Pruitt is a standard type port flange; see rejection of claim 1 above).
(f) Regarding claims 11-12:
(i) Kajiwara as modified by Pruitt as further modified by Boyle teaches the system of claim 1.
(ii) Kajiwara as modified by Pruitt as further modified by Boyle further teaches:
the first port configuration comprising the first diameter and a second diameter (Pruitt: flow aperture 116 tapers inwardly/outwardly from a first diameter to a smaller/larger second diameter, Fig 5); and
the second port configuration comprising the first diameter and a third diameter (Pruitt: flow aperture 116 tapers inwardly/outwardly from a first diameter to a smaller/larger third diameter, Fig 5).
(iii) The Examiner notes that the second and third diameters may be the same or different in size.
(g) Regarding claim 19:
(i) Kajiwara as modified by Pruitt as further modified by Boyle teaches the system of claim 1.
(ii) Kajiwara as modified by Pruitt as further modified by Boyle further teaches a first modular port flange operably engaged with the first port (each port of Kajiwara as modified by Pruitt has a modular port flange operably engaged with it, see rejection of claim 1 above, and labelling of “first” or “second” is arbitrary) and a second modular port flange operably engaged with the second port (each port of Kajiwara as modified by Pruitt has a modular port flange operably engaged with it, see rejection of claim 1 above, and labelling of “first” or “second” is arbitrary).
Claim(s) 3-4 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 6390773 to Kajiwara in view of US 10450823 to Pruitt in further view of US 5364062 to Doyle as applied to claims 1 and 17, and further in view of US 2535695 to Pezzillo.
(a) Regarding claims 3 and 17:
(i) Kajiwara as modified by Pruitt teaches the system of claim 1 (as further modified by Boyle) and the system of claim 13.
(ii) Kajiwara as modified by Pruitt (as further modified by Boyle) do not teach a planer gasket disposed between respective port faces and the accompanying modular port flange.
(iii) Pezzillo is also in the field of pumps (see title) and teaches:
port faces (planar surfaces of housing 2 and 3 into which bolts 38 are received, Fig 1) onto each of which a modular port flange (coupling 40 comprising threaded coupling 35 and gasket 36; Fig 1) is attached (Fig 1), and
a planer gasket (separate gasket 39, Figs 1/4) disposed between the port faces and the accompanying modular port flange (Fig 1).
(iv) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system as taught by Kajiwara as modified by Pruitt (as further modified by Boyle) with the above aforementioned planer gasket as taught by Pezzillo for the purpose of providing sealing between the respective port faces and the accompanying modular port flange.
(b) Regarding claim 4:
(i) Kajiwara as modified by Pruitt as further modified by Boyle as further modified by Pezzillo teaches the system of claim 3.
(ii) Pezzilo further teaches the planer gasket comprising vias arranged in the first pattern (separate gasket 39 shown to have holes through which bolts 38 pass through, Figs 1/4).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 6390773 to Kajiwara in view of US 10450823 to Pruitt in further view of US 5364062 to Doyle as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 7644962 to Crouse.
(a) Regarding claim 9:
(i) Kajiwara as modified by Pruitt as further modified by Boyle teaches the system of claim 1.
(ii) Kajiwara as modified by Pruitt does not teach the first port configuration comprising a NPT port type flange.
(iii) Crouse is also in the field of universal attachment flanges (see title) and teaches:
a modular port flange (flange 16/116, Figs 2/5) comprising a first port configuration (central through hole 18/118, Figs 2/5),
the first port configuration comprising a NPT port type flange (central through hole 18/118 of flange 16/116 comprises a NPT fitting, Figs 2/5, Col 2 Lns 45-46 and Col 4 Lns 45-47).
(iv) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first port configuration as taught by Kajiwara as modified by Pruitt to further comprise a NPT port type flange as taught by Crouse for the purpose of allowing the connection of a fluid line using a NPT coupling.
Claim(s) 13-16, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 6390773 to Kajiwara in view of US 10450823 to Pruitt.
(a) Regarding claim 13:
(i) Kajiwara discloses a pump casing system (pump part 48, Fig 1) operably engaged with a pump bracket at a first end (end of housing 50 comprising wall 42, Fig 1; bracket of pump housing 50 for attachment of the pump part 48 to motor part 46, Fig 1) and an end plate at a second end (end of housing 50 comprising inlet opening 52, Fig 1) to form a rotating pump housing (housing 50 of pump part 48, Fig 1), the system comprising:
a first fluid port disposed in the pump casing (one of inlet opening 52 and outlet opening 54, Fig 1),
the first fluid port comprising an outwardly facing first port face (respective outside surface 78, Figs 1-2) monolithically formed with the pump casing (flange members 70 are welded to inlet and outlet openings 52/54, Col 3 Lns 33-38),
the first port face comprising a set of first bores arranged in a port face pattern (respective pattern of bolt holes, Fig 2);
a second fluid port disposed in the pump casing (the other one of opening 52 and outlet 54, Fig 1),
the second fluid port comprising an outwardly facing second port face (respective outside surface 78, Figs 1-2) monolithically formed with the pump casing (flange members 70 are welded to inlet and outlet openings 52/54, Col 3 Lns 33-38), and
the second port face comprising a set of second bores arranged in the port face pattern (pattern of bolt holes, Fig 2; both inlet and outlet openings 52/54 each comprise flange 70, i.e. have the same bolt hole pattern).
(ii) Kajiwara does not disclose:
a first set of modular port flanges comprising a first port configuration having a first set of coupling bores in a first coupling pattern and a set of bores arranged in the port face pattern, the first set of coupling bores and the set of bores of the first set of modular port flanges being coplanar on a face of the first set of modular port flanges, the face of the first set of modular port flanges being configured to face outward when the first port flanges are installed on the pump casing;
a second set of modular port flanges comprising a second port configuration having a second set of coupling bores in a second coupling pattern and a set of bores arranged in the port face pattern, the second set of coupling bores and the set of bores of the second set of modular port flanges being coplanar on a face of the second set of modular port flanges, the face of the second set of modular port flanges being configured to face outward when the second port flanges are installed on the pump casing;
wherein the first port configuration is different than the second port configuration.
(iii) Pruitt is also in the field of flanges (see title) and teaches a set (e.g. at both and inlet and outlet of a pump, Col 7 Lns 31-32/38-39) of modular port flanges (flange adapter 106, Fig 1) comprising:
one of various port configurations (aperture 116 may taper in an axial direction to connect to a larger or smaller pipe and aperture 116 may have a constant diameter; Col 6 Ln 60 – Col 7 Ln 6) having a set of coupling bores in a first coupling pattern (pattern of neck apertures 114, Figs 2/4), and
a set of bores (base apertures 110, Fig 1) arranged in a port face pattern (same pattern as pattern of attachment arms 104, Fig 1), and
the set of coupling bores and the set of bores of the set of modular port flanges being coplanar on a face of the set of modular port flanges (neck apertures 114 may extend to the rear 122 of the flange adapter 106, Col 7 Lns 28-30; apertures 110/114 would be coplanar at rear 122, rear 122 shown as planar in Fig 5), the face of the set of modular port flanges being configured to face outward when the port flanges are installed on the pump casing (when flange adapter used to connect pump to pip larger in diameter than the pump outlet, i.e. same general shape but large and installed “backward” to the installation shown in the figures; Col 5 Lns 30-33).
(iv) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first and second fluid ports as disclosed by Kajiwara to each further comprise a respective one set of the modular port flanges as taught by Pruitt for the purpose of allowing the pump to connect to flow lines of a different size thereby increasing usability, decreasing manufacturing costs, and reducing down time (Col 2 Lns 12-25).
(v) The Examiner notes that Pruitt teaches wherein the adapter plate may have various configurations, e.g. for connection with different sized lines than nominal, therefore the port configurations of the inlet and outlet ports of Kajiwara as modified by Pruitt may be different (i.e. inlet and outlet connected to pipes of differing size).
(b) Regarding claim 14:
(i) Kajiwara as modified by Pruitt teaches the system of claim 13.
(ii) Kajiwara as modified by Pruitt further teaches the first port configuration comprising a first diameter bore (such a diameter must exist for any bore, i.e. flow aperture 116 as taught by Pruitt, of Kajiwara as modified by Pruitt), and the second port configuration comprising a second diameter bore (such a diameter must exist for any bore, i.e. flow aperture 116 as taught by Pruitt, of Kajiwara as modified by Pruitt).
(c) Regarding claim 15:
(i) Kajiwara as modified by Pruitt teaches the system of claim 13.
(ii) Kajiwara as modified by Pruitt further teaches the first port configuration comprising a first fluid pipe attachment arrangement (such an arrangement must exist to attach a fluid pipe of one size to the first set of modular port flanges, see rejection of claim 13 above), and the second port configuration comprising a second fluid pipe attachment arrangement (such an arrangement must exist to attach a fluid pipe of one size to the second set of modular port flanges, see rejection of claim 13 above).
(d) Regarding claim 16:
(i) Kajiwara as modified by Pruitt teaches the system of claim 13.
(ii) Kajiwara as modified by Pruitt further teaches the respective port faces comprising a gasket channel in which a gasket is operably disposed between the port face and the accompanying modular port flange (Kajiwara: O-ring receiving groove 80 which receives an O-ring, Col 2 Lns 56-62, Figs 1-4; Pruitt: port face 102 of housing 100 comprises groove seal base 107, Fig 1, which is aligned with a groove seal base 126 in the modular port flange adapter 106, Fig 5, with a seal therebetween; Col 6 Lns 52-55 and Col 7 Lns 6-8).
(e) Regarding claim 18:
(i) Kajiwara as modified by Pruitt teaches the system of claim 13.
(ii) Pruitt further teaches the respective modular port flanges comprising a set of flange coupling bores (neck aperture 114, Figs 2/4) configured to facilitate fastening of a fluid line coupling flange to the modular port flange (Col 6 Lns 12-19), the flange coupling bores arranged in a second pattern complementary to the fluid line coupling flange (required as flow line are attached to flange adapter 106 by neck apertures 114, Col 6 Lns 12-19).
(f) Regarding claim 20:
(i) Kajiwara discloses a pump casing system (pump part 48, Fig 1), the system comprising:
a body (housing 50 of pump part 48, Fig 1) comprising: a proximal end (end of housing 50 comprising wall 42, Fig 1) configured to be operably engaged with a pump bracket (bracket of pump housing 50 for attachment of the pump part 48 to motor part 46, Fig 1); a distal end (end of housing 50 comprising inlet opening 52, Fig 1) configured to be operably affixed to an end plate (wall defining inlet opening 52, Fig 1) to define a pumping chamber therein (first and second pumping chambers 66/68 containing impellers 58/60, Fig 1);
a first port and a second port (inlet opening 52, outlet opening 54, Fig 1) respectively comprising an opening of a first diameter (diameter of through hole 74, Figs 1-2), and respectively comprising a planer port face (outside surface 78, Figs 1-2) monolithically formed with the body (flange members 70 are welded to inlet and outlet openings 52/54, Col 3 Lns 33-38) and having a set of casing flange coupler receivers arranged in a first pattern (pattern of bolt holes, Fig 2).
(ii) Kajiwara does not disclose:
a first modular port flange that comprises a first port configuration comprising the first diameter, and a set of bores or vias arranged in the first pattern; and
a second modular port flange that comprises a second port configuration comprising the first diameter, and a set of bores or vias arranged in the first pattern; and
wherein the first modular port and the second modular port are configured to be operably fastened to the pump casing to provide the first port configuration and/or the second, different port configuration;
wherein the respective modular port flanges comprise a set of flange coupling bores configured to facilitate fastening of a fluid line coupling flange to the port flange,
the flange coupling bores arranged in a second pattern complementary to the fluid line coupling flange.
(iii) Pruitt is also in the field of flanges (see title) and teaches a modular port flange (flange adapter 106, Fig 1) comprising:
one of various port configurations (aperture 116 may taper in an axial direction to connect to a larger or smaller pipe and aperture 116 may have a constant diameter; Col 6 Ln 60 – Col 7 Ln 6),
a set of bores (base apertures 110, Fig 1) arranged in a first pattern (same pattern as pattern of attachment arms 104, Fig 1);
wherein the modular port is configured to be operably fastened to a casing (housing 100, via attachment arms 104, Fig 1) to provide the respective one of various port configurations;
wherein the modular port flange comprises a set of flange coupling bores (neck aperture 114, Figs 2/4) configured to facilitate fastening of a fluid line coupling flange to the port flange (Col 6 Lns 12-19),
the flange coupling bores arranged in a second pattern complementary to the fluid line coupling flange (required as flow line are attached to flange adapter 106 by neck apertures 114, Col 6 Lns 12-19).
(iv) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first and second ports as disclosed by Kajiwara to each further comprise a respective one of the modular port flange as taught by Pruitt for the purpose of allowing the pump to connect to flow lines of a different size thereby increasing usability, decreasing manufacturing costs, and reducing down time (Col 2 Lns 12-25).
(v) The Examiner notes that Pruitt teaches wherein the adapter plate may have various configurations, e.g. for connection with a larger or smaller flow line than nominal, and that the port configurations of the inlet and outlet ports of Kajiwara as modified by Pruitt may be the same (i.e. both inlet and outlet connected to pipes of the same size), resulting in both first and second ports having one of a first or second port configuration; or may be different (i.e. inlet and outlet connected to pipes of differing size), resulting in each of the first and second ports having one of a first port configuration and second, different port configuration.
(vi) The Examiner further notes that the pump casing system of Kajiwara as modified by Pruitt teaches all structural limitations of the claim and therefore may perform the function of providing universal-type coupling for different port sizes to be selectively, operably engaged with the casing.
Conclusion
/JUSTIN A PRUITT/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/NATHANIEL E WIEHE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745