DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Pending
1-4, 6-11, 13-18, and 20
103
1-4, 6-11, 13-18, and 20
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 13November2025. As directed by the amendment: claims 1, 8, 14, and 16 has (have) been amended, claims 5, 12, and 19 has/have been cancelled, and no new claims has/have been added. Thus, claims 1-4, 6-11, 13-18, and 20 are presently pending in this application.
The previously issued final rejection is withdrawn and this final supersedes the previous final rejection that contained missing rejections due to a system error.
Response to Arguments
The amendments to the claims affected the prior scope thereby necessitating further search and consideration. The instant office action has been made FINAL.
Applicant's arguments filed on 13November2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 8, and 14 in regards to the harmonics of the signal frequencies have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the processor configured to calculate a Fourier transform) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Although Park is using a Fourier transform to determine the type of glass, the purpose was to show that a Fourier transform is used in same field of endeavor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 7, 14, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mirassou US 20200371270 in view of Lundquist US 20150049326 further in view of Park US 20180105139.
Mirassou discloses,
Claim 1; A rain sensor(210) comprising: an emitter(120 or 125) configured to project an incident beam(Fig. 2 shows 236 and 238 are incident beams) that is reflected, as a reflected beam, by a windshield(Fig. 2 shows 236 and 238 reflected off 230) of a vehicle([0003] Optical rain sensors are commonly employed as rain-sensitive switches for controlling electric devices in a wide range of applications, such as automotive vehicles and irrigation systems) comprising the rain sensor; a receiver(240) configured to generate, based upon a received intensity of the reflected beam, a rain signal indicating a potential presence of rainwater on the windshield([0032] The rain sensor IC 250 also includes a sensitive receiver 256 that receives and processes the detection signal 245 output by the photodetector 240 for detecting the presence of rain and water drops 235 on the windshield 230); a processor(260) configured to: receive the rain signal([0037] The microcontroller 260 analyses the measured amplitudes of the photodetection signals 245 and any sudden variation in the difference will be interpreted by the microcontroller 260 as corresponding to a detection of rain drops), and perform a filtering operation on the rain signal to generate a filtered signal( [0054] Sudden variations of the photodetector signal 245 due to water drops may be distinguished from others types of variations by filtering the photodetector signal 245 in the microcontroller 260 with a digital high-pass filter); and a printed circuit board (PCB) configured to electronically interconnect the emitter, the receiver, and the processor([0063] Discloses that the LEDs, rain sensor IC, and microcontroller provides a small footprint on a PCB which is an advantage because PCB area is limited in a rain sensor), wherein the filtering operation comprises filtering noise from the rain signal such that the filtered signal has signal frequencies(([0054] Discloses that a microcontroller 260 uses a digital high-pass filter to distinguish rain from other variations, [0037] to [0039] discloses that the LED has a specific frequency and how variations are compensated for under normal working conditions, when water is present the frequency changes and would be detected) and with respective magnitudes and phases that are correlated with a definitive presence of the rainwater on the windshield([0005] Discloses the intensity of the light reflected from LED 120 and LED 125 will differ depending on whether the respective light beams are incident on a region covered by a drop or not, the phases are the emitting of the light and receiving of the light).
Claim 4; Wherein the filtering operation is performed using one or more of: a Butterworth filter, an elliptic filter, a comb filter, a notch filter, a low pass filter, a high pass filter, a band pass filter, or an equivalent filter or filtering process([0054] Sudden variations of the photodetector signal 245 due to water drops may be distinguished from others types of variations by filtering the photodetector signal 245 in the microcontroller 260 with a digital high-pass filter).
Claim 7; Wherein the predetermined range of frequencies is determined such that the predetermined range excludes the frequencies, the related harmonics, and their respective magnitudes and phases that are associated with a presence of the noise([0037] to [0039] discloses that the LED has a specific frequency and how variations are compensated for under normal working conditions, when water is present the frequency changes and would be detected).
Claim 14; A method comprising: electronically interconnecting an emitter(120 or 125), a receiver(240), and a processor(260 is a microcontroller which is a processor) of a rain sensor(210 [0063] are all on either an integrated circuit or a printed circuit board (PCB)); projecting an incident beam with the emitter(Fig. 2 shows 236 and 238 are incident beams); reflecting the incident beam, as a reflected beam, by a windshield of a vehicle(Fig. 2 shows 236 and 238 reflected off 230); receiving the reflected beam with the receiver(Fig. 2 shows 240 is receiving the reflected beam), generating a rain signal with the receiver, based upon a received intensity of the reflected beam, that indicates a potential presence of rainwater on the windshield([0032] The rain sensor IC 250 also includes a sensitive receiver 256 that receives and processes the detection signal 245 output by the photodetector 240 for detecting the presence of rain and water drops 235 on the windshield 230); transmitting the rain signal from the receiver to the processor([0037] The microcontroller 260 analyses the measured amplitudes of the photodetection signals 245 and any sudden variation in the difference will be interpreted by the microcontroller 260 as corresponding to a detection of rain drops), and performing, with the processor, a filtering operation on the rain signal([0054] Sudden variations of the photodetector signal 245 due to water drops may be distinguished from others types of variations by filtering the photodetector signal 245 in the microcontroller 260 with a digital high-pass filter) to generate a filtered signal such that the filtered signal has signal frequencies([0054] Discloses that a microcontroller 260 uses a digital high-pass filter to distinguish rain from other variations, [0037] to [0039] discloses that the LED has a specific frequency and how variations are compensated for under normal working conditions, when water is present the frequency changes and would be detected) and with respective magnitudes and phases that are correlated with a definitive presence of the rainwater on the windshield([0005] Discloses the intensity of the light reflected from LED 120 and LED 125 will differ depending on whether the respective light beams are incident on a region covered by a drop or not, the phases are the emitting of the light and receiving of the light).
Claim 18; Wherein performing the filtering operation comprises filtering the rain signal with one or more of a Butterworth filter, an elliptic filter, a comb filter, a notch filter, a low pass filter, a high pass filter, a band pass filter, or an equivalent filter or filtering process([0054] Sudden variations of the photodetector signal 245 due to water drops may be distinguished from others types of variations by filtering the photodetector signal 245 in the microcontroller 260 with a digital high-pass filter).
Claim 20; Wherein the predetermined range of frequencies is determined such that the predetermined range excludes the frequencies, the related harmonics, and their respective magnitudes and phases that are associated with a presence of noise([0037] to [0039] discloses that the LED has a specific frequency and how variations are compensated for under normal working conditions, when water is present the frequency changes and would be detected).
However, Mirassou fails to disclose:
Claim 1; Related harmonics of the signal frequencies within a predetermined range of frequencies, and wherein the processor is further configured to calculate a Fourier transform of the received rain signal().
Claim 14; Related harmonics of the signal frequencies within a predetermined range of frequencies, and calculating, with the processor, a Fourier transform of the received rain signal.
Lundquist teaches a similar device in the same field of laser detection.
Lundquist teaches,
Claim 1; Related harmonics of the signal frequencies within a predetermined range of frequencies([0005] Discloses that the laser pulse’s generate broadband frequency components, and[0007] as the optical energy of a laser pulse propagates through a medium, it may back scatter optical energy at a harmonic wavelength. To further illustrate, an 800 nm wavelength laser pulse may propagate through the air into water. A portion of the optical energy returning from the water may be at a wavelength of 400 nm or some other harmonic, such as 100 nm).
Claim 14; Related harmonics of the signal frequencies within a predetermined range of frequencies([0005] Discloses that the laser pulse’s generate broadband frequency components, and[0007] as the optical energy of a laser pulse propagates through a medium, it may back scatter optical energy at a harmonic wavelength. To further illustrate, an 800 nm wavelength laser pulse may propagate through the air into water. A portion of the optical energy returning from the water may be at a wavelength of 400 nm or some other harmonic, such as 100 nm).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include related harmonics of the signal frequencies within a predetermined range of frequencies as taught by Lundquist, for the purpose of [0007] simplicity, the term BSCE is intended to encompass a broad spectrum of optical energy resulting from optical energy from a laser including various harmonics of the optical energy from the laser.
Park 5139 teaches a similar device in the same field of rain sensors for vehicle windshields.
Park 5139 teaches,
Claim 1; Wherein the processor is further configured to calculate a Fourier transform of the received rain signal([0057] In embodiments of the present disclosure, an analog-to-digital transformed signal is shown on a time domain by interpreting the light received by the light-receiving unit 266 as synthesis conditions of sinusoidal signals, magnitude of the amplitude is shown on a frequency domain as shown in FIG. 3 by performing Fast Fourier Transform on the analog-to-digital transformed signal).
Claim 14; Calculating, with the processor, a Fourier transform of the received rain signal([0057] In embodiments of the present disclosure, an analog-to-digital transformed signal is shown on a time domain by interpreting the light received by the light-receiving unit 266 as synthesis conditions of sinusoidal signals, magnitude of the amplitude is shown on a frequency domain as shown in FIG. 3 by performing Fast Fourier Transform on the analog-to-digital transformed signal).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the processor is further configured to calculate a Fourier transform of the received rain signal as taught by Park, for the purpose of [0057] determining the glass specification of the windshield by analyzing a frequency-amplitude graph .
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mirassou US 20200371270 in view of Lundquist US 20150049326 further in view of Park US 20180105139 further in view of Ponziana US 6066933.
Regarding claim(s) 2, Mirassou discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim(s) 1.
However, Mirassou fails to disclose:
Claim 2; Further comprising: an adhesive pad configured to rigidly fix a casing of the rain sensor to the windshield of the vehicle.
Ponziana teaches a similar device in the same field of rain sensors for vehicle windshields.
Ponziana teaches,
Claim 2; Further comprising: an adhesive pad(28) configured to rigidly fix a casing of the rain sensor to the windshield of the vehicle(Col. 3 Lines 9-13).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an adhesive pad configured to rigidly fix a casing of the rain sensor to the windshield of the vehicle as taught by Ponziana, for the purpose of mounting a sensor to a glass windshield.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mirassou US 20200371270 in view of Ponziana US 6066933 further in view of Eichhorn EP 3766746.
Regarding claim(s) 3, Mirassou and Ponziana discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim(s) 1 and 2.
However, Mirassou fails to disclose:
Claim 3; Wherein the noise originates from at least one of: vibrations of the vehicle, vibrations of components of the vehicle, temperature variations, and changes in a geometry of the adhesive pad.
Eichhorn teaches a similar device in the same field of rain sensors for vehicle windshields.
Eichhorn teaches,
Claim 3; Wherein the noise originates from at least one of: vibrations of the vehicle, vibrations of components of the vehicle, temperature variations, and changes in a geometry of the adhesive pad([0050] and [0051] Vibrations such as a stone hitting a rooftop or caused by vehicle internal sound can be filtered out and [0060] discloses compensating for imbalances).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include filter the noise that originates from at least one of: vibrations of the vehicle, vibrations of components of the vehicle, temperature variations, and changes in a geometry of the adhesive pad as taught by Eichhorn, for the purpose of improving the accuracy of the automatic wipers.
Claim(s) 6, and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mirassou US 20200371270 in view of Lundquist US 20150049326 further in view of Park US 20180105139 further in view of Park US 20180170316.
Regarding claim(s) 5-6, 15-16, and 19, Mirassou discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim(s) 1 and 14.
However, Mirassou fails to disclose:
Claim 6; Further comprising a memory configured to receive and store the rain signal, a filter used in the filtering operation, the predetermined range of frequencies, the related harmonics and their respective magnitudes and phases, the filtered signal, and outputs of the filtering operation.
Claim 15; Further comprising: processing the filtered signal with an Electronic Control Unit (ECU) to generate an operating command that includes a duration and a number of occurrences of periods of time to operate a windshield wiper.
Claim 16; Further comprising: controlling a wiper motor such that the windshield wiper fixed to the wiper motor actuates according to the operating command.
Park 0316 teaches a similar device in the same field of rain sensors for vehicle windshields.
Park 0316 teaches,
Claim 6; Further comprising a memory([0105] Discloses memory for storing data) configured to receive and store the rain signal, a filter used in the filtering operation, the predetermined range of frequencies, the related harmonics and their respective magnitudes and phases, the filtered signal, and outputs of the filtering operation([0105] The memory is for storing data regarding a program implementing the algorithm and in conjunction with the processor performs operations using data stored in the memory).
Claim 15; Further comprising: processing the filtered signal with an Electronic Control Unit (ECU)( [0100] The BCM 200 receives signals from the rain sensor which Fig. 3 shows the signal goes through a filter before reaching the BCM 200) to generate an operating command that includes a duration and a number of occurrences of periods of time to operate a windshield wiper([0096] discloses that the BCM 200 and Wiper 330 are coupled and [0135] to [0138] discloses that the wiper duration 813 will increase if pollutants are still present 815 and the number of occurrences 817 before an error is displayed).
Claim 16; Further comprising: controlling a wiper motor such that the windshield wiper fixed to the wiper motor actuates according to the operating command([0108] For 330 to remove foreign substances or pollutants from the windshield 11, 330 would need to contain wipers connected to a motor to move the wipers).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a memory configured to receive and store the rain signal, a filter used in the filtering operation, the predetermined range of frequencies, the related harmonics and their respective magnitudes and phases, the filtered signal, and outputs of the filtering operation as taught by Park, for the purpose of [0093] having a storage medium for a processor.
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include processing the filtered signal with an Electronic Control Unit (ECU) to generate an operating command that includes a duration and a number of occurrences of periods of time to operate a windshield wiper as taught by Park, for the purpose of [0135] ensuring that pollutants have been completely removed.
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include controlling a wiper motor such that the windshield wiper fixed to the wiper motor actuates according to the operating command as taught by Park, for the purpose of cleaning the windshield.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mirassou US 20200371270 in view of Lundquist US 20150049326 further in view of Park US 20180105139 further in view of Eichhorn EP 3766746.
Regarding claim(s) 17, Mirassou discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim(s) 14.
However, Mirassou fails to disclose:
Claim 17; Further comprising: generating noise with one or more of: vibrations of the vehicle, vibrations of components of the vehicle, temperature variations, and changes in a geometry of an adhesive pad configured to rigidly fix a casing of the rain sensor to the windshield of the vehicle.
Eichhorn teaches a similar device in the same field of rain sensors for vehicle windshields.
Eichhorn teaches,
Claim 17; Further comprising: generating noise with one or more of: vibrations of the vehicle, vibrations of components of the vehicle, temperature variations, and changes in a geometry of an adhesive pad configured to rigidly fix a casing of the rain sensor to the windshield of the vehicle([0050] and [0051] Vibrations such as a stone hitting a rooftop or caused by vehicle internal sound can be filtered out).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include generating noise with one or more of: vibrations of the vehicle, vibrations of components of the vehicle, temperature variations, and changes in a geometry of an adhesive pad configured to rigidly fix a casing of the rain sensor to the windshield of the vehicle as taught by Eichhorn, for the purpose of improving the accuracy of the automatic wipers.
Claim(s) 8, 11, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mirassou US 20200371270 in view of Park US 20180170316 further in view of Lundquist US 20150049326 further in view of Park US 20180105139.
Mirassou discloses,
Claim 8; An assembly comprising: a vehicle([0003] Optical rain sensors are commonly employed as rain-sensitive switches for controlling electric devices in a wide range of applications, such as automotive vehicles and irrigation systems) a windshield(230) a rain sensor(210), comprising: an emitter(120 or 125) configured to project an incident beam(Fig. 2 shows 236 and 238 are incident beams) that is reflected, as a reflected beam, by the windshield of the vehicle(Fig. 2 shows 236 and 238 reflected off 230); a receiver(240) configured to generate, based upon a received intensity of the reflected beam, a rain signal indicating a potential presence of rainwater on the windshield([0032] The rain sensor IC 250 also includes a sensitive receiver 256 that receives and processes the detection signal 245 output by the photodetector 240 for detecting the presence of rain and water drops 235 on the windshield 230); a processor(260 is a microcontroller which is a processor) configured to: receive the rain signal([0037] The microcontroller 260 analyses the measured amplitudes of the photodetection signals 245 and any sudden variation in the difference will be interpreted by the microcontroller 260 as corresponding to a detection of rain drops), and perform a filtering operation on the rain signal to generate a filtered signal([0037] The microcontroller erroneously identifying a variation between the LED signals measured by the photodetector 240 as being related with detection of a rain drop), and a printed circuit board (PCB) configured to interconnect the emitter, the receiver, and the processor([0063] Discloses that the LEDs, rain sensor IC, and microcontroller provides a small footprint on a PCB which is an advantage because PCB area is limited in a rain sensor), wherein the filtering operation comprises filtering noise from the rain signal such that the filtered signal has signal frequencies([0054] Discloses that a microcontroller 260 uses a digital high-pass filter to distinguish rain from other variations, [0037] to [0039] discloses that the LED has a specific frequency and how variations are compensated for under normal working conditions, when water is present the frequency changes and would be detected) and with respective magnitudes and phases that are correlated with a definitive presence of the rainwater on the windshield([0005] Discloses the intensity of the light reflected from LED 120 and LED 125 will differ depending on whether the respective light beams are incident on a region covered by a drop or not, the phases are the emitting of the light and receiving of the light).
Claim 11; Wherein the filtering operation is performed using one or more of: a Butterworth filter, an elliptic filter, a comb filter, a notch filter, a low pass filter, a high pass filter, a band pass filter, or an equivalent filter or filtering process([0054] Sudden variations of the photodetector signal 245 due to water drops may be distinguished from others types of variations by filtering the photodetector signal 245 in the microcontroller 260 with a digital high-pass filter).
However, Mirassou fails to disclose:
Claim 8; A vehicle comprising a cabin that forms an interior of the vehicle; configured to provide a barrier between an external environment of the vehicle and the cabin of the vehicle; related harmonics of the signal frequencies within a predetermined range of frequencies; an Electronic Control Unit (ECU) configured to receive the filtered signal from the rain sensor, process the filtered signal, and transmit an operating command that includes a duration and a number of occurrences of a period of time to operate a windshield wiper; and a wiper motor controller configured to receive the operating command from the ECU, and actuate a wiper motor according to the operating command, wherein the wiper motor is fixed to the windshield wiper of the vehicle such that the windshield wiper actuates according to the operating command received by the wiper motor controller, and wherein the processor is further configured to calculate a Fourier transform of the received rain signal.
Claim 12; Wherein the processor is further configured to calculate a Fourier transform of the received rain signal.
Claim 13; Further comprising a memory configured to receive and store the rain signal, a filter used in the filtering operation, the predetermined range of frequencies, the related harmonics and their respective magnitudes and phases, the filtered signal, and outputs of the filtering operation.
Park 0316 teaches a similar device in the same field of rain sensors for vehicle windshields.
Park 0316 teaches,
Claim 8; A vehicle comprising a cabin(Fig. 2) that forms an interior of the vehicle([0060]); configured to provide a barrier between an external environment of the vehicle and the cabin of the vehicle(Fig. 1 shows that windshield 11 provides a barrier in conjunction with the rest of the vehicle for the driver from the environment); an Electronic Control Unit (ECU)(200) configured to receive the filtered signal from the rain sensor([0100] The BCM receives signals from the rain sensor which Fig. 3 shows the signal goes through a filter before reaching the BCM), process the filtered signal, and transmit an operating command([0100] The BCM 200 receives signals from the rain sensor which Fig. 3 shows the signal goes through a filter before reaching the BCM 200) that includes a duration and a number of occurrences of a period of time to operate a windshield wiper([0096] discloses that the BCM 200 and Wiper 330 are coupled and [0135] to [0138] discloses that the wiper duration 813 will increase if pollutants are still present 815 and the number of occurrences 817 before an error is displayed); and a wiper motor controller(330) configured to receive the operating command from the ECU([0101] to [0103] disclose that 200 operate 330), and actuate a wiper motor according to the operating command(Fig. 1 shows a vehicle with a windshield and wipers that would be connected to 330), wherein the wiper motor is fixed to the windshield wiper of the vehicle such that the windshield wiper actuates according to the operating command received by the wiper motor controller([0108] For 330 to remove foreign substances or pollutants from the windshield 11, 330 would need to contain wipers connected to a motor to move the wipers).
Claim 12; Wherein the processor is further configured to calculate a Fourier transform of the received rain signal([0057]).
Claim 13; Further comprising a memory([0105] Discloses memory for storing data, configured to receive and store the rain signal, a filter used in the filtering operation, the predetermined range of frequencies, the related harmonics and their respective magnitudes and phases, the filtered signal, and outputs of the filtering operation([0105] The memory is for storing data regarding a program implementing the algorithm and in conjunction with the processor performs operations using data stored in the memory).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a vehicle comprising a cabin that forms an interior of the vehicle configured to provide a barrier between an external environment of the vehicle and the cabin of the vehicle; as taught by Park, for the purpose of shielding a drivers from the elements.
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an Electronic Control Unit (ECU) configured to receive the filtered signal from the rain sensor, process the filtered signal, and transmit an operating command that includes a duration and a number of occurrences of a period of time to operate a windshield wiper as taught by Park, for the purpose of [0135] ensuring that pollutants have been completely removed.
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a wiper motor controller configured to receive the operating command from the ECU, and actuate a wiper motor according to the operating command, wherein the wiper motor is fixed to the windshield wiper of the vehicle such that the windshield wiper actuates according to the operating command received by the wiper motor controller as taught by Park, for the purpose of cleaning the windshield.
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a memory configured to receive and store the rain signal, a filter used in the filtering operation, the predetermined range of frequencies, the related harmonics and their respective magnitudes and phases, the filtered signal, and outputs of the filtering operation as taught by Park, for the purpose of [0093] having a storage medium for a processor.
Lundquist teaches a similar device in the same field of laser detection.
Lundquist teaches,
Claim 8; Related harmonics of the signal frequencies within a predetermined range of frequencies([0005] Discloses that the laser pulse’s generate broadband frequency components, and[0007] as the optical energy of a laser pulse propagates through a medium, it may back scatter optical energy at a harmonic wavelength. To further illustrate, an 800 nm wavelength laser pulse may propagate through the air into water. A portion of the optical energy returning from the water may be at a wavelength of 400 nm or some other harmonic, such as 100 nm).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include related harmonics of the signal frequencies within a predetermined range of frequencies as taught by Lundquist, for the purpose of [0007] simplicity, the term BSCE is intended to encompass a broad spectrum of optical energy resulting from optical energy from a laser including various harmonics of the optical energy from the laser.
Park 5139 teaches a similar device in the same field of rain sensors for vehicle windshields.
Park 5139 teaches,
Claim 8; Wherein the processor is further configured to calculate a Fourier transform of the received rain signal([0057] In embodiments of the present disclosure, an analog-to-digital transformed signal is shown on a time domain by interpreting the light received by the light-receiving unit 266 as synthesis conditions of sinusoidal signals, magnitude of the amplitude is shown on a frequency domain as shown in FIG. 3 by performing Fast Fourier Transform on the analog-to-digital transformed signal).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the processor is further configured to calculate a Fourier transform of the received rain signal as taught by Park, for the purpose of [0057] determining the glass specification of the windshield by analyzing a frequency-amplitude graph .
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mirassou US 20200371270 in view of Park US 20180170316 further in view of Lundquist US 20150049326 further in view of Park US 20180105139 further in view of Ponziana US 6066933.
Regarding claim(s) 9, Mirass1ou and Park discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim(s) 8.
However, Mirassou and Park fails to disclose:
Claim 9; Further comprising: an adhesive pad configured to rigidly fix a casing of the rain sensor to the windshield of the vehicle.
Ponziana teaches a similar device in the same field of rain sensors for vehicle windshields.
Ponziana teaches,
Claim 9; Further comprising: an adhesive pad(28) configured to rigidly fix a casing of the rain sensor to the windshield of the vehicle(Col. 3 Lines 9-13).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an adhesive pad configured to rigidly fix a casing of the rain sensor to the windshield of the vehicle as taught by Ponziana, for the purpose of mounting a sensor to a glass windshield.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mirassou US 20200371270 in view of Park US 20180170316 further in view of Lundquist US 20150049326 further in view of Park US 20180105139 further in view of Ponziana US 6066933 further in view of Eichhorn EP 3766746.
Regarding claim(s) 10, Mirassou, Park, and Ponziana discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim(s) 8 and 9.
However, Mirassou, Park, and Ponziana fails to disclose:
Claim 10; Wherein the noise originates from at least one of: vibrations of the vehicle, vibrations of components of the vehicle, temperature variations, and changes in a geometry of the adhesive pad.
Eichhorn teaches a similar device in the same field of rain sensors for vehicle windshields.
Eichhorn teaches,
Claim 10; Wherein the noise originates from at least one of: vibrations of the vehicle, vibrations of components of the vehicle, temperature variations, and changes in a geometry of the adhesive pad([0050] and [0051] Vibrations such as a stone hitting a rooftop or caused by vehicle internal sound can be filtered out and [0060] discloses compensating for imbalances).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the noise originates from at least one of: vibrations of the vehicle, vibrations of components of the vehicle, temperature variations, and changes in a geometry of the adhesive pad as taught by Eichhorn, for the purpose of improving the accuracy of the automatic wipers.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/John C Merino/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669
/Erin M Piateski/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669