DETAILED ACTION
1. This office action is a response to application No. 18/472,791 filed on 11/02/2023 with claims 1-20 currently pending for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The examiner has fully considered the references included in the Information Disclosure Statements filed on 11/02/2024 and 01/06/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 9, 10-13, 14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et al. (US 8,634,481 B1), hereinafter “Chung” in view of Tiruvur et al. (US 2018/0248717 A1), hereinafter “Tiruvur”.
Regarding claim 1, Chung discloses a method, comprising:
dividing to-be-encoded data into X first groups of initial data, wherein X≥1 (see Chung [Col. 3, Ln. 10-13], “Demultiplexer 105 receives as an input an overall data stream, which is the data to be transmitted, and divides it into N data substreams, each to be processed along an independent transmit path and then transmitted”);
encoding, by using X encoding units of a first node, the X first groups one by one to obtain X second groups of encoded data (see Chung [Fig. 1],Demux 105 -> Encoder 107-1 … 107-N); and
distributing, to L links between the first node and a second node, the X second groups to send the X second groups to the second node (see Chung [Col. 4, Ln. 21-22], “Each of optional receive antennas 131 receives a signal from each of optional transmit antennas 117.”), wherein L ≥ 2 (see Chung [Col. 4, Ln. 26-28], “Channel estimator 135 develops an estimate of the channels for each transmit and receive pair. Thus, for N transmit antennas and M receive antennas there are NxM channels.”; Note: It is understood that the Links between nodes are channels), wherein both XxN and XxK are integer multiples of L (Note: Where X≥1 and L≥2, XxN and XxK will always be integer multiples of L as long as codeword length and information bits are in even pairs), and wherein amounts of the encoded data distributed to different links in the L links are the same (see Chung [Col. 3, Ln. 11-12], “… divides it into N data substreams, …”; Note: it is understood that the initial overall data is divided equally and not partitioned or separated using any parameters.).
Chung does not explicitly disclose wherein the x encoding units perform encoding in a first error correction (FEC) mode, wherein a first length of a first codeword of the first FEC mode is N, and wherein a second length of first valid information bits in the first codeword is K.
Tiruvur discloses wherein the x encoding units perform encoding in a first error correction (FEC) mode (see Tiruvur [Pg. 1, ¶0008], “The first FEC module encodes the first data stream using a first FEC mode.”), wherein a first length of a first codeword of the first FEC mode is N, and wherein a second length of first valid information bits in the first codeword is K (see Tiruvur [Pg. 4, ¶0040], “Depending on the specific implementation, the encoder 312 may utilize one or more FEC encoding modes, such as BCH, variations of RS encoding, and others. When a specific FEC mode (e.g., BCH, RS) is used for encoding outgoing data, the receiving end needs to uses the same FEC mode to process the incoming data.”; Note: Both Reed-Solomon (RS) and Bose-Chaudhuri-Hocquenghem (BCH) include codeword length (n) and information bit (k) parameters, often denoted as RS(n,k) and BCH(n,k,t)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate a system utilizing various FEC modes as detailed by Tiruvur, with Chung, in order to improve system efficiency (see Tiruvur [Pg. 1, ¶0011], “According to various embodiments of the present invention, by using existing alignment markers to indicate FEC mode, transceivers can quickly establish a mode of communication, and thus operate efficiently.”; also see Tiruvur [Pg. 4, ¶0040], “It is to be appreciated that according to the embodiments of the present invention, the outgoing data stream includes information for FEC mode, and the receiving entity can quickly determine the FEC mode by simply processing the incoming data containing FEC mode information.”).
Regarding claim 2, Chung combined with Tiruvur discloses the method of claim 1, wherein both the first node and the second node support a plurality of FEC nodes, wherein the first FEC mode is any of one of the plurality of FEC modes (see Tiruvur [Pg. 2, ¶0023], “For example, embodiments of the present invention can be used in different types of data communication networks that are capable of operating in different FEC modes.”), and wherein the method further comprises:
Switching, before the to-be-encoded data is divided into the X first groups, a currently-used second FEC mode in the plurality of FEC modes to the first FEC mode when a mode switching condition is met (see Chung [Col. 3, Ln. 17-26], “In accordance with an aspect of the invention, the type of channel coding used is a function of the rate, or an indicator thereof, that is fed back from the receiver. … Those of ordinary skill in the art will readily appreciate how to arrange such a function given the particular details of the system being implemented, e.g., the channel statistics, the number of substreams employed, and the like.”); and
Sending, to the second node, an indication of the first FEC mode (see Tiruvur [Pg. 4, ¶0040], “For example, the FEC mode information is embedded at a predetermined region (e.g., BIP field) of alignment markers and it transmitted as a part of outgoing data stream.”).
Regarding claim 3, Chung combined with Tiruvur discloses the method of claim 1, wherein both the first node and the second node support a plurality of FEC modes, wherein the first FEC mode is any one of the plurality of FEC modes (see Tiruvur [Pg. 2, ¶0023], “For example, embodiments of the present invention can be used in different types of data communication networks that are capable of operating in different FEC modes.”),
wherein the method further comprises switching, before the to-be-encoded data is divided into the X first groups, a currently-used second FEC mode in the plurality of FEC modes to the first FEC mode when a mode switching condition is met (see Chung [Col. 3, Ln. 17-26], “In accordance with an aspect of the invention, the type of channel coding used is a function of the rate, or an indicator thereof, that is fed back from the receiver. … Those of ordinary skill in the art will readily appreciate how to arrange such a function given the particular details of the system being implemented, e.g., the channel statistics, the number of substreams employed, and the like.”), and
wherein the X second groups carry an indication of the first FEC mode (see Tiruvur [Pg. 4, ¶0040], “It is to be appreciated that according to embodiments of the present invention, the outgoing data stream includes information for FEC mode, and the receiving entity can quickly determine the FEC mode by simply processing the incoming data containing FEC mode information.”).
Regarding claim 5, Chung combined with Tiruvur discloses the method of claim 2, herein the indication comprises an alignment marker (AM) (see Tiruvur [Pg. 4, ¶0040], “For example, the FEC mode information is embedded at a predetermined region (e.g., BIP field) of alignment markers and it transmitted as a part of outgoing data stream.”).
Regarding claim 9, Chung combined with Tiruvur discloses the method of claim 1, wherein N is a first integer multiple of 66 symbols, and K is a second integer multiple of 64 symbols (see Tiruvur [Pg. 5, ¶0050], “For example, a specific communication standard dictates that 16383 66-bits blocks of data are to be inserted between two alignment markers, and the BIP of is calculated across all 16383 blocks and the preceding alignment marker block. For example, the alignment marker 601 comprises a 64-bits block that is inserted into data stream. For example, the alignment marker 601 corresponds the payload data 602, which is encoded with a specific FED mode …”).
Regarding claim(s) 10-12, 14, and 18, Chung combined with Tiruvur discloses the limitations set forth in claim(s) 1-3, 5, and 9 which are substantially identical to claim(s) 10-12, 14, and 18 respectively in method form.
Regarding claim(s) 19-20, Chung combined with Tiruvur discloses the limitations set forth in claim(s) 1-2 which are substantially identical to claim(s) 19-20 from the perspective of the apparatus including a memory configured to store instructions and one or more processors coupled to the memory and configured to execute the instructions (see Chung [Col. 2, Ln. 34-37], “… may implicitly include, without limitation, digital signal processor (DSP) hardware, read-only memory (ROM) for storing software, random access memory (RAM), and non-volatile storage.”).
Claim(s) 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et al. (US 8,634,481 B1), hereinafter “Chung” in view of Tiruvur et al. (US 2018/0248717 A1), hereinafter “Tiruvur” further in view of Zao et al. (WO 2022193098 A1), hereinafter “Zao”.
Regarding claim 4, Chung combined with Tiruvur discloses the method of claim 2.
Chung combined with Tiruvur does not explicitly disclose wherein the first length is a first multiple of a first reference length,
wherein the second length is the first multiple of a second reference length,
wherein a third length of a second codeword of the second FEC is a second multiple of the first reference length, and
wherein a fourth length of second valid information bits in the second codeword is the second multiple.
Zao discloses wherein the first length is a first multiple of a first reference length, wherein the second length is the first multiple of a second reference length, wherein a third length of a second codeword of the second FEC is a second multiple of the first reference length, and wherein a fourth length of second valid information bits in the second codeword is the second multiple (see Zao [Pg. 22, ln. 18-21], “… the characteristics of the codeword of the first FEC encoding may be expressed as RS(228, 220, 4, 8), the second FEC encoding mode The characteristics of the codeword can be represented as RS(114, 110, 2, 8).”; Note: The comparison between the first and second codewords sharing a linear relationship is similar to the described relationship detailed on instant application specifications ¶0185). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the codeword relationships for the various FEC modes as detailed by Zao, onto the system of Chung and Tiruvur, in order to properly support multiple FEC modes utilizing state parameters in order to reduce power consumption (see Zao [Pg. 21-22, Ln. 40-42], “It is determined that the first FEC encoding mode with higher error correction capability is the target FEC encoding mode adopted for encoding, so as to improve transmission quality of data. … The second FEc encoding mode with lower error capability is the target FEC encoding mode adopted for encoding so as to reduce the power consumption of the communication device.”).
Regarding claim 13, Chung combined with Tiruvur and Chung discloses the limitations set forth in claim 4 which are substantially identical to claim 13 respectively in method form.
Claim(s) 6, 7, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et al. (US 8,634,481 B1), hereinafter “Chung” in view of Tiruvur et al. (US 2018/0248717 A1), hereinafter “Tiruvur” in further view of Nishida et al. (US 2013/0007553 A1), hereinafter “Nishida”.
Regarding claim 6, Chung combined with Tiruvur discloses the method of claim 2.
Chung combined with Tiruvur does not explicitly disclose further comprising:
Receiving, from the second node, a mode switching request ; and
Identifying, based on the mode switching request, whether the mode switching condition is met.
Nishida discloses receiving, from the second node, a mode switching request ; and identifying, based on the mode switching request, whether the mode switching condition is met (see Nishida [Pg. 5, ¶0071], “The transmission apparatus 10 (receiver side apparatus) monitors one of the error correction ratio and error ratio of the signal received from the transmission apparatus 10 (transmitter side). If one of the error correction ratio and the error ratio satisfies a specific condition, the transmission apparatus 20 transmits the mode change request to the transmission apparatus 10. The mode change request includes information indicating the target mode (i.e., an error correction mode subsequent to mode change).”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the mode change request from one node to another as detailed by Nishida, onto the combined system of Chung and Tiruvur, in order to reduce workload and cost to manage the network (see Nishida [Pg. 5, ¶0075], “In the error correction method of the embodiment … Workload and costs used to manage the network are reduced.”).
Regarding claim 7, Chung combined with Tiruvur and Nishida discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the modes switching request carries state parameters of the L links or the indication (see Nishida [Pg. 5, ¶0071], “The mode change request includes information indicating the target mode (i.e., an error correction mode subsequent to mode change).”).
Regarding claim(s) 15-16, Chung combined with Tiruvur and Nishida discloses the limitations set forth in claim(s) 6-7 which are substantially identical to claim(s) 15-16 respectively in method form.
Claim(s) 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et al. (US 8,634,481 B1), hereinafter “Chung” in view of Tiruvur et al. (US 2018/0248717 A1), hereinafter “Tiruvur” in further view of Nishida et al. (US 2013/0007553 A1), hereinafter “Nishida” in further view of Zao et al. (WO 2022193098 A1), hereinafter “Zao”.
Regarding claim 8, Chung combined with Tiruvur and Nishida discloses the method of claim 6.
Chung combined with Tiruvur and Nishida does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality has corresponding parameter ranges, wherein the parameter ranges do not overlap with each other, wherein the mode switching request carries state parameters of the L links, wherein identifying whether the mode switching condition is met comprises identifying that the mode switching condition is met when the state parameter fall outside a first one of the parameter ranges corresponding to the second FEC mode, wherein the method further comprises:
Identifying, based on the state parameters the first FEC mode, and wherein the state parameters fall within a second one of the parameter ranges corresponding to the first FEC mode.
Zao discloses wherein the plurality has corresponding parameter ranges, wherein the parameter ranges do not overlap with each other (see Zao [Pg. 3, Ln. 1-6], “… a target encoding mode may be selected from a variety of FEC encoding modes to encode the target data according to the state parameters of the channel. In this way, the target FEC encoding method used in the encoding can adapt to the state of the channel, so that different FEC encoding methods can be used to correct errors for the data according to different channel states, …”), wherein the mode switching request carries state parameters of the L links, wherein identifying whether the mode switching condition is met comprises identifying that the mode switching condition is met when the state parameter fall outside a first one of the parameter ranges corresponding to the second FEC mode (see Zao [Pg. 4, Ln. 41-42], “The above state parameters may be determined independently by the first device, or be determined with assistance of the second device, which is not limited in this application.”), wherein the method further comprises: identifying, based on the state parameters the first FEC mode, and wherein the state parameters fall within a second one of the parameter ranges corresponding to the first FEC mode (see Zao [Pg. 4, Ln. 19-23], “Optionally, the status parameter is used to indicate the transmission quality, and the parameter condition corresponding to the FEC encoding mode is used to indicate that the transmission quality is within the quality range corresponding to the FEC encoding mode. … there may or may not be an intersection between these quality ranges, which is not limited in this application.”). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the detailed FEC mode switching based on channel state parameters as detailed by Zao, onto the combined system of Chung, Tiruvur, and Nishida, in order to efficiently change when modes are changed for system quality (see Zao [Pg. 4, Ln. 37-40], “Since the error correction ability of the FEC encoding method is positively related to the power consumption of the communication equipment caused by the FEC encoding method, it can ensure high data transmission quality. In case of reducing the power consumption of communication equipment.”).
Regarding claim 17, Chung combined with Tiruvur, Nishida, and Zao discloses the limitations set forth in claim 8 which are substantially identical to claim 17 respectively in method form.
Conclusion
/J.D./Examiner, Art Unit 2462 /YEMANE MESFIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2462