Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 12-16-2025 has been entered and considered.
Claims 1-20 are pending in the current application.
Claims 1-20 remain rejected as discussed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon et al (US 2020/0351804) in view of Kahn et al (US 2022/0046567). Hereinafter referred to as Moon and Kahn.
Regarding claims 1, 6, 11, and 16, Moon discloses an application function (AF) entity in a wireless communication system, the AF entity comprising: a transceiver; and at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: transmit, to a network entity, traffic schedule information including at least one of a periodicity range, and a burst arrival time (BAT) range (see at least abstract and figures 4-5), receive, from the network entity, information about at least one of a first periodicity and a first BAT (see at least figures 4- 5 and abstract), and adjust scheduling of an application based on the information about at least one of the first periodicity and the first BAT, wherein the information about at least one of the first periodicity and the first BAT is determined based on at least one of the periodicity range and the BAT range (see at least abstract and figures 4- 5).
Moon discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention with the exception that the F entity is transmitting to a base station traffic scheduling and receiving from the base station first periodicity or BAT. However, Kahn, from the same field of endeavor, teaches an AF entity is capable of transmitting to a base station traffic scheduling and receiving from the base station first periodicity or BAT (see at least abstract, paragraphs [0028]-[0035] and figure 2). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time to employ the teaching of Kahn, as indicated, into the communication method of Moon for the purpose of improving communication and network flexibility.
Regarding claims 2, 7, 12, and 17. Moon in view of Kahn discloses an AF entity wherein the traffic schedule information includes at least one of: a capability indication for scheduling adaptation, an initial periodicity, an initial BAT, or an uplink/downlink flow direction (see at least figures 4-5).
3, 8, 13, and 18. Moon in view of Kahn discloses an AF entity wherein the traffic schedule information is included in time sensitive communication assistance information (TSCAI) by a session management function (SMF) entity, and wherein the TSCAI is transmitted to a base station (see at least abstract and figures 4- 5).
Regarding claims 4, 9, 14 and 19. Moon in view of Kahn discloses an AF entity wherein the first period and the first BAT are determined by a base station, and wherein the first BAT is determined, in case that the traffic schedule information includes the capability indication for scheduling adaptation (see at least abstract and paragraph [0010]).
Regarding claims 5, 10, 15, and 20. Moon in view of Kahn discloses an AF entity wherein the first BAT is adjusted by a session management function (SMF) entity (see at least paragraph [0148]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
When responding to this office action, applicants are advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which they think the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Applicants must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. See 37C.F.R 1.111(c). In addition, applicants are advised to provide the examiner with the line numbers and pages numbers in the application and/or references cited to assist examiner in locating the appropriate paragraphs.
/MOUNIR MOUTAOUAKIL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476