DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the application filed on 2023/09/22. Claims 1-22 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 2023/09/22 and 2024/02/21 have been considered by the examiner and initialed copies of the IDS are hereby attached.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 12-17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsutsui (WO2008013261A1).
Regarding claim 1 Tsutsui discloses: A wireless transmit receive unit (WTRU) comprising (Para 0021: “The mobile communication terminal further includes a communication unit capable of transmitting and receiving signals to and from a base station of the mobile communication network, and the GPS positioning control unit is configured to perform GPS by using the GPS positioning stop determination unit.”): a processor configured to: receive, via configuration information, at least one prohibition condition configured to prohibit Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) activity(Para 0005: “In order to solve the above problems, the present invention has a receiving means capable of receiving a positioning signal from a GPS satellite, and is received by the receiving means in a mobile communication terminal capable of specifying a location by GPS positioning. Satellite acquisition means for acquiring GPS satellites based on the measured positioning signals, and acquisition number measurement for measuring the number of GPS satellites acquired by the satellite acquisition means The GPS positioning stop determination means and the GPS positioning stop determination means, and whether the GPS positioning stop condition is satisfied based on the number of acquisitions measured by the acquisition number measuring means. “), wherein the GNSS activity comprises at least one of GNSS acquisition, GNSS reporting, or GNSS assistance information (AI) reporting(Para 0004: “An object of the present invention is to provide a mobile communication terminal and a GPS positioning standby time shortening method capable of shortening a standby time required for GPS positioning.”); identify a trigger related to the GNSS activity (Para 0003-0004: “However, conventional mobile communication terminals continue to receive positioning signals until the number of GPS satellites captured reaches a predetermined number. As a result, the number of GPS satellites captured is necessary for SGPS positioning. If the predetermined number is not reached, the waiting time power S required for GPS positioning is wasted for the user of the mobile communication terminal.[0004] An object of the present invention is to provide a mobile communication terminal and a GPS positioning standby time shortening method capable of shortening a standby time required for GPS positioning.”); determine whether a prohibition condition is activated (Para 0006: “ According to such a mobile communication terminal, it is determined whether or not the GPS positioning stop condition is satisfied based on the number of acquisitions measured by the acquisition number measuring means. “), wherein the prohibition condition comprises a condition based on a prohibition timer, a condition based on GNSS validity duration, or a condition based on a characteristic of the WTRU (Para 0009: “In addition, the GPS positioning stop determining means can perform positioning in which the reception level of the positioning signal received by the receiving means can be used for GPS positioning when the GPS capturing is performed by the satellite capturing means. It is preferable to determine that the GPS positioning stop condition is satisfied based on the reception level of the positioning signal related to the GPS satellite!”); and when the prohibition condition is determined to be active, perform the GNSS activity in response to an override or termination of the prohibition condition and based on the prohibition condition being determined to be active (Para 0006: “According to such a mobile communication terminal, it is determined whether or not the GPS positioning stop condition is satisfied based on the number of acquisitions measured by the acquisition number measuring means. When it is determined that the GPS positioning stop condition is not satisfied, the GPS positioning is continued, and when it is determined that the GPS positioning stop condition is satisfied, the GPS positioning ends. As a result, the waiting time required for GPS positioning can be shortened, and wasted time for mobile communication terminal users can be shortened.”).
Claim 12 recites limitations that are similar to those of claim 1, therefore claim 12 is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 2 Tsutsui discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Tsutsui further teaches: wherein the processor is configured to perform the GNSS activity when the prohibition condition is determined to be inactive (Para 0005: “GPS positioning control means for stopping GPS positioning when it is determined, and GPS positioning is continued when it is determined by the GPS positioning stop determination means that the GPS positioning stop condition is not satisfied.”).
Claim 13 recites limitations that are similar to those of claim 2, therefore claim 13 is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 3 Tsutsui discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Tsutsui further teaches: wherein the characteristic of the WTRU comprises at least one of GNSS acquisition AI, a location change (Para 0007: “n addition, the satellite acquisition means, when the reception level of the positioning signal received by the receiving means exceeds the positioning possible level that can be used for GP s positioning, the positioning means received by the receiving means It is preferred to acquire GPS satellites based on the signal. Here, the reception level may indicate the strength of the received signal, or may indicate the quality of the received signal such as the ratio of noise to the signal. “), or change in speed of the WTRU.
Claim 14 recites limitations that are similar to those of claim 3, therefore claim 14 is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 4 Tsutsui discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Tsutsui further teaches: The WTRU of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to determine the override or the termination of the prohibition condition in response to: one or more triggering events for GNSS reporting or reporting occurring during a prohibit time period, wherein the prohibit time period exceeds a threshold (Para 0061: “If it is determined in step 4 that the value set in the captured number flag memory is “1”, the GPS positioning stop determination unit 7 executes a GPS positioning stop determination step (S5). G PS positioning stop determination unit 7 reads the GPS positioning stop time T1 stored in the time storage unit 12 in association with the value set in the acquisition number flag memory, and the elapsed time t from the start of GPS positioning t Determines whether the GPS positioning stop time T1 has elapsed. If it has passed, it is determined that the GPS positioning stop condition is satisfied, and if it has not elapsed, the GPS positioning stop condition is satisfied. Judge that it is not. If it is determined that the GPS positioning stop condition is satisfied, a value indicating GPS positioning stop is set in the GPS positioning stop flag memory (not shown), and it is determined that the GPS positioning stop condition is not satisfied. To do so, set a value indicating GPS positioning continuation in the GPS positioning stop flag memory (not shown).”); reception of an explicit request to override; or an expiration of a GNSS validity timer during the prohibit condition.
Claim 15 recites limitations that are similar to those of claim 4, therefore claim 15 is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 5 Tsutsui discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Tsutsui further teaches: wherein the processor is further configured to monitor for one or more trigger conditions when the prohibition condition is determined to be active (Para 0052: “The GPS positioning control unit 8 refers to the GPS positioning stop flag memory, and when the value indicating the GPS positioning stop is set, the GPS positioning control unit 4 stops the arithmetic processing for GPS positioning performed in the GPS positioning unit 4 Then, the positioning method is switched to the base station using positioning method, and the base station using positioning unit 19 is caused to execute calculation processing for positioning. On the other hand, when a value indicating GPS positioning continuation is set in the GPS positioning stop flag memory, calculation processing for GPS positioning performed in the GPS positioning unit 4 is continuously performed.”).
Claim 16 recites limitations that are similar to those of claim 5, therefore claim 16 is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 6 Tsutsui discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Tsutsui further teaches: wherein the prohibition condition is based on one or more of the following: the GNSS validity duration, a WTRU location (Para 0007: “n addition, the satellite acquisition means, when the reception level of the positioning signal received by the receiving means exceeds the positioning possible level that can be used for GP s positioning, the positioning means received by the receiving means It is preferred to acquire GPS satellites based on the signal. Here, the reception level may indicate the strength of the received signal, or may indicate the quality of the received signal such as the ratio of noise to the signal. “), or a WTRU speed.
Claim 17 recites limitations that are similar to those of claim 6, therefore claim 17 is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 8 Tsutsui discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Tsutsui further teaches: wherein the processor is configured to, when GNSS reporting conditions are satisfied and the prohibit condition is active, do one or more of the following: delay GNSS activity until the prohibit condition is not active or expired (Para 0061: “If it is determined in step 4 that the value set in the captured number flag memory is “1”, the GPS positioning stop determination unit 7 executes a GPS positioning stop determination step (S5). G PS positioning stop determination unit 7 reads the GPS positioning stop time T1 stored in the time storage unit 12 in association with the value set in the acquisition number flag memory, and the elapsed time t from the start of GPS positioning t Determines whether the GPS positioning stop time T1 has elapsed. If it has passed, it is determined that the GPS positioning stop condition is satisfied, and if it has not elapsed, the GPS positioning stop condition is satisfied. Judge that it is not. If it is determined that the GPS positioning stop condition is satisfied, a value indicating GPS positioning stop is set in the GPS positioning stop flag memory (not shown), and it is determined that the GPS positioning stop condition is not satisfied. To do so, set a value indicating GPS positioning continuation in the GPS positioning stop flag memory (not shown).”) , indicate that the prohibit condition is active, or indicate when GNSS activity is to be enabled (Para 0062: “When a value indicating GPS positioning stop is set in the GPS positioning stop flag memory (not shown), a GPS positioning control step is executed by the GPS positioning control unit 8 (S10). Here, the GP S positioning control unit 8 deletes the Sv (t) ID and position information of the visible satellites stored in the visible satellite position information storage unit 13a, and performs calculations for GPS positioning by the GPS positioning unit 14. Stop the process and stop the GPS positioning, and let the base station positioning unit 9 perform the positioning instead. On the other hand, if a value indicating GPS positioning continuation is set in the GPS positioning stop flag memory (not shown), the GPS positioning control unit 8 proceeds to step 2 to continue GPS positioning.”).
Claim 19 recites limitations that are similar to those of claim 8, therefore claim 19 is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Tsutsui (WO2008013261A1) in view of Shrestha (US20230213661A1) and further in view of
Zhu (CN115088275A).
Regarding claim 7 Tsutsui discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Tsutsui does not teach “wherein the processor is configured to, in the performance of the GNSS activity, report via a medium access control (MAC) information element (IE) when GNSS AI comprises the GNSS validity duration”
However, Zhu in the analogous arts teaches: wherein the processor is configured to, in the performance of the GNSS activity, report via a medium access control (MAC) information element (IE) when GNSS AI comprises the GNSS validity duration (Description: Optionally, the network device can be the GNSS position information report indication is configured in the multimedia access control (MAC) control unit and sending to the terminal device, thereby, the terminal device receives the MAC, The GNSS position information reporting indication can be determined.), and report via a radio resource control (RRC), based on an RRC state, when the GNSS AI comprises a position fix duration (Description: “Optionally, the network device can be the GNSS position information reporting indication configured on the radio resource control (radioresource control, RRC) message and sending to the terminal device, thereby, the terminal device through the RRC, receiving the GNSS position information report indication sent by the network device.”).
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tsutsui with Zhu to incorporate the feature of: wherein the processor is configured to, in the performance of the GNSS activity, report via a medium access control (MAC) information element (IE) when GNSS AI comprises the GNSS validity duration. Tsutsui and Zhu are all considered analogous arts as they all disclose methods for GNSS data acquisition and communication. However, Tsutsui fails to disclose methods for GNSS activity reporting. This feature is disclosed by Zhu. It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Tsutsui with Zhu to incorporate the feature of: wherein the processor is configured to, in the performance of the GNSS activity, report via a medium access control (MAC) information element (IE) when GNSS AI comprises the GNSS validity duration as such a feature would increase the efficiency of the system.
Claim 18 recites limitations that are similar to those of claim 7, therefore claim 18 is rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 9 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Tsutsui (WO2008013261A1) in view of Gandrud (AU 2018325513A1).
Regarding claim 9 Tsutsui discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Tsutsui does not teach “wherein the processor is configured to stop transmitting and receiving data signals, control signals, and reference signals to receive GNSS information “.
However, Gandrud in the analogous arts teaches: wherein the processor is configured to stop transmitting and receiving data signals, control signals, and reference signals to receive GNSS information (Para 0130: “Responsive to determining that monitored target 104 is on board the correct, permitted aircraft (“YES” branch of 522), BWTD 106 may enter an “airplane mode” (526). In the airplane mode, BWTD 106 may temporarily disable or deactivate GNSS components 343 of BWTD 106. Additionally or alternatively, BWTD 106 may disable or deactivate one or more cellular communication units of BWTD 106. In other words, BWTD 106 may turnoff GNSS components 343 and/or one or more cellular components of BWTD 106”).
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tsutsui with Gandrud to incorporate the feature of: wherein the processor is configured to stop transmitting and receiving data signals, control signals, and reference signals to receive GNSS information. Tsutsui and Gandrud are all considered analogous arts as they all disclose methods for control of navigation systems. However, Tsutsui fails to disclose a feature of stopping GNSS transmit and receive operations. This feature is disclosed by Gandrud. It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Tsutsui with Gandrud to incorporate the feature of: wherein the processor is configured to stop transmitting and receiving data signals, control signals, and reference signals to receive GNSS information as such a feature would increase the efficiency of the system by reducing the probability GNSS signal interference with other functions of the system.
Claim 20 recites limitations that are similar to those of claim 9, therefore claim 20 is rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 10-11 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Tsutsui (WO2008013261A1) in view of Liu (US20220272757A1)
Regarding claim 10 Tsutsui discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Tsutsui does not teach “wherein the WTRU is an internet of things (IOTs) device”.
However, Liu in the analogous arts teaches: wherein the WTRU is an internet of things (IOTs) device (Para 0008: “However, in certain systems it may be desirable for a UE to perform uplink acquisition without the use of a GNSS receiver. For example, a GNSS receiver may not be included in some UEs (e.g., low cost UEs), such as internet of things (IoT) devices. Further, even for devices with GNSS receivers, the GNSS receiver consumes additional power at the UE, which can undesirably shorten battery life. Moreover, the GNSS receiver may take time to establish a position (e.g., time to first fix, TTFF), that may delay the transmission and reception of user data by the UE. In some scenarios, a GNSS signal can be unusable due to interference. There is thus a need for a random access method for 4G and/or 5G satellite systems that does not depend on GNSS capabilities at the UEs.”).
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tsutsui with Liu to incorporate the feature of: wherein the WTRU is an internet of things (IOTs) device. Tsutsui and Liu are all considered analogous arts as they all disclose methods for navigation systems. However, Tsutsui fails to disclose a feature of a WTRU being a IOT device. This feature is disclosed by Liu. It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Tsutsui with Liu to incorporate the feature of: wherein the WTRU is an internet of things (IOTs) device as such a feature would make the system suitable for use in a many application domains thereby increasing its efficiency.
Claim 21 recites limitations that are similar to those of claim 10, therefore claim 21 is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 11 Tsutsui discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Tsutsui does not teach “wherein the WTRU is a reduced capability (RedCap) device “.
However, Liu in the analogous arts teaches: wherein the WTRU is a reduced capability (RedCap) device (Para 0012: “ As discussed in further detail hereinafter, various implementations of the GNSS-independent random accesses systems and methods and various implementations of the GNSS-assisted random access systems and methods are disclosed for deployment in LTE, LTE-M, NR, eMTC, RedCap, and/or similar radio access networks that implement one or more satellites.”).
The reason for combining Tsutsui with Liu is same as one given in claim 10 above.
Claim 22 recites limitations that are similar to those of claim 11, therefore claim 22 is rejected under the same rationale.
Conclusion
/BONGANI JABULANI MASHELE/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/ROBERT W HODGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645