DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed 1/15/2026 was not approved. See the terminal Disclaimer review decision 2/5/2026 for additional details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-23, 25-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 6,411,428 (Lee) in view of US 2011/0091155 (Yilmaz).
For claim 21, Lee teaches a fiber tip coupler (fig. 2A, prism 230 and elements left of 230)comprising:
a laser delivery fiber comprising a fiber tip and an input tip configured to couple with a laser light source(fig. 2, 201);
a tap fiber comprising a fiber tip and an output tip (fig. 2, 228); and
an endcap comprising a transmissive body, the transmissive body (fig. 2A, 230) comprising;
an upstream end that is optically coupled to both the fiber tip of the laser delivery fiber and the fiber tip of the tap fiber, the upstream end being configured to receive laser light from the fiber tip of the laser delivery fiber(fig. 2A, left side is “upstream end” that receives light from 201 and is coupled to both 201 and 228); and
a downstream end that opposes the upstream end and that is configured to receive the laser light from the upstream end that is transmitted through the transmissive body (fig. 2A, 210/231 and partially reflective coating, col. 2, l.55-56), wherein
the transmissive body is configured, such that when the transmissive body receives the laser light from the upstream end, to output a first portion of the laser light from the endcap (fig. 2A, light transmitted to 216) and reflect a second portion of the laser light that propagates through the transmissive body directly back to the upstream end (fig. 2A, reflected beam 233).
Lee does not teach an optical power of the second (reflected) portion of the laser light that is reflected back to the upstream end is less than an optical power of the first (transmitted/output) portion of the laser light that is outputted from the endcap. Rather, Lee teaches the second portion is greater than the first portion which is used as a tapped monitor signal (col. 2, l. 55-62).
However, Yilmaz teaches a similar device with a beam splitter (fig. 2A, 236) where a small forward tap is reflected and a larger transmitted output signal is obtained from the beam splitter’s surface (fig. 2A, 231, 0.5% reflectivity at 1064 nm) in order to provide a monitor signal (fig. 2A, reflected light 282 on fiber 227, [0060]) for the propagating beam (fig. 2A, transmitted light 283 on fiber 223).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use reflectivity of the beam splitter surface taught by Yilmaz to produce a transmitted output signal and a reflected monitor signal as taught by Yilmaz as an alternative simple substitution for the reflectivity of the partially reflective coating which produces a transmitted monitor signal and reflected output signal. The substituted components and their functions were known in the art and the substitution would have yielded predictable results. In the present case, the substituted component provides an alternative configuration in order to provide an output signal and a monitor signal. See MPEP 2143 I.B.
For claim 22, Lee teaches the upstream end comprises a planar face and a longitudinal axis of the endcap extends normal to the planar face (fig. 2A, left side of 230 and an axis perpendicular to 230).
For claim 23, Lee teaches the downstream end comprises a planar face that is angled with respect to the planar face of the upstream end (fig. 2A, 210).
For claim 25, Lee teaches the fiber tip coupler where the downstream end is coated with a coating (col. 2, l.55-56). The combination with Yilmaz teaches the coating is antireflective(fig. 2A, 0.5% reflectivity at 1064 nm).
For claim 26, the combination does not teach the second portion of the laser light is less than 0.1% of the laser light received at the upstream end. However, the percentage of light reflected is a results effective variable as it influences the available output light. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to set the second portion of the laser light to less than 0.1% of the laser light received at the upstream end in order to maximize the output signal, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
For claim 27-28, Lee inherently teaches the second portion of the laser light has a characteristic associated with a corresponding characteristic of the laser light transmitted through the transmissive body from the upstream end to the downstream end and the characteristic comprises at least one of a power of a main beam of the laser light transmitted through the transmissive body from the upstream end to the downstream end, a polarization phase of the main beam, a differential phase of the main beam, a power of a cladding light of the laser light transmitted through the transmissive body from the upstream end to the downstream end, or a presence and contribution of high-order modes coming from a fiber core of the laser delivery fiber or a cladding of the laser delivery fiber (among other things, the second portion has a power which correspond to the power of laser light transmitted through the transmissive body).
For claim 29, Lee teaches the downstream end defines an interface (fig. 2A, 210) between the endcap (particularly, fig. 2A, prism 230) and an environment external to the endcap (fig. 2A, 211).
For claim 30, Lee strongly suggests (fig. 2A) but does not explicitly state a shell that holds: the fiber tip of the laser delivery fiber in optical communication with the upstream end; and the fiber tip of the tap fiber in optical communication with the upstream end. However, Yilmaz teaches fiber coupling with a shell (fig. 2A, 220) that holds: the fiber tip of the laser delivery fiber (fig. 2A, 221) in optical communication with the upstream end (fig. 2A, 231); and the fiber tip of the tap fiber (fig. 2A, 227) in optical communication with the upstream end (fig. 2A, 231). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the shell of Yilmaz with the device of Lee in order to maintain the position of the fibers with respect to the transmissive body.
For claim 31, Lee teaches the fiber tip of the tap fiber (fig. 2, 228) is configured to receive at least some of the second portion of the laser light from the upstream end (fig. 2A, reflected beam 233).
Claim 42 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 6,411,428 (Lee) in view of US 2011/0091155 (Yilmaz) and US 2009/0274180 (Nicholson).
For claim 42, the previous combination does not teach the delivery fiber is fused to the upstream end of the transmissive body. However, Nicholson teaches an optical fiber device which uses fusion bonding in order to provide automatic alignment ([0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine fusion bonding taught by Nicholson with the device of the previous combination between the optical delivery fiber and the transmissive body in order to provide automatic alignment .
Double Patenting
Claims 21, 27-28, 30, 32 and 34-37, 39-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3-5 of U.S. Patent No. 10,630,043 in view of US 2011/0091155 (Yilmaz).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 21, 32 and 34 are obvious over claim 1 of 10,630,043 in view of Yilmaz; claims 30 and 36 are obvious over claim 3 of 10,630,043 in view of Yilmaz; claims 27-28 and 35 are obvious over claim 4 of 10,630,043 in view of Yilmaz; claims 37 and 39-40 are obvious over claim 5 of 10,630,043 in view of Yilmaz.
Claims 1 and 3-5 of 10,630,043 does not teach an optical power of the second (reflected) portion of the laser light that is reflected back to the upstream end is less than an optical power of the first (transmitted/output) portion of the laser light that is outputted from the endcap.
However, Yilmaz teaches a similar device with a beam splitter (fig. 2A, 236) where a small forward tap is reflected and a larger transmitted output signal is obtained from the beam splitter’s surface (fig. 2A, 231, 0.5% reflectivity at 1064 nm) in order to provide a monitor signal (fig. 2A, reflected light 282 on fiber 227, [0060]) for the propagating beam (fig. 2A, transmitted light 283 on fiber 223).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use reflectivity of the beam splitter surface taught by Yilmaz to produce a transmitted output signal and a reflected monitor signal as taught by Yilmaz in order to provide an output signal and a monitor signal. See MPEP 2143 I.B.
Claims 21, 32, 35, 37 and 39 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 8, 12 and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,804,689 in view of US 2011/0091155 (Yilmaz).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 21 are obvious over claim 8 of 11,804,689 in view of Yilmaz; claims 32, and 37-39 are obvious over claim 13 of 11,804,689 in view of Yilmaz; claim 35 is obvious over by claim 12 of 11,804,689 in view of Yilmaz.
Claims 8, 12 and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,804,689 does not teach an optical power of the second (reflected) portion of the laser light that is reflected back to the upstream end is less than an optical power of the first (transmitted/output) portion of the laser light that is outputted from the endcap.
However, Yilmaz teaches a similar device with a beam splitter (fig. 2A, 236) where a small forward tap is reflected and a larger transmitted output signal is obtained from the beam splitter’s surface (fig. 2A, 231, 0.5% reflectivity at 1064 nm) in order to provide a monitor signal (fig. 2A, reflected light 282 on fiber 227, [0060]) for the propagating beam (fig. 2A, transmitted light 283 on fiber 223).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use reflectivity of the beam splitter surface taught by Yilmaz to produce a transmitted output signal and a reflected monitor signal as taught by Yilmaz in order to provide an output signal and a monitor signal. See MPEP 2143 I.B.
Claims 21, 35, 37 and 39 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 8, 10, 12 and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,387,621 in view of US 2011/0091155 (Yilmaz).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 21 is obvious over claims 8, 10, 13 and 12 of 11,387,621 in view of Yilmaz; claim 35 is obvious over claim 12 of 11,387,621 in view of Yilmaz; claims 37-39 are obvious over claim 13 of 11,387,621 in view of Yilmaz.
Claims 8, 10, 12 and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,387,621 does not teach an optical power of the second (reflected) portion of the laser light that is reflected back to the upstream end is less than an optical power of the first (transmitted/output) portion of the laser light that is outputted from the endcap.
However, Yilmaz teaches a similar device with a beam splitter (fig. 2A, 236) where a small forward tap is reflected and a larger transmitted output signal is obtained from the beam splitter’s surface (fig. 2A, 231, 0.5% reflectivity at 1064 nm) in order to provide a monitor signal (fig. 2A, reflected light 282 on fiber 227, [0060]) for the propagating beam (fig. 2A, transmitted light 283 on fiber 223).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use reflectivity of the beam splitter surface taught by Yilmaz to produce a transmitted output signal and a reflected monitor signal as taught by Yilmaz in order to provide an output signal and a monitor signal. See MPEP 2143 I.B.
Claim 42 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3-5 of U.S. Patent No. 10,630,043 in view of US 2011/0091155 (Yilmaz) and US 2009/0274180 (Nicholson).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 42 is obvious over claim 1 of 10,630,043 in view of Yilmaz and Nicholson.
For claim 42, the previous combination of 10,630,043 in view of Yilmaz used in the rejection of claim 21 does not teach the delivery fiber is fused to the upstream end of the transmissive body. However, Nicholson teaches an optical fiber device which uses fusion bonding in order to provide automatic alignment ([0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine fusion bonding taught by Nicholson with the device of the previous combination between the optical delivery fiber and the transmissive body in order to provide automatic alignment .
Claim 42 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 8, 12 and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,804,689 in view of US 2011/0091155 (Yilmaz) and US 2009/0274180 (Nicholson).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 42 is obvious over claim 8 of 11,804,689 in view of Yilmaz and Nicholson.
For claim 42, the previous combination of 11,804,689 in view of Yilmaz used in the rejection of claim 21 does not teach the delivery fiber is fused to the upstream end of the transmissive body. However, Nicholson teaches an optical fiber device which uses fusion bonding in order to provide automatic alignment ([0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine fusion bonding taught by Nicholson with the device of the previous combination between the optical delivery fiber and the transmissive body in order to provide automatic alignment .
Claim 42 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 8, 10, 12 and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,387,621 in view of US 2011/0091155 (Yilmaz) and US 2009/0274180 (Nicholson).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 42 is obvious over claims 8, 10, 13 and 12 of 11,387,621 in view of Yilmaz and Nicholson.
For claim 42, the previous combination of 11,387,621 in view of Yilmaz used in the rejection of claim 21 does not teach the delivery fiber is fused to the upstream end of the transmissive body. However, Nicholson teaches an optical fiber device which uses fusion bonding in order to provide automatic alignment ([0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine fusion bonding taught by Nicholson with the device of the previous combination between the optical delivery fiber and the transmissive body in order to provide automatic alignment .
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 24 and 33 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: For claim 24, the closest prior art cited in the rejection above does not teach the planar face defined by the downstream end is angled between 4 and 8 degrees with respect to the planar face defined by the upstream end, and there is no suggestion or motivation to meet the claimed limitation. For claim 33, the closest prior art cited in the rejection above does not teach between 4 and 13 tap fibers, and there is no suggestion or motivation to meet the claimed limitation.
Claim 41 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: For claim 41, the closest prior art cited in the rejection above does not teach the light is reflected directly back, and there is no suggestion or motivation to meet the claimed limitation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 8-9, section a of the remarks, the applicant describes the device of Lee (fig. 2A) which splits an input signal (201) into two output signals on separate fibers (216 and 228) where one is used as a monitor signal (216) and a reflective coating (210) is partially reflective.
On page 9-10, section b of the remarks, the applicant correctly states that most of the radiation is reflected by the interface. This distinction is noted in the rejection of claim 21 above. Applicant further notes that there is an advantage to the particular configuration in that it allows for a compact system in which the input and output are parallel. This is not, strictly speaking, teaching away from a different reflectivity where a small percentage is reflected rather than transmitting a small amount of the beam. Specifically, Lee does not say the reflected portion must be the larger portion, but rather there is a possible advantage to reflecting the majority of radiation.
On page 10-12, section c, the applicant describes the device of Yilmaz (fig. 2A) which splits an input signal (281) into two output signals on separate fibers (227 and 223) where one is used as a monitor signal ([0069]) and the splitter has a reflective surface has low reflectivity (.5%).
On pages 12-14, section d, the applicant argues that there would have been no reason to modify the system of Lee because doing so would impermissibly change the requirements of Lee and change the principle of operation thereof. However, the examiner disagrees that the modification changes the principle of operation analogous to Ratti which would require a substantial reconstruction and redesign. Both Lee and Yilmaz teach splitting an input signal to provide a monitor signal. Lee as modified by Yilmaz results in a reflected monitor beam as opposed to a transmitted monitor beam and any redesign is minimal and substantially a rearrangement of parts rather than a substantial reconstruction and redesign. Applicant’s arguments are therefore not persuasive.
Regarding the applicant’s arguments at page 14-15 regarding the double patenting; the terminal claimer was not approved. However, if the terminal disclaimer is corrected and subsequently approver, then the double patenting rejections would be rendered moot.
Regarding new claim 42, the additional limitations have been addressed in the rejections above. Claim 42 cannot be deemed allowable based on its dependency as claim 21 is not deemed allowable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2002/0071470 teaches a coating with .5% reflectivity at 1060 nm.
/Michael Carter/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828