DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 10-13, and 15 are presented for examination.
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 10-13, and 15 are amended.
Claims 4, 9, and 14 are canceled.
Response to Arguments
The amendment to the Abstract were received on 01/02/2026. The abstract is acceptable.
Applicant's arguments filed 01/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The reasons set forth below.
The Applicant argues:
(1) Futaki and Lee, however, fail to teach or suggest that an RRC message includes both the information for configuring a downlink BWP and the identifier of the downlink BWP to be activated. As such, Futaki and Lee, taken both alone and in combination, fail to teach or suggest that, in the case where the identifier of the downlink BWP in the RRC message indicates that the downlink BWP is active, the information indicating a dedicated parameter used and the information indicating transmission of the SSB included in the information for configuring a downlink BWP included in the same RRC message can be used by the communication apparatus, as recited by claim 1, [Remarks, pages 10-12].
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with these arguments.
As per the first argument
As indicated in the previous rejection and below, Futaki discloses a receiver configured to receive, from a base station, a radio resource control (RRC) message including information for configuring a downlink bandwidth part (BWP) [fig. 13, paragraphs 0022, 0097, 0118, 0123, a receiver configured to receive, from a base station, a radio resource control (RRC) message including information for configuring a downlink bandwidth part (BWP) (one or more DL BWPs and one or more UL BWPs can be configured for the UE via a dedicated RRC message; UE RRC layer 121 receives one or more BWP configurations for each component carrier from the RAN node 11)], an identifier of the downlink BWP to be activated as an active downlink BWP in a case of performing configuration of the downlink BWP [fig. 8, 9, paragraphs 0023, 0024, 0067, 0068, an identifier of the downlink BWP to be activated as an active downlink BWP in a case of performing configuration of the downlink BWP (BWP configuration includes, for example, numerology, a frequency location, and a bandwidth (e.g., the number of PRBs); the network can activate/deactivate a BWP depending, for example, on a data rate, or on numerology required by a service, and can thereby dynamically switch the active BWP for the UE; BWP #1 supports numerology #1, while BWP #2 and BWP #3 support numerology #2)], the information for configuring the downlink BWP including information indicating a dedicated parameter used for the active downlink BWP [paragraphs 0022-0024, 0068, 0070, 0074, the information for configuring the downlink BWP including information indicating a dedicated parameter used for the active downlink BWP (for each UE-specific serving cell, one or more DL BWPs and one or more UL BWPs can be configured for the UE via a dedicated RRC message; the channel bandwidth of one component carrier is divided into BWP #1 and BWP #2, and these two BWPs are used for FDM schemes using different numerologies; the UE may monitor SSB #1 of BWP #1 that supports numerology different from that of BWP #3)] and information indicating transmission of a synchronization signal and a physical broadcast channel block (SSB) on the active downlink BWP [fig. 8, paragraphs 0070, 0097, 0130, information indicating transmission of a synchronization signal and a physical broadcast channel block (SSB) on the active downlink BWP (information indicating parameters of SSB transmitted in each BWP (e.g., SS sequence or PCI, SSB duration, numerology))]; and
a controller [fig. 19, paragraphs 0145-0148, a controller (the baseband processor 1903, the application processor 1904, and the SoC 1905)] configured to determine a downlink frame timing of a reference cell on a basis of the SSB indicated by using the information indicating the transmission of the SSB [paragraphs 0021, 0071, 0075, 0083, 0091, 0109, determine a downlink frame timing of a reference cell on a basis of the SSB indicated by using the information indicating the transmission of the SSB (SSB may be the cell defining SSB associated with the first BWP; the UE transmit or receive no data for a predetermined period (i.e., expiration of the timer value) in the active BWP, it switches the active BWP to a predetermined BWP (e.g., default BWP, or BWP including the cell defining SSB))].
Regarding a radio resource control (RRC) message that includes (i) information for configuring a downlink BWP, and (ii) an identifier of the downlink BWP to be activated as an active downlink BWP in a case of performing configuration of the downlink BWP; and wherein the information for configuring the downlink BWP includes: (a) information indicating a dedicated parameter used for the active downlink BWP, and (b) information indicating transmission of the SSB on the active downlink BWP, Futaki discloses in Figure 9, paragraphs 0022, 0024, 0070-0074, and 0097.
Figure 9 illustrates the UE receives, from the network, configuration information of one or more BWPs
[0022] One or more BWP configurations for each component carrier are semi-statically signaled to the UE. To be specific, for each UE-specific serving cell, one or more DL BWPs and one or more UL BWPs can be configured for the UE via a dedicated RRC message. Further, each of the one or more BWPs configured for the UE can be activated and deactivated. …. The activated BWP is referred to as active BWP.
[0024] FIGS. 6 and 7 show usage examples of BWPs. In the example shown in FIG. 6, the channel bandwidth of one component carrier is divided into BWP #1 and BWP #2, and these two BWPs are used for FDM schemes using different numerologies (e.g., different subcarrier spacing). …. When BWP #1 or BWP #2 is activated for the UE, this UE can reduce its power consumption by refraining from performing reception and transmission within the channel bandwidth except the active BWP.
[0070] The network (e.g., RAN node) may configure the UE with a BWP set including one or more BWPs. In other words, the UE receives, from the network, configuration information of one or more BWPs (e.g., SSB indexes, presence of SSBs, reference SSB indexes, Layer-1 parameters). The BWP set may be configured individually for each of downlink (DL) and uplink (UL). Thus, the BWP set may include a DL BWP set for DL and an UL BWP set for UL. Alternatively, UL BWPs and DL BWPs may be associated in advance with each other, and in this case the BWP set may be common to DL and UL. The UE can activate k (k<=K) BWPs among K BWPs included in the (DL/UL) BWP set. Stated differently, for certain UE, up to K (DL/UL) BWP(s) can be activated at a time. ….
[0071] Further, in this specification, the term “BWP group” is employed. A BWP group is contained in a BWP set. One BWP group consists of one or more BWPs among which the active BWP can be changed by DCI transmitted on a NR PDCCH. Among one or more BWPs included in the same BWP group, the active BWP can be changed without a change of the cell defining SSB. Thus, the BWP group may be defined as one or more BWPs associated with the same cell defining SSB. One BWP group may include one BWP containing the cell defining SSB (e.g., base BWP, initial BWP, or default BWP) and one or more other BWPs. ….
[0072] The BWP group may be configured individually for each of downlink (DL) and uplink (UL). Thus, the BWP group may include a DL BWP group for DL and an UL BWP group for UL. Alternatively, UL BWPs and DL BWPs may be associated in advance with each other, and the BWP group in this case may be common to DL and UL.
[0073] In the example of FIG. 8, the UE is configured with one BWP set including BWP #1 to #3. In the example of FIG. 8, the UE may monitor SSB #1 transmitted in BWP #1 to synchronize with BWP #3 (i.e., to achieve synchronization in BWP #3). In this case, BWP #1 and BWP #3 may correspond to one BWP group, while BWP #2 may correspond to another one BWP group. Thus, one BWP set (BWPs #1, #2, and #3) may include a first BWP group (BWPs #1 and #3) and a second BWP group (BWP #2). Alternatively, one BWP set (BWPs #1, #2, and #3) may include a first BWP group (BWP #1) and a second BWP group (BWPs #2 and #3). Further alternatively, one BWP set (BWPs #1, #2, and #3) may correspond to one BWP group (BWPs #1, #2, and #3). In this case, one of SSB #1 and SSB #2 serves as the cell defining SSB for the UE.
[0074] In the example of FIG. 9 also, the UE is configured with one BWP set including BWP #1 to #3. In one example, BWP #1 with numerology #1 may correspond to one BWP group, while BWP #2 and BWP #3 with numerology #2 may correspond to another one BWP group. Thus, one BWP set (BWPs #1, #2, and #3) may include a first BWP group (BWP #1) and a second BWP group (BWPs #2 and #3). Note that, as described earlier, BWPs with different numerologies may be included in one BWP group. Thus, in another example, one BWP set (BWPs #1, #2, and #3) may include a first BWP group (BWPs #1 and #3) and a second BWP group (BWP #2). Further alternatively, one BWP set (BWPs #1, #2, and #3) may correspond to one BWP group (BWPs #1, #2, and #3). In this case, one of SSB #1 and SSB #2 serves as the cell defining SSB for the UE.
[0097] The UE RRC layer 121 receives one or more BWP configurations for each component carrier … Information element indicating one or more BWP indices associated with one or more downlink BWPs; Information element indicating one or more BWP indices associated with one or more uplink BWPs; … Information element indicating whether each BWP contains an SS/PBCH block (SSB); … Information element indicating numerology configured for each BWP; and Information element indicating the structure of a BWP set or a BWP group (e.g., information about an index of each BWP group and a list of BWP indices included therein).
In other words, Futaki discloses UE RRC layer 121 receives one or more BWP configurations for each component carrier, comprising: Information element indicating one or more BWP indices associated with one or more downlink BWPs; Information element indicating one or more BWP indices associated with one or more uplink BWPs; Information element indicating whether each BWP contains an SS/PBCH block (SSB); Information element indicating numerology configured for each BWP.
Therefore, given that Futaki discloses one or more BWP configurations that includes information indicating one or more BWP indices associated with one or more downlink BWPs for the UE to be activated; and wherein the information includes: the BWPs can be configured for the UE via a dedicated RRC message, and configuration information of one or more BWPs (e.g., SSB indexes, presence of SSBs, reference SSB indexes) on the active downlink BWP, then Futaki clearly discloses a radio resource control (RRC) message that includes (i) information for configuring a downlink BWP, and (ii) an identifier of the downlink BWP to be activated as an active downlink BWP in a case of performing configuration of the downlink BWP; and wherein the information for configuring the downlink BWP includes: (a) information indicating a dedicated parameter used for the active downlink BWP, and (b) information indicating transmission of the SSB on the active downlink BWP.
Regarding the rejection of claims 6 and 11, claims 6 and 11 recite the same limitations as set forth in claim 1, the response to claim 1 is also applicable to claims 6 and 11, and thus please refer to the response to claim 1 above.
Regarding the dependent claims 2, 3, 5, 7, 8, 10, 12, 13, and 15, Applicant has not made specific arguments pertaining to why the cited references do not teach the recited claims. Without such arguments, the Examiner cannot respond and is not persuaded by such argument.
In view of above, it is clear that the system/methods of the cited art disclose the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 10-13, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Futaki, U.S. Publication No. 2020/0274679, in view of Lee et al., (hereinafter Lee), U.S. Publication No. 2022/0217789.
As per claim 1, Futaki discloses a communication apparatus [paragraphs 0001, 0076, a communication apparatus (communication system)] comprising:
a receiver configured to receive, from a base station, a radio resource control (RRC) message including information for configuring a downlink bandwidth part (BWP) [fig. 13, paragraphs 0022, 0097, 0118, 0123, a receiver configured to receive, from a base station, a radio resource control (RRC) message including information for configuring a downlink bandwidth part (BWP) (one or more DL BWPs and one or more UL BWPs can be configured for the UE via a dedicated RRC message; UE RRC layer 121 receives one or more BWP configurations for each component carrier from the RAN node 11)], an identifier of the downlink BWP to be activated as an active downlink BWP in a case of performing configuration of the downlink BWP [fig. 8, 9, paragraphs 0023, 0024, 0067, 0068, an identifier of the downlink BWP to be activated as an active downlink BWP in a case of performing configuration of the downlink BWP (BWP configuration includes, for example, numerology, a frequency location, and a bandwidth (e.g., the number of PRBs); the network can activate/deactivate a BWP depending, for example, on a data rate, or on numerology required by a service, and can thereby dynamically switch the active BWP for the UE; BWP #1 supports numerology #1, while BWP #2 and BWP #3 support numerology #2)], the information for configuring the downlink BWP including information indicating a dedicated parameter used for the active downlink BWP [paragraphs 0022-0024, 0068, 0070, 0074, the information for configuring the downlink BWP including information indicating a dedicated parameter used for the active downlink BWP (for each UE-specific serving cell, one or more DL BWPs and one or more UL BWPs can be configured for the UE via a dedicated RRC message; the channel bandwidth of one component carrier is divided into BWP #1 and BWP #2, and these two BWPs are used for FDM schemes using different numerologies; the UE may monitor SSB #1 of BWP #1 that supports numerology different from that of BWP #3)] and information indicating transmission of a synchronization signal and a physical broadcast channel block (SSB) on the active downlink BWP [fig. 8, paragraphs 0070, 0097, 0130, information indicating transmission of a synchronization signal and a physical broadcast channel block (SSB) on the active downlink BWP (information indicating parameters of SSB transmitted in each BWP (e.g., SS sequence or PCI, SSB duration, numerology))]; and
a controller [fig. 19, paragraphs 0145-0148, a controller (the baseband processor 1903, the application processor 1904, and the SoC 1905)] configured to determine a downlink frame timing of a reference cell on a basis of the SSB indicated by using the information indicating the transmission of the SSB [paragraphs 0021, 0071, 0075, 0083, 0091, 0109, determine a downlink frame timing of a reference cell on a basis of the SSB indicated by using the information indicating the transmission of the SSB (SSB may be the cell defining SSB associated with the first BWP; the UE transmit or receive no data for a predetermined period (i.e., expiration of the timer value) in the active BWP, it switches the active BWP to a predetermined BWP (e.g., default BWP, or BWP including the cell defining SSB))].
Futaki discloses wherein UL BWPs and DL BWPs may be associated in advance with each other [paragraphs 0070, 0072]. Futaki does not explicitly discloses adjust a timing of uplink transmission on a basis of the downlink frame timing in a case where the transmission of the SSB on the active downlink BWP is indicated by using the information indicating the transmission of the SSB.
However, Lee teaches adjust a timing of uplink transmission on a basis of the downlink frame timing in a case where the transmission of the SSB on the active downlink BWP is indicated by using the information indicating the transmission of the SSB [fig. 8, 15, paragraphs 0129, 0276, 0278, adjust a timing of uplink transmission on a basis of the downlink frame timing in a case where the transmission of the SSB on the active downlink BWP is indicated by using the information indicating the transmission of the SSB (align a PUSCH and/or PUCCH transmission of the UE with a subframe timing of a network end, the network (e.g., the BS); UE may acquire DL synchronization by detecting an SSB; the UE may acquire time advance information for UL synchronization)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the apparatus described in Futaki by adjusting a timing of uplink transmission as taught by Lee because it would provide the Futaki's apparatus with the enhanced capability of supporting reliable data transmission [Lee, paragraphs 0068, 0277].
As per claim 2, Futaki discloses the communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein
the receiver is configured to receive, from the base station, the information for configuring the downlink BWP including information indicating a frequency domain location and bandwidth of the active downlink BWP [paragraphs 0018, 0021, 0022, 0095, 0097, 0117, the receiver is configured to receive, from the base station, the information for configuring the downlink BWP including information indicating a frequency domain location and bandwidth of the active downlink BWP (BWP configuration includes, for example, numerology, a frequency location; BWPs can be configured for the UE via a dedicated RRC message)],
the information indicating the transmission of the SSB includes an absolute radio frequency channel number [paragraph 0097, the information indicating the transmission of the SSB includes an absolute radio frequency channel number (one or more BWP configurations; information element indicating a carrier frequency (e.g., Absolute Radio Frequency Channel Number (ARFCN)) associated with each BWP)], and
the transmission of the SSB is indicated by the information indicating the transmission of the SSB so that the SSB is transmitted within the bandwidth of the active downlink BWP which is configured based on the information indicating the frequency domain location and bandwidth [fig. 8, paragraphs 0018, 0021, 0097, 0123, 0134, 0141, the transmission of the SSB is indicated by the information indicating the transmission of the SSB so that the SSB is transmitted within the bandwidth of the active downlink BWP which is configured based on the information indicating the frequency domain location and bandwidth (BWP configuration includes, for example, numerology, a frequency location, and a bandwidth; switching, of the active BWP among BWPs within the BWP group for communication between the UE 12 and the RAN)].
As per claim 3, Futaki discloses the communication apparatus according to claim 1, Futaki does not explicitly discloses wherein the uplink transmission includes transmission for a physical uplink shared channel.
However, Lee teaches wherein the uplink transmission includes transmission for a physical uplink shared channel [paragraphs 0085, 0108, 0111, 0278, wherein the uplink transmission includes transmission for a physical uplink shared channel (uplink data channel (e.g., Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH); 2) uplink control channel (e.g., Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH); 3) Sounding Reference Signal (SRS))].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the apparatus described in Futaki by including wherein the uplink transmission is at least one of transmission for a physical uplink shared channel as taught by Lee because it would provide the Futaki's apparatus with the enhanced capability of supporting reliable data transmission [Lee, paragraphs 0068, 0277].
As per claim 5, Futaki discloses the communication apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising:
a transmitter configured to perform the uplink transmission on an active uplink BWP, wherein the RRC message includes an identifier of an uplink BWP used as the active uplink BWP [paragraphs 0022, 0070, 0072, 0097, a transmitter configured to perform the uplink transmission on an active uplink BWP, wherein the RRC message includes an identifier of an uplink BWP used as the active uplink BWP (one or more DL BWPs and one or more UL BWPs can be configured for the UE via a dedicated RRC message; up to K (DL/UL) BWP(s) can be activated at a time; one or more BWP indices associated with one or more uplink BWPs)].
As per claim 6, Futaki discloses a base station [fig. 10, 18, paragraphs 0076, 0135, a base station (RAN node 11 is, for example, a gNB)] comprising:
a transmitter [fig. 10, 18, paragraphs 0076, 0135, a transmitter (the RAN node 11 includes a Radio Frequency transceiver 1801)] configured to transmit, to a communication apparatus, a radio resource control (RRC) message including information for configuring a downlink bandwidth part (BWP) [fig. 13, paragraphs 0022, 0097, 0118, 0123, a receiver configured to receive, from a base station, a radio resource control (RRC) message including information for configuring a downlink bandwidth part (BWP) (one or more DL BWPs and one or more UL BWPs can be configured for the UE via a dedicated RRC message; UE RRC layer 121 receives one or more BWP configurations for each component carrier from the RAN node 11)], an identifier of the downlink BWP to be activated as an active downlink BWP in a case of performing configuration of the downlink BWP [fig. 8, 9, paragraphs 0023, 0024, 0067, 0068, an identifier of the downlink BWP to be activated as an active downlink BWP in a case of performing configuration of the downlink BWP (BWP configuration includes, for example, numerology, a frequency location, and a bandwidth (e.g., the number of PRBs); the network can activate/deactivate a BWP depending, for example, on a data rate, or on numerology required by a service, and can thereby dynamically switch the active BWP for the UE; BWP #1 supports numerology #1, while BWP #2 and BWP #3 support numerology #2)], the information for configuring the downlink BWP including information indicating a dedicated parameter used for the active downlink BWP [paragraphs 0022-0024, 0068, 0070, 0074, the information for configuring the downlink BWP including information indicating a dedicated parameter used for the active downlink BWP (for each UE-specific serving cell, one or more DL BWPs and one or more UL BWPs can be configured for the UE via a dedicated RRC message; the channel bandwidth of one component carrier is divided into BWP #1 and BWP #2, and these two BWPs are used for FDM schemes using different numerologies; the UE may monitor SSB #1 of BWP #1 that supports numerology different from that of BWP #3)] and information indicating transmission of a synchronization signal and a physical broadcast channel block (SSB) on the active downlink BWP [fig. 8, paragraphs 0070, 0097, 0130, information indicating transmission of a synchronization signal and a physical broadcast channel block (SSB) on the active downlink BWP (information indicating parameters of SSB transmitted in each BWP (e.g., SS sequence or PCI, SSB duration, numerology))]; and
a receiver [fig. 10, 18, paragraphs 0076, 0135, a receiver (the RAN node 11 includes a Radio Frequency transceiver 1801)] wherein the downlink frame timing being determined on a basis of the SSB indicated by using the information indicating the transmission of the SSB in a case where the transmission of the SSB on the active downlink BWP is indicated by using the information indicating the transmission of the SSB [paragraphs 0021, 0071, 0075, 0083, 0091, 0109, wherein the downlink frame timing being determined on a basis of the SSB indicated by using the information indicating the transmission of the SSB in a case where the transmission of the SSB on the active downlink BWP is indicated by using the information indicating the transmission of the SSB (SSB may be the cell defining SSB associated with the first BWP; the UE transmit or receive no data for a predetermined period (i.e., expiration of the timer value) in the active BWP, it switches the active BWP to a predetermined BWP (e.g., default BWP, or BWP including the cell defining SSB))].
Futaki discloses wherein UL BWPs and DL BWPs may be associated in advance with each other [paragraphs 0070, 0072]. Futaki does not explicitly discloses receive, from the communication apparatus, an uplink signal of which a transmission timing is adjusted on a basis of a downlink frame timing of a reference cell.
However, Lee teaches receive, from the communication apparatus, an uplink signal of which a transmission timing is adjusted on a basis of a downlink frame timing of a reference cell [fig. 8, 15, paragraphs 0129, 0276, 0278, receive, from the communication apparatus, an uplink signal of which a transmission timing is adjusted on a basis of a downlink frame timing of a reference cell (align a PUSCH and/or PUCCH transmission of the UE with a subframe timing of a network end, the network (e.g., the BS); UE may acquire DL synchronization by detecting an SSB; the UE may acquire time advance information for UL synchronization)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the station described in Futaki by adjusting a timing of uplink transmission as taught by Lee because it would provide the Futaki's station with the enhanced capability of supporting reliable data transmission [Lee, paragraphs 0068, 0277].
As per claim 7, Futaki discloses the base station according to claim 6, wherein:
the transmitter is configured to transmit, to the communication apparatus, the information for configuring the downlink BWP including information indicating a frequency domain location and bandwidth of the active downlink BWP [paragraphs 0018, 0021, 0022, 0095, 0097, 0117, the transmitter is configured to transmit, to the communication apparatus, the information for configuring the downlink BWP including information indicating a frequency domain location and bandwidth of the active downlink BWP (BWP configuration includes, for example, numerology, a frequency location; BWPs can be configured for the UE via a dedicated RRC message)],
the information indicating the transmission of the SSB includes an absolute radio frequency channel number [paragraph 0097, the information indicating the transmission of the SSB includes an absolute radio frequency channel number (one or more BWP configurations; information element indicating a carrier frequency (e.g., Absolute Radio Frequency Channel Number (ARFCN)) associated with each BWP)], and
the transmission of the SSB is indicated by the information indicating the transmission of the SSB so that the SSB is transmitted within the bandwidth of the active downlink BWP, which is configured based on the information indicating the frequency domain location and bandwidth [fig. 8, paragraphs 0018, 0021, 0097, 0123, 0134, 0141, the transmission of the SSB is indicated by the information indicating the transmission of the SSB so that the SSB is transmitted within the bandwidth of the active downlink BWP, which is configured based on the information indicating the frequency domain location and bandwidth (BWP configuration includes, for example, numerology, a frequency location, and a bandwidth; switching, of the active BWP among BWPs within the BWP group for communication between the UE 12 and the RAN)].
As per claim 8, Futaki discloses the base station according to claim 6, Futaki does not explicitly discloses wherein transmission of the uplink signal includes transmission for a physical uplink shared channel.
However, Lee teaches wherein transmission of the uplink signal includes transmission for a physical uplink shared channel [paragraphs 0085, 0108, 0111, 0278, wherein transmission of the uplink signal includes transmission for a physical uplink shared channel (uplink data channel (e.g., Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH); 2) uplink control channel (e.g., Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH); 3) Sounding Reference Signal (SRS))].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the station described in Futaki by including wherein the uplink transmission is at least one of transmission for a physical uplink shared channel as taught by Lee because it would provide the Futaki's station with the enhanced capability of supporting reliable data transmission [Lee, paragraphs 0068, 0277].
As per claim 10, Futaki discloses the base station according to claim 6, wherein
the receiver is configured to receive the uplink signal on an active uplink BWP from the communication apparatus, and the RRC message includes an identifier of an uplink BWP used as the active uplink BWP [paragraphs 0022, 0070, 0072, 0097, the receiver is configured to receive the uplink signal on an active uplink BWP from the communication apparatus, and the RRC message includes an identifier of an uplink BWP used as the active uplink BWP (one or more DL BWPs and one or more UL BWPs can be configured for the UE via a dedicated RRC message; up to K (DL/UL) BWP(s) can be activated at a time; one or more BWP indices associated with one or more uplink BWPs)].
As per claim 11, Futaki discloses a communication method executed by a communication apparatus (100) [paragraphs 0001, 0076, a communication method executed by a communication apparatus (communication method)], the communication method comprising:
receiving, from a base station, a radio resource control (RRC) message including information for configuring a downlink bandwidth part (BWP) [fig. 13, paragraphs 0022, 0097, 0118, 0123, a receiver configured to receive, from a base station, a radio resource control (RRC) message including information for configuring a downlink bandwidth part (BWP) (one or more DL BWPs and one or more UL BWPs can be configured for the UE via a dedicated RRC message; UE RRC layer 121 receives one or more BWP configurations for each component carrier from the RAN node 11)], an identifier of the downlink BWP to be activated as an active downlink BWP in a case of performing configuration of the downlink BWP [fig. 8, 9, paragraphs 0023, 0024, 0067, 0068, an identifier of the downlink BWP to be activated as an active downlink BWP in a case of performing configuration of the downlink BWP (BWP configuration includes, for example, numerology, a frequency location, and a bandwidth (e.g., the number of PRBs); the network can activate/deactivate a BWP depending, for example, on a data rate, or on numerology required by a service, and can thereby dynamically switch the active BWP for the UE; BWP #1 supports numerology #1, while BWP #2 and BWP #3 support numerology #2)], the information for configuring the downlink BWP including information indicating a dedicated parameter used for the active downlink BWP [paragraphs 0022-0024, 0068, 0070, 0074, the information for configuring the downlink BWP including information indicating a dedicated parameter used for the active downlink BWP (for each UE-specific serving cell, one or more DL BWPs and one or more UL BWPs can be configured for the UE via a dedicated RRC message; the channel bandwidth of one component carrier is divided into BWP #1 and BWP #2, and these two BWPs are used for FDM schemes using different numerologies; the UE may monitor SSB #1 of BWP #1 that supports numerology different from that of BWP #3)] and information indicating transmission of a synchronization signal and a physical broadcast channel block (SSB) on the active downlink BWP [fig. 8, paragraphs 0070, 0097, 0130, information indicating transmission of a synchronization signal and a physical broadcast channel block (SSB) on the active downlink BWP (information indicating parameters of SSB transmitted in each BWP (e.g., SS sequence or PCI, SSB duration, numerology))]; and
determining a downlink frame timing of a reference cell on a basis of the SSB indicated by using the information indicating the transmission of the SSB [paragraphs 0021, 0071, 0075, 0083, 0091, 0109, determine a downlink frame timing of a reference cell on a basis of the SSB indicated by using the information indicating the transmission of the SSB (SSB may be the cell defining SSB associated with the first BWP; the UE transmit or receive no data for a predetermined period (i.e., expiration of the timer value) in the active BWP, it switches the active BWP to a predetermined BWP (e.g., default BWP, or BWP including the cell defining SSB))].
Futaki discloses wherein UL BWPs and DL BWPs may be associated in advance with each other [paragraphs 0070, 0072]. Futaki does not explicitly discloses adjusting a timing of uplink transmission on a basis of the downlink frame timing in a case where the transmission of the SSB on the active downlink BWP is indicated by using the information indicating the transmission of the SSB.
However, Lee teaches adjusting a timing of uplink transmission on a basis of the downlink frame timing in a case where the transmission of the SSB on the active downlink BWP is indicated by using the information indicating the transmission of the SSB [fig. 8, 15, paragraphs 0129, 0276, 0278, adjusting a timing of uplink transmission on a basis of the downlink frame timing in a case where the transmission of the SSB on the active downlink BWP is indicated by using the information indicating the transmission of the SSB (align a PUSCH and/or PUCCH transmission of the UE with a subframe timing of a network end, the network (e.g., the BS); UE may acquire DL synchronization by detecting an SSB; the UE may acquire time advance information for UL synchronization)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Futaki by adjusting a timing of uplink transmission as taught by Lee because it would provide the Futaki's method with the enhanced capability of supporting reliable data transmission [Lee, paragraphs 0068, 0277].
As per claim 12, Futaki discloses the communication method according to claim 11, further comprising:
receiving, from the base station, the information for configuring the downlink BWP including information indicating a frequency domain location and bandwidth of the active downlink BWP [paragraphs 0018, 0021, 0022, 0095, 0097, 0117, receiving, from the base station, the information for configuring the downlink BWP including information indicating a frequency domain location and bandwidth of the active downlink BWP (BWP configuration includes, for example, numerology, a frequency location; BWPs can be configured for the UE via a dedicated RRC message)], wherein:
the information indicating the transmission of the SSB includes an absolute radio frequency channel number [paragraph 0097, the information indicating the transmission of the SSB includes an absolute radio frequency channel number (one or more BWP configurations; information element indicating a carrier frequency (e.g., Absolute Radio Frequency Channel Number (ARFCN)) associated with each BWP)] and
the transmission of the SSB is indicated by the information indicating the transmission of the SSB so that the SSB is transmitted within the bandwidth of the active downlink BWP, which is configured based on the information indicating the frequency domain location and bandwidth [fig. 8, paragraphs 0018, 0021, 0097, 0123, 0134, 0141, the transmission of the SSB is indicated by the information indicating the transmission of the SSB so that the SSB is transmitted within the bandwidth of the active downlink BWP, which is configured based on the information indicating the frequency domain location and bandwidth (BWP configuration includes, for example, numerology, a frequency location, and a bandwidth; switching, of the active BWP among BWPs within the BWP group for communication between the UE 12 and the RAN)].
As per claim 13, Futaki discloses the communication method according to claim 11, Futaki does not explicitly discloses wherein the uplink transmission includes transmission for a physical uplink shared channel.
However, Lee teaches wherein the uplink transmission includes transmission for a physical uplink shared channel [paragraphs 0085, 0108, 0111, 0278, wherein the uplink transmission includes transmission for a physical uplink shared channel (uplink data channel (e.g., Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH); 2) uplink control channel (e.g., Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH); 3) Sounding Reference Signal (SRS))].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Futaki by including wherein the uplink transmission is at least one of transmission for a physical uplink shared channel as taught by Lee because it would provide the Futaki's method with the enhanced capability of supporting reliable data transmission [Lee, paragraphs 0068, 0277].
As per claim 15, Futaki discloses the communication method according to claim 11, further comprising:
performing the uplink transmission on an active uplink BWP, wherein the RRC message includes an identifier of an uplink BWP used as the active uplink BWP [paragraphs 0022, 0070, 0072, 0097, performing the uplink transmission on an active uplink BWP, wherein the RRC message includes an identifier of an uplink BWP used as the active uplink BWP (one or more DL BWPs and one or more UL BWPs can be configured for the UE via a dedicated RRC message; up to K (DL/UL) BWP(s) can be activated at a time; one or more BWP indices associated with one or more uplink BWPs)].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lin et al., U.S. Publication No. 2023/0093727 discloses the UE receives, from a BS, an RRC message that indicates a CORESET dedicated for the MBS and a BWP dedicated for the MBS.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACKIE ZUNIGA ABAD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469