DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claims 9 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9 is missing a period at the end of the claim; and,
Claim 11 recites three morphologically distinct species, wherein two are recited as a singular “particle” and one is recited as plural “particles”; if the core can comprise more than one particle of the recited morphology, the plural “particles” should be used for all three species; if the core is intended to only be a single particle, the singular “particle” should be used for all three species, along with the article “a”. If two of the morphologies are intended to only recite a singular particle, the article “a” should be added to the claim to make this intention clear, i.e., “a non-agglomerated particle” and “a shaped abrasive particle”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 20 recites the limitation “wherein at least 10% of a volume content of the abrasive particles comprise the abrasive particle of claim 15.” It is noted that claim 14 recites a similar limitation, wherein abrasive particles are mixed with a bond material to create an abrasive article, and wherein at least 10 vol.% of the abrasive particles for a volume of the body comprise the abrasive particles of claim 8. The Examiner interprets claim 14 as reciting an abrasive article comprising 10 vol.% abrasive particles, wherein the particles are those of claim 8. Conversely, claim 20 fails to recite a body, and instead is written in such a way that suggests 10 vol.% of all abrasive particles must be the abrasive particles of claim 15. In other words, claim 20 is not reciting a concentration of claim 15’s particles in the abrasive article, but is instead reciting a concentration of claim 15’s particles out of all the abrasive particles used in the abrasive article of claim 20. The Examiner will interpret claim 20 based on its current wording, but if Applicants intended for claim 20 to mirror the limitations of claim 14, an amendment should be filed to that effect.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 depends from claim 8, which recites an abrasive particle comprising a core. Claim 11 further limits the core to being a shaped abrasive particle or unshaped abrasive particle. However, this leads to indefiniteness because it is unclear if the abrasive particle of claim 8 comprises a core made of more abrasive particles, or if the abrasive particle of claim 8 is synonymous with the core of claim 11. In other words, claim 11 is indefinite because it is cyclical; an abrasive particle comprises a core which is an abrasive particle, and it is unclear which abrasive particle claim 11 is attempting to further limit, if there is even a distinction between the “abrasive particle comprising a core” of claim 8 and the “core comprising an abrasive particle” of claim 11.
For purposes of examination, and based on the Examiner’s understanding of the claimed invention, the Examiner believes the “abrasive particle” of claim 8 is referring to a product comprising a core abrasive particle and a coating; claim 11 is attempting to limit the core abrasive particle, while claim 8 refers to a coated abrasive particle. This interpretation would overcome the indefiniteness, and so the Examiner will rely on this interpretation herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1–4, 6–9, 11, 15, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Nie et al. (US 2018/0187058 A1, hereinafter “Nie”).
Regarding claims 1–3, Nie teaches an abrasive particle comprising a core and a coating (see generally abstract; while Applicants define the abrasive particle as comprising a body further comprising a core and a coating, Nie defines the abrasive particle as comprising a body and a coating; accordingly, the coated body disclosed by Nie is considered to be synonymous with the coated core as claimed in claim 1). Nie teaches the coating as overlying at least a portion of the body (see paragraph 0067 teaching the coating as covering all or some of the body), wherein the coating comprises a lithium content of at least 0.02 wt.% and not greater than 20 wt.% (see paragraph 0083 teaching a lithium content of between 0.3–2 wt.% in the amorphous material; also see paragraph 0071 teaching the coating as including an amorphous material and a filler, meaning the disclosed amount of lithium is relative only to a portion of the coating; finally, see paragraph 0092 teaching the coating as including from 0.01–10 wt.% filler; the lithium content in the coating is therefore from 0.27–2 wt.% [0.3 wt.% in amorphous material × 90 wt.% amorphous material in coating = 0.27 wt.%; 2 wt.% in amorphous material × 99.99 wt.% amorphous material in coating = 1.9998 wt.% ≈ 2 wt.%]).
Nie further teaches the limitation of claim 2 wherein the coating comprises an amorphous phase including lithium (see paragraph 0071, final sentence teaching the amorphous phase as including lithium). Furthermore, the above calculations show that Nie teaches a lithium content in the coating of from 0.27–2 wt.%, which meets the limitation of claim 3.
Regarding claim 4, Nie teaches the abrasive particle of claim 1, and further teaches the limitation wherein the coating comprises silicon, oxygen, or a combination thereof (see paragraph 0071 teaching the coating as comprising silicon or one of several oxides, which all inherently comprise oxygen).
Regarding claim 6, Nie further teaches the limitation wherein the coating comprises a lithium/silicon percent ratio within a range of at least 0.01% to not greater than 250% (see paragraph 0077 teaching a ratio of silicon to alkali metal [Lithium is an alkali metal] of from 1:1 to 6:1; since claim 6 requires a ratio of lithium to silicon, Nie’s disclosed Si:Li ratios can be flipped to show Li:Si of from 1:6 to 1:1; these correspond to percent ratios of from 16.6–50 wt.%, which falls within the claimed range). Nie further teaches the alternative limitation wherein a content of sodium is not greater than 12 wt.% for the total weight of the coating (see paragraph 0081 teaching the sodium content of the amorphous portion of the coating as less than 5 wt.%; as discussed above, Nie teaches a coating that comprises an amorphous material and a filler, wherein the coating can comprise up to 10% filler; in paragraph 0089, Nie discloses various fillers, some of which include sodium in small weight percentages [e.g., NaBF4, wherein Na is less than 21% of the mass of the molecule]; by assuming the filler is NaF, which should have the highest weight percentage of sodium out of all the recited fillers, the maximum possible sodium content of the coating can be determined as follows: the coating comprises up to 5 wt.% sodium in the amorphous material, and up to 10 wt.% NaF as a filler, wherein the sodium content of the filler is 54.75 wt.% [molar mass of sodium ÷ molar mass of sodium fluoride], which means the filler can contribute a maximum of 5.48 wt.% sodium [10% of 54.75 wt.%], which means the entire coating can contain no more than 10.48 wt.% sodium).
Regarding claim 7, Nie teaches an abrasive article, comprising a body including a bond material and abrasive particles contained within the bond material, wherein the abrasive particles comprise the abrasive particles of claim 1 (see paragraph 0056 teaching a fixed abrasive article such as a bonded abrasive article, which inherently includes a bond material; paragraph 0056 also specifically teaches the abrasive article as using “the abrasive particle of the embodiments herein”, which include the embodiments that anticipate claim 1, thus meeting the limitations of the claim).
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Nie teaches an abrasive particle comprising a body comprising a core and a coating (see generally abstract; while Applicants define the abrasive particle as comprising a body further comprising a core and a coating, Nie defines the abrasive particle as comprising a body and a coating; accordingly, the coated body disclosed by Nie is considered to be synonymous with the coated core as claimed in claim 8). Nie teaches the coating as overlying at least a portion of the body (see paragraph 0067 teaching the coating as covering all or some of the body), wherein the coating comprises an amorphous phase including a lithium-containing material (see paragraph 0071, final sentence teaching the amorphous phase of the coating as comprising lithium). Nie also teaches the limitation of claim 9, wherein the lithium content of the coating is between 0.10–20 wt.% (see the above rejection of claim 1, wherein the lithium content of the coating was determined to be 0.27–2 wt.%, which falls within the claimed range).
Regarding claim 11, Nie teaches the abrasive particle of claim 8, and further teaches the limitation wherein the core comprises non-agglomerated particles, non-shaped abrasive particles, shaped abrasive particles, or any combination thereof (see paragraph 0058 teaching the body [synonymous with “core”] as being made from shaped abrasive grain or unshaped abrasive grain, or a combination thereof; also see the above 112(b) rejection of claim 11 regarding the interpretation of the abrasive particles of the core versus the abrasive particle of the parent claim 8).
Regarding claim 15, Nie teaches an abrasive particle comprising a body comprising a core and a coating (see generally abstract; while Applicants define the abrasive particle as comprising a body further comprising a core and a coating, Nie defines the abrasive particle as comprising a body and a coating; accordingly, the coated body disclosed by Nie is considered to be synonymous with the coated core as claimed in claim 8). Nie teaches the coating as overlying at least a portion of the body (see paragraph 0067 teaching the coating as covering all or some of the body), wherein the coating comprises lithium and silicon (see paragraph 0070 teaching the coating as comprising lithium and silicon; although they are recited as separate embodiments, paragraph 0077 specifically recites a ratio of silicon to alkali metals in the amorphous material of the coating, which indicates that both can be present). Nie further teaches the limitation wherein a weight content of silicon is higher than the weight content of lithium (see paragraph 0083 teaching a lithium content of 0.3–2 wt.%; also see paragraph 0075 teaching a silicon content of 7.5–15 wt.%; the silicon weight content will therefore always be higher than the lithium weight content).
Regarding claim 17, Nie teaches the abrasive particle of claim 15, and further teaches the limitation wherein the coating comprises oxygen (see paragraph 0073 teaching oxygen as being present in the coating, even if it isn’t always explicitly recited).
Regarding claim 19, Nie further teaches the limitation wherein the core comprises a material comprising inter alia an oxide (see paragraph 0062 teaching the core as comprising alumina and zirconia, which are both oxides).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 5, 10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nie as applied to claims 1, 9 and 15 above, respectively, and further in view of Yener et al. (US 2009/0235591 A1, hereinafter “Yener”). Evidentiary support for the inertness of silica is provided by Cameo Chemicals (“Silica, Amorphous” Chemical Data Sheet, Cameo Chemicals, 2016, hereinafter “Cameo”), and is applied to claims 5, 10 and 16.
Regarding claim 5, Nie teaches the abrasive particle of claim 1, but fails to explicitly teach the limitation wherein the coating comprises a silicon content of at least 21 wt.% for the total weight of the coating (see Nie, paragraph 0075 teaching a maximum silicon content of 15 wt.% in the amorphous material of the coating). Nie does not explicitly teach any reasons not to exceed a maximum of 15 wt.%, so a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have understood that Nie’s composition could be modified to use a higher content of silica, if there were a benefit in doing so and a reasonable expectation of success.
Yener teaches abrasive particles with a core-shell structure (see generally abstract; a core-shell structure is considered synonymous with the claimed coated core, especially in view of paragraph 0002, which refers to the invention as “coated abrasive particles”). Yener further teaches the shell (or coating) as comprising ≥90 wt.% SiO2 (see paragraph 0052). In SiO2, silicon represents 46.7 wt.% of the overall molecular mass (molar mass of silicon ÷ molar mass of silicon oxide), which means the coating comprises at least 42.03 wt.% Si (90% of 46.7 wt.%). While Yener fails to explicitly teach the benefits of a coating comprising this amount of silicon, the benefits are well known in the art: silica (SiO2), the source of silicon in the coatings of Nie and Yener, is well-understood to be chemically and thermally inert (see Cameo, “Reactivity Profile” section teaching silica as being generally unreactive, and only reactive with metal oxides at high temperatures), meaning that a higher concentration of silica in the coating would yield an abrasive particle with a higher resistance to oxidation, hydrolysis, heat, moisture, and other chemically reactive environments. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have reasonably known about this correlation between silica content and inertness, and would have understood to be obvious that the coating composition of Nie can be modified to have a higher silica content in exchange for a higher resistance to chemical attack and temperature. This modification arrives at the claimed invention, thus rendering claim 5 prima facie obvious.
Regarding claim 10, Nie teaches the abrasive particle of claim 9, but fails to explicitly teach the limitation wherein the coating comprises a silicon content of at least 21 wt.% for the total weight of the coating (see Nie, paragraph 0075 teaching a maximum silicon content of 15 wt.% in the amorphous material of the coating).
As discussed in the above rejection of claim 5, Nie does not teach any reasons not to exceed 15 wt.% Si in the coating, and Yener teaches a comparable coated abrasive particle wherein the coating comprises 42.03 wt.% Si (see the above rejection of claim 5 for calculations). Based on the ubiquity of silica and its well-known inertness (see Cameo), a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been sufficiently motivated to modify the coating of Nie to use a higher silica content, as taught by Yener. This modification arrives at the claimed invention, thus rendering claim 10 prima facie obvious.
Regarding claim 16, Nie teaches the abrasive particle of claim 15, wherein the coating comprises a lithium content of at least 0.05 wt.% (Nie teaches a lithium content of 0.27–2 wt.%; see the above rejection of claim 1 for calculations), but fails to explicitly teach the limitation wherein the coating comprises a silicon content of at least 21 wt.% for the total weight of the coating (see Nie, paragraph 0075 teaching a maximum silicon content of 15 wt.% in the amorphous material of the coating).
As discussed in the above rejection of claim 5, Nie does not teach any reasons not to exceed 15 wt.% Si in the coating, and Yener teaches a comparable coated abrasive particle wherein the coating comprises 42.03 wt.% Si (see the above rejection of claim 5 for calculations). Based on the ubiquity of silica and its well-known inertness (see Cameo), a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been sufficiently motivated to modify the coating of Nie to use a higher silica content, as taught by Yener. This modification arrives at the claimed invention, thus rendering claim 16 prima facie obvious.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nie, as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Conwell et al. (US 5,547,479 A, hereinafter “Conwell”).
Regarding claim 13, Nie teaches the abrasive particle of claim 8, but fails to explicitly teach the limitation wherein the core comprises a ceramic material including a magnetoplumbite phase. Conwell teaches an alumina-based abrasive particle compatible with coatings (see generally abstract), wherein the alpha-alumina core further comprises aluminate platelets comprising aluminate having a magnetoplumbite crystal structure (see col. 6, ll. 25–28). Furthermore, Conwell teaches magnetoplumbite as being associated with increased toughness of abrasive particles (see col. 13, ll. 56–62). Nie teaches coated abrasive particles wherein the core comprises alumina (see Nie, paragraph 0059), and Conwell teaches an alumina-based abrasive particle wherein the core comprises toughness-boosting magnetoplumbite. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have understood to be obvious that the core of Nie’s abrasive particle can be modified to include a magnetoplumbite phase as taught by Conwell, because Conwell explicitly teaches the benefits of such a modification. The modification of Nie by Conwell arrives at the claimed invention, thus rendering claim 13 prima facie obvious.
Claims 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nie, as applied to claims 8 and 15 above, respectively, and further in view of Ramanath et al. (US 2014/0298729 A1, hereinafter “Ramanath”).
Regarding claim 14, Nie teaches an abrasive article comprising a body including a bond material and abrasive particles contained in the bond material, wherein the abrasive particles comprise the abrasive particles of claim 8 (see Nie, paragraph 0056 teaching a fixed abrasive article such as a bonded abrasive article, which inherently includes a bond material; paragraph 0056 also specifically teaches the abrasive article as using “the abrasive particle of the embodiments herein”, which include the embodiments that anticipate claim 8). Nie fails to explicitly teach the limitation wherein at least 10 vol.% of the abrasive particles for a volume of the body comprise the abrasive particles of claim 8. Ramanath teaches an abrasive article comprising abrasive particles and a bond material (see generally abstract), wherein the abrasive particles are present in the abrasive article in an amount of at least 30 vol.% (see paragraph 0033). Since Nie teaches an abrasive article comprising abrasive particles and a bond material, and only fails to teach the specific concentration of abrasive particles in said article, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been sufficiently motivated to use the concentration taught by Ramanath because both disclosures teach coated abrasive particles in fixed abrasive articles. The modification of Nie by Ramanath arrives at the claimed invention, thus rendering claim 14 prima facie obvious.
Regarding claim 20, Nie teaches an abrasive article comprising a bond material and abrasive particles contained in the bond material, wherein the abrasive particles comprise the abrasive particle of claim 15 (see Nie, paragraph 0056 teaching a fixed abrasive article such as a bonded abrasive article, which inherently includes a bond material; paragraph 0056 also specifically teaches the abrasive article as using “the abrasive particle of the embodiments herein”, which include the embodiments that anticipate claim 15). Nie further teaches the limitation wherein at least 10% of a volume content of the abrasive particles comprise the abrasive particles of claim 15 (see the above Claim Interpretation section; Nie, paragraph 0056, teaches a fixed abrasive article such as a bonded abrasive article using the abrasive particles of the described embodiments, which include embodiments that anticipate claim 15; because Nie does not explicitly teach the inclusion of abrasive particles from other embodiments, and there is no evidence to suggest the use of multiple embodiments in one abrasive article, Nie presumably uses 100% of a volume content of the abrasive particles comprising the abrasive particles of claim 15). Nie fails to teach the limitation wherein the bond material includes an organic material. Ramanath teaches an abrasive article comprising abrasive particles and a bond material (see generally abstract), wherein the bond material can include an organic binder material (see paragraph 0041 teaching organic binders including thermosets, thermoplastics and adhesives, wherein the binder material is taught to provide suitable strength during formation of the bonded abrasive article). A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been sufficiently motivated to modify the bonded abrasive article of Nie to use an organic binder as taught by Ramanath because both disclosures teach coated alumina-based abrasive particles in bonded abrasive articles (see Nie, paragraph 0059 teaching alumina abrasive particles, and paragraph 0056 teaching bonded abrasive articles; also see Ramanath, paragraph 0028 teaching alumina abrasive particles, paragraph 0031 teaching a coating, and paragraph 0002 teaching bonded abrasive articles made therefrom). Nie and Ramanath are considered art-recognized equivalents, and it is prima facie obvious to combine two equivalent compositions, each used for the same purpose, to arrive at a third disclosure to be used for the same purpose (see MPEP 2144.06(I)). This modification arrives at the claimed invention, thus rendering claim 20 prima facie obvious.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nie, as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Can et al. (US 2008/0168717 A1, hereinafter “Can”).
Regarding claim 18, Nie teaches the abrasive particle of claim 15, but fails to explicitly teach the limitation wherein the coating comprises nanoparticles, and wherein the nanoparticles comprise inter alia oxygen. Can teaches a method of coating abrasive particles (see generally abstract), wherein the abrasive particles are coated in oxide precursors (see Can, paragraph 0017; “oxide” denotes the presence of oxygen), which can be nano-crystalline oxide precursors (see paragraph 0019), and which are then crystallized into a coating of nano-size grain oxides (see paragraph 0026; also see paragraph 0092 teaching a coating of titania crystallites with dimensions of about 30 nm, meaning the resulting coating comprises nanoparticles). While Can does not explicitly teach the coating around alumina/zirconia abrasive particles as taught by Nie, the coating of Can is compatible with the particles of Nie with a reasonable expectation of success. It is prima facie obvious to apply a known method to a known structure to achieve a predictable result (see MPEP 2143, KSR Rationale D). In the instant case, because both Nie and Can teach oxide-based coatings for abrasive particles, there is a reasonable expectation of success if the oxide-based coating taught by Nie is modified to use nano-oxide precursors to obtain nano-crystallites in the coating, as taught by Can. This modification arrives at the claimed invention, thus rendering claim 18 prima facie obvious.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 12 recites the abrasive particle of claim 8, wherein the specific surface area is greater than 0.05 m2/g and less than 2.2 m2/g. Claim 12 recites a structural limitation, not merely a result or fixed property. Specific surface area is not a property that can be reasonably predicted; porosity, cracking, surface roughness, coating continuity, etc., can all drastically change the specific surface area. In the above-cited Can reference (Table 2), it can be seen that some coatings increase the specific surface area by 20 times, while other coatings decrease the specific surface area, which further indicates this is not an inherent property. The recited specific surface area is much lower than the values typically reported for coated abrasives, and would result in a coated abrasive particle that is more resistant to adsorbing undesirable waste materials over time. The art does not teach or suggest the claimed specific surface area range, and shows no predictable relationship between coating parameters and specific surface area. Accordingly, claim 12 contains subject matter which is novel over prior art.
Conclusion
/R.P.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1731
/ANTHONY J GREEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731