DETAILED ACTION
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) as being indefinite because claim 16 recites “a projection,” whereas claim 21 refers to “the generally U-shaped projection.” Claim 21 does not depend from claim 20, which recites that “the projection is generally U-shaped.” Claim 21 should be amended to depend from claim 20 or amended to recite “wherein the projection is generally U-shaped and further comprises ….”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kerns et al. (US 4,756,706A1; hereinafter “Kerns”) in view of Husted et al. (US2001/0013437A1; hereinafter “Husted”) and Kamen et al. (US 2013/0184676A1; hereinafter “Kamen”).
In relation to independent claim 2, Kerns discloses an infusion pump module with stacked attachment, a user interface, a pumping mechanism, and a controller. Kerns states:
“the modules 18, 20 and 22 are selectively attachable to the central management unit 14 and its pump module 16 by sliding the flanged plate 62 at the top of each module into the channels formed by the flanged rails 64 on the underside of the module above it.” (Kerns, col. 3, lines 19–24)
Kerns further states:
“the module 22 attaches to the stack by sliding the support plate 62 into the channels 64 of the unit above it.” (Kerns, col. 4, lines 8–10)
For the user interface, Kerns states:
“The front panel 126 of the module 22 contains a display screen 128 and a set of control
buttons 130, 132, 134, 136.” (Kerns, col. 4, lines 17-19)
Kerns further states:
“The display screen 128 displays the delivery rate of the module 22 as well as status information regarding the operation of the module.” (Kerns, col. 4, lines 17-19)
For the motor/drive mechanism and controller, Kerns states:
“The CPU board 200 operates the actual pumping mechanism 100 in accordance with the commands received from central management unit 14 and stored in the memory of the CPU board 200.” (Kerns, col. 6, starting in line 67)
Kerns also states:
“the pumping mechanism 100 is operated by a stepping motor whose stepping rate is controlled by the CPU board 200.” (Kerns, col. 7, lines 16–18.)
Kerns does not expressly disclose the top portion with a handle integrated into an outer surface that partially defines a generally U-shaped retaining feature having a pair of receiving grooves within opposing sides, nor does Kerns expressly disclose a bottom portion with a generally U-shaped projection contoured to mate with such retaining feature. However, Husted discloses the U-shaped bracket, handle, latch mechanism, secure fit, and sliding installation/removal. Husted states in the Abstract:
“A U-shaped bracket is affixed to the vehicle frame and includes a vertical wall that secures a second connector so that the first connector and the second connector are brought into mating engagement when the battery pack housing is positioned on the bracket.” (Husted, Abstract)
Husted further states:
“The battery pack housing includes a handle for carrying, and a latch mechanism for securing, the battery pack housing in a precise location on the bracket.” (Husted, Abstract)
Husted states in the detailed description:
“A pair of handles 18 and 20 is provided on opposite sides of housing 14 for enabling easy installation and removal of the battery pack housing 14. Two latches 22 and 24 are pivotally supported on opposite sides of battery pack housing 14 and include latching notches 26 and 28, respectively for cooperation with a corresponding pair of latching pins 30 and 32.” (Husted, ¶ [0012])
Husted further states:
“Latches 30, 32 are affixed to a vertical wall of a generally U-shaped bracket 36 that supports the battery pack housing 14 on the vehicle. The latching pins 30, 32 and the latching notches 26, 28 insure that the battery pack housing 14 is secured in its operating position on bracket 36.” (Husted, ¶ [0012].)
Husted also states:
“The dimensions of the battery pack housing 14 and the U-shaped bracket 36 provide for a secure fit to preclude movement of the battery pack housing 14 and assure alignment between the contacts … of electrical connector 16 and the contacts … of a mating electrical connector 38.” (Husted, ¶ [0012].)
Finally, Husted states:
“The battery pack housing 14 is readily removed by disengaging the locking latches 22, 24 from the locking pins 30, 32, grasping the battery pack housing 14 by its handles 18, 20 and sliding the battery pack housing 14 to disengage the contacts of connector 16 from the contacts of connector 38. Installation of the battery pack housing 14 on the vehicle is the reverse of removal.” (Husted, ¶ [0014].)
Kamen further discloses stacked pumps using protrusions, recesses, and latches. Kamen states:
“FIG. 2 shows a system 200 that includes several pumps 201, 202, and 203. The pumps 201, 202, 203 can be coupled together to form a group of pumps that are connectable to a pole 208. The system 200 includes two syringe pumps 201, 202 and a peristaltic pump 203.” (Kamen, ¶ [0159].)
Kamen further states:
“Within the system 200, the pumps 201, 202, and 203 are stacked together using respective Z-frames 207.” (Kamen, ¶ [0162].)
Kamen states:
“Each Z-frame 207 of the pumps 201, 202, 203 includes a recessed portion 223 … and a protrusion 224 …. A protrusion 224 of the Z-frame 207 of one pump … may engage a recessed portion 223 of another pump to enable the pump to be stacked on top of each other.” (Kamen, ¶ [0166])
Based on the above comments, it would have been obvious to modify Kerns’ stacked infusion pump modules to use the U-shaped bracket/secure-fit/handle/latch teachings of Husted and the pump-to-pump protrusion/recess/latch teachings of Kamen. The motivation would have been to provide predictable guided insertion, secure fit, alignment, and deliberate release of stacked infusion pump modules.
In relation to claim 3, Kerns discloses the sliding channel/plate structure quoted for claim 2. Husted discloses a U-shaped member that securely nests a removable housing, stating in claim 4:
“wherein said bracket comprises a U-shaped member having a vertical wall for securely
nesting said battery pack housing therein.” (Husted, claim 4)
Husted does not expressly disclose the exact upper lip portion extending inwardly toward a central recess of an infusion pump housing. However, Husted’s U-shaped member “securely nesting” a housing, together with Kerns’ channels receiving the flanged plate, teaches the retaining-overhang function. It would have been obvious to implement the retaining part as an upper lip around a central recess so that a mating projection or flange is retained in the groove during stacking.
In relation to claim 4, Husted discloses handles for installation/removal by stating:
“A pair of handles 18 and 20 is provided on opposite sides of housing 14 for enabling
easy installation and removal of the battery pack housing 14.” (Husted, ¶ [0012].)
Kerns discloses a portable modular pump system, and Husted teaches a handle used with a removable, sliding, bracket-mounted module. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to incorporate the handle into a central recess in the pump top portion to reduce separate protruding parts and facilitate grasping of a stackable module.
In relation to claim 5, Kerns discloses sliding the support plate into channels, as quoted for claim 2. Husted discloses a U-shaped bracket that “provide[s] for a secure fit to preclude movement” (Husted, ¶ [0012]). A narrowed section at the end of receiving grooves is a predictable mechanical top/alignment feature for obtaining the secure fit and final seated position expressly taught by Husted. Therefore, in view of the conventionality of this enhancement, its implementation in the invention would have been considered an obvious alternative in the design of the pump apparatus.
In relation to claim 6, Kerns discloses flange/channel sliding attachment by stating:
“the modules 18, 20 and 22 are selectively attachable … by sliding the flanged plate 62 at the top of each module into the channels formed by the flanged rails 64 on the underside of the module above it.” (Kerns, col. 3, lines 19–24)
Husted discloses that the U-shaped bracket provides secure fit and alignment, stating:
“The dimensions of the battery pack housing 14 and the U-shaped bracket 36 provide for a secure fit to preclude movement of the battery pack housing 14 and assure alignment ….” (Husted, ¶ [0012].)
Kamen discloses pump protrusion/recess stacking by stating:
“A protrusion 224 of the Z-frame 207 of one pump … may engage a recessed portion 223 of another pump to enable the pump to be stacked on top of each other.” (Kamen, ¶ [0166])
Based on the above comments, it would have been obvious to implement the protrusion as a generally U-shaped projection having forward and rearward portions with flanges/lips because this is a predictable structural implementation of Kerns’ flanged plate/channel engagement, Husted’s U-shaped secure-fit bracket, and Kamen’s pump-to-pump protrusion/recess stacking.
In relation to claim 7, Husted discloses latches, notches, and pins by stating:
“Two latches 22 and 24 are pivotally supported on opposite sides of battery pack housing 14 and include latching notches 26 and 28, respectively for cooperation with a corresponding pair of latching pins 30 and 32.” (Husted, ¶ [0012].)
Husted further states:
“The latching pins 30,32 and the latching notches 26,28 insure that the battery pack housing 14 is secured in its operating position on bracket 36.” (Husted, ¶ [0012].)
Kamen discloses a pump latch and latch engagement member by stating:
“Each of the pumps 201, 202, 203 includes a latch engagement member 221 that allows another one of the pumps 201, 202, 203 to be attached thereto via a latch 222…. The latch 222 may include a small spring-loaded flange that can ‘snap’ into the space formed under the latch engagement member 221.” (Kamen, ¶ [0166])
It would have been obvious to position a latch/catch on a side of the U-shaped retaining feature to hold a projection loaded in the grooves because both Husted and Kamen use latching structures to secure removable or stacked components after insertion. Therefore, in view of the conventionality of this enhancement, its implementation in the invention would have been considered an obvious alternative in the design of the pump apparatus.
In relation to claim 8, Kamen discloses release of the latch by stating:
“the latch 222 of the pump 201 may be pulled to withdraw a portion of the latch 222 out of the space under the latch engagement member 221 of the pump 202.” (Kamens, ¶ [0167])
Husted discloses release by disengaging latches by stating:
“The battery pack housing 14 is readily removed by disengaging the locking latches 22,24 from the locking pins 30,32 ….” (Husted, ¶ [0014])
It would have been obvious to provide a pump latch button as the manual actuator for pulling or disengaging a latch, because Kamen and Husted both teach manually releasable latch mechanisms. Therefore, in view of the conventionality of this enhancement, its implementation in the invention would have been considered an obvious alternative in the design of the pump apparatus.
Claims 9-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamen et al. (US 2013/0184676A1; hereinafter “Kamen”) in view of Kerns et al. (US 4,756,706A1; hereinafter “Kerns”) in view of Husted et al. (US2001/0013437A1; hereinafter “Husted”) and Heitmeier et al. (DE4030368C1; hereinafter “Heitmeier”).
In relation to independent claim 9, Kamen discloses the syringe pump, syringe receptacle/holder, plunger driver, motor, housing, and GUI display. Kamen states:
“[t]he syringe 302 may be loaded into a syringe holder 306 of the syringe pump 300…. An engagement member 314 may be coupled to an end fitting 315 of the syringe 302 when or after the syringe 302 is loaded into the syringe holder 306. A threaded shaft 315 that is coupled to a motor may be rotated to move the engagement member 314 in any direction to discharge fluid from the syringe 302.” (Kamen, ¶ [0170])
Kamen further states:
“[t]he pump 300 may be controlled via a touch screen 304 to set the flow rate, flow profile, and/or to otherwise monitor or control the syringe pump 300.” (Kamen, ¶ [0173])
For another syringe-pump embodiment, Kamen states:
“[t]he syringe pump 500 comprises a housing 502 and a syringe pump assembly 501.”
(Kamen, ¶ [0185])
“a syringe 504 may be seated on the syringe pump assembly 501…. the syringe 504 may
be seated on a syringe seat 506 comprising part of the syringe pump assembly 501.”
(Kamen, ¶ [0186])
Kamen states regarding the display:
“the housing 502 may also include a display 514. The display 514 may function as a graphic user interface and allow a user to program and monitor pump operation.” (Kamen, ¶ [0191])
For plunger action, Kamen states:
“[t]o dispense the contents of the syringe 504, the syringe pump 500 may actuate the plunger head assembly 522 to thereby push the plunger 544 into the syringe barrel 540.”
(Kamen, ¶ [0206])
Kamen also discloses pump-to-pump stacking with protrusion/recess/latch features by stating:
“[a] protrusion 224 of the Z-frame 207 of one pump … may engage a recessed portion 223 of another pump to enable the pump to be stacked on top of each other.”
(Kamen, ¶ [0166].)
Kamen does not expressly disclose the exact top handle integrated into an outer surface that partially defines the claimed retaining feature with opposing receiving grooves, nor the exact bottom projection configured to mate with that retaining feature. However, Kerns discloses channel/plate sliding stack attachment by stating:
“the module 22 attaches to the stack by sliding the support plate 62 into the channels 64 of the unit above it.” (Kerns, col. 4, lines 9-11.)
Husted discloses U-shaped bracket securement, handle, and latch mechanism using the direct quotations set forth for claim 2. Heitmeier further discloses infusion devices that are syringe pumps and have front operating/display instruments and groove-like guide elements. The official translation states:
“[i]n the present exemplary embodiment, two types of infusion devices 15, 16 are provided. The infusion devices 15 are peristaltic pumps…. The infusion devices 16 are syringe pumps, to each of which an injection syringe 19 is fastened, the syringe plunger of which is advanced by a driven slide 20.” (Heitmeier Translation, p. 5.)
The translation further states:
“[e]ach of the infusion devices 15, 16 has an operating and display part on the front. In addition to a drive device, each infusion device contains a control device, an input device 21 and a display device 22.” (Heitmeier Translation, p. 5.)
The translation also states:
“[t]he infusion devices 15 and 16 have a housing 23 which is U-shaped in plan view, the base 23 a forming the front with the operating and display instruments, while the legs 23 b and 23 c protrude from the base 23 a to the rear and limit a rectangular recess 23 d.” (Heitmeier Translation, p. 5.)
“[o]n the inside of the legs 23 b and 23 c there are groove-like guide elements in which the strip-shaped support elements 13 of the column 12 engage.” (Heitmeier Translation, p. 5.)
Based on the above comments, it would have been obvious to modify the syringe pump of Kamen to include Kerns/Husted/Heitmeier-style groove, bracket, and guided attachment structures to provide secure guided stacking, alignment, and releasable coupling of syringe pumps. Accordingly, in view of the conventionality of this enhancement, its implementation in the invention would have been considered an obvious alternative in the design of the pump apparatus.
In relation to claims 10, 11, 12, and 13, Kamen discloses stackable syringe pumps and states:
“The pumps 201, 202, 203 can be coupled together to form a group of pumps that are connectable to a pole 208. The system 200 includes two syringe pumps 201, 202 and a peristaltic pump 203.” (Kamen, ¶ [0159])
“A protrusion 224 of the Z-frame 207 of one pump … may engage a recessed portion 223 of another pump to enable the pump to be stacked on top of each other.” (Kamen, ¶ [0220])
Kerns discloses flanged plate/channel sliding attachment by stating:
“the modules 18, 20 and 22 are selectively attachable … by sliding the flanged plate 62 at the top of each module into the channels formed by the flanged rails 64 on the underside of the module above it.” (Kerns, col. 3, lines 19–24)
Husted discloses U-shaped secure nesting by stating:
“wherein said bracket comprises a U-shaped member having a vertical wall for securely nesting said battery pack housing therein.” (Husted, claim 4.)
Heitmeier discloses U-shaped housing and groove-like guide elements by stating:
“housing 23 … is U-shaped in plan view” and “[o]n the inside of the legs 23 b and 23 c there are groove-like guide elements in which the strip-shaped support elements 13 of the column 12 engage.” (Heitmeier Translation, p. 5.)
Based on the above comments, the upper lip, central recess, narrowed stop section, and forward/rearward lip/flange geometry are predictable mechanical implementations of the quoted U-shaped bracket, flanged plate/channel, groove-like guide, and protrusion/recess teachings. Accordingly, in view of the conventionality of these enhancements, their implementation in the invention would have been considered an obvious alternative in the design of the pump apparatus.
In relation to claims 14 and 15, Kamen discloses latch engagement in stacked pumps by stating:
“Each of the pumps 201, 202, 203 includes a latch engagement member 221 that allows another one of the pumps 201, 202, 203 to be attached thereto via a latch 222…. The latch 222 may include a small spring-loaded flange that can ‘snap’ into the space formed under the latch engagement member 221.” (Kamen, ¶ [0166])
“the latch 222 of the pump 201 may be pulled to withdraw a portion of the latch 222 out
of the space under the latch engagement member 221 of the pump 202.” (Kamen, ¶ [0167])
Husted discloses latch and pin securement by stating:
“[t]he latching pins 30, 32 and the latching notches 26,28 insure that the battery pack
housing 14 is secured in its operating position on bracket 36.” (Husted, ¶ [0012].)
Based on the above teachings, it would have been obvious to use a latch/catch and release button on the retaining feature of the modified syringe pump to provide deliberate release of stacked pumps. Therefore, in view of the conventionality of these enhancements, their implementation in the invention would have been considered an obvious alternative in the design of the pump apparatus.
In relation to independent claim 16, Kamen discloses interchangeable pump assemblies by stating:
“The pump may be configured such that the pump is interchangeable from a syringe pump or peristaltic pump respectively to a peristaltic pump or syringe pump via supplanting one pump assembly with a differing pump assembly.” (Kamen, ¶ [0028].)
“the pump may be field interchangeable from a syringe pump or peristaltic pump respectively to a peristaltic pump or syringe pump via supplanting one pump assembly with a differing pump assembly.” (Kamen, ¶ [0029].)
Kamen states regarding conversion to a large-volume pump:
“the syringe pump 500 may be converted into a different device such as, though not limited to, a peristaltic large volume pump. This may be accomplished by removing the syringe pump assembly 501 from the housing 502 and replacing the syringe pump assembly 501 with another desired assembly.” (Kamen, ¶ [0189].)
“In embodiments where the syringe pump assembly 501 may be removed from the housing 502 … and replaced with another assembly such as a peristaltic large volume pump assembly, the gearbox 940 may be compatible with a replacement assembly.” (Kamen, ¶ [0297].)
Kamen discloses display/control components by stating:
“the housing 502 may also include a display 514. The display 514 may function as a graphic user interface and allow a user to program and monitor pump operation.” (Kamen, ¶ [0191])
“[t]he electrical system 4000 controls the operation of the syringe pump 500 based on inputs from the user interface 3700 and sensors 3501.” (Kamen, ¶ [0317])
“One main processor referred to as the Real Time Processor … may control the speed and position of the motor 1200 that rotates the lead screw 850.” (Kamen, ¶ [0318].)
Kerns discloses modular stacked infusion pump housings by stating:
“the modules 18, 20 and 22 are selectively attachable … by sliding the flanged plate 62
at the top of each module into the channels formed by the flanged rails 64 on the
underside of the module above it.” (Kerns, col. 3, lines 19–24)
Heitmeier discloses modular infusion-device attachment and multiple pump types by stating:
“The infusion devices are designed as module units that can be attached individually to the column.” (Heitmeier Translation, p. 5.)
“In the present exemplary embodiment, two types of infusion devices 15, 16 are provided. The infusion devices 15 are peristaltic pumps…. The infusion devices 16 are syringe pumps ….” (Heitmeier Translation, p. 5.)
“Each of the infusion devices 15, 16 has an operating and display part on the front. In
addition to a drive device, each infusion device contains a control device, an input device
21 and a display device 22.” (Heitmeier Translation, p. 5.)
Finally, Husted discloses U-shaped bracket securement and handle/latch structure using the quotations above. Based on the above teachings, it would have been obvious to form a field-replaceable rear housing with the claimed common stackable retaining/projection interface because Kamen expressly teaches field interchangeability between syringe and peristaltic/LVP assemblies, while Kerns and Heitmeier teach modular infusion devices and guided attachment, and Husted teaches U-shaped secure nesting and latchable removable engagement. The motivation to combine the above teachings would have been to standardize the mechanical interface, simplify service replacement, and permit different pump assemblies to use a common stackable housing architecture.
In relation to claim 17, Husted discloses:
“wherein said bracket comprises a U-shaped member having a vertical wall for securely
nesting said battery pack housing therein.” (Husted, claim 4.)
Heitmeier discloses:
“The infusion devices 15 and 16 have a housing 23 which is U-shaped in plan view ….”
(Heitmeier Translation, p. 5.)
Based on the above teachings, it would have been obvious to make the retaining feature generally U-shaped to provide the guided and secure nesting function taught by Husted and Heitmeier.
In relation to claim 18, as discussed above, Kerns discloses channels formed by flanged rails and Husted discloses a U-shaped member securely nesting the housing as quoted above. For an artisan skilled in the art, an upper lip around a central recess would have been a predictable structure for forming the groove/overhang that retains a mating projection.
In relation to claim 19, Husted discloses secure fit and alignment by stating:
“[t]he dimensions of the battery pack housing 14 and the U-shaped bracket 36 provide for a secure fit to preclude movement … and assure alignment ….” (Husted, ¶ [0012])
Based on the above teachings, for an artisan skilled in the art, a narrowed section at the end of the grooves would have been an obvious stop/alignment feature to achieve the “secure fit” and “alignment” expressly taught by Husted.
In relation to claim 20, Husted discloses a U-shaped member and Kamen discloses a protrusion engaging a recessed portion to stack pumps. Kamen states:
“[a] protrusion 224 of the Z-frame 207 of one pump … may engage a recessed portion 223 of another pump to enable the pump to be stacked on top of each other.” (Kamen, ¶ [0220].)
Based on the above teachings, for an artisan skilled in the art, making the projection generally U-shaped would have been an obvious mating counterpart to a generally U-shaped retaining feature.
In relation to claim 21, Kerns discloses flanged plate/channel sliding attachment:
“the modules 18, 20 and 22 are selectively attachable … by sliding the flanged plate 62 at the top of each module into the channels formed by the flanged rails 64 on the underside of the module above it.” (Kerns, col. 3, ll. approximately 19–24.)
Heitmeier discloses groove-like guide elements:
“[o]n the inside of the legs 23 b and 23 c there are groove-like guide elements in which
the strip-shaped support elements 13 of the column 12 engage.” (Heitmeier Translation, p. 5.)
Husted discloses sliding removal/installation of a U-shaped bracket-mounted component:
“[t]he battery pack housing 14 is readily removed by disengaging the locking latches
22,24 from the locking pins 30,32, grasping the battery pack housing 14 by its handles
18,20 and sliding the battery pack housing 14 to disengage the contacts of connector 16
from the contacts of connector 38. Installation of the battery pack housing 14 on the
vehicle is the reverse of removal.” (Husted, ¶ [0014].)
Kamen discloses protrusion/recess stacking:
“[a] protrusion 224 of the Z-frame 207 of one pump … may engage a recessed portion 223
of another pump to enable the pump to be stacked on top of each other.”
(Kamen, ¶ [0220].)
Based on the above teachings, for an artisan skilled in the art, the forward portion and rearward flange/lip portions are an obvious and predictable tongue-and-groove implementation of the quoted flanged plate/channel, groove-like guide, U-shaped bracket, and protrusion/recess teachings.
Conclusion
Respectfully submitted.
/MANUEL A MENDEZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783