Other References: Blagodurov (US 20180077228) Dynamic Configuration Of Inter-Chip And On-Chip Networks In Cloud Computing System
Simionescu (US 20150286438) dynamically configuring operational mode in a storage controller
Cariello (US 20200371702) safe mode or other modes can be determined (Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (US 20240168666) and further in view of Wicker (US 10963375)
Claim 1. Jung discloses An information handling system comprising: (eg., FIG. 1, a storage system 100, 0029,)
a storage device configured to operate in one of a plurality of operating modes (eg., storage device 301 may operate in one of the plurality of operation modes, 0049 Fig. 1); and
a host operating system configured to determine (eg., FIGS. 1 and 2, by the mode manager 215 of the host device 200, a selected operation mode may be determined from among a plurality of operation modes of the storage device 301 (S100)… mode manager 215 may determine the selected operation mode, 0043; the selected operation mode may be notified to the storage device 301 , 0044);
Jung does not disclose, but Wicker discloses
a processor to instantiate a host operating system (eg., col 1:55-65 - distributed system may employ a load balancer to dispatch incoming client requests to a plurality of hosts (e.g., computing instances or servers), and the hosts may process the requests and supply a response to the request. The hosts may perform periodic maintenance operations, such as a garbage collection as a form of automatic memory management.)
whether a workload is instantiated on the host operating system, to determine whether the storage device is in a housekeeping operating mode when the workload is not instantiated on the host operating system and to perform a housekeeping operation on the storage device when the storage device is in the housekeeping operating mode, and to direct the storage device to operate in a selected operating mode when the workload is instantiated on the host operating system (eg., col 9:27-32 - the load balancer 414 may direct service requests from clients to the computing instances and may also track maintenance operations for the computing instances and may control when the maintenance operations are performed.; col 10:40-46 - the hosts may request permission from the load balancer before performing the garbage collection operations. The load balancer may notify a host of a time when the host is to perform garbage collection. The load balancer may be allocated a predetermined amount of time for the host to perform the garbage collection. ; col 10:55-58 - After the host has completed the garbage collection operations, the load balancer may resume sending requests to the host ).
wherein the storage device is further configured to implement the selected operating mode in response to the direction (eg., col 10:60-62 - After the host has completed the garbage collection operations, the load balancer may resume sending requests to the host.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system with host and storage device as disclosed by Jung, with Wicker, providing the benefit of manage maintenance operations, such as garbage collection, a cooperative distributed scheduling effort to reduce latency in the distributed system (see Wicker, col 2:4-8) an improved way to manage maintenance operations in a distributed system. For example, rather than making maintenance operations the exclusive domain of a single computing instance on a single host, the technology makes the scheduling of maintenance operations into a cooperative distributed effort (col 2:56-61).
Claim 2. Jung discloses wherein the operating state includes a low- power state of the information handling system (eg., by the mode manager 215 of the host device 200, a selected operation mode may be determined from among a plurality of operation modes of the storage device 301 (S100), 0043; operation modes of the storage device may include a normal mode, a read optimized mode, a write optimized mode, a gaming mode, and a power saving mode).
Claim 3. Jung discloses wherein the operating modes include a low- input/output operating mode, and wherein, in response to determining that the information handling system is operating in the low-power state, the host operating system is configured to direct the storage device to operate in the low-input/output operating mode (eg., The power saving mode may be an operation mode corresponding to an operation condition suitable for execution of an application program having a significantly low frequency of access to the storage device., 0064; mode manager 215 may determine the selected operation mode by monitoring the input-output type of the storage device 301 or the operation pattern of the storage system 100., 0043).
Claim 4. Jung discloses wherein, the operating modes further include a data write optimized mode and a data read optimized mode (eg., modes of the storage device may include a normal mode, a read optimized mode, a write optimized mode, 0064).
Claim 5. Jung discloses wherein, in determining the operating state of the information handling system, the host operating system is further configured to determine a ratio of data writes to data reads from a workload instantiated on the information handling system to the storage device (eg., The read optimized mode may be an operation mode corresponding to an operation condition for improving read operation performance rather than write operation performance, and the write optimized mode corresponds to an operation condition for improving write operation performance rather than read operation performance, 0064; a ratio of read commands to write commands.).
Claim 6. Jung discloses wherein, when the ratio is greater than a first threshold, the host operating system is further configured to direct the storage device to operate in the data write optimized mode (eg., the write optimized mode corresponds to an operation condition for improving write operation performance rather than read operation performance., 0064).
Claim 7. Jung discloses wherein, when the ratio is less than a second threshold, the host operating system is further configured to direct the storage device to operate in the data read optimized mode, wherein the second threshold is lower than the first threshold (eg., the read optimized mode may be an operation mode corresponding to an operation condition for improving read operation performance rather than write operation performance, 0064).
Claim 8. Jung discloses wherein, when the ratio is between the first and second threshold, the host operating system is further configured to direct the storage device to operate in a standard operating mode (eg, normal mode may be an operation mode corresponding to the most common operation conditions of a storage system, 0064).
Claim 9. Jung discloses wherein the operating modes include a housekeeping operating mode (eg., The power saving mode may be an operation mode corresponding to an operation condition suitable for execution of an application program having a significantly low frequency of access to the storage device., 0064).
Claim 10. Jung discloes a storage device driver configured to receive the direction from the host operating system and to provide the direction to the storage device (eg., mode controller MDC of the storage device 1170 may receive the notification of the selected operation mode from the SoC corresponding to the host device and set the operation condition of the storage device 1170 to the selected operation condition corresponding to the selected operation mode., 0170).
Claim 11. Jung discloses A method (eg., FIG. 1, a storage system 100, 0029):
providing, on an information handling system a storage device configured to operate in one of a plurality of operating modes (eg., storage device 301 may operate in one of the plurality of operation modes, 0049 Fig. 1); and
determining, by a host operating system instantiated on the information handling system, whether of the information handling system (eg., 0043 FIG. 5, the mode manager 215 may be a portion of the operating system and the application, and the mode manager 215 may determine the selected operation mode by monitoring the input-output type of the storage device 301 or the operation pattern of the storage system 100.);
Jung does not disclose, but Wicker discloses
a processor to instantiate a host operating system (eg., col 1:55-65 - distributed system may employ a load balancer to dispatch incoming client requests to a plurality of hosts (e.g., computing instances or servers), and the hosts may process the requests and supply a response to the request. The hosts may perform periodic maintenance operations, such as a garbage collection as a form of automatic memory management.)
determining whether the storage device is in a housekeeping operating mode when the workload is not instantiated on the hose operating system and performing a housekeeping operation on the storage device when the storage device is in the housekeeping operating mode; directing the storage device to operate in a selected operating mode when the workload is instantiated on the host operating system (eg., col 9:27-32 - the load balancer 414 may direct service requests from clients to the computing instances and may also track maintenance operations for the computing instances and may control when the maintenance operations are performed.; col 10:40-46 - the hosts may request permission from the load balancer before performing the garbage collection operations. The load balancer may notify a host of a time when the host is to perform garbage collection. The load balancer may be allocated a predetermined amount of time for the host to perform the garbage collection. ; col 10:55-58 - After the host has completed the garbage collection operations, the load balancer may resume sending requests to the host ).
implementing, by the storage device, the selected operating mode in response to the direction (eg., col 10:60-62 - After the host has completed the garbage collection operations, the load balancer may resume sending requests to the host.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system with host and storage device as disclosed by Jung, with Wicker, providing the benefit of manage maintenance operations, such as garbage collection, a cooperative distributed scheduling effort to reduce latency in the distributed system (see Wicker, col 2:4-8) an improved way to manage maintenance operations in a distributed system. For example, rather than making maintenance operations the exclusive domain of a single computing instance on a single host, the technology makes the scheduling of maintenance operations into a cooperative distributed effort (col 2:56-61).
Claim 12 is rejected for reasons similar to Claim 2 above.
Claim 13 is rejected for reasons similar to Claim 3 above.
Claim 14 is rejected for reasons similar to Claim 4 above.
Claim 15 is rejected for reasons similar to Claim 5 above.
Claim 16 is rejected for reasons similar to Claim 6 above.
Claim 17 is rejected for reasons similar to Claim 7 above.
Claim 18 is rejected for reasons similar to Claim 8 above.
Claim 19 is rejected for reasons similar to Claim 9 above.
Claim 20. Jung discloses An information handling system comprising: (eg., FIG. 1, a storage system 100, 0029,
a solid state drive (SSD) configured to operate in one of a plurality of operating modes (eg., storage device 301 may operate in one of the plurality of operation modes, 0049 Fig. 1); and
a host operating system configured to determine (eg., FIGS. 1 and 2, by the mode manager 215 of the host device 200, a selected operation mode may be determined from among a plurality of operation modes of the storage device 301 (S100)… mode manager 215 may determine the selected operation mode, 0043; the selected operation mode may be notified to the storage device 301 , 0044);
Jung does not disclose, but Wicker discloses
a processor to instantiate a host operating system (eg., col 1:55-65 - distributed system may employ a load balancer to dispatch incoming client requests to a plurality of hosts (e.g., computing instances or servers), and the hosts may process the requests and supply a response to the request. The hosts may perform periodic maintenance operations, such as a garbage collection as a form of automatic memory management.)
whether a workload is instantiated on the host operating system, to determine whether the SSD is in a housekeeping operating mode when the workload is not instantiated on the host operating system and to perform a housekeeping operation on the SSD when the storage device is in the housekeeping operating mode, and to direct the SSD to operate in a selected operating mode when the workload is instantiated on the host operating system (eg., col 9:27-32 - the load balancer 414 may direct service requests from clients to the computing instances and may also track maintenance operations for the computing instances and may control when the maintenance operations are performed.; col 10:40-46 - the hosts may request permission from the load balancer before performing the garbage collection operations. The load balancer may notify a host of a time when the host is to perform garbage collection. The load balancer may be allocated a predetermined amount of time for the host to perform the garbage collection. ; col 10:55-58 - After the host has completed the garbage collection operations, the load balancer may resume sending requests to the host ).
wherein the SSD is further configured to implement the selected operating state in response to the direction (eg., col 10:60-62 - After the host has completed the garbage collection operations, the load balancer may resume sending requests to the host.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system with host and storage device as disclosed by Jung, with Wicker, providing the benefit of manage maintenance operations, such as garbage collection, a cooperative distributed scheduling effort to reduce latency in the distributed system (see Wicker, col 2:4-8) an improved way to manage maintenance operations in a distributed system. For example, rather than making maintenance operations the exclusive domain of a single computing instance on a single host, the technology makes the scheduling of maintenance operations into a cooperative distributed effort (col 2:56-61).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/13/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
For claims 1, 11 and 20, Applicant argues that that the cited references do not disclose the amended limitations. The Office disagrees.
In the present OA, the updated combination of references render the amended limitations as obvious.
Specifically, Jung does not disclose, but Wicker discloses
a processor to instantiate a host operating system (eg., col 1:55-65 - distributed system may employ a load balancer to dispatch incoming client requests to a plurality of hosts (e.g., computing instances or servers), and the hosts may process the requests and supply a response to the request. The hosts may perform periodic maintenance operations, such as a garbage collection as a form of automatic memory management.)
whether a workload is instantiated on the host operating system, to determine whether the storage device is in a housekeeping operating mode when the workload is not instantiated on the host operating system and to perform a housekeeping operation on the storage device when the storage device is in the housekeeping operating mode, and to direct the storage device to operate in a selected operating mode when the workload is instantiated on the host operating system (eg., col 9:27-32 - the load balancer 414 may direct service requests from clients to the computing instances and may also track maintenance operations for the computing instances and may control when the maintenance operations are performed.; col 10:40-46 - the hosts may request permission from the load balancer before performing the garbage collection operations. The load balancer may notify a host of a time when the host is to perform garbage collection. The load balancer may be allocated a predetermined amount of time for the host to perform the garbage collection. ; col 10:55-58 - After the host has completed the garbage collection operations, the load balancer may resume sending requests to the host ).
wherein the storage device is further configured to implement the selected operating mode in response to the direction (eg., col 10:60-62 - After the host has completed the garbage collection operations, the load balancer may resume sending requests to the host.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system with host and storage device as disclosed by Jung, with Wicker, providing the benefit of manage maintenance operations, such as garbage collection, a cooperative distributed scheduling effort to reduce latency in the distributed system (see Wicker, col 2:4-8) an improved way to manage maintenance operations in a distributed system. For example, rather than making maintenance operations the exclusive domain of a single computing instance on a single host, the technology makes the scheduling of maintenance operations into a cooperative distributed effort (col 2:56-61).
Applicant’s arguments for dependent claims are based on their respective base independent claims, which are addressed above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GAUTAM SAIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2135