Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Busby et al. (WO 2016/179220) in view of Jacob et al. (US 20110207125 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 4, 6, 7, 8, 10, and 19 Busby et al. disclose forming cellulose acetate for use in cigarette filters in order to form traceable smoking articles and disclose in claim 1:
(a) forming tow from filaments;
(b) crimping the tow;
(c) drying the tow;
(d) baling the tow; and
(e) incorporating an additive with an identifying marking during, between or after any of steps (a) to (c), wherein the identifying marking provides origin information concerning the tow [0017].
Busby et al. disclose several identifying marking methods to combat fake products but do not disclose using polynucleotides as the identifying mark.
However, Jacob et al. disclose a method for labeling products, including tobacco products, using polynucleotides [0074]. The polynucleotide may be deposited on the the product by spraying or dipping the product in a solution of the polynucleotide [0083].
Jacob et al. further disclose detecting the polynucleotides from an article by extracting them with an aqueous solution (i.e. obtaining a sample) and performing PCR and then identifying the nucleotide sequence [0198]-[0201] and using the information to verify authenticity.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention/filing to use the DNA labeling disclosed by Jacob et al. as the identifying mark in the invention of Busby et al. Using the DNA label of Jacob et al. would result in a difficult to counterfeit marker (as disclosed by Jacob et al.) and therefore a difficult to counterfeit smoking article.
Regarding claims 2 and 11, Jacob et al. disclose using polynulceotides containing 5-200 nucleotides [0037].
Regarding claim 3 and 12, Jacob et al. disclose that synthetic “modified bases” may be used such as the dihydriuridine, inosine, or pseudo uracil [0032].
Regarding claim 5, Jacob et al. disclose adding specific amounts of markers to produces [0451]. In addition or alternatively, Jacob et al. also disclose spraying as a method of applying the nucleotide. I would have been notoriously well known in the art to spray a controlled or metered amount of product on each item. For instance, Busby et al. disclose spraying patterns of forensic markers onto cellulose acetate tow [0016]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill that the amount and pattern of spray would need to be controlled to form the pattern disclosed by Busby et al.
Regarding claim 9, Busby et al. disclose that the identifying marking can be added continuously (i.e. to the entire length and not in a pattern)[0017]. In addition, dipping the product as disclosed by Jacob et al. would deposit the polynucleotide over the entire length.
Regarding claims 13-18, Busby et al. disclose that the information corresponding to the identifying marking may comprise:
Fiber or filament manufacturer (i.e. producer)
Fiber or filament manufacture date,
Fiber or filament manufacture location (i.e. product line),
Fiber or filament identifier (i.e. characteristic), [0019]
Fiber or filament bale identifier [0019] (i.e. batch),
Tow manufacturer [0021],
Tow manufacture date [0021],
Tow manufacture location [0021],
Tow identifier [0021],
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Busby et al. (WO 2016/179220) and Jacob et al. (US 20110207125 A1) as applied to claim 19 above and in further view of Connolly (US 20040166520 A1).
Jacob et al. discloses extracting polynucleotide tags from marked items but does not expressly disclose that the extraction comprises contacting with an aqueous buffer. However, Connolly discloses a similar process of identifying tagged items using nucleic acid tags and states that:
Extraction of the nucleic acid taggant from the tagged item generally involves dissolving the taggant nucleic acid from the item with aqueous or organic buffers. The dissolvent will not degrade the DNA or interfere with the recognition process.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to use the aqueous buffer of Connolly to extract the nucleotides of Jacob et al. because Connolly discloses that the buffered solutions will not degrade the DNA or interfere with the recognition process, presenting a reasonable expectation of success for extracting and identifying the nucleotides.
Conclusion
/Michael J Felton/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1747