Non-Final Rejection
The applicant’s amendment of 05/20/2026 necessitated a new ground of rejection as follows below:
Claim Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any
correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of
rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be
the same under either status.
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the
claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have
been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having
ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be
negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi et al. (JP 2020189454) in view of Zheng (CN 221693493).
Hayashi et al. disclose in Figures 1-14 printer unit comprising:
Regarding claim 1, a main body (131) including a storage chamber (154) configured to store liquid (Figure 6); and
a nozzle (161) projecting from the main body (131), the nozzle (161) including an edge face (179) at a leading edge thereof (Figure 7),
wherein the liquid container (130) is configured to provide the liquid (ink) for use in a printing
apparatus (10) while being tilted such that the edge face (179) faces downward in a direction of gravity, and wherein, when the liquid container (130) is tilted such that the edge face (179) faces downward in the direction of gravity (Figures 4 and 15).
Hayashi et al. do not disclose three or more openings that is formed on the edge face, and, three or more flow paths formed in the nozzle, each of the three or more flow paths bringing the storage chamber into communication with an outside through a corresponding one of the three or more openings, wherein each of the three or more flow paths is configured to enable an outflow of liquid from the storage chamber to the outside and an inflow of air from the outside into the storage chamber through a corresponding opening, whether each of the three or more flow paths functions as a liquid outflow path or as an air inflow path is determined based on relative positions of the openings corresponding to the respective flow paths in the direction of gravity.
However, Zheng discloses in Figures 1-6 a liquid container comprising:
three or more openings (30) those are formed on the edge face (unmarked edge face that contain numbers 2, 3, and 20, see Figure 6) and three or more flow paths (3) formed in the nozzle (2), each of the three or more flow paths (3) bringing the storage chamber (1) into communication with an outside through a corresponding one of the three or more openings (30) (Figures 1 and 5),
wherein each of the three or more flow paths (3) is configured to enable an outflow of liquid from the storage chamber (1) to the outside and an inflow of air from the outside into the storage chamber (1) through a corresponding opening (20), whether each of the three or more flow paths (3) functions as a liquid outflow path (3) or as an air inflow path (4) is determined based on relative positions of the openings (30) corresponding to the respective flow paths (3) in the direction of gravity downward in the direction of gravity (Figures 1 and 5-6, see claim 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Zheng in the Hayashi et al.'s printer unit for the purpose of replenishing a liquid to a liquid tank.
Regarding claim 2, Zheng teaches:
wherein the three or more flow paths (3) include a first flow path (3), a second flow path (3), and a third flow path (3), and, wherein, as viewed in a direction perpendicular to the edge face (unmarked edge face that contain numbers 2, 3, and 20, see Figure 6), the opening corresponding to the third flow path (3) is not located on a line connecting the centroid of the opening corresponding to the first flow path and the centroid of the opening corresponding to the second flow path (Figures 1 and 5-6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Zheng in the Hayashi et al.'s printer unit for the purpose of replenishing a liquid to a liquid tank.
Regarding claim 3, Zheng teaches:
wherein the three or more flow paths (6 flow paths) include a first
flow path (3), a second flow path (3), and a third flow path (3), and a distance from the centroid
of the opening corresponding to the first flow path (3) to the centroid of the second opening
corresponding to the second flow path (3), a distance from the centroid of the second opening
corresponding to the second flow path (3) to the centroid of the opening corresponding to the
third flow path (3), and a distance from the centroid of the opening corresponding to the third
flow path (3) to the centroid of the opening corresponding to the first flow path (3) are equal to
each other (Figures 1 and 5-6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Zheng in the Hayashi et al.'s printer unit for the purpose of replenishing a liquid to a liquid tank.
Regarding claim 4, Zheng teaches:
wherein the three or more flow paths (6 flow paths) include a first
flow path (3), a second flow path (3, and a third flow path (3), and the centroid of the opening
corresponding to the first flow path, the centroid of the opening corresponding to the second flow
path, and the centroid of the opening corresponding to the third flow path are at an equal distance
from a centroid (20) of the edge face ((Figures 1 and 5-6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Zheng in the Hayashi et al.'s printer unit for the purpose of replenishing a liquid to a liquid tank.
Regarding claim 5, Zheng teaches:
wherein the three or more flow paths (6 flow paths) include a first
flow path (3), a second flow path (3), and a third flow path (3), and a position of a centroid of a
triangle formed by connecting the centroid of the opening corresponding to the first flow path
(3), the centroid of the opening corresponding to the second flow path (3), and the centroid of the
opening corresponding to the third flow path (3) coincides with a position of a centroid (20) of
the edge face (Figures 1 and 5-6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Zheng in the Hayashi
et al.'s printer unit for the purpose of replenishing a liquid to a liquid tank.
Regarding claim 6, Zheng teaches:
wherein the three or more flow paths (6 flow paths) include a first
flow path (3), a second flow path (3), and a third flow path (3), and the opening corresponding to
the first flow path (3), the opening corresponding to the second flow path (3), and the opening
corresponding to the third flow path (3) are circular. (Figures 1 and 5-6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Zheng in the Hayashi et al.'s printer unit for the purpose of replenishing a liquid to a liquid tank.
Regarding claim 7, Zheng teaches:
wherein the main body has a cylindrical shape, and the edge face is circular (Figures 1 and 5-6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Zheng in the Hayashi et al.'s printer unit for the purpose of replenishing a liquid to a liquid tank.
Regarding claim 8, Zheng teaches:
wherein the three or more flow paths (3) include a first flow path (3), a second flow path (3), a third flow path (3), and a fourth flow path (3), and wherein, as viewed in a direction perpendicular to the edge face, a centroid of an opening corresponding to the fourth flow path (3) is not located on a line connecting the centroid of the opening corresponding to the first flow path (3) and the centroid of the opening corresponding to the second flow path (Figures 1 and 5-6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Zheng in the Hayashi et al.'s printer unit for the purpose of replenishing a liquid to a liquid tank.
Regarding claim 9, Zheng teaches:
wherein, as viewed in a direction perpendicular to the edge face, the opening (3) corresponding to the fourth flow path (3) is not located on the line connecting the centroid of the opening corresponding to the first flow path (3) and the centroid of the opening corresponding to the second flow path (3) (Figures 1 and 5-6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Zheng in the Hayashi et al.'s printer unit for the purpose of replenishing a liquid to a liquid tank.
Regarding claim 10, Zheng teaches:
the centroid of the opening corresponding to the second flow path
(3), a distance from the centroid of the second opening corresponding to the second flow path (3)
to the centroid of the opening corresponding to the third flow path (3), a distance from the
centroid of the opening corresponding to the third flow path (3) to the centroid of the fourth
opening corresponding to the fourth flow path (3), and a distance from the centroid of the
opening corresponding to the fourth flow path (3) to the centroid of the opening corresponding to
the first flow path is equal to each other. (Figures 1 and 5-6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Zheng in the Hayashi et al.'s printer unit for the purpose of replenishing a liquid to a liquid tank.
Regarding claim 11, Zheng teaches:
wherein the centroid of the opening corresponding to the first flow
path (3), the centroid of the opening corresponding to the second flow path (3), the centroid of
the opening corresponding to the third flow path (3), and the centroid of the opening
corresponding to the fourth flow path (4) are at an equal distance from a centroid of the edge
face. (Figures 1 and 5-6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Zheng in the Hayashi et al.'s printer unit for the purpose of replenishing a liquid to a liquid tank.
Regarding claim 12, Zheng teaches:
wherein the opening corresponding to the fourth flow path is circular. (Figures 1 and 5-6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Zheng in the Hayashi et al.'s printer unit for the purpose of replenishing a liquid to a liquid tank.
Regarding claim 13, Zheng teaches:
wherein a position of a centroid of a rectangle formed by
connecting the centroid of the opening corresponding to the first flow path (3), the centroid of
the opening corresponding to the second flow path (3), the centroid of the opening corresponding
to the third flow path (3), and the centroid of the opening corresponding to the fourth flow path
(3) coincides with a position of a centroid of the edge face. (Figures 1 and 5-6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Zheng in the Hayashi et al.'s printer unit for the purpose of replenishing a liquid to a liquid tank.
Regarding claim 14, Hayashi et al. disclose in Figures 1-14 printer unit comprising:
a liquid container (130) comprising a main body (131) including a storage chamber (154) configured to store liquid and a nozzle (161) projecting from the main body (131), the nozzle (161) including an edge face (179) at a leading edge thereof (Figures 5 and 7),
a print head (24) configured to eject liquid to perform printing (Figure 2);
a liquid tank (100) connectable to the liquid container (130) (Figure 4); and
a tube (32) capable of supplying liquid from the liquid tank (100) to the print head (24) (Figures 2 and 4),
wherein the liquid container (130) is configured to inject the liquid into the liquid tank (100) by
connecting the nozzle (161) to the liquid tank (100) while the liquid container (130) is tilted such that the edge face (179) faces downward in the direction of gravity (Figure 4), and
wherein, when the liquid container (130) is tilted such that the edge face (179) faces downward in the direction of gravity (Figure 4).
Hayashi et al. do not disclose three or more openings those are formed on the edge face, and three or more flow paths formed in the nozzle, each of the three or more flow paths bringing the storage chamber into communication with an outside through a corresponding one of the three or more openings; and whether each of the three or more flow paths functions as a liquid outflow path or as an air inflow path is determined based on relative positions of the openings
corresponding to the respective flow paths in the direction of gravity.
However, Zheng discloses in Figures 1-6 a liquid container comprising:
three or more openings (130) formed on the edge face (unmarked edge face that contain numbers 2, 3, and 20, see Figure 6), and three or more flow paths (3) formed in the nozzle (2), each of the three or more flow paths (3) bringing the storage chamber (154) into communication with an outside through a corresponding one of the three or more openings (30) (Figures 1 and 5);
whether each of the three or more flow paths (3) functions as a liquid outflow path (3) or as an air inflow path (4) is determined based on relative positions of the openings (130)
corresponding to the respective flow paths (3) in the direction of gravity (Figures 1-5);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Zheng in the Hayashi et al.'s printer unit for the purpose of replenishing a liquid to a liquid tank.
Regarding claim 15, Hayashi et al disclose:
liquid tank (100) includes an inclined wall (106) inclined with respect to a planar direction and a perpendicular direction, and an insertion slot portion (112) into which the nozzle (20) can be inserted is formed on the inclined wall (112) (Figures 3-4).
Regarding claim 16, Hayashi et al. disclose:
wherein the liquid tank (100) comprises an air communication port )98) through which an inside of the liquid tank (100) is communicated with air.
Regarding claim 18, Regarding claim 15, Hayashi et al. disclose:
wherein the liquid container (130) is configured to inject liquid into a liquid tank (100), by connecting the nozzle (161) to the liquid tank (100) while the liquid container (130) is tilted such that the edge face (179) faces downward in a direction of gravity (Figure 4).
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
The applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art rejection have been carefully considered and have been traversed in view of the new grounds of rejection over Hayashi et al reference.
CONCLUSION
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Shouldyou have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the ElectronicBusiness Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from aUSPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated informationsystem, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ANH T VO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853