DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application is a continuation of PCT/US2022/021554, with a filing date of 3/23/2022, which claims priority to provisional applications 63/271,645, with a filing date of 10/25/2021, and 63/165,603, with a filing date of 3/24/2021.
Status of the Claims
Claims 46-65 are pending and under current examination.
Withdrawn Objections and Rejections
All objections to the drawings are withdrawn in view of the replacement drawings filed 2/27/2026.
All double patenting rejections over U.S. Patent No. 11,801,221 and provisional double patenting rejections over application no. 18/473,078 and 18/470,334 are withdrawn in view of the amendments to the claims filed 2/27/2026.
All rejections not reiterated have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Applicant’s amendments to the claims filed 2/27/2026 have necessitated the new grounds of rejection.
Claims 55 and 58-61 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 55 recites ratios of the first anionic polymer to the second anionic polymer, but does not specify what property is compared by the ratio (e.g. weight or volume). This renders the claim indefinite because it is not clear what property the ratio is intended to encompass.
Claim 58 recites the phrase “the oil-in-water emulsion comprising the anionic polymer material”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims because the independent claim 46 does not recite an oil-in-water emulsion comprising the anionic polymer material.
Regarding claims 59-61, claims depending from rejected claims have also been rejected because they incorporate all of the limitations of the claims from which they depend, but fail to resolve the indefiniteness concerns outlined above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with regard to the rejection of claim 55 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) filed 2/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The amended claim 55 recites “a ratio of an amount of the first anionic polymer and an amount of the second anionic polymer in the composition”. This does not address the indefiniteness concerns as recited in the rejection above because the amendments do not specify what property is compared by ratio (e.g., weight or volume).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Applicant’s amendments to the claims filed 2/27/2026 have necessitated the new grounds of rejection.
Claims 46, 47, 49, 51-52, 56-58, and 60-64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foldvari (U.S. Patent No. 5,853,755 issue date: 12/29/1998, cited in the IDS filed 6/5/2024, of record) in view of Mun (U.S. 2021/0000729, publication date: 1/7/2021).
Determination of the scope and the content of the prior art
(MPEP §2141.01)
Regarding claim 46, Foldvari teaches biphasic multilamellar vesicles wherein the lipid bilayers consist essentially of a phospholipid, a glycolipid, a ceramide, or a mixture thereof. The core compartment of the lipid vesicles is occupied by an emulsion of lipophilic dispersed phase and water as a continuous phase and the lipophilic phase of the emulsion contains a biologically active material or a consistency enhancer, or both. The vesicle may also contain a cutaneous or percutaneous penetration enhancer to enhance penetration of the biologically active material into or through the skin. (col. 4 lines 8-26). Between the innermost lipid bilayer and the next innermost lipid bilayer is a peripheral compartment that is filled either with water or with the aqueous emulsion (col. 10 lines 41-42). Biologically active ingredients that are water-soluble can be present in the water of the aqueous emulsion in the central core compartment and in the peripheral compartments (col. 10 lines 52-55). The biologically active material refers to any material, agent, or compound that has a pharmacological, pharmaceutical or cosmetic effect (col. 5 lines 16-19) and may include polysaccharides (col. 11 line 9).
Regarding claim 47, Foldvari teaches that the vesicle lipid bilayers may also contain a cutaneous or percutaneous penetration enhancer to enhance penetration of the biologically active material into or through the skin (col. 4. lines 12-15). The penetration enhancer agent may be entrapped within the lipid bilayers (col. 6 lines 23-25).
Regarding claims 49 and 51-52, Foldvari teaches the relevant limitations of claim 46 above.
Regarding claim 56, Foldvari teaches biphasic multilamellar vesicles wherein the lipid bilayers consist essentially of a phospholipid, a glycolipid, a ceramide, or a mixture thereof. (col. 4 lines 8-9).
Regarding claim 57, Foldvari teaches that the vesicle lipid bilayers may also contain a cutaneous or percutaneous penetration enhancer to enhance penetration of the biologically active material into or through the skin (col. 4. lines 12-15). The penetration enhancer agent may be entrapped within the lipid bilayers (col. 6 lines 23-25). The compositions may also include viscosity increasing agents (col. 10 line 6), preservatives (col. 9 line 44), or antimicrobial agent (col. 8 line 12).
Regarding claim 58, Foldvari teaches a method of preparing a multilamellar lipid vesicle. The oil and consistency enhancer are admixed and the water and a surfactant are mixed. The mixtures are heated gently then admixed to form an emulsion with water as the continuous phase and oil and consistency enhancer as the dispersed phase (col. 8 lines 9-18). An anhydrous proliposome gel is separately formed by admixing the phospholipid, glycolipid or ceramide and a pharmaceutically acceptable hydrophilic solvent such as propylene glycol and heating to form a melt. The aqueous emulsion is added to the melt and the various components are subjected to gentle agitation which results in formation of the desired multilamellar lipid vesicles having in the central core compartment an aqueous emulsion containing the oil and consistency enhancer and the dispersed phase. A water-soluble biologically active material can be incorporated in solution in the aqueous phase of the emulsion (col. 8 lines 24-40).
Regarding claim 60, Foldvari teaches that a penetration enhancer may be included in the anhydrous proliposome gel (col. 8 line 29).
Regarding claim 61, Foldvari teaches the relevant limitations of claim 58 above.
Regarding claim 62, Foldvari teaches the relevant limitations of claim 58 above. Foldvari also teaches that the biologically active material is any material, agent, or compound that has a pharmacological, pharmaceutical or cosmetic effect (col. 5 line 19). The liposome compositions can be used for the topical administration of biologically active compounds to hairy or hairless areas of the skin (col. 8 line 1).
Regarding claim 63, Foldvari teaches that the composition may deliver the active agent to the epidermis and dermis of the skin (col. 1 line 53 and Table 6).
Regarding claim 64, Foldvari teaches that the biologically active agent may include peptides (col. 11 line 12).
Ascertainment of the Difference Between Scope of the Prior Art and the Claims
(MPEP §2141.02)
Regarding claims 46, 51-52, 58, 61, and 62 Foldvari does not teach the inclusion of an anionic polymer material entrapped between the first lipid bilayer and the second lipid bilayer. However, this deficiency is cured by Mun.
Mun teaches a multi-layer globule for skin moisturizing having a liposome structure including phospholipid bilayers. The vehicle stably delivers a water-soluble natural moisturizing factor and a water-soluble or oil-soluble moisturizing membrane forming agent to each layer of the skin while easily passing through various tissues of the skin [0022]. Examples of the natural moisturizing factor include sodium hyaluronate [0062 and Table 5]. The water-soluble dermatologically active substance is trapped between the phospholipid membranes of the globule (Figure 2D). The water-soluble natural moisturizing factor is located in a water-soluble phase portion between the phospholipid bilayers [0075]. The multi-layer globule may be prepared by first dispersing phase A, which comprises sodium hyaluronate and a pre-emulsion mixture comprising hydrogenated lecithin that forms the phospholipid membrane ([0085] and Table 5), emulsifying the resulting mixture with phase B, agitating the resulting mixture with phase C and then with phase D to yield the multi-layer globule of the invention [0105-0113].
Regarding claim 49, Foldvari does not teach the inclusion of an anionic polymer material entrapped between the first lipid bilayer and the second lipid bilayer. However, this deficiency is cured by Mun.
Mun teaches that the sodium hyaluronate may be present at 3% w/w of a 1% solution (Table 5), which is a 0.03 wt.% of sodium hyaluronate in the composition (0.03*0.01=0.0003, or 0.03%).
Finding of a Prima Facia Obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
Regarding claims 46, 51-52, 58, 61, and 62 it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of filing to include sodium hyaluronate in the lipid vesicle embraced by Foldvari. One would have understood in view of Foldvari that a polysaccharide may be included in the aqueous component of a peripheral compartment of a multilamellar vesicle (col. 10 lines 52-55) and in view of Mun that sodium hyaluronate may be dispersed in an aqueous phase between bilayers of a multilayer cosmetic vesicle [0075]. One of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted the polysaccharide of Foldvari with the hyaluronic acid of Mun to yield the predictable result of dispersing a biologically active material between the bilayer membranes of a multilamellar cosmetic vesicle. See MPEP 2143 (I) (B).
Regarding the weight percentage of anionic polymer material as specified in claim 49, MPEP 2144.05 states:
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Furthermore, Mun teaches that the natural moisturizing factor is used a method of supplying water to the skin to prevent the skin from being dried by activating the internal water supply of the skin [0040], maintaining the water of the skin [0052], and preventing the water in the skin from being lost [0054] . The Applicants' specification provides no evidence that the selected weight percentage of the anionic polymer in claim 49 was not due to routine optimization and/or that the results should be considered unexpected compared to the prior art. Due to the effect of sodium hyaluronic, the natural moisturizing factor, on the moisturization of skin, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine these teachings and alter the weight percentage present in the composition. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to change the weight percentage as this could be expected to be advantageous for achieving the desired moisturizing effects of the composition.
Claim 48 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foldvari (U.S. Patent No. 5,853,755 issue date: 12/29/1998, cited in the IDS filed 6/5/2024, of record) in view of Mun (U.S. 2021/0000729, publication date: 1/7/2021), as applied to claims 46, 47, 49, 51-52, 56-58, and 60-64 above, and further in view of Casiraghi et. al. (AAPS PharmSciTech, pg. 247-253, publication year: 2012, of record).
Determination of the scope and the content of the prior art
(MPEP §2141.01)
Foldvari, in view of Munn, renders obvious the relevant limitations of claims 46 and 47 above. Foldvari also teaches the lipid bilayers can further comprise at least one cutaneous or percutaneous penetration enhancer agent entrapped within the lipid bilayers (col. 6 lines 23-26).
Ascertainment of the Difference Between Scope of the Prior Art and the Claims
(MPEP §2141.02)
Foldvari does not teach a specific HLB value of the penetration enhancer agent. However, this deficiency is cured by Casiraghi.
Casiraghi teaches that nonionic surfactants at HLB values ranging 7-9 or lower can penetrate into the skin resulting effective in enhancing the drug penetration when in solution (pg. 252, Discussion).
Finding of a Prima Facia Obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of filing to include a nonionic surfactant with a HLB of 10 or less as the penetration enhancer agent in the lipid vesicle embraced by Foldvari. One would have understood in view of Casiraghi that nonionic surfactants with HLB values ranging from 7-9 or lower can penetrate into the skin, resulting in enhancing the drug penetration (pg. 252, Discussion). It would have been obvious to include such a nonionic surfactant as the penetration enhancer agent. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use a nonionic surfactant with an HLB of about 10 or less because these surfactants can penetrate the skin to enhance drug penetration. The artisan of ordinary skill would have had reasonable expectation of success because Casiraghi teaches that a nonionic surfactant with HLB values ranging from 7-9 or lower can enhance drug penetration into the skin.
Claims 50, 53-55, and 59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foldvari (U.S. Patent No. 5,853,755 issue date: 12/29/1998, cited in the IDS filed 6/5/2024, of record) in view of Mun (U.S. 2021/0000729, publication date: 1/7/2021), as applied to claims 46, 47, 49, 51-52, 56-58, and 60-64 above, and further in view of Humblebee and Me (Let’s Talk About Hyaluronic Acid, available 5/14/2018, of record).
Determination of the scope and the content of the prior art
(MPEP §2141.01)
Foldvari, in view of Mun, renders obvious the relevant limitations of claim 46 above.
Regarding claims 50, 53-55, and 59, Foldvari, in view of Mun, teaches the relevant limitations of claims 46 and 58 above.
Ascertainment of the Difference Between Scope of the Prior Art and the Claims
(MPEP §2141.02)
Regarding claim 50, Foldvari, in view of Mun does not teach a molecular weight of anionic polymer material present in the composition. However, this deficiency is cured by Humblebee and Me.
Humblebee and Me teaches that many professionally formulated hyaluronic acid products contain a variety of weights of hyaluronic acid to get the full spectrum of benefits-the surface plumping of high molecular weight and the deeper hydration of low molecular weight (pg. 5). Humblebee and Mee also teaches that the smaller the molecule, the deeper it can penetrate the skin (pg. 5).
Regarding claims 53, 54, and 59, Foldvari, in view of Mun, does not teach a second anionic polymer material present in the composition. However, this deficiency is cured by Humblebee and Me.
Humblebee and Me teaches that many professionally formulated hyaluronic acid products contain a variety of weights of hyaluronic acid to get the full spectrum of benefits-the surface plumping of high molecular weight and the deeper hydration of low molecular weight (pg. 5).
Regarding claim 55, Foldvari, in view of Mun, does not teach a ratio of first and second anionic polymers. However, this deficiency is cured by Humblebee and Me.
Humblebee and Me teaches that many professionally formulated hyaluronic acid products contain a variety of weights of hyaluronic acid to get the full spectrum of benefits-the surface plumping of high molecular weight and the deeper hydration of low molecular weight (pg. 5).
Finding of a Prima Facia Obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
Regarding claim 50, the molecular weight of the anionic polymer present in the composition is clearly a result effective parameter that a person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize. Optimization of parameters is a routine practice that would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ and would reasonably expect success. It would have been customary for an artisan of ordinary skill to determine the optimal molecular weight in order to best achieve the desired results as such would provide advantageous penetration and cosmetic effect. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to engage in routine experimentation to determine optimal or workable ranges that produce expected results. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). In the instant case, Humblebee and Me teaches that low- and high-molecular weight hyaluronic acid have different penetration depths and render different cosmetic effects (pg. 5) . The Examiner considers it prima facie obvious to optimize the molecular weight of the anionic polymer, absent unexpectedly superior properties of the claimed invention. In the instant case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the molecular weight of the sodium hyaluronate would have a direct effect on the cosmetic effects of the composition and therefore be an optimizable variable.
Regarding claims 53, 54, and 59, it would have been prima facie obvious to include a second anionic polymer in the composition embraced by Foldvari. One would have understood in view of Humblebee and Me that many professionally formulated cosmetic products contain a mixture of high and low molecular weight hyaluronic acid to get the full spectrum of benefits-the surface plumping of high molecular weight and the deeper hydration of low molecular weight (pg. 5). One of ordinary skill in the art of filing would have been motivated to include a second hyaluronic acid with a different molecular weight in order to impart surface plumping and deeper hydration benefits of low and high molecular weight hyaluronic acid. The artisan of ordinary skill in the art of filing would have had reasonable expectation of success because Humblebee and Me teaches that many professionally formulated cosmetic products contain a mixture of high and low molecular weight hyaluronic acid to get the full spectrum of benefits (pg. 5).
Regarding claim 55, the ratio of first and second anionic polymers is clearly a result effective parameter that a person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize. Optimization of parameters is a routine practice that would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ and would reasonably expect success. It would have been customary for an artisan of ordinary skill to determine the optimal ratio of first and second molecular weights of hyaluronic acid in order to best achieve the desired results as such would provide advantageous surface plumping and hydration effects. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to engage in routine experimentation to determine optimal or workable ranges that produce expected results. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). In the instant case, Humblebee and Me teaches that many products contain a variety of weights of hyaluronic acid to get the full spectrum of benefits-surface plumping of high molecular weight and deeper hydration of low molecular weight. The Examiner considers it prima facie obvious to optimize the ratio of high to low molecular weight hyaluronic acid present in the composition , absent unexpectedly superior properties of the claimed invention. In the instant case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the amount of high and low molecular weight hyaluronic acid present in the composition would have a direct effect on the surface plumping and hydration properties of the composition and therefore be an optimizable variable.
Claim 65 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foldvari (U.S. Patent No. 5,853,755 issue date: 12/29/1998, cited in the IDS filed 6/5/2024, of record) in view of Mun (U.S. 2021/0000729, publication date: 1/7/2021), as applied to claims 46, 47, 49, 51-52, 56-58, and 60-64 above, and further in view of Dr. TWL Dermaceuticals (available 12/31/2018).
Determination of the scope and the content of the prior art
(MPEP §2141.01)
Foldvari, in view of Mun, renders obvious the relevant limitations of claim 62 above. Foldvari also teaches that the biologically active material is any material, agent, or compound that has a pharmacological, pharmaceutical or cosmetic effect (col. 5 line 19). The liposome compositions can be used for the topical administration of biologically active compounds to mucus membranes and hairy or hairless areas of the skin (col. 8 lines 1-2).
Ascertainment of the Difference Between Scope of the Prior Art and the Claims
(MPEP §2141.02)
Foldvari, in view of Mun, does not teach that the cosmetic effect comprises an enhancement of lip fullness. However, this deficiency is cured by Dr. TWL Dermaceuticals.
Dr. TWL Dermaceuticals teaches that sodium hyaluronate is also known as hyaluronic acid and is a food safe and effective ingredient for the use of lip plumping (pg. 3, Repairing the Barrier to Restore Protective Functions).
Finding of a Prima Facie Obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of filing that the cosmetic effects rendered by the method of applying the composition of Foldvari may comprise lip fullness. One would have understood in view of Dr. TWL Dermaceuticals that sodium hyaluronate is a known and suitable lip plumping ingredient. The artisan of ordinary skill in the art of filing would have had reasonable expectation of success because Foldvari teaches that the composition may be applied to mucus membranes and hairy and hairless areas of the skin. See MPEP 2144.07.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9-11, filed 2/27/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 46, 47, 49-54, and 56-61 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Foldvari in view of Pinksy and claims 62-65 over Pinsky in view of Foldvari have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Mun.
Applicant's arguments filed 2/27/2026 with respect to superior results rendered by the invention have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 11, Applicant argues that the instant invention achieves superior permeation through the skin and into the dermis compared to the vesicle formulation of Pinsky. This is not found persuasive. In response, please refer to MPEP 716.02 (b) which details the burden on Applicant to establish that results in a side-by-side comparison to the closest prior art are unexpected and significant. Specifically, Applicant must establish that differences in results are in fact unexpected and unobvious and are of both practical and statistical significance. Additionally, evidence of unexpected properties must be commensurate in scope with the claims.
Differences in results are in fact unexpected and unobvious: The evidence of unexpected results amounts to delivery of anionic polymers beyond the epidermis and into the dermis. However, Foldvari teaches that the multilayer vesicles may deliver the active agent to the epidermis and dermis of the skin (col. 1 line 53 and Table 6). As described in the obviousness rejection above, it would have been obvious in view of the teachings of Mun that the active agent of Foldvari may be sodium hyaluronate. Furthermore, the evidence of unexpected results has not clearly isolated the penetration effects of the claimed vesicle formulation. Based on the annotated data in the arguments at pg. 12, penetration to the dermis begins at about 150,000 nm. When comparing the data of E3 in Figure 3, which contains hyaluronic acid at 10kDa, to the data of E6 in Figure 3, which is an identical formulation that contains hyaluronic acid at 50kDa, it appears that formulations that contain 50kDa hyaluronic acid does not penetrate to the dermis at all. This indicates that the penetration effects are dependent on the molecular weight of the anionic polymer as well as the formulation of the vesicle itself. Therefore, the evidence of unexpected results is not unexpected or unobvious.
Differences are of both practical and statistical significance: The evidence of unexpected results amounts to increased penetration of hyaluronic acid to the dermis layer of the skin and is therefore of practical significance. However, the data presented in Figure 3 at E3 and the discussion and summary of the data in Table F or at [0346-349] do not discuss or demonstrate any significance of the amount of hyaluronic acid that is delivered to the dermis vs. the epidermis. Therefore, the evidence of unexpected results is not of statistical significance.
Evidence of unexpected properties must be in commensurate scope with the claims: The instant claim 46 embraces any concentration of vesicle forming lipids and any concentration of any anionic polymer present in the composition. Furthermore, the instant claim 50 limits the molecular weight of the anionic polymer to 5-500kDa and the instant claim 56 limits the vesicle forming lipids acceptable for inclusion in the composition. In order for the evidence of unexpected results to be commensurate scope the with the claims, the data must demonstrate penetration to the dermis at every molecular weight of anionic polymer claimed for every species of vesicle forming lipid claimed at every possible concentration. The data presented in E3 and E6 of Figure 3 and in Table E pertain only to two molecular weights of hyaluronic acid (10kDa and 50kDa) and only to one species of vesicle forming lipid (Sunlipon 90H). Therefore, the evidence of unexpected results are not in commensurate scope with the claims.
Additionally, no side-by-side comparison to the closest prior art is provided to establish unexpectedly superior performance. There is no nexus between the purportedly unexpected property and the differences between the instant invention, as claimed, and the closest prior art. Thus, the Applicant’s argument is not persuasive and the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ELIZABETH ANNE MEYERSExaminer, Art Unit 1617
/ALI SOROUSH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1614