DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-10, 21 and 28-31 in the reply filed on 07/12/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that it has not been sufficiently shown that searching all the claims would be burdensome. In light of this traversal and the amendment to claims 11, 22 and 23 to be dependent from independent claims 1, 11 and 28, the restriction requirement is withdrawn.
Claims 1-31 are pending and under consideration in this Office action.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because:
Reference character “820” has been used to designate both a dotted box in Figs. 8 and 9 and a flushing channel in Fig. 8, as described on page 42, line 27, of the instant specification.
Reference character “244” has been used to designate both a pressure switch and solenoid valve in page 22, lines 1-7, of the instant specification. Based on the later part of the paragraph, it appears the solenoid valve should be designated as “246”.
Reference characters “1110”, “1120”, “1130”, “1140” and “1150” are each used to designate two different operations respectively described in page 23, lines 4-14, and page 51, lines 4-16, of the instant specification. Reference character “1120” is further used to designate an anolyte chamber in page 26, line 11.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: method/system “100” mentioned through pages 13-37; valve “254” in the connecting paragraph of pages 22-23; operation “1160” in page 23, line 14; sensors “1260” in page 23, line 27; pump “1190” in page 26, line 11; system “800” mentioned through pages 37-50.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: “610”, “620”, “630”, “640”, “650” and “660” in Fig. 6.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In page 7, lines 16-17, page 7, lines 28-29, page 8, lines 21-22, and page 9, lines 28-29, “parameters of the monitored initial HOCl solution characteristics of the continuously monitored initial HOCl solution characteristics” should read “parameters
In page 17, line 16, “cathode 148” should read “anode 148” based on the context of the sentence.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2, 21 and 28 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, lines 10-11, “parameters of the monitored initial HOCl solution characteristics of the continuously monitored initial HOCl solution characteristics” should read “parameters
In claim 2, line 1, “sequential” should read “sequentially”.
In claim 21, lines 8-9, “parameters of the monitored initial HOCl solution characteristics of the continuously monitored initial HOCl solution characteristics” should read “parameters of the continuously monitored initial HOCl solution characteristics”.
In claim 28, lines 23-24, “parameters of the monitored initial HOCl solution characteristics of the continuously monitored initial HOCl solution characteristics” should read “parameters .
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-20 and 23-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2-20 each recite the limitation "The system" in their preamble in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. The limitations of “A continuous batch monitoring and adjustment system”, “an HOCl production system” and “a control system” are previously introduced in lines 1-5 of claim 1, upon which the claims depend. It is therefore unclear which “system” is being referred to in the dependent claims. For examination purposes, “The system” has been interpreted to refer to the “continuous batch monitoring and adjustment system” introduced in the preamble of claim 1.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the processor" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The limitation of “a processor” is previously introduced separately in lines 5-6 of claim 1 as well as in line 2 of claim 5. It is therefore unclear which “processor” is being referred to in the claim. For examination purposes, this has been interpreted to refer to the “processor” of the inputting production system introduced in claim 5.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the processor" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The limitation of “a processor” is previously introduced separately in lines 5-6 of claim 1 as well as in line 2 of claim 15. It is therefore unclear which “processor” is being referred to in the claim. For examination purposes, this has been interpreted to refer to the “processor” of the inputting production system introduced in claim 5.
Claim 28 recites the limitation "the electrolysis chamber" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The limitation of “an electrolysis chamber” is previously introduced separately in line 3 of the claim as well as in line 6 of the claim. It is therefore unclear which “electrolysis chamber” is being referred to later in the claim. For examination purposes, the limitations are interpreted as all referring to the same “electrolysis chamber”.
Claim 28 recites the limitation "the processor" in line 20. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The limitation of “a processor” is previously introduced separately in line 19 of the claim as well as in line 4 of the claim. It is therefore unclear which “processor” is being referred to in the claim. For examination purposes, this has been interpreted to refer to the “processor” of the controller introduced in line 19.
Claims 23-27 and 29-31 each recite the limitation "The system" in their preamble in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. The limitations of “An HOCl manufacturing, continuous batch monitoring, and adjustment system”, “an HOCl production system”, “a control system” and “a predictive feedback control system” are previously introduced in lines 1-3 and 18 of claim 28, upon which the claims depend. It is therefore unclear which “system” is being referred to in the dependent claims. For examination purposes, “The system” has been interpreted to refer to the “continuous batch monitoring and adjustment system” introduced in the preamble of claim 28.
Claim 23 recites the limitation "the processor" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The limitation of “a processor” is previously introduced separately in line 19 of claim 28 as well as in line 4 of claim 28, upon which it depends. It is therefore unclear which “processor” is being referred to in claim 23.
Claim 23 recites the limitation "the memory" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The limitation of “a memory” is previously introduced separately in line 19 of claim 28 as well as in line 4 of claim 28, upon which it depends. It is therefore unclear which “memory” is being referred to in claim 23.
Claim 27 recites the limitation "the electrolysis chamber" in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The limitation of “an electrolysis chamber” is previously introduced separately in line 3 of claim 28 as well as in line 6 of the claim 28, upon which it depends. It is therefore unclear which “electrolysis chamber” is being referred to later in claim 27. For examination purposes, the limitations are interpreted as all referring to the same “electrolysis chamber”.
Claim 31 recites the limitation "the electrolysis chamber" in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The limitation of “an electrolysis chamber” is previously introduced separately in line 3 of claim 28 as well as in line 6 of the claim 28, upon which it depends. It is therefore unclear which “electrolysis chamber” is being referred to later in claim 31. For examination purposes, the limitations are interpreted as all referring to the same “electrolysis chamber”.
Any claims dependent on the above claim(s) are rejected for their dependence.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-12, 15-23, 26-28 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roach et al. (U.S. 2014/0026971) in view of Terry et al. (U.S. 2022/0205114); claims 1 and 28 evidenced by Greeff et al. (“3 - System hierarchies and components” in Practical E-Manufacturing and Supply Chain Management, Newnes, 2004).
Regarding claim 1, Roach teaches a continuous batch monitoring and adjustment system (see e.g. Paragraphs 0004-0005 and 0026, system and method for maintaining a concentration in a cleaning system by continuous monitoring and dosing), the system comprising:
an HOCl storage vessel that stores an initial HOCl solution produced by an HOCl production system (see e.g. Fig. 1, chlorine tank 20 to which anolyte containing HOCl produced in electrochemical activation unit 12 is sent; Paragraph 0032, lines 14-22, and Paragraph 0036, lines 1-6); and
a control system including a pump, a sensor, and a controller (see e.g. Fig. 1, controller unit, with signals indicated as 28, coupled to anolyte dosing pump 18 and chlorine probe 30; Paragraph 0037, lines 1-4), the controller including a processor and a memory storing computer instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to (see e.g. Paragraph 0044, lines 10-14, controller unit being a programmable logic controller unit; evidenced by Greeff to include a central processing unit (CPU) and memory storing instructions for implementing functions, see e.g. Greeff Page 28):
continuously monitor initial HOCl solution characteristics, via sensor, of the initial HOCl solution that is recirculated from the HOCl storage vessel (see e.g. Fig. 1, chlorine probe 30 continuously monitoring available chlorine in anolyte recirculated from chlorine tank 20 via recirculation pump; Paragraphs 0026 and 0050, and Paragraph 0037, lines 4-8);
calculate adjustments to initial parameters of the continuously monitored initial HOCl solution characteristics (see e.g. Paragraph 0037, lines 4-8 and 25-30, and Paragraph 0044, lines 14-17, controller determines adjustments to be made to the use/working anolyte solution in the chlorine tank based on the chlorine concentration readings);
inform an inputting production system, via a dynamic feedback loop, to make corrections to the initial parameters of the continuously monitored initial HOCl solution characteristics and produce an updated HOCl solution with updated HOCl solution characteristics (see e.g. Paragraph 0037, lines 8-12, and Paragraph 0044, lines 14-17, controller activates dosing pump to deliver additional anolyte produced at the electrochemical activation unit when measured concentration of the anolyte working solution is below a predetermined concentration); and
verify that a final HOCl solution is achieved with final target parameters from a combination of the initial HOCl solution in the HOCl storage vessel with the updated HOCl solution from the inputting production system (see e.g. Paragraph 0026 and Paragraph 0037, lines 8-12 and 25-30, the chlorine concentration is continuously monitored to be maintained in the predetermined concentration, and therefore verified following adjustments).
Roach does not teach multiple sensors being included in the control system, instead exemplifying only one sensor (see e.g. Fig. 1, chlorine probe 30; Paragraph 0037, lines 4-8). Roach does however teach the desire for the pH of the working solution in the storage vessel to be maintained within a specified range (see e.g. Paragraph 0035, lines 15-23, and Paragraph 0040, lines 6-11).
Terry teaches a HOCl manufacturing system (see e.g. Abstract) in which product purity and quality are assured through continuous monitoring and error correction of various parameters, such parameters including pH, oxidative reduction potential, free chlorine concentration and other continuously monitored by appropriate sensors (see e.g. Paragraph 0075, lines 1-9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Roach to comprise multiple sensors for continuously monitoring parameters of the produced HOCl solution such as pH, oxidative reduction potential, free chlorine concentration and more as taught by Terry to assure product purity and quality.
Regarding claim 2, modified Roach teaches the corrections being made by sequentially blending the initial HOCl solution with the updated HOCl solution in a circulating batch loop to create the final target HOCl solution with final target parameters (see e.g. Roach Fig. 1, additional anolyte added by anolyte dosing pump 18 to the working solution in chlorine tank 20 which together are then recirculated to chlorine probe 30 for continuous measurement; Paragraph 0036, lines 1-6, Paragraph 0037, lines 8-12 and 25-30, and Paragraph 0050).
Regarding claim 5, modified Roach further teaches the inputting production system including an electrolysis chamber into which water flows (see e.g. Roach Fig. 2, electrolytic cell 14 to which water is introduced; Paragraph 0032, lines 14-16), a power supply for applying current to the electrolysis chamber (see e.g. Roach Paragraph 0002, lines 1-4, means for applying low direct-current voltage to anode and cathode of electrolytic cell), and an anode chamber inlet to which sodium chlorine brine is added to create an aqueous mixture (see e.g. Roach Fig. 2, mixture of NaCl and water passed through anode side 15; Paragraph 0032, lines 14-19), wherein aqueous hypochlorous acid is produced from the electrolysis chamber (see e.g. Roach Fig. 2, aqueous anolyte including concentration of hypochlorous acid generated at anode side 15 of electrolytic cell 14; Paragraph 0032, lines 17-22).
Roach, as modified by Terry above, does not explicitly teach the inputting production system including a processor and a memory storing computer instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: control water flow rate into the electrolysis chamber using water pressure; apply the current to the electrolysis chamber via a power supply; add the sodium chloride brine; add sodium hydroxide to the aqueous mixture; and produce the aqueous hypochlorous acid, wherein the aqueous hypochlorous acid is free from hypochlorites, phosphates, oxides and stabilizers. Roach does however that different operational parameters can be used to achieve different product concentrations (see e.g. Roach Paragraph 0035, lines 1-3 and 10-15).
Terry further teaches an electrolysis system that uses a deployable, remote controlled manufacturing system including a control system including a processor and memory storing computer instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to control water flow rate into an electrolysis chamber, by providing feedback controlled water pressure; apply feedback controlled current to the electrolysis chamber via an adjustable and high-current power supply; add sodium chloride brine, via a feedback controlled actuator, to an anode chamber inlet and creating an aqueous mixture; add sodium hydroxide, via the feedback controlled actuator, to the aqueous mixture; and produce aqueous hypochlorous acid at an anode chamber outlet, and aqueous sodium hydroxide solution at a cathode chamber outlet, wherein the aqueous hypochlorous acid is free from hypochlorites, phosphates, oxides, and stabilizers (see e.g. Terry Paragraph 0028), this system providing for automatic high-production pure HOCl manufacturing that may be operated and controlled completely remotely (see e.g. Terry Paragraph 0012).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the inputting production system of modified Roach to comprise a deployable, remote controlled manufacturing system including a control system with a respective processor and memory for controlling the water flow rate with feedback controlled water pressure, applying feedback controlled current with an adjustable and high-current power supply, adding the sodium chloride via a feedback controlled actuator and adding sodium hydroxide via the feedback controlled actuator to produce aqueous hypochlorous acid that is free from hypochlorites, phosphates, oxides, and stabilizers as taught by Terry to provide automatic high-production pure HOCl manufacturing that may be operated and controlled completely remotely. MPEP § 2143(I)(A) states that “combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results” may be obvious. The claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would yield nothing more than predictable results.
Regarding claims 6-10, Roach, as modified by Terry above, does not teach the inputting production system making corrections to a target pH balance [claim 6], a target parts per million (PPM) of HOCl [claim 7], a target salt concentration [claim 8], a target oxidative reduction potential (ORP) [claim 9], or a target amount of free chlorine concentration [claim 10] of the continuously monitored HOCl solution using one or more of a feedback controlled water pressure, a feedback controlled electric current, a feedback controlled sodium chloride, and a feedback controlled sodium hydroxide. Roach does however teach that concentration of the produced anolyte solution, e.g. ppm of HOCl, can be influenced by different operational parameters of the electrochemical unit such as brine flow rate and salt concentration (see e.g. Roach Paragraph 0035, lines 1-3 and 10-15), as well as the desire to maintain pH within a specified range (see e.g. Roach Paragraph 0035, lines 15-23, and Paragraph 0040, lines 6-11).
Terry further teaches product purity and quality being assured through continuous monitoring and error correction of system parameters, with dynamically determined parameters for particular product HOCl solution specifications, i.e. target parameters, such as pH balance, ppm of HOCl, salt concentration, oxidative reduction potential (ORP), and free chlorine concentration being controllable using one or more of feedback controlled water pressure, feedback controlled electric current, feedback controlled sodium chloride and feedback controlled sodium hydroxide (see e.g. Terry Paragraphs 0017-0018, 0075 and 0078).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the inputting production system of modified Roach to continuously monitor and make error corrections to dynamically determined parameters for particular product HOCl solution specifications, i.e. target parameters, such as pH balance, ppm of HOCl, salt concentration, oxidative reduction potential (ORP), and free chlorine concentration using one or more of feedback controlled water pressure, feedback controlled electric current, feedback controlled sodium chloride and feedback controlled sodium hydroxide as taught by Terry to assure product purity and quality.
Regarding claim 11, Roach, as modified by Terry above, does not teach the memory storing further computer instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: log predictive behaviors of HOCl production by the inputting production system; and train continuous improvements in machine learning behaviors for the HOCl production by the inputting production system.
Terry further teaches the control system of the HOCl generation system incorporating artificial neural networks and machine learning to predict future behaviors of the HOCl generation system using models based on historic production data, i.e. logs, and use machine learning algorithms and adaptive learning, i.e. continuous improvement training, to adjust multiple feedback control loops of the generation system in relation to each other (see e.g. Terry Paragraph 0040, lines 1-7 and 23-27, and Paragraph 0041, lines 1-6 and 10-17), enabling the system to self-correct and adapt for changes in the HOCl generation process during a production run (see e.g. Terry Paragraph 0041, lines 6-10), enabling tight control of the end HOCl product and eliminating oversight by operators (see e.g. Terry Paragraph 0124)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the control system of modified Roach to incorporate artificial neural networks and machine learning to predict future behaviors or the HOCl production system using models based on historic production data, i.e. logs, and use machine learning algorithms and adaptive learning, i.e. continuous improvement training, to adjust multiple feedback control loops of the HOCl production system in relation to each other as taught by Terry to enable the system to self-correct and adapt for changes in the HOCl generation process during production, enable tight control of the end HOCl product and eliminate oversight by operators.
Regarding claim 12, Roach as modified by Terry teaches the memory storing further computer instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: obtain additional information regarding predictive behaviors of the HOCl production by one inputting production system (see e.g. Terry Paragraph 0041, the ANNs and ML models access models based on historic production data of the HOCl generation process to predict future behavior); and retrain continuous improvements in machine learning behavior for the HOCl production by the one inputting production system (see e.g. Terry Paragraph 0040, lines 1-7 and 23-27, the ANNs and ML models use machine learning algorithms and adaptive learning, i.e. continuous improvement training/retraining, to adjust multiple feedback control loops of the generation system in relation to each other).
Regarding claim 15, modified Roach further teaches the inputting production system including an electrolysis chamber into which water flows (see e.g. Roach Fig. 2, electrolytic cell 14 to which water is introduced; Paragraph 0032, lines 14-16), a power supply for applying current to the electrolysis chamber (see e.g. Roach Paragraph 0002, lines 1-4, means for applying low direct-current voltage to anode and cathode of electrolytic cell), and an anode chamber inlet to which sodium chlorine brine is added to create an aqueous mixture (see e.g. Roach Fig. 2, mixture of NaCl and water passed through anode side 15; Paragraph 0032, lines 14-19), wherein aqueous hypochlorous acid is produced from the electrolysis chamber (see e.g. Roach Fig. 2, aqueous anolyte including concentration of hypochlorous acid generated at anode side 15 of electrolytic cell 14; Paragraph 0032, lines 17-22).
Roach, as modified by Terry above, does not explicitly teach the inputting production system including a processor and a memory storing computer instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: control water flow rate into the electrolysis chamber using water pressure; apply the current to the electrolysis chamber via a power supply; add the sodium chloride brine; add sodium hydroxide to the aqueous mixture; and produce the aqueous hypochlorous acid, wherein the aqueous hypochlorous acid is free from hypochlorites, phosphates, oxides and stabilizers. Roach does however that different operational parameters can be used to achieve different product concentrations (see e.g. Roach Paragraph 0035, lines 1-3 and 10-15).
Terry further teaches an electrolysis system that uses a deployable, remote controlled manufacturing system including a control system including a processor and memory storing computer instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to control water flow rate into an electrolysis chamber, by providing feedback controlled water pressure; apply feedback controlled current to the electrolysis chamber via an adjustable and high-current power supply; add sodium chloride brine, via a feedback controlled actuator, to an anode chamber inlet and creating an aqueous mixture; add sodium hydroxide, via the feedback controlled actuator, to the aqueous mixture; and produce aqueous hypochlorous acid at an anode chamber outlet, and aqueous sodium hydroxide solution at a cathode chamber outlet, wherein the aqueous hypochlorous acid is free from hypochlorites, phosphates, oxides, and stabilizers (see e.g. Terry Paragraph 0028), this system providing for automatic high-production pure HOCl manufacturing that may be operated and controlled completely remotely (see e.g. Terry Paragraph 0012).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the inputting production system of modified Roach to comprise a deployable, remote controlled manufacturing system including a control system with a respective processor and memory for controlling the water flow rate with feedback controlled water pressure, applying feedback controlled current with an adjustable and high-current power supply, adding the sodium chloride via a feedback controlled actuator and adding sodium hydroxide via the feedback controlled actuator to produce aqueous hypochlorous acid that is free from hypochlorites, phosphates, oxides, and stabilizers as taught by Terry to provide automatic high-production pure HOCl manufacturing that may be operated and controlled completely remotely. MPEP § 2143(I)(A) states that “combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results” may be obvious. The claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would yield nothing more than predictable results.
Regarding claims 16-20, Roach, as modified by Terry above, does not teach the inputting production system making corrections to a target pH balance [claim 16], a target parts per million (PPM) of HOCl [claim 17], a target salt concentration [claim 18], a target oxidative reduction potential (ORP) [claim 19], or a target amount of free chlorine concentration [claim 20] of the continuously monitored HOCl solution using one or more of a feedback controlled water pressure, a feedback controlled electric current, a feedback controlled sodium chloride, and a feedback controlled sodium hydroxide. Roach does however teach that concentration of the produced anolyte solution, e.g. ppm of HOCl, can be influenced by different operational parameters of the electrochemical unit such as brine flow rate and salt concentration (see e.g. Roach Paragraph 0035, lines 1-3 and 10-15), as well as the desire to maintain pH within a specified range (see e.g. Roach Paragraph 0035, lines 15-23, and Paragraph 0040, lines 6-11).
Terry further teaches product purity and quality being assured through continuous monitoring and error correction of system parameters, with dynamically determined parameters for particular product HOCl solution specifications, i.e. target parameters, such as pH balance, ppm of HOCl, salt concentration, oxidative reduction potential (ORP), and free chlorine concentration being controllable using one or more of feedback controlled water pressure, feedback controlled electric current, feedback controlled sodium chloride and feedback controlled sodium hydroxide (see e.g. Terry Paragraphs 0017-0018, 0075 and 0078).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the inputting production system of modified Roach to continuously monitor and make error corrections to dynamically determined parameters for particular product HOCl solution specifications, i.e. target parameters, such as pH balance, ppm of HOCl, salt concentration, oxidative reduction potential (ORP), and free chlorine concentration using one or more of feedback controlled water pressure, feedback controlled electric current, feedback controlled sodium chloride and feedback controlled sodium hydroxide as taught by Terry to assure product purity and quality.
Regarding claim 21, Roach teaches a continuous batch monitoring and adjustment method (see e.g. Paragraphs 0004-0005 and 0026, system and method for maintaining a concentration in a cleaning system by continuous monitoring and dosing), the method comprising:
accessing an HOCl storage vessel that stores an HOCl solution produced by an HOCl production system (see e.g. Fig. 1, chlorine tank 20 to which anolyte containing HOCl produced in electrochemical activation unit 12 is sent; Paragraph 0032, lines 14-22, and Paragraph 0036, lines 1-6);
continuously pumping HOCl solution through a predictive feedback control system (see e.g. Fig. 1, anolyte in chlorine tank 20 continuously pumped to chlorine probe 30 coupled to controller unit via recirculation pump; Paragraphs 0026 and 0050, and Paragraph 0037, lines 1-4);
continuously monitoring initial HOCl solution characteristics, via a sensor, of the initial HOCl solution that is recirculated from the HOCl storage vessel (see e.g. Fig. 1, chlorine probe 30 continuously monitoring available chlorine in anolyte recirculated from chlorine tank 20 via recirculation pump; Paragraphs 0026 and 0050, and Paragraph 0037, lines 4-8);
calculating adjustments to initial parameters of the monitored initial HOCl solution characteristics of the continuously monitored initial HOCl solution characteristics (see e.g. Paragraph 0037, lines 4-8 and 25-30, and Paragraph 0044, lines 14-17, controller determines adjustments to be made to the use/working anolyte solution in the chlorine tank based on the chlorine concentration readings);
informing an inputting production system, via a dynamic feedback loop, to make corrections to the initial parameters of the continuously monitored initial HOCl solution characteristics and produce an updated HOCl solution with updated HOCl solution characteristics (see e.g. Paragraph 0037, lines 8-12, and Paragraph 0044, lines 14-17, controller activates dosing pump to deliver additional anolyte produced at the electrochemical activation unit when measured concentration of the anolyte working solution is below a predetermined concentration); and
verifying that a final HOCl solution is achieved with final target parameters from a combination of the initial HOCl solution in the HOCl storage vessel with the updated HOCl solution from the inputting production system (see e.g. Paragraph 0026 and Paragraph 0037, lines 8-12 and 25-30, the chlorine concentration is continuously monitored to be maintained in the predetermined concentration, and therefore verified following adjustments).
Roach does not explicitly teach the continuous monitoring being done with multiple sensors, instead only exemplifying one sensor (see e.g. Fig. 1, chlorine probe 30; Paragraph 0037, lines 4-8). Roach does however teach the desire for the pH of the working solution in the storage vessel to be maintained within a specified range (see e.g. Paragraph 0035, lines 15-23, and Paragraph 0040, lines 6-11).
Terry teaches a HOCl manufacturing system (see e.g. Abstract) in which product purity and quality are assured through continuous monitoring and error correction of various parameters, such parameters including pH, oxidative reduction potential, free chlorine concentration and other continuously monitored by appropriate sensors (see e.g. Paragraph 0075, lines 1-9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Roach to comprise using multiple sensors for continuously monitoring parameters of the produced HOCl solution such as pH, oxidative reduction potential, free chlorine concentration and more as taught by Terry to assure product purity and quality.
Regarding claim 22, Roach, as modified by Terry above, does not teach logging predictive behaviors of HOCl production by the inputting production system; and training continuous improvements in machine learning behaviors for the HOCl production by the inputting production system.
Terry further teaches the control system of the HOCl generation system incorporating artificial neural networks and machine learning to predict future behaviors of the HOCl generation system using models based on historic production data, i.e. logs, and use machine learning algorithms and adaptive learning, i.e. continuous improvement training, to adjust multiple feedback control loops of the generation system in relation to each other (see e.g. Terry Paragraph 0040, lines 1-7 and 23-27, and Paragraph 0041, lines 1-6 and 10-17), enabling the system to self-correct and adapt for changes in the HOCl generation process during a production run (see e.g. Terry Paragraph 0041, lines 6-10), enabling tight control of the end HOCl product and eliminating oversight by operators (see e.g. Terry Paragraph 0124)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of modified Roach to incorporate artificial neural networks and machine learning to predict future behaviors or the HOCl production system using models based on historic production data, i.e. logs, and use machine learning algorithms and adaptive learning, i.e. continuous improvement training, to adjust multiple feedback control loops of the HOCl production system in relation to each other as taught by Terry to enable the system to self-correct and adapt for changes in the HOCl generation process during production, enable tight control of the end HOCl product and eliminate oversight by operators.
Regarding claim 28, Roach teaches an HOCI manufacturing, continuous batch monitoring, and adjustment system (see e.g. Paragraphs 0002,0004-0005 and 0026, system and method for maintaining a concentration in a cleaning system in which hypochlorous acid is produced by continuous monitoring and dosing), the system comprising:
an HOCI production system having an electrolysis chamber into which water flows (see e.g. Fig. 2, electrolytic cell 14 to which water is introduced; Paragraph 0032, lines 14-16), a power supply for applying current to the electrolysis chamber (see e.g. Paragraph 0002, lines 1-4, means for applying low direct-current voltage to anode and cathode of electrolytic cell), and an anode chamber inlet to which sodium chlorine brine is added to create an aqueous mixture (see e.g. Fig. 2, mixture of NaCl and water passed through anode side 15; Paragraph 0032, lines 14-19), wherein an initial HOCI solution that is an aqueous hypochlorous acid is produced from an anode chamber outlet (see e.g. Fig. 2, aqueous anolyte including concentration of hypochlorous acid generated at and exiting from anode side 15; Paragraph 0032, lines 17-22);
an HOCI storage vessel that stores the initial HOCI solution produced by the HOCI production system (see e.g. Fig. 1, chlorine tank 20 to which anolyte containing HOCl produced in electrochemical activation unit 12 is sent; Paragraph 0032, lines 14-22, and Paragraph 0036, lines 1-6); and
a predictive feedback control system including a pump, a sensor, and a controller (see e.g. Fig. 1, controller unit, with signals indicated as 28, coupled to anolyte dosing pump 18 and chlorine probe 30; Paragraph 0037, lines 1-4), the controller including a processor and a memory storing computer instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to (see e.g. Paragraph 0044, lines 10-14, controller unit being a programmable logic controller unit; evidenced by Greeff to include a central processing unit (CPU) and memory storing instructions for implementing functions, see e.g. Greeff Page 28):
continuously monitor initial HOCl solution characteristics, via sensor, of the initial HOCl solution that is recirculated from the HOCl storage vessel (see e.g. Fig. 1, chlorine probe 30 continuously monitoring available chlorine in anolyte recirculated from chlorine tank 20 via recirculation pump; Paragraphs 0026 and 0050, and Paragraph 0037, lines 4-8);
calculate adjustments to initial parameters of the monitored initial HOCl solution characteristics of the continuously monitored initial HOCl solution characteristics (see e.g. Paragraph 0037, lines 4-8 and 25-30, and Paragraph 0044, lines 14-17, controller determines adjustments to be made to the use/working anolyte solution in the chlorine tank based on the chlorine concentration readings);
inform an inputting production system, via a dynamic feedback loop, to make corrections to the initial parameters of the continuously monitored initial HOCl solution characteristics and produce an updated HOCl solution with updated HOCl solution characteristics (see e.g. Paragraph 0037, lines 8-12, and Paragraph 0044, lines 14-17, controller activates dosing pump to deliver additional anolyte produced at the electrochemical activation unit when measured concentration of the anolyte working solution is below a predetermined concentration); and
verify that a final HOCl solution is achieved with final target parameters from a combination of the initial HOCl solution in the HOCl storage vessel with the updated HOCl solution from the inputting production system (see e.g. Paragraph 0026 and Paragraph 0037, lines 8-12 and 25-30, the chlorine concentration is continuously monitored to be maintained in the predetermined concentration, and therefore verified following adjustments).
Roach does not explicitly teach the HOCl production system having a control system including a processor and a memory storing computer instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to control water flow rate into the electrolysis chamber by providing feedback controlled water pressure; apply feedback control current to the electrolysis chamber via an adjustable and high-current power supply; add the sodium chloride brine via a feedback controlled actuator; add sodium hydroxide to the aqueous mixture via the feedback controlled actuator; and produce the initial HOCl solution. Roach does however that different operational parameters can be used to achieve different product concentrations (see e.g. Roach Paragraph 0035, lines 1-3 and 10-15).
Terry teaches an electrolysis system that uses a deployable, remote controlled manufacturing system including a control system including a processor and memory storing computer instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to control water flow rate into an electrolysis chamber, by providing feedback controlled water pressure; apply feedback controlled current to the electrolysis chamber via an adjustable and high-current power supply; add sodium chloride brine, via a feedback controlled actuator, to an anode chamber inlet and creating an aqueous mixture; add sodium hydroxide, via the feedback controlled actuator, to the aqueous mixture; and produce aqueous hypochlorous acid at an anode chamber outlet, and aqueous sodium hydroxide solution at a cathode chamber outlet, wherein the aqueous hypochlorous acid is free from hypochlorites, phosphates, oxides, and stabilizers (see e.g. Paragraph 0028), this system providing for automatic high-production pure HOCl manufacturing that may be operated and controlled completely remotely (see e.g. Paragraph 0012).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the inputting production system of modified Roach to comprise a deployable, remote controlled manufacturing system including a control system with a respective processor and memory for controlling the water flow rate with feedback controlled water pressure, applying feedback controlled current with an adjustable and high-current power supply, adding the sodium chloride via a feedback controlled actuator and adding sodium hydroxide via the feedback controlled actuator to produce aqueous hypochlorous acid that is free from hypochlorites, phosphates, oxides, and stabilizers as taught by Terry to provide automatic high-production pure HOCl manufacturing that may be operated and controlled completely remotely. MPEP § 2143(I)(A) states that “combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results” may be obvious. The claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would yield nothing more than predictable results.
Roach, as modified by Terry above, does not explicitly teach the predictive feedback control system comprising multiple sensors, only exemplifying only one sensor (see e.g. Roach Fig. 1, chlorine probe 30; Paragraph 0037, lines 4-8). Roach does however teach the desire for the pH of the working solution in the storage vessel to be maintained within a specified range (see e.g. Roach Paragraph 0035, lines 15-23, and Paragraph 0040, lines 6-11).
Terry further teaches a HOCl manufacturing system (see e.g. Terry Abstract) in which product purity and quality are assured through continuous monitoring and error correction of various parameters, such parameters including pH, oxidative reduction potential, free chlorine concentration and other continuously monitored by appropriate sensors (see e.g. Terry Paragraph 0075, lines 1-9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Roach to comprise multiple sensors for continuously monitoring parameters of the produced HOCl solution such as pH, oxidative reduction potential, free chlorine concentration and more as taught by Terry to assure product purity and quality.
Regarding claim 23, Roach, as modified by Terry above, does not teach the memory storing further computer instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: log predictive behaviors of HOCl production by the inputting production system; and train continuous improvements in machine learning behaviors for the HOCl production by the inputting production system.
Terry further teaches the control system of the HOCl generation system incorporating artificial neural networks and machine learning to predict future behaviors of the HOCl generation system using models based on historic production data, i.e. logs, and use machine learning algorithms and adaptive learning, i.e. continuous improvement training, to adjust multiple feedback control loops of the generation system in relation to each other (see e.g. Terry Paragraph 0040, lines 1-7 and 23-27, and Paragraph 0041, lines 1-6 and 10-17), enabling the system to self-correct and adapt for changes in the HOCl generation process during a production run (see e.g. Terry Paragraph 0041, lines 6-10), enabling tight control of the end HOCl product and eliminating oversight by operators (see e.g. Terry Paragraph 0124)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the control system of modified Roach to incorporate artificial neural networks and machine learning to predict future behaviors or the HOCl production system using models based on historic production data, i.e. logs, and use machine learning algorithms and adaptive learning, i.e. continuous improvement training, to adjust multiple feedback control loops of the HOCl production system in relation to each other as taught by Terry to enable the system to self-correct and adapt for changes in the HOCl generation process during production, enable tight control of the end HOCl product and eliminate oversight by operators.
Regarding claim 26, Roach as modified by Terry teaches the memory storing further computer instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: obtain additional information regarding predictive behaviors of the HOCl production by one inputting production system (see e.g. Terry Paragraph 0041, the ANNs and ML models access models based on historic production data of the HOCl generation process to predict future behavior); and retrain continuous improvements in machine learning behavior for the HOCl production by the one inputting production system (see e.g. Terry Paragraph 0040, lines 1-7 and 23-27, the ANNs and ML models use machine learning algorithms and adaptive learning, i.e. continuous improvement training/retraining, to adjust multiple feedback control loops of the generation system in relation to each other).
Regarding claims 27 and 31, Roach, as modified by Terry above, does not teach the informing of an inputting production system, via a dynamic feedback loop, to make corrections to the target parameters of the continuously monitored HOCl solution characteristics, further comprising: adjusting the pH value of the input water prior to the input water entering the electrolysis chamber; and modulating pH values of the aqueous hypochlorous acid that is produced by the system using the pH value adjustment of the input water in conjunction with adjustment of the sodium hydroxide input levels. Roach does however teach the desire for the pH of the working solution in the storage vessel to be maintained within a specified range (see e.g. Roach Paragraph 0035, lines 15-23, and Paragraph 0040, lines 6-11).
Terry further teaches pH values of input water being adjusted and used in conjunction with input NaOH levels to control the pH values of the output HOCl solution such that the pH level may be modulated in accordance with the specifications of the desired output product as determined by its intended use, countering changes in pH that occur during electrolysis, i.e. making corrections thereto (see e.g. Terry Paragraphs 0073 and 0077).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the correction of target parameters of modified Roach to further comprise adjusting and using pH values of input water in conjunction with input NaOH levels to control/modulate pH values of the output HOCl solution as taught by Terry as a maintaining the pH in accordance with the specifications of the desired output product as determined by its intended use by countering changes in pH that occur during electrolysis, i.e. making corrections thereto. MPEP § 2143(I)(A) states that “combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results” may be obvious. The claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would yield nothing more than predictable results.
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roach in view of Terry, as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Buckley et al. (U.S. 2004/0060815).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, modified Roach teaches all the elements of the systems of claims 1 and 11 as stated above. Modified Roach does not teach the memory storing further computer instructions that, when executed by the processor, further cause the processor to detect that the HOCl storage vessel is empty, and direct rinsing of the empty HOCl storage vessel. Roach does however teach the HOCl storage vessel containing a working solution to be used for cleaning (see e.g. Roach Paragraph 0031).
Buckley teaches an apparatus for electrochemical treatment of an aqueous solution (see e.g. Abstract) in which an aqueous rinse solution containing hypochlorous acid is generated and stored in a storage tank (see e.g. Fig. 2, rinse water tank 102 containing rinse water formed from output solution including HOCl; Paragraphs 0065 and 0067, and Paragraph 0164, lines 3-5), wherein, to maintain the system properly and prevent compromising of the apparatus due to lack of cleanliness, the apparatus undergoes an automatic self-cleaning cycle in which the rinse solution in the storage tank is drained/emptied to a low level, which may be detected by a level detector, and an output solution having biocidal properties is then flushed through the tank, thereby rinsing it (see e.g. Paragraphs 0117, 0165 and 0168).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the processor of modified Roach to initiate an automatic self-cleaning cycle in which the storage vessel is drained/emptied to a low level, as detected by a level detector, and a biocidal solution is then flushed through the storage vessel, thereby rinsing it, as taught by to maintain the system properly and prevent compromising of the system due to lack of cleanliness.
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roach in view of Terry, as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (KR 100366899 B1, citations based on translation).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, modified Roach teaches all the elements of the systems of claims 1 and 11 as stated above. Modified Roach does not teach the memory storing further computer instructions that, when executed by the processor, further cause the processor to direct neutralization of unwanted HOCl solution in the HOCl storage vessel, and perform automated purging of neutralized unwanted HOCl solution. Roch does however teach that used HOCl solution may be returned to the storage vessel and/or routed for disposal (see e.g. Roach Paragraph 0031 and 0039), as well as produced hydroxide catholyte being used to adjust the pH of the HOCl solution in the storage vessel to close to neutral (see e.g. Roach Paragraph 0033 and Paragraph 0035, lines 20-23).
Kim teaches an electrolytic water production device for producing acidic water and alkaline water (see e.g. Paragraph 18), wherein the alkaline water is used to neutralize the acidic water after it is used so that it is not harmful to the environment and the human body once disposed of (see e.g. Paragraphs 48 and 21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the processor of modified Roach to be caused to direct neutralization of used, i.e. unwanted, HOCl solution in the storage vessel with the hydroxide catholyte before being routed for disposal as taught by Kim to ensure the disposed solution is not harmful to the environment or human body.
Claims 24-25 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roach in view of Terry as applied to claims 23 and 28 above, and further in view of Salah et al. (U.S. 2023/0313389).
Regarding claims 24 and 29, modified Roach teaches all the elements of the systems of claims 23 and 28 as stated above. Modified Roach does not explicitly teach one or more additional predictive feedback control systems and associated HOCl storage vessels, each additional predictive feedback control system and associated HOCl storage vessel enabled to produce HOCl solution with different HOCl solution characteristics. Roach does however teach that different anolyte HOCl concentrations may be achieved depending on usage requirements or operational parameters of the electrochemical production system (see e.g. Roach Paragraph 0035, lines 1-3 and 10-15). Terry further teaches an overall system including multiple manufacturing systems, each including their own control systems (see e.g. Terry Paragraphs 0030-0031), as well as different product specifications, such as HOCl concentration and pH, being required for different product types depending on their intended use (see e.g. Terry Paragraphs 0077-0078 and Paragraph 0103, lines 13-16).
Salah teaches an apparatus and method for electrolytic production of a HOCl acid solution (see e.g. Abstract) wherein multiple parallel rows of reactors may be provided, each row forming a reaction loop with a respective first tank storing the produced HOCl solution, increasing the overall production capacity of the apparatus (see e.g. Fig. 5, apparatus assembly 300 with rows of reactors 310 each forming a reaction loop with a first tank 320; Paragraphs 0088-0091).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of modified Roach to comprise additional parallel HOCl production systems each with their own product storage vessels and feedback loop control systems as taught by Salah to provide increased production capacity and enable production of HOCl solutions with different product specifications as required for different product types depending on their intended use as described by Terry.
Regarding claims 25 and 30, Roach as modified by Terry teaches the HOCl solution characteristics including pH and ppm value (see e.g. Roach Paragraph 0035, lines 10-15, different achievable ppm concentrations of hypochlorous acid; see e.g. Terry Paragraph 0078, lines 7-13, and Paragraph 0103, lines 13-16, product pH and HOCl concentration vary based on particular product specifications and applications).
Conclusion
/MOFOLUWASO S JEBUTU/Examiner, Art Unit 1795