DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
The present office action is made in response to the Election made by applicant on 03/06/2026 and the Interview of 06/08/2026
In response to the Election/Restriction mailed to applicant on 01/08/2026, applicant has made an election with traverse of Invention I, Species B in the reply filed on 03/06/2026. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “The Office … of one another” (Election in pages 8-12).
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered and found persuasive, thus the Election/Restriction mailed to applicant on 01/08/2026 is now withdrawn and all pending claims 1-20 are examined in the present office action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement, hereafter, IDS, filed on 07/17/2025 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
First, each of the Japanese reference Nos. 2016099503 and 2017116861 listed in the mentioned IDS has not been considered and has been lined-through because applicant has not provided a copy of each of the mentioned references.
Second, the Japanese Office action from Japanese Patent Application No. 2024-158818 listed in the mentioned IDS has not been considered and has been lined-through because it was in a foreign language and applicant has not provided an English translation or an explanation of the mentioned Japanese Office action.
Drawings
The drawings contain sixteen sheets of figures 1A-1B, 2A-2E, 3, 4A-4B, 5A-5C, 6A-6C, 7A-7C, 8A-8D, 9A-9C, 10A-10B and 11-12 were received on 09/22/2203 These drawings are objected by the examiner for the following reasons.
The drawings are objected to because the use of references “118” and “120” in fig. 1B does not match with that in fig. 1A. The examiner is of opinion that the reference of “118” and “120” in fig. 1B should be changed to --120-- and --122--, respectively. Applicant should note that the cover of the camera “100” as shown in fig. 1B, as understood, is the shield can “122”, not the base “120”. Further, the reference of “118” for the coil holder portions, as understood, are located inside the housing/case formed by the shield can “122” and the base “120”. It cannot be in the bottom of the camera “100” as shown in fig. 1B. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to because the use of terms to show the elements in fig. 1A does not match with that provided in the specification. It is suggested that the terms “Theta Z Magnets” and “Theta Z Coils” in fig. 1A should be changed to --Theta-Z Magnets-- and --Theta-Z Coils--, respectively, see specification in paragraph [0035] on lines 7-10, for example. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the references of “906” as mentioned in the paragraph [0075] and “1202” as mentioned in paragraph [0087] of the specification. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the references thereof “1202a”, “1202b” and “1202n”, see fig. 12, which references are not mentioned in the specification. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
The disclosure is objected to because it does not have a Summary of the Invention. Appropriate correction is required.
The following guidelines illustrate the preferred layout for the specification of a utility application. These guidelines are suggested for the applicant’s use.
Arrangement of the Specification
As provided in 37 CFR 1.77(b), the specification of a utility application should include the following sections in order. Each of the lettered items should appear in upper case, without underlining or bold type, as a section heading. If no text follows the section heading, the phrase “Not Applicable” should follow the section heading:
(a) TITLE OF THE INVENTION.
(b) CROSS-REFERENCE TO RELATED APPLICATIONS.
(c) STATEMENT REGARDING FEDERALLY SPONSORED RESEARCH OR DEVELOPMENT.
(d) THE NAMES OF THE PARTIES TO A JOINT RESEARCH AGREEMENT.
(e) INCORPORATION-BY-REFERENCE OF MATERIAL SUBMITTED ON A READ-ONLY OPTICAL DISC, AS A TEXT FILE OR AN XML FILE VIA THE PATENT ELECTRONIC SYSTEM.
(f) STATEMENT REGARDING PRIOR DISCLOSURES BY THE INVENTOR OR A JOINT INVENTOR.
(g) BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION.
(1) Field of the Invention.
(2) Description of Related Art including information disclosed under 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98.
(h) BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION.
(i) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S).
(j) DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION.
(k) CLAIM OR CLAIMS (commencing on a separate sheet).
(l) ABSTRACT OF THE DISCLOSURE (commencing on a separate sheet).
(m) SEQUENCE LISTING. (See MPEP § 2422.03 and 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825). A “Sequence Listing” is required on paper if the application discloses a nucleotide or amino acid sequence as defined in 37 CFR 1.821(a) and if the required “Sequence Listing” is not submitted as an electronic document either on read-only optical disc or as a text file via the patent electronic system.
13. The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
a) The Brief Description of the Drawings as provided in paragraphs [0003]-[0022] is objected to because it contains information/descriptions which are not involved/related to the brief description of the figures constituted the drawings. Should the terms “DETALED DESCRIPTION” appeared before the paragraph [0023] be moved to the place/location between paragraphs [0014] and [0015]? b) the use of numerical references “112” and “114” for the magnet(s) and coil(s) as provided in the specification, in particular, paragraphs [0032] and [0033] is not consistent. In particular, while the numbers of “112” and “114” are used to refer to “coils” and “magnets”, respectively, see line 3 of the paragraph; however, those numbers are reversely used in paragraph [0033], see lines 4-6 of the paragraph; c) Paragraph [0035], on line 6, the terms thereof “According t various” should be changed to --According to various--. There are still some grammatical and idiomatic errors in the specification. Applicant should carefully proofread the specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
14. Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities. Appropriate correction is required.
a) In each of claims 1, 11 and 18: the use of claimed language thereof ”at least one of the lens group or the image sensor” (claim 1 on lines 4-5 and 17; claim 11 on lines 8-9 and lines 22-23; claim 18 on lines 2-3 and 15) is unclear due to the terms “at least” and “or”. Should “or” be changed to --and--?
Further, ”VCM” appeared in claim 1 on line 5 should be changed to --(VCM)--, see the use of same term on line 4 of the claim.
It is noted that in case applicant accepts the mentioned suggestion then applicant should also change such term in each of claims 9-14 and 18.
b) In claim 12: the claim is objected for the similar reason as set forth in element a) above. Should the term “or” (on line 5) be changed to --and--?
c) The remaining claims are dependent upon the rejected base claims and thus inherit the deficiencies thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
16. Claims 9-10 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, for the following reasons:
a) Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
In particular, the claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the disclosure does not provide support for a camera having a lens group, an image sensor and one or more voice coil motor actuators wherein the one or more voice coil motor actuator rotate both the lens group and the image sensor as recited in the claim by the feature thereof “the one or … the camera” (claim 9 on lines 1-3).
Applicant is respectfully invited to review the specification in which it discloses a camera (100) having a lens group (102 (or 202)), an image sensor 9104) and one or more voice coil motor actuators (200) for rotating the lens group. The specification does not provide any description/teaching regarding an arrangement of the image sensor (104) with the lens group (102 (or 202)) so that the none or more voice coil motor actuator (200) can move both the lens group and the image sensor as recited in the claim .
b) Each of claims 10 and 12-14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, for the similar reason as set forth in element a) above.
18. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for the following reasons:
a) Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite by the feature thereof “a magnet-coil group … the image sensor” (lines 7-17). The mentioned feature makes the claim indefinite due to the use of term “when” on line 14. Applicant should note that the term “when” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
b) Each of claims 11 and 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for the similar reason as set forth in element a) above.
c) The remaining claims are dependent upon the rejected base claims and thus inherit the deficiencies thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
21. Claims 1-2, 4 and 18-19, as best as understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jung et al (KR 10-1371836, submitted by applicant).
Jung et al discloses a camera with voice coil motor.
a) Regarding present claims 1 and 18, the camera with voice coil motor as described in paragraphs [0024]-[0035] and shown in figs. 3-4 comprises the following features:
a1) a lens group (120);
a2) an image sensor (150); and
a3) a voice coil motor actuator (140) for rotating the lens group (120) wherein the voice coil motor actuator (140) comprises a magnet-coil group having curved electromagnetics. Regarding the structure of the voice coil motor actuator, in paragraphs [0027]-[0030] and shown in figs. 3-4, the magnet-coil group of the voice coil motor actuator comprises:
a31) one or more magnets (142) forming a first curvature of the curved electromagnetics; and
a32) one or more coils (141) forming a second curvature of the curved electromagnetics, wherein the one or more coils (141) are positioned proximate the one or more magnets (142) such that, when driven with an electric current, the one or more coils are capable of electromagnetically interacting with the one or more magnets to produce Lorentz forces that rotate the at least one of the lens group or the image sensor; and
a33) one of the first curvature and the second curvature is convex, and the other of the first curvature and the second curvature is concave.
b) Regarding present claims 2 and 19, the one or more magnets (142) comprise a concave side having the first curvature and the one or more coils (141) comprise a convex side having the second curvature; and the concave side faces the convex side.
c) Regarding present claim 4, the first curvature formed by the one or more magnets traces a first arc and the second curvature traces a second arc that is concentric with the first arc.
22. Claims 1-2, 4, 8, 10-12 and 16-19, as best as understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lu et al (US Patent No. 10,866,384).
Lu et al discloses an electronic device having a photographic module supporting a lens assembly driving apparatus, see columns 11-12 and figs. 4.
a) Regarding present claims 1, 11 and 18, the photographic module (10) as described in columns 11-12 and shown in figs. 4 comprises a lens assembly driving apparatus (12) supporting a lens group (140) and an image sensor (13) wherein the lens assembly driving apparatus (12) as provided in columns 3-7 and shown in figs. 1 comprises the following features:
a1) one or more magnets (150) forming a first curvature of the curved electromagnetics; and
a2) one or more coils (160) forming a second curvature of the curved electromagnetics, wherein the one or more coils (160) are positioned proximate the one or more magnets (150) such that, when driven with an electric current, the one or more coils are capable of electromagnetically interacting with the one or more magnets to produce Lorentz forces that rotate the at least one of the lens group or the image sensor; and
a3) one of the first curvature and the second curvature is convex, and the other of the first curvature and the second curvature is concave.
b) Regarding present claims 2 and 19, the one or more magnets (150) comprise a concave side having the first curvature and the one or more coils (160) comprise a convex side having the second curvature; and the concave side faces the convex side.
c) Regarding present claims 4 and 17, the first curvature formed by the one or more magnets traces a first arc and the second curvature traces a second arc that is concentric with the first arc.
d) Regarding present claim 8, the one or more coils (160) comprises a stacked coil has winding wire, see column 4 on lines 39-41.
e) Regarding present claims 10 and 12, the lens assembly driving apparatus (12) is configured to rotate the lens group 130-140) together with the image sensor about an axis parallel to an optical axis of the camera, see columns 11-12 which discloses that the image sensor (13) is disposed on an image surface of the lens assembly of the lens assembly driving apparatus (12) so that the compactness of the current electronic device is satisfied.
f) Regarding present claim 11, the photographic module (10) as described in columns 11-12 and shown in figs. 4 further comprises image signal processor (18), user interface, storage unit, memories for storing program instructions, … for controlling operations of the camera.
g) Regarding present claim 16, the magnets (150) are coupled with a stationary component (120) of the camera and the coils (160) are coupled with a movable component (130) of the camera, see column 4 and figs. 1 (figs. 1C, 1D and 1H, for example).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
24. Claims 3 and 20, as best as understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al (KR 10-1371836, submitted by applicant).
It is noted that while the one or more magnets (142) of the voice coil motor defines a concave first curvature and the one or more coils (141) of the voice coil motor defines a convex second curvature in the camera with voice coil motor provided by Jung et al, Jung et al does not disclose that the first curvature is in the form of a convex first configuration and the second curvature is in the form of a concave second configuration as recited in each of claims 3 and 20. However, a change in a shape of an element would have been obvious to one skilled in the art. Applicant should note that it was decided in the Courts that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves routine skill in the art. In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167. Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the voice coil motor in the camera provided by Jung et al by reversing the configure/shape of the surfaces of the magnet(s) and the coil(s) to meet a particular application.
25. Claims 3, 15 and 20, as best as understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al (US Patent No. 10,866,384)..
a) Regarding present claims 3 and 20, it is noted that while the one or more magnets (150) of the lens assembly driving apparatus defines a concave first curvature and the one or more coils (160) of the lens assembly driving apparatus defines a convex second curvature in the camera provided by Jung et al, Jung et al does not disclose that the first curvature is in the form of a convex first configuration and the second curvature is in the form of a concave second configuration as recited in the claims. However, a change in a shape of an element would have been obvious to one skilled in the art. Applicant should note that it was decided in the Courts that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves routine skill in the art. In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167. Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the voice coil motor in the camera provided by Jung et al by reversing the configure/shape of the surfaces of the magnet(s) and the coil(s) to meet a particular application.
b) Regarding the present claim 15, the above-mentioned re-arrangement of the magnets and coils with respect to the stationary and movable elements of the camera is also applied. See also the US Patent No. 8,520,122 which a copy thereof is attached with the present office action wherein the mentioned Patent discloses an arrangement of magnets on a moving element and coils on a stationary element, see Patent 8,520,122 in column 3 and shown in fig. 9. In other words, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the lens assembly driving apparatus in the camera provided by Jung et al by reversing the locations of the magnet(s) and the coil(s) to meet a particular application.
26. Claims 1-2, 4, 8-14 and 16-19, as best as understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (US Publication No. 2017/0199392) in view of Lu et al (US Patent No. 10,866,384) and Terajima (US Publication No. 2012/0287517).
Zhou et al discloses an electronic device such as a mobile phone, a smart phone, a note book, .. having a lens driving apparatus.
a) Regarding present claims 1, 11 and 18, the electronic device having a lens driving apparatus as described in paragraphs [0015]-[0027] and shown in figs. 1-7 comprises the following features:
a1) a stationary assembly (10);
a2) a lens assembly having a movable assembly (12) supporting a lens group; and
a3) a lens driving apparatus (13, 122, 14, 16) for driving the movable assembly (12) along an optical axis and in directions perpendicular to the optical axis. Regarding the structure of the lens driving assembly, in paragraphs [0016]-0027] and shown in figs. 2 and 5-7, the lens driving assembly comprises one or more voice coil motor actuator (13, 122) for driving the movable assembly (12) about an axis parallel to an optical axis of the electronic device wherein the one or more voice coil motor actuator comprises one or more magnets (13) and
one or more coils (122) wherein the one or more coils (122) are positioned proximate the one or more magnets (13) such that, when driven with an electric current, the one or more coils are capable of electromagnetically interacting with the one or more magnets to produce Lorentz forces that rotate the at least one of the lens group or the image sensor.
The only feature missing from the lens driving apparatus provided by Zhou et al is that Zhou et al does not disclose that the one or more magnets having a first curvature defined a curved electromagnetics and the one or more coils having a second curvature defined a curved electromagnetics.
However, an electronic device having a lens group and a lens driving apparatus for driving the lens group wherein the lens driving apparatus comprises curved magnets and curved coils is known to one skilled in the art as can be seen in the optical device provided by Lu et al.
In particular, Lu et al discloses an electronic device having a photographic module supporting a lens assembly driving apparatus, see columns 11-12 and figs. 4.
The photographic module (10) as described in columns 11-12 and shown in figs. 4 by Lu et al comprises a lens assembly driving apparatus (12) supporting a lens group (140) and an image sensor (13) wherein the lens assembly driving apparatus (12) as provided in columns 3-7 and shown in figs. 1 comprises the following features:
a31) one or more magnets (150) forming a first curvature of the curved electromagnetics; and
a32) one or more coils (160) forming a second curvature of the curved electromagnetics, wherein the one or more coils (160) are positioned proximate the one or more magnets (150) such that, when driven with an electric current, the one or more coils are capable of electromagnetically interacting with the one or more magnets to produce Lorentz forces that rotate the at least one of the lens group or the image sensor;
a33) one of the first curvature and the second curvature is convex, and the other of the first curvature and the second curvature is concave.
It is noted that the shape/configuration of the surface of a magnet can be a flat/planar or a curved shape/configuration, see Terajima in paragraphs [0061]-[0063] and figs. 7-8.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the lens driving apparatus in the electronic device provided by Zhou by using a lens driving apparatus wherein each of the one or more magnets and one or more coils constituted the lens driving apparatus as a curved one or more magnets and coils which in combination define a curved electromagnetics as suggested by Lu et al and Terajima for the purpose of improving the operation of the lens driving apparatus with better power efficiency, and linearly over long stroke.
b) Regarding present claims 2 and 19, the one or more magnets (150) of the combined product comprise a concave side having the first curvature and the one or more coils (160) of the combined product comprise a convex side having the second curvature; and the concave side faces the convex side.
c) Regarding present claims 4 and 17, in the combined product, the first curvature formed by the one or more magnets traces a first arc and the second curvature traces a second arc that is concentric with the first arc.
d) Regarding present claim 8, in the combined product, the one or more coils (160) comprises a stacked coil has winding wire, see column 4 on lines 39-41.
e) Regarding present claims 9 and 12, in the combined product, the lens assembly driving apparatus is configured to rotate the lens group together with the image sensor about an axis parallel to an optical axis of the camera, see columns 11-12 in the art of Lu et al which discloses that the image sensor (13) is disposed on an image surface of the lens assembly of the lens assembly driving apparatus (12) so that the compactness of the current electronic device is satisfied. Note that the magnet-coil group for driving the lens group and the image sensor about multiple axes perpendicular to an optical axis comprises magnets (16) and coils (14)
f) Regarding present claims 10 and 12, in the combined product, the lens assembly driving apparatus is configured to rotate the lens group together with the image sensor about an axis parallel to an optical axis of the camera, see columns 11-12 in the art of Lu et al which discloses that the image sensor (13) is disposed on an image surface of the lens assembly of the lens assembly driving apparatus so that the compactness of the current electronic device is satisfied. Note that the magnet-coil group for driving the lens group and the image sensor an optical axis comprises magnets (13) and coils (122)
g) Regarding present claim 11, the photographic module (10) as described in columns 11-12 and shown in figs. 4 further comprises image signal processor (18), user interface, storage unit, memories for storing program instructions, … for controlling operations of the camera.
h) Regarding present claim 13, in the combined product, the magnet-coil group (16, 14) comprises a first magnet-coil group (161) located at a first side of the camera; a second magnet-coil group (162) located at a second side of the camera; a third magnet-coil group (163) located at a third side of the camera opposite the first side; and a fourth magnet-coil group (164) located at a fourth side of the camera opposite the second side wherein each of the second magnet-coil group, the third magnet-coil group, and the fourth magnet-coil group has curved electromagnetics.
i) Regarding present claim 14, in the combined product, the magnet-coil group (13, 122) comprises a first magnet-coil group (131) located at a first corner portion of the camera; a second magnet-coil group (131) located at a second corner portion of the camera; a third magnet-coil group (131) located at a third corner portion of the camera that is diagonal to the first corner portion; and a fourth magnet-coil group (131) located at a fourth corner portion of the camera that is diagonal to the second corner portion wherein each of the second magnet-coil group, the third magnet-coil group, and the fourth magnet-coil group has curved electromagnetics, see Zhou et al for positions of the magnets with respect to the movable lens barrel (121).
j) Regarding present claim 16, the magnets (150) are coupled with a stationary component (120) of the camera and the coils (160) are coupled with a movable component (130) of the camera, see Lu et al in column 4 and figs. 1 (figs. 1C, 1D and 1H, for example).
27. Claims 5-7, as best as understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of Lu et al and Terajima as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Chiang (US Patent No. 8,587,675).
In the combined product provided by Zhou, Lu et al and Terajima, the combined product does not disclose that the one or more magnets comprise a dual pole magnet that has a first curved side having the first curvature as recited in present claim 5 or the one or more magnets comprise multiple magnets arranged in a curved magnet stack wherein the multiple magnets comprise a first single pole magnet; a second single pole magnet; and a dual pole magnet positioned, in a direction parallel to an optical axis of the camera, between the first single pole magnet and the second single pole magnet as recited in present claims 6 and 7.
However, a lens driving system comprises magnets and coils wherein the magnets are made by multiple magnets arranged in a manner that a dual pole magnet positioned, in a direction parallel to an optical axis of the camera, between the first single pole magnet and the second single pole magnet is known to one skilled in the art as can be seen in the optical device provided by Chaing, see column 5 and fig. 7, doe example. Note that in fig. 7, the top N-S magnet is a single pole magnet, the bottom S-N magnet is a single pole magnet and the two S-N and N-S magnets between the top and bottom magnets is a dual pole magnet. Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the lens driving system of the combined product by using magnets in the form of multiple magnets arranged in a manner that a dual pole magnet positioned, in a direction parallel to an optical axis of the camera, between the first single pole magnet and the second single pole magnet as suggested by Chiang to meet a particular application.
28. Claims 3, 15 and 20, as best as understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of Lu et al and Terajima.
a) Regarding present claims 3 and 20, it is noted that while the one or more magnets (150) of the lens assembly driving apparatus defines a concave first curvature and the one or more coils (160) of the lens assembly driving apparatus defines a convex second curvature in the camera provided by Zhou, Zhou does not disclose that the first curvature is in the form of a convex first configuration and the second curvature is in the form of a concave second configuration as recited in the claims. However, a change in a shape of an element would have been obvious to one skilled in the art. Applicant should note that it was decided in the Courts that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves routine skill in the art. In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167. Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the voice coil motor in the camera provided by Jung et al by reversing the configure/shape of the surfaces of the magnet(s) and the coil(s) to meet a particular application.
b) Regarding the present claim 15, the above-mentioned re-arrangement of the magnets and coils with respect to the stationary and movable elements of the camera is also applied. See also the US Patent No. 8,520,122 which a copy thereof is attached with the present office action wherein the mentioned Patent discloses an arrangement of magnets on a moving element and coils on a stationary element, see Patent 8,520,122 in column 3 and shown in fig. 9. In other words, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the lens assembly driving apparatus in the camera provided by Zhou in the combined product provided by Zhou, Lu et al and Terajima by reversing the locations of the magnet(s) and the coil(s) to meet a particular application.
Conclusion
29. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/THONG Q NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872