Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for domestic priority. The certified copy has been filed in provisional Application No. 63/409,682, filed on 23 September 2022 AD.
Response to Arguments and Amendments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks pages 7-13, filed 26 February 2026 AD, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn.
However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection are made in view of Kim et al. (US 2018/0249310 A1) or Kim in further view Lim et al. (KR 20160144656 A) or Lim for claims 1, 5, 9, 12, 16, 20, and 21.
However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection are made in view of Kim et al. (US 2018/0249310 A1) or Kim in further view of Lim et al. (KR 20160144656 A) or Lim in further view of Desai et al. (US 2021/0120496 A1) or Desai for claims 8 and 15.
However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection are made in view of Kim et al. (US 2018/0249310 A1) or Kim in further view of Lim et al. (KR 20160144656 A) or Lim in further view of Kyou et al. (US 2018/0017946 A1) or Kyou for claims 2, 10, and 17.
However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection are made in view of Kim et al. (US 2018/0249310 A1) or Kim in further view of Lim et al. (KR 20160144656 A) or Lim in further view of Zhang et al. (US 2024/0147551 A1) or Zhang for claims 3, 11, and 18.
However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection are made in view of Kim et al. (US 2018/0249310 A1) or Kim in further view of Lim et al. (KR 20160144656 A) or Lim in further view of Baik et al. (US 20200100090 A1) or Baik for claim 4.
However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection are made in view of Kim et al. (US 2018/0249310 A1) or Kim in further view of Lim et al. (KR 20160144656 A) or Lim in further view of Aijaz et al. (US 2020/0314735 A1) or Aijaz for claims 6, 7, 13, and 14.
Kim teaches at least one non-transitory computer-readable media possessing instructions to initiate a scan for advertising packets associated with at least one advertising devices and the scan possessing a scan duration. Further, Kim discloses detecting a scanning interruption during the scan and determining a duration of the scanning interruption.
In paragraph 0326 of Kim, Kim teaches determining a duration of the scanning interruption as stated in independent claims 1, 9, and 16 by proclaiming, “ If the connection between the first device 200 and the second device 300 is disconnected at a time corresponding to x+102 (sec) and y+102 (sec) respectively, the first device 200 can resume the advertising since x+110 (sec), which is 8 seconds after the connection is disconnected, and the second device 300 can resume the scan request since y+110 (sec), which is 8 seconds after the connection is disconnected”. Both the first and second device resume scanning operations after being disconnected or encountering a scanning interruption for 8 seconds. The 8 seconds consists of the duration of the scanning interruption as disclosed by Kim.
In claim 5, Kim discloses:
“The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 1, wherein the scan comprises a first scan operation for a first scan agent and a second scan operation for a second scan agent, and wherein the scan duration is determined based at least in part on the first scan operation and the second scan operation”.
In paragraphs 0292 and 0293 of Kim, Kim recites,
(See Kim paragraph 0292, It is assumed that the advertising time of the first device 200 is x1, and the advertising period of the first device 200 is y1. It is also assumed that the scanning time of the second device 300 over the advertising of the first device 200 is x2 and the scanning period over the advertising of the first device 200 is y2.)
(See Kim paragraph 0293, In this case, x1 and x2 may be the same or different. Specifically, the scan request corresponding to the advertising and the scan response corresponding to the scan request can be made at the same time as described above.)
Kim shows the first scan operation of the first scan agent or first device as the advertising period of the first device. On the other hand, Kim teaches the second scan operation for a second scan agent as the scanning period of the second device. The scan duration consists of the time of the first device conducting advertising at x1 and the time of the second device conducting scanning at x2.
Desai teaches recomputing a threshold value for a remaining scan time for a second scan operation based at least in part on the first scan operation being modified as stated in dependent claim 8. However, Desai fails to explicitly teach extending a scan duration of the scan by an amount of time determined based at least in part on the duration of the scanning interruption. Although Desai fails to explicitly teach extending a scan duration of the scan by an amount of time determined based at least in part on the duration of the scanning interruption, Desai discloses extending a scan duration based at least in part on the scan interruption.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 9, 12, 16, 20, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2018/0249310 A1) or Kim in view Lim et al. (KR 20160144656 A) or Lim.
Claim 1
Kim teaches,
One or more non-transitory computer-readable media having instructions that,
(See Kim paragraph 0335, It is also within the scope of the present invention to design a computer-readable medium in which a program for executing the previously described embodiments is recorded according to the needs of those skilled in the art.)
when executed by one or more processors of a device, configure the device to:
(See Kim paragraph 0066, The client device 300 includes a output unit (Display Unit) 310, a input unit (User Input interface) 320, a power supply unit 330, a controller (processor) 340,...)
initiate a scan for advertising packets associated with one or more advertising devices,
(See Kim paragraph 0174, In the BLE, if the scanning device receives some advertising packets from the advertising device, the scanning device must send a scan request to the advertising device.)
wherein the scan has a corresponding scan duration;
(See Kim paragraph 0325, The time corresponding to x (sec) in which the advertising of the first device 200 is performed is included in the time corresponding to the scan window of the second device 300. And, period corresponding to the scan response is performed is 10 seconds.)
detect a scanning interruption during the scan;
(See Kim paragraph 0326, If the connection between the first device 200 and the second device 300 is disconnected at a time corresponding to x+102 (sec) and y+102 (sec) respectively,...)
determine a duration of the scanning interruption; and…
(See Kim paragraph 0326, ...the first device 200 can resume the advertising since x+110 (sec), which is 8 seconds after the connection is disconnected, and the second device 300 can resume the scan request since y+110 (sec), which is 8 seconds after the connection is disconnected.)
However, Kim fails to teach,
…extend the scan duration of the scan by an amount of time determined based at least in part on the duration of the scanning interruption.
However, Lim, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…extend the scan duration of the scan by an amount of time determined based at least in part on the duration of the scanning interruption.
(See Lim page 4 paragraph 13, …the controller 120 may scan for channels that are not interference channels for the same time as before the occurrence of the interference channel, or may perform scanning by increasing the scan time by the time reduced by the interference channel.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the scanning for advertising packets, detecting an interruption in the scan, and determining a duration of the interruption in the scan as disclosed by Kim with the extending of the scan duration of the scan by an amount of time determined according to the amount of interruption time as disclosed by Lim to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the amount of wasted radio resources from over allocating time and frequency for scanning).
Claim 5
Kim teaches,
The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 1,
wherein the scan comprises a first scan operation for a first scan agent and a second scan operation for a second scan agent, and
wherein the scan duration is determined based at least in part on the first scan operation and the second scan operation.
(See Kim paragraph 0292, It is assumed that the advertising time of the first device 200 is x1, and the advertising period of the first device 200 is y1. It is also assumed that the scanning time of the second device 300 over the advertising of the first device 200 is x2 and the scanning period over the advertising of the first device 200 is y2.)
(See Kim paragraph 0293, In this case, x1 and x2 may be the same or different. Specifically, the scan request corresponding to the advertising and the scan response corresponding to the scan request can be made at the same time as described above.)
See “Response to Arguments and Amendments” for explanation
The motivation to combine Kim and Lim in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 9
Kim teaches,
A method of performing a scan by a device, comprising:
initiating, by the device, a scan for one or more advertising packets associated with one or more advertising devices,
(See Kim paragraph 0174, In the BLE, if the scanning device receives some advertising packets from the advertising device, the scanning device must send a scan request to the advertising device.)
wherein the scan has a corresponding scan duration;
(See Kim paragraph 0325, The time corresponding to x (sec) in which the advertising of the first device 200 is performed is included in the time corresponding to the scan window of the second device 300. And, period corresponding to the scan response is performed is 10 seconds.)
detecting, by the device, a scanning interruption during the scan;
(See Kim paragraph 0326, If the connection between the first device 200 and the second device 300 is disconnected at a time corresponding to x+102 (sec) and y+102 (sec) respectively,...)
determining, by the device, a duration of the scanning interruption; and…
(See Kim paragraph 0326, ...the first device 200 can resume the advertising since x+110 (sec), which is 8 seconds after the connection is disconnected, and the second device 300 can resume the scan request since y+110 (sec), which is 8 seconds after the connection is disconnected.)
Kim fails to explicitly teach,
…extending, by the device, the scan duration of the scan by an amount of time determined based at least in part on the duration of the scanning interruption.
However, Lim, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…extending, by the device, the scan duration of the scan by an amount of time determined based at least in part on the duration of the scanning interruption.
(See Lim page 4 paragraph 13, …the controller 120 may scan for channels that are not interference channels for the same time as before the occurrence of the interference channel, or may perform scanning by increasing the scan time by the time reduced by the interference channel.)
The motivation to combine Kim and Lim in the independent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 12
Kim teaches the limitations of claim 12 as stated in claim 5. The motivation to combine Kim and Lim in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 16
Kim teaches,
A device, comprising: an antenna (See Kim FIG. 2 [360] [Communication Unit]) for performing scanning; and one or more processors (See Kim FIG. 2 [340] [Controller]) coupled to the antenna, the one or more processors configured to:
(See Kim paragraph 0067, The output unit 310, the input unit 320, the power supply unit 330, the controller 340, the memory 350, the communication unit 360, and the Bluetooth interface 370 are functionally linked to carry out the method respectively.)
initiate a scan for advertising packets associated with one or more advertising devices,
(See Kim paragraph 0174, In the BLE, if the scanning device receives some advertising packets from the advertising device, the scanning device must send a scan request to the advertising device.)
wherein the scan has a corresponding scan duration;
(See Kim paragraph 0325, The time corresponding to x (sec) in which the advertising of the first device 200 is performed is included in the time corresponding to the scan window of the second device 300. And, period corresponding to the scan response is performed is 10 seconds.)
detect a scanning interruption during the scan;
(See Kim paragraph 0326, If the connection between the first device 200 and the second device 300 is disconnected at a time corresponding to x+102 (sec) and y+102 (sec) respectively,...)
determine a duration of the scanning interruption; and…
(See Kim paragraph 0326, ...the first device 200 can resume the advertising since x+110 (sec), which is 8 seconds after the connection is disconnected, and the second device 300 can resume the scan request since y+110 (sec), which is 8 seconds after the connection is disconnected.)
Kim fails to explicitly teach,
…extend the scan duration of the scan by an amount of time determined based at least in part on the duration of the scanning interruption.
However, Lim, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…extend the scan duration of the scan by an amount of time determined based at least in part on the duration of the scanning interruption.
(See Lim page 4 paragraph 13, …the controller 120 may scan for channels that are not interference channels for the same time as before the occurrence of the interference channel, or may perform scanning by increasing the scan time by the time reduced by the interference channel.)
The motivation to combine Kim and Lim in the independent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 20
Kim teaches the limitations of claim 20 as stated in claim 5. The motivation to combine Kim and Lim in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 21 (New)
Kim fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 21. Nevertheless, Lim, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 1, wherein the scanning interruption comprises interference between the scan and at least one unrelated transmission,
(See Lim Second to last paragraph of “Background of the Invention”, Meanwhile, in the case of BLE, the devices perform wireless communication using the 2.4GHz ISM (Industrial, Scientific, Medical) band. In the case of the 2.4 GHz ISM band, interfering signals may be generated by these wireless technologies, in the sense that they are used by other wireless technologies, such as Wifi or ZigBee.)
Shows unrelated transmissions by other wireless technologies consisting of the interfering signals
(See Lim last paragraph of “Background of the Invention”, Accordingly, when the master node interferes with another signal during a scan operation for discovering a slave device, there is a problem that detection of the slave device fails and the detection time is lengthened and the consumed current is increased.)
Shows the interfering signal interferes with the scan operation of the master node
and wherein the duration of the scanning interruption comprises a duration of the interference between the scan and the at least one unrelated transmission.
(See Lim page 4 paragraph 13 …the controller 120 may scan for channels that are not interference channels for the same time as before the occurrence of the interference channel, or may perform scanning by increasing the scan time by the time reduced by the interference channel.)
The motivation to combine Kim and Lim in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2018/0249310 A1) or Kim in view of Lim et al. (KR 20160144656 A) or Lim in further view of Desai et al. (US 2021/0120496 A1) or Desai.
Claim 8
Kim fails to teach limitations of claim 8. However, Desai, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 5, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, configure the device to:
recompute a threshold value for a remaining scan time for the second scan operation based at least in part on the first scan operation being modified.
(See Desai paragraph 0047, ...the SNR (signal-to-noise ratio) of the received signal, measured during the first few microseconds of when the slotted “ON” period starts may also be used as an indicator to dynamically increase the “ON” scan duration window if the signal level is low.)
Shows the SNR of the received signal as the recomputed threshold;
Shows the first few microseconds of the “ON” period as the first scan operation;
Shows the time after the first few microseconds of the “ON” period as the second scan operation;
Shows the SNR being used to dynamically increase the scan duration or the “ON” duration window;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the scanning for advertising packets, detecting an interruption in the scan, and determining a duration of the interruption in the scan as disclosed by Kim with recomputing a threshold value for a remaining scan time for the second scan operation based in least in part on the first scan operation being modified as disclosed by Desai to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to increase the signal-to-noise-ratio or SNR of the signal).
Claim 15
Kim fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 15. However, Desai, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 15 as stated in claim 8. The motivation to combine Kim, Lim, and Desai in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 8.
Claims 2, 10, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2018/0249310 A1) or Kim in view of Lim et al. (KR 20160144656 A) or Lim in further view of Kyou et al. (US 2018/0017946 A1) or Kyou.
Claim 2
Kim fails to teach limitations of claim 2. However, Kyou, in the same field of endeavor, teaches
The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 1,
wherein to extend the scan duration includes to:
stop a counter corresponding to a scanning time upon detection of the scanning interruption;
(See Kyou paragraph 0060, In the case that the advertising packet is received before the timeout occurs (Step S110: Yes), the time information Tadj is extracted from the data part of the received advertising packet (Step S112). Then, the timer for checking Ts is stopped (Step S114).)
Shows the timer and scanning being stopped upon the detection of the reception of an advertising packet
and restart the counter at an end of the scanning interruption.
(See Kyou paragraph 0058, In the case that the time of the counter 14 is T−M (Step S102: Yes), the processor 13 starts a timer to check whether or not the predetermined time Ts has elapsed (Step S104), and starts scanning (Step S106). Ts is the time width during which the smart phone 1 performs scanning in order to receive the advertising packet.)
Shows the processor starting a timer at the start of scanning and at the end of the time of refraining to scan
(See Kyou paragraph 0075, ...in the case that the smart phone 1 fails to detect the advertising packet within a predetermined period of time, the smart phone 1 stops scanning and increases the value of the counter, and then restarts scanning.)
Shows the interruption during the scan of the smart phone failing to detect the advertising packet within the predetermined amount of time
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the scanning for advertising packets, detecting an interruption in the scan, and determining a duration of the interruption in the scan as disclosed by Kim with the stopping and starting of a counter according to the interruption scan as disclosed by Kyou to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to accurately calculate the amount of time utilized from interrupting a scan).
Claim 10
Kim fails to teach limitations of claim 10. However, Kyou, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 10 as stated in claim 2. The motivation to combine Kim, Lim, and Kyou in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 2.
Claim 17
Kim fails to teach limitations of claim 17. However, Lim, in the same field of endeavor, teaches
The device of claim 16, wherein extending the scan duration comprises:
(See Lim page 4 paragraph 13, …the controller 120 may scan for channels that are not interference channels for the same time as before the occurrence of the interference channel, or may perform scanning by increasing the scan time by the time reduced by the interference channel.)
The motivation to combine Kim and Lim in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Kyou, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 17 as stated in claim 2. The motivation to combine Kim, Lim, and Kyou in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 2.
Claims 3, 11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2018/0249310 A1) or Kim in view of Lim et al. (KR 20160144656 A) or Lim in further view of Zhang et al. (US 2024/0147551 A1) or Zhang.
Claim 3
Kim fails to teach limitations of claim 3. However, Zhang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 1,
wherein an initial value for the scan duration is determined based on one or more scan parameters, and…
(See Zhang paragraph 0086, It should be noted that duration of the BT scanning periodicity of the scanning party and duration and a quantity of the BT scan windows enabled in each BT scanning periodicity may be determined based on a power consumption requirement of the device.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the scanning for advertising packets, detecting an interruption in the scan, and determining a duration of the interruption in the scan as disclosed by Kim with calculating the scan duration with the scan parameter of the power consumption of the device as disclosed by Zhang to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the amount power consumed by a device while scanning).
Lim, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…wherein to extend the scan duration comprises extending the scan duration based on the duration of the scanning interruption.
(See Lim page 4 paragraph 13, …the controller 120 may scan for channels that are not interference channels for the same time as before the occurrence of the interference channel, or may perform scanning by increasing the scan time by the time reduced by the interference channel.)
The motivation to combine Kim and Lim in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 11
Kim fails to teach limitations of claim 11. However, Zhang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 11 as stated in claim 3. The motivation to combine Kim, Lim, and Zhang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 3. Lim, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 11 as stated in claim 3. The motivation to combine Kim and Lim in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 18
Kim fails to teach limitations of claim 18. However, Zhang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 18 as stated in claim 3. The motivation to combine Kim, Lim, and Zhang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 3. Lim, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 18 as stated in claim 3. The motivation to combine Kim and Lim in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claims 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2018/0249310 A1) or Kim in view of Lim et al. (KR 20160144656 A) or Lim in further view of Baik et al. (US 20200100090 A1) or Baik.
Claim 4
Kim fails to teach limitations of claim 4. However, Baik, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 1, wherein the scan is to be performed within a frequency range and the scanning interruption comprises an unrelated transmission in the frequency range.
(See Baik paragraph 0302, ...since interference may occur at the edge of the BLE frequency band by another communication technology, advertisement efficiency may be degraded when channels having channel indexes 37 and 39 located at the edges of the BLE frequency band in the primary advertising channel set 8010 are used.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the scanning for advertising packets, detecting an interruption in the scan, and determining a duration of the interruption in the scan as disclosed by Kim with determining the scan interruption caused by undesired frequency in the same frequency as desired transmission as disclosed by Baik to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to increase the accuracy of determining the cause for interruption during a scan for advertising packets).
Claims 6, 7, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2018/0249310 A1) or Kim in view of Lim et al. (KR 20160144656 A) or Lim in further view of Aijaz et al. (US 2020/0314735 A1) or Aijaz.
Claim 6
Kim teaches,
The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 5,
wherein the first scan operation has a first duty cycle,
(See Kim paragraph 0290, the first synchronization data may include at least one of time and a period of the advertising of the first device 200.)
Shows the time as the window of advertising and the period as the interval of advertising
Shows the first synchronization data as a duty cycle for the first device
the second scan operation has a second duty cycle, and…
(See Kim paragraph 0290, ..the second synchronization data may include at least one of time and a period of the scanning of the second device 300.)
(See Kim paragraph 0292, It is also assumed that the scanning time of the second device 300 over the advertising of the first device 200 is x2 and the scanning period over the advertising of the first device 200 is y2.)
Shows the time as the window of scanning and the period as the interval of scanning
Shows the first synchronization data as a duty cycle for the second device
X1 fails to teach,
…the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further configure the device to:
perform the scan based on the higher duty cycle of the first duty cycle and the second duty cycle.
However, Aijaz in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further configure the device to:
perform the scan based on the higher duty cycle of the first duty cycle and the second duty cycle.
duty cycle = (scanWindow / scanInterval) *100
(See Aijaz paragraph 0088, Step 22: A relay node increases the duration of scanWindow if it does not receive any data packet (e.g. PDU) over a single or multiple scan cycles spanning all the advertising channels.)
Shows the increase of the duty cycle by increasing the scan Window
(See Aijaz paragraph 0089, Step 23: Repeat Step 22 if required (i.e. if the relay node does not receive any data packet over a single or multiple scan cycles) until maximum duration of scan Window is reached.)
Shows increasing the scan Window upon failing to receive data packet
(See Aijaz paragraph 0090, Step 24: Maintain the scanWindow duration found in Step 22 or Step 23 for a maximum of K scan cycles if a message has been received.)
Shows performing the scan based upon the highest duty cycle from the multiple duty cycles
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the scanning for advertising packets, detecting an interruption in the scan, and determining a duration of the interruption in the scan as disclosed by Kim with execute a scan with the highest duty cycle between a first and second duty cycle as disclosed by Aijaz to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to increase probability of receiving advertising packets during the scanning window).
Claim 13
Kim teaches the limitations of claim 13 as stated in claim 6. The motivation to combine Kim and Lim in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1. Kim also fails to teach limitations of claim 6. However, Aijaz, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 13 as stated in claim 6. The motivation to combine Kim, Lim, and Aijaz in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 6.
Claim 7
Kim fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 7. However, Aijaz, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 5, wherein the first scan operation has a first duty cycle, the second scan operation has a second duty cycle, and the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further configure the device to:
perform a first portion of the scan in accordance with the first duty cycle and
(See Aijaz paragraph 0087, Step 21: A relay node starts scanning by setting the duration of scanWindow to a minimum required for receiving a PDU from a source node operating in fast advertising mode. This is given by Ts=Ts.sup.min=A+δ, where δ is a constant. δ is a relatively small duration (less than the channel switching time) to ensure a relay node receives the PDU during a minimal scan window.)
Shows a first portion of the scan with the lowest duty cycle
perform a second portion of the scan in accordance with the second duty cycle.
(See Aijaz paragraph 0088, Step 22: A relay node increases the duration of scanWindow if it does not receive any data packet (e.g. PDU) over a single or multiple scan cycles spanning all the advertising channels. The increase is given by Ts=Ts+β, where β=A+c. A and c are fixed and known. More generally, the increase may be in discrete steps.)
Shows the second portion of the scan with a higher duty cycle
Claim 14
Kim fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 14. However, Aijaz, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 14 as stated in claim 7. The motivation to combine Kim, Lim, and Aijaz in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 6.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hillyard (US 20130040573 A1) teaches improving advertising Bluetooth packets through adjusting the advertising window.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMUEL ROBERGE BETTENDORF/Examiner, Art Unit 2414
/SITHU KO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414