DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 22, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Wie et al US 2009/0254843 in view of Worley US 9,158,115) and Faulkner et al US 20220092862.
Regarding claims 1, 22, 23, Van Wie teaches computer system (fig. 2, computer system 48, paragraph 0118) that is in communication with one or more display generation components (e.g., display monitor, paragraph 0118, HUD, paragraph 0217) and one or more input devices (mouse 52, keyboard 54, paragraph 0118), the computer system comprising: one or more processors (processing unit 122, paragraph 0128 note: fig. 2 is a network node and fig. 3 is a client network node which is also a network node);
memory (memory 124, paragraph 0128); and
one or more programs (software application, paragraph 0128), wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for:
while displaying, via the display generation component (desktop paragraph 0204, 262 of fig. 13), virtual content (virtual places, paragraph 0217, virtual area paragraph 0204, avatars of fig. 2, paragraph 0118) at a level of immersion (level of interaction, paragraph 0218) within a three dimensional environment (realistic 3D simulation of a physical area, paragraph 0218) including one or more representations of a physical environment (physical area paragraph 0218) that surrounds the computer system (paragraph 0129, the computer system including a display and a camera, fig. 28 and fig. 29, note: obviously, the physical environment can be taken with the camera and camera can only take images that surround the camera; furthermore the physical environment can surround the computer system or alternatively not surround the computer system. Since there are only finite possible way of putting the computer system in relation to physical environment as discussed, it would have been obvious to have the physical environment surrounds the computer system), displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a system user interface (HUD paragraph 0217, paragraph 0218. The hub is a small, lightweight interface that a user can keep up and running all the time on his or her desktop, paragraph 0204) of the computer system, wherein displaying the system user interface includes displaying an immersion control element (immersion control interface, paragraph 0218) configured to control a level of immersion (level of interaction, paragraph 0218) at which the computer system displays the virtual content (selectively changing between one of a three dimensional graphic mode of interaction with the virtual area, paragraph 0218); while displaying the virtual content at the level of immersion within the three dimensional environment (level of interaction, paragraph 0218) and the system user interface including the immersion control element (Immersion control interface, paragraph 0218), receiving, via the one or more input devices (input device (e.g., computer mouse), paragraph 0218), an input directed to the immersion control element (to select a level of interaction paragraph 0218); and in response to receiving the input directed to the immersion control element, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, the virtual content at a different level of immersion, different from the level of immersion before the selection, within the three dimensional environment, in accordance with the input ((to select a level of interaction paragraph 0218) note: obviously, when a level of interaction was selected by the user, the display will displayed at the newly selected interaction level).
Although it may be inherent, Van Wie does not clearly using a first level and a second level as the levels to be selectable with the immersion control element.
Worley, claim 15, teaches to use a first level (first transparency level) and a second level (second transparency level) to be selectable for the immersion control (immersion control tool).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to have modified Van Wie to include: using a first level and a second level to be selectable with the immersion control element.
Starting with selectable immersion control from first to second to third level and so on would help the user to simplify the immersion control selection process and to easily remember what level of immersion the system is at.
Van Wie, as modified still does not teach: the first level of immersion corresponds to a first proportion of the three-dimensional environment occupied by the virtual content relative to the one or more representation of the physical environment and the second level of immersion corresponds to a second proportion, different from the first proportion, of the three dimensional environment occupied by the virtual content relative to the one or more representation of the physical environment.
Faulkner teaches the first level of immersion corresponds to a first proportion of the three dimensional environment occupied by the virtual content relative to the one or more representation of the physical environment (8008, fig. 8, paragraph 0282, computer generated environment that includes… physical environment concurrently displayed with the virtual content) and the second level of immersion corresponds to a second proportion, different from the first proportion (8010, fig. 8 note, the first computer generated content presented with the second level of immersion occupies a second portion of the three dimensional environment that is greater than the first portion of the three dimensional environment implies the proportion are different of the three dimensional environment occupied by the virtual content relative to the physical environment between the 2 different immersion), of the three dimensional environment occupied by the virtual content relative to the one or more representation of the physical environment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to have modified Van Wie to include: the first level of immersion corresponds to a first proportion of the three dimensional environment occupied by the virtual content relative to the one or more representation of the physical environment and the second level of immersion corresponds to a second proportion, different from the first proportion, of the three dimensional environment occupied by the virtual content relative to the one or more representation of the physical environment.
The reason of doing so would have increase the 3D immersion experience for the user to improve the overall performance of the system of Van Wie.
Regarding claim 2, Van Wie teaches the method of claim 1 wherein: the virtual content is a virtual reality experience (virtual reality, paragraph 6).
Van Wie does not teach virtual reality experience in which the physical environment of the one or more display generation components are not visible and while displaying the virtual content at the first level of immersion, the virtual content is displayed within an augmented reality experience in which the physical environment of the one or more display generation component is visible.
Faulkner teaches virtual reality experience in which the physical environment of the one or more display generation components are not visible (the visual content span the entire three dimensional environment, paragraph 0223; obviously when the visual content span the entire three dimensional environment, the only thing that is visible is the visual content) and while displaying the virtual content at the first level of immersion, the virtual content is displayed within an augmented reality experience in which the physical environment of the one or more display generation component is visible paragraph 0223, the computer system display (8008) the first visual content within the first portion of the three-dimensional environment).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to have modified Van Wie to include: virtual reality experience in which the physical environment of the one or more display generation components are not visible and while displaying the virtual content at the first level of immersion, the virtual content is displayed within an augmented reality experience in which the physical environment of the one or more display generation component is visible.
The reason of doing so would have allowed to user to select what the user desired to see and improved the overall viewing experience for the user.
Regarding claim 3 Van Wei teaches the method of claim 1, wherein in response to receiving the input directed to the immersion control element:
in accordance with a determination that the input corresponds to a request to change a level of immersion of the virtual content by a first amount, the virtual content is displayed at a third level of immersion, (fig. 13 showing a user can select an value ranging from off to 3D to the immersion control 263) and
in accordance with a determination that the input corresponds to a request to change the level of immersion of the virtual content by a second amount, different from the first amount, the virtual content is displayed at a fourth level of immersion, different from the third level of immersion (although fig. 13 showing the adjustable values range from off-3D and paragraph 0218 discussed 3 levels from off to 2D to 3D of display options, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to have increased the adjustable level to 4 or even 5 as the more adjustable level provided, the more benefit to the user by giving the user more options to select.
Regarding claim 4, Van Wie teaches, wherein the virtual content includes a user interface of an application (paragraph 0256, scheduling application).
Regarding claim 5: Van Wie teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the virtual content (fig. 17) includes a first user interface of a first application (278, fig. 17), and a second user interface of a second application (281 fig. 17), different from the first application (paragraph 0242, other communication applications (e.g. Skype contacts)).
Regarding claim 6, Van Wie teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the virtual content includes a system virtual environment (virtual communication environment, paragraph 0067).
Claim(s) 7, 8, 14, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Wie et al US 2009/0254843 in view of Worley US 9,158,115 and Faulkner et al US 20220092862and further in view of Sommerlade US 20190266774.
Regarding claim 7: Van Wie teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the virtual content includes a first virtual environment (see fig. 18).
Van Wie as modified does not teach the system user interface includes a lighting control element that is selectable to change a lighting setting of the first virtual environment, the method further comprising:
while displaying the first virtual environment with the lighting setting having a first value, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a second input directed to the lighting control element; and
in response to receiving the second input, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, the first virtual environment with the lighting setting having a second value, different from the first value, in accordance with the second input.
Sommerlade teaches the system user interface includes a lighting control element that is selectable to change a lighting setting of the first virtual environment (target user to select a preferred virtual presentation...adjust lighting, paragraph 0065).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to have modified Van Wie to include: the system user interface includes a lighting control element that is selectable to change a lighting setting of the first virtual environment. The reason of doing so would have allowed users to control the viewing condition as desired by the user to improve the user’s viewing experience.
Therefore, after the modification, Van Wie’s system user interface (HAD) will includes a lighting control element that is selectable to change a lighting setting of the first virtual environment (such as the virtual environment shown in fig. 19), the method further comprising:
while displaying the first virtual environment with the lighting setting having a first value (inherent for the virtual content displayed in fig. 19 of Van Wie must have a lighting value), receiving, via the one or more input devices, a second input directed to the lighting control element (adjusted lighting after modification) and
in response to receiving the second input, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, the first virtual environment with the lighting setting having a second value, different from the first value, in accordance with the second input (inherently when fig. 19’s lighting condition changed, it will change from one lighting value to a second different lighting values).
Regarding claim 8: Van Wie teaches the method of claim 7, further comprising: while displaying the first virtual environment with the lighting setting having a respective value (as discussed in claim 8, the display of first virtual environment has a user set lighting value), receiving, via the one or more input devices, a third input corresponding to a request to display a second virtual environment (e.g., from fig. 18 to fig. 19, also see paragraph 0246), different from the first virtual environment (see the difference between fig. 18 and 19); and in response to receiving the third input: in accordance with a determination that the respective value is the first value (as discussed before, the virtual display is set at a lightning value and assumed it was set at the first value of claim 18), displaying the second virtual environment with the lighting setting having the first value (since the lighting value is set at a first value while displaying a first virtual environment and while the virtual environment is change from fig. 18 to fig, 19, obviously, the lighting should remain at the first value until the user change it again); and in accordance with a determination that the respective value is the second value (if the user set the lighting value as he second value as discussed in claim 18), displaying the second virtual environment with the lighting setting having the second value (since the lighting value is set at a second value while displaying the first virtual environment and while the virtual environment is change from fig. 18 to fig, 19, obviously, the lighting value should remain at the second value until the user change it again).
Regarding claim 14: Van Wie as modified teaches the method of claim 7, further comprising:
while not displaying the first virtual environment (note: under perfect condition, the lighting control would control the display of the virtual content from total darkness to total whiteness, so under total darkness, the virtual content will not be displayed on the screen of the display) and while displaying the system user interface (the HUB will be there so that the user can adjust the lighting after modified with Sommerlade) that includes the lighting control element, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a third input directed to the lighting control element corresponding to a request to change the lighting setting for the first virtual environment from the first value to the second value (the second value assumed not to be total darkness); and in response to receiving the third input, at least partially displaying, via the one or more display generation components, the first virtual environment with the lighting setting having the second value (obviously the virtual content will be displayed at the selected second value if the second lighting value is not total darkness).
Regarding claim 15: Van Wie teaches the method of claim 14, further comprising:
after receiving the third input and while at least partially displaying the first virtual environment with the lighting setting having the second value (see rejection of claim 14), in accordance with a determination that one or more criteria are satisfied, automatically ceasing display of the first virtual environment (paragraph 0218, the system would cease display the 2D virtual environment and change it to the 3D environment if the criteria that the user select 2D to 3D are satisfied).
Claim(s) 9, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Wie et al US 2009/0254843 in view of Worley US 9,158,115 and Faulkner et al US 20220092862 and further in view of Sommerlade US 20190266774 still further in view of and Knoll US 5,422812 and Yuan US 20120038751.
Regarding claim 9: Van Wie as modified does not teach wherein the system user interface includes an automatic lighting control element that is selectable to set the lighting setting of the first virtual environment automatically based on at least a current time of day of the computer system.
Knoll teaches automatic lighting control element that is selectable to set the lighting setting of displaying images automatically. (column 3, lines 60-65, a brightness (note: brightness is control by lighting) adjustment, not shown, is also provided, which permits manual or automatic adjustment of the brightness of the display).
Since virtual environment is similar to images in a display, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary of the art to modify the system user interface of Van Wie to includes an automatic lighting control element that is selectable to set the lighting setting of the first virtual environment automatically. The reason of doing so would have save the user a lot of time by setting the lighting automatically.
Van Wie as modified still does not teach set the lighting setting of the first virtual environment automatically based on at least a current time of day of the computer system.
Yuan teaches set the lighting setting of the first virtual environment automatically based on at least a current time of day of the computer system (paragraph 0077, when the direct light source is turn off, the display nay dim itself... The image appearance may automatically change along the time of day as light changes...paragraph 0078 reacts to the global illumination change, and adjust the image content’s brightness and contrast).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to have further modified Van Wie to include: set the lighting setting of the first virtual environment automatically based on at least a current time of day of the computer system. The reason of doing so would have avoid displaying image with unnatural feelings (paragraph 0077, Yuan).
Regarding claim 10: Van Wie teaches to display virtual content in a first virtual environment (e.g., 3D environment of paragraph 0218)
Van Wie does not teach wherein the automatic lighting control element is selectable to set the lighting setting of the first virtual environment automatically further based on a type of respective virtual content that is concurrently displayed with the first virtual environment.
Yuan teaches wherein the automatic lighting control element is selectable to set the lighting setting (paragraph 0077, when the direct light source is turn off, the display nay dim itself...The image appearance may automatically change along the time of day as light changes...paragraph 0078 reacts to the global illumination change, and adjust the image content’s brightness and contrast) of the first virtual environment (3D paragraph 78) automatically further based on a type of respective virtual content that is concurrently displayed with the first virtual environment (paragraph 0079, the ambient environment may include moving object...direct light source, light reflective surfaces and the static background; paragraph the display is able to sense the ambient environment and adjust its content in response to the environment).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to have modified Van Wie to include: wherein the automatic lighting control element is selectable to set the lighting setting of the first virtual environment automatically further based on a type of respective virtual content that is concurrently displayed with the first virtual environment. The reason of doing so would have avoid displaying image with unnatural feelings (paragraph 0077, Yuan).
Claim(s) 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Wie et al US 2009/0254843 in view of Worley US 9,158,115 and Faulkner et al US 20220092862 and further in view of Sommerlade US 20190266774 and still further in view of Kim US 2015/0058718.
Regarding claim 11: Van Wie does not teach wherein the system user interface includes: the lighting control element that is selectable to change the lighting setting of the first virtual environment, wherein the lighting control element that is selectable to change the lighting setting of the first virtual environment is selectable to set the lighting setting of the first virtual environment to the second value; and
a second lighting control element that is selectable to set the lighting setting of the first virtual environment to the first value.
Kim in the same field of using control element to change settings teaches the system user interface (1016, fig. 10B) includes: the color control element (1081, fig. 10B, paragraph 0161) that is selectable to change the color setting, wherein the color control element that is selectable to change the color setting is selectable to set the color setting to the second value (RED, paragraph 0161); and
a second color control element (1082, fig. 10B) that is selectable to set the color setting to the first value (orange, paragraph 0161).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to have modified the system user interface (HUD) and the lighting control element that is selectable to change the lighting setting of the first environment of Van Wie as modified to include: wherein the system user interface includes: the lighting control element that is selectable to change the lighting setting of the first virtual environment, wherein the lighting control element that is selectable to change the lighting setting of the first virtual environment is selectable to set the lighting setting of the first virtual environment to the second value; and a second lighting control element that is selectable to set the lighting setting of the first virtual environment to the first value.
The reason of doing so would have provided a much more convenient way of adjusting lighting settings for users.
Regarding claim 12: Van Wie as modified does not teach wherein: the lighting control element that is selectable to change the lighting setting of the first virtual environment is selectable to set the lighting setting of the first virtual environment to the-second value and is displayed with an appearance independent of characteristics of the first virtual environment with the lighting setting having the second value, and the second lighting control element that is selectable to set the lighting setting of the first virtual environment to the first value is displayed with an appearance independent of characteristics of the first virtual environment with the lighting setting having the first value.
Kim in the same field of using control element to change settings teaches the color control (1081, fig. 10B) element that is selectable to change the color setting is selectable to set the color setting to the-second value and is displayed with an appearance of the result of adjustment to what it has adjusted (paragraph 01161, user may adjust the thickness of the selected pen....the thickness adjusted results may be displayed in a predetermined area 1072 in a preview way; note: although the preview is for adjustment of thickness instead of color in Kim, however the concept of previewing adjustment result to all adjustment including color or lighting adjustment would have been obvious as it will bring great benefit for users to be able to know the result of adjustment and make correction before it is too late. It will also preserve valuable resources) with the color setting having the second value (RED paragraph 0161), and the second lighting control element (1082, fig. 10B) that is selectable to set the color to the first value (orange paragraph 0161) is displayed with an appearance with the result of adjustment (see above discussion with respect to display the result of setting color RED) with the color setting having the first value.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to have modified the lighting setting control element to include: wherein: the lighting control element that is selectable to change the lighting setting of the first virtual environment is selectable to set the lighting setting of the first virtual environment to the-second value and is displayed with an appearance independent of characteristics of the first virtual environment (regardless of the characteristics of the first environment, the lighting value in appearance will be set at the second value) with the lighting setting having the second value, and the second lighting control element that is selectable to set the lighting setting of the first virtual environment to the first value is displayed with an appearance independent of characteristics of the first virtual environment (regardless of the characteristics of the first environment, the lighting value in appearance will be set at the first value) with the lighting setting having the first value.
The reason of doing so would have provided a much more convenient way of adjusting lighting settings for users.
Regarding claim 13: Van Wie as modified does not teach wherein the system user interface includes: the lighting control element that is selectable to change the lighting setting of the first virtual environment, wherein the lighting control element that is selectable to change the lighting setting of the first virtual environment is selectable to set the lighting setting of the first virtual environment to the second value, and wherein the lighting control element that is selectable to set the lighting setting of the first virtual environment to the second value includes a visual representation of the first virtual environment with the lighting setting having the second value; and
a second lighting control element that is selectable to set the lighting setting of the first virtual environment to the first value, wherein the second lighting control element that is selectable to set the
lighting setting of the first virtual environment to the first value includes a visual representation of the first virtual environment with the lighting setting having the first value.
Kim in the same field of using control element to change settings teaches the color control (1081, fig. 10B) element that is selectable to change the color setting is selectable to set the color setting to the-second value and is displayed with an appearance of the result of adjustment to what it has adjusted (paragraph 01161, user may adjust the thickness of the selected pen....the thickness adjusted results may be displayed in a predetermined area 1072 in a preview way; note: although the preview is for adjustment of thickness instead of color in Kim, however the concept of previewing adjustment result to all adjustment including color or lighting adjustment would have been obvious as it will bring great benefit for users to be able to know the result of adjustment and make correction before it is too late. It will also preserve valuable resources) with the color setting having the second value (RED paragraph 0161), and
the second lighting control element (1082, fig. 10B) that is selectable to set the color to the first value (orange paragraph 0161) is displayed with an appearance with the result of adjustment (see above discussion with respect to display the result of setting color RED) with the color setting having the first value.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to have modified Van Wie to include: wherein the system user interface includes: the lighting control element that is selectable to change the lighting setting of the first virtual environment, wherein the lighting control element that is selectable to change the lighting setting of the first virtual environment is selectable to set the lighting setting of the first virtual environment to the second value, and wherein the lighting control element that is selectable to set the lighting setting of the first virtual environment to the second value includes a visual representation of the first virtual environment with the lighting setting having the second value; and a second lighting control element that is selectable to set the lighting setting of the first virtual environment to the first value, wherein the second lighting control element that is selectable to set the lighting setting of the first virtual environment to the first value includes a visual representation of the first virtual environment with the lighting setting having the first value.
The reason of doing so would have provided a much more convenient way of adjusting lighting settings for users.
Claim(s) 16, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Wie et al US 2009/0254843 in view of Worley US 9,158,115 and Faulkner et al US 20220092862 and further in view of Lafleche et al US 20110289691
Regarding claim 16: Van Wie teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the system user interface (HUB 260, fig. 18, paragraph 0246) includes a system virtual environment control element (slider, paragraph 0246) that is selectable to initiate a process to change a current system virtual environment from a first virtual environment to a second virtual environment (from fig. 18 to fig. 19),
Van Wie does not teach: while displaying the system user interface, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a second input corresponding to selection of the system virtual environment control element; and
in response to receiving the second input, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a system virtual environment control user interface that includes one or more selectable options for changing the current system virtual environment from the first virtual environment to the second virtual environment.
Lafleche teaches while displaying the system user interface (fig. 13F, 13H immersion button), receiving, via the one or more input devices (user interface device, paragraph 0168), a second input corresponding to selection of the system immersion control element (user select the touch screen area associated with the immersion control function, paragraph 0180); and
in response to receiving the second input, displaying, via the display generation component, an immersion control user interface that includes one or more selectable options for changing the current system immersion (paragraph 0180, display area 160...immersion control function ....change level of immersion).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to have modified Van Wie as modified to include: adding a HUD button with immersion on it and while the system is displaying the system user interface (HUD button with immersion displayed on it as taught by Lafleche), receiving, via the one or more input devices, a second input corresponding to selection of the system virtual environment control element (after user selected the immersion button, display the virtual environment control element that as shown in fig. 17-19 of Van We to allow the user to adjust the level of immersion); and
in response to receiving the second input, displaying, via the one or more display generation components (display of Van Wie), a system virtual environment control user interface (the virtual environment control element that as shown in fig. 17-19 of Van We to allow the user to adjust the level of immersion) that includes one or more selectable options for changing the current system virtual environment from the first virtual environment to the second virtual environment (from 2D to 3D fig. 18 to fig. 19).
The reason of doing so would have allow the user to select the immersion adjustment control only when the user needs it to avoid distraction.
Regarding claim 18: Van Wie further teaches the method of claim 16, wherein the one or more selectable options for changing the current system virtual environment from the first virtual environment to the second virtual environment include: a first selectable option that is selectable to set the current system virtual environment to the first virtual environment; and a second selectable option
that is selectable to set the current system virtual environment to the second virtual environment (paragraph 0218, 2D mode, 3D mode).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Wie et al US 2009/0254843 in view of Worley US 9,158,115 and Faulkner et al US 20220092862 and further in view of Lafleche et al US 20110289691 and Kweon US 2017/0052393.
Regarding claim 17 : Van Wie does not teach wherein the system virtual environment control user interface includes one or more selectable options for displaying one or more atmospheric effects on one or more portions of a physical environment of the one o more display generation components that is visible via the one or more display generation components.
Kweon teaches wherein the system virtual environment control user interface includes one or more selectable options for displaying one or more atmospheric effects on one or more portions of a physical environment of the display generation component that is visible via the display generation component. (paragraph 54, the weather setting means the parameters for determining various weather environments like a clear day, a cloudy day...in the virtual vision control effect image A.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to have modified Van Wie to further include: wherein the system virtual environment control user interface includes one or more selectable options for displaying one or more atmospheric effects on one or more portions of a physical environment of the one or more display generation components that is visible via the one or more display generation components.
The reason of doing so would have allow the user to control the viewing condition of the virtual content as desired by the user to increase the satisfactory of the user viewing a virtual image.
Claim(s) 20, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Wie et al US 2009/0254843 in view of Worley US 9,158,115 Faulkner et al US 20220092862 and further in view of Lopez US 2016/0085301.
Regarding claim 20: Van Wie as modified by Worley does not teach The method of claim 1, further comprising:
while the system user interface is not displayed and while displaying, via the one or more display generation components, first virtual content, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a second input corresponding to a request to display the system user interface;
in response to receiving the second input, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, the first virtual content and the system user interface;
while the system user interface is not displayed and while displaying, via the one or more display generation components, second virtual content that is different from the first virtual content, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a third input corresponding to a request to display the system user interface; and
in response to receiving the third input, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, the second virtual content and the system user interface.
Lopez, in the same area of displaying HUD (HUD paragraph 0019) teaches HUD only needed when the user is looking at it (paragraph 0024, virtual reality headset may include an eye tracking system...information displayed within a virtual scene may be enhanced when the system detect that the user is looking at it; paragraph 40, adjust the transparency of information on a screen, dim or turn off a display; paragraph 58, HUD 910 on the windshield has increase opacity).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to have modified Van Wie as modified by Worley to include: not to display the HUD when the user is not looking at it while looking at the virtual content and bring the HUD back with the virtual content when the user is looking at the direction of HUD to find the H computing device to interact with and control objects and application displayed on the computing device through the user’s eye movement (paragraph 25) and to avoid distracting the user when the HUD is not needed (paragraph 0020).
Therefore, after combine with the teaching of Lopez, Van Wie system would: while the system user interface (e.g., HUD of fig. 17-19, i.e., 260, 261) is not displayed (260 and 261 will not be displayed when the user is not looking at it after combined with Lopez) and while displaying, via the one or more display generation components (the whole display of fig. 17-19), first virtual content (e.g. see content of fig. 19 other than 260 and 261), receiving, via the one or more input devices (the eye tracking device after combine with Lopez), a second input corresponding to a request to display the system user interface (user looking at the direction of 260 and 261, after combine with Lopez);
in response to receiving the second input, displaying, via the one or more display generation component, the first virtual content and the system user interface (the system will display the virtual content with 260 and 261 in fig. 17-19 if user is looking at 260 and 261 after combine with Lopez);
while the system user interface is not displayed and while displaying, via the one or more display generation components (same logic discussed above applies here), second virtual content that is different from the first virtual content (fig. 17, 18 and 19 showing the system can displayed at least 3 different virtual content), receiving, via the one or more input devices, a third input corresponding to a request to display the system user interface (same logic discussed above applies here); and
in response to receiving the third input, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, the second virtual content and the system user interface (same logic discussed above applies here).
Regarding claim 21, Lopez further teaches the method of claim 20, wherein the second input and the third input correspond to gaze inputs. (eye gaze information, paragraph 40). Also see rejection of claim 20.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KING Y POON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2617