DETAILED ACTION
A. This action is in response to the following communications: Amendment filed: 11/17/2025. This action is made Final.
B. Claims 1-2 and 4-26 remain pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by McLean Melissa et al. (US Pub. 2020/0201529 A1), herein referred to as “McLean”.
As for claim 1, McLean teaches. A method and corresponding device of claim 25 and non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 26 comprising: at an electronic device in communication with a display generation component and one or more input devices (fig. 5A depicts hardware environment including display of electronic device in communications):
while displaying, via the display generation component, a live content item in a playback user interface, wherein the playback user interface is configured to playback content, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a first input corresponding to a request to display one or more controls for controlling playback of the live content item (par. 273; user can select a live stream button to view playback of live content; 1134 and 1136 in the user interface 1104. User interface object 1134 is an affordance corresponding to a live stream mode, and user interface object 1136 is an affordance corresponding to a data save mode. In live stream mode, the views 1120, 1122, and 1124 are displayed in the camera objects 1116 as live video streams);
in response to receiving the first input, displaying, via the display generation component, a scrubber bar for navigating through the live content item and a first visual indicator in the playback user interface, wherein the first visual indicator is displayed in a first visual state and the first visual indicator is separate from the scrubber bar (fig. 12a item 1208 is a timeline that the user can scrub through to view content of a video from a live stream; separate visual indictors are displayed on the bar 1238-a and the one that looks like it previously displayed on the bar 1238-b, inside the bar are individual indicators as well to denote event types; par. 292; alternatively as a different example we have a live indicator on the user interface par. 280 As shown in FIG. 11O, live stream mode is active, as indicated by the user interface object 1134 with “Live stream” in bold; the views displayed in selected camera objects 1116-A and 1116-B are displayed in live stream mode; fig. 12a shows the user interface in landscape mode the and live indicator is shown in bold as well 1296; par. 290);
in response to receiving the first input: displaying, via the display generation component a first selectable option that is selectable to display information corresponding to the live content item; and displaying a second selectable option that is selectable to display one or more representations of one or more second live content items; wherein the first selectable option and the second selectable option are displayed in a predefined region relative to the scrubber bar in the playback user interface (fig. 12a items 1238A-B two distinct visual indicators representing different times within live stream; they are displayed overtop/relative to the scrubber bar on the user interface; there are a many selectable options presented across all the interfaces (i.e. portrait and landscape mode; fig. 11 and 12).
while displaying the scrubber bar and the first visual indicator in the first visual state in the playback user interface, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a second input corresponding to a request to scrub through the live content item (par. 292 second indicators on bar 1208 as 1238-a and the one before it displayed 1238-B fig. 12a); and
in response to receiving the second input: updating a current playback position within the live content item in accordance with the second input (par. 306 item 1236 fig. 12a user can scrub timeline to find a time within the content the user wants to playback); and
displaying the first visual indicator in a second visual state, different from the first visual state, in the playback user interface (fig. 12a 1238a-b are differently displayed along the timeline, these bars display differently based upon detected camera events; for a second example as an alternative the live indicator 1296 is displayed in a static location in bold to denote that the user is currently viewing live content and when the user is not viewing live content is it hidden as shown in fig. 20F-H to left corner of the user interface).
As for claim 2, McLean teaches. The method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, via the one or more input devices, a respective input corresponding to a request to display a second content item in the playback user interface, wherein the second content item is not a live content item; in response to receiving the respective input, displaying, via the display generation component, the second content item in the playback user interface; while displaying the second content item in the playback user interface, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a third input corresponding to a request to display one or more controls for controlling playback of the second content item; and in response to receiving the third input, displaying, via the display generation component, a scrubber bar for navigating through the second content item without displaying the first visual indicator in the playback user interface (fig. 12b item 1241,1246,1244 user is able to select an indicator a thumbnail of the current time position within the timeline is displayed for selection of playback at the given time marker).
As for claim 4, McLean teaches. The method of claim 3, wherein:
the information corresponding to the live content item includes one or more statistics associated with the live content item; and the one or more statistics associated with the live content item are updated based on the current playback position within the live content item (par. 316 statistical information regarding the live stream content is noted and indicated with event type icons; fig. 12E).
As for claim 5, McLean teaches. The method of claim 4, wherein, before receiving the second input corresponding to the request to scrub through the live content item, the information corresponding to the live content item includes one or more first statistics associated with the live content item without including one or more second statistics, different from the one or more first statistics, associated with the live content item, the method further comprising: in response to receiving the second input: updating the information corresponding to the live content item to include the one or more second statistics associated with the live content item (fig. 12E; par. 305,316 user can scrub through timeline and see when event types happen in the live stream and select event type for playback and information about said event type).
As for claim 6, McLean teaches. The method of claim 5, wherein:
in response to detecting the second input: in accordance with a determination that the second input corresponds to a request to scrub backward in the live content item: updating the current playback position within the live content item in accordance with the second input includes updating the current playback position to correspond to a first playback position within the live content item that is a past playback position relative to the current playback position when the second input was received; and
the one or more second statistics associated with the live content item are associated with the past playback position within the live content item (fig. 12b user selecting 1241 with event type icons for statistical information about video clip being shown at 1246).
As for claim 7, McLean teaches. The method of claim 5, wherein:
in response to detecting the second input: in accordance with a determination that the second input corresponds to a request to scrub forward in the live content item: updating the current playback position within the live content item in accordance with the second input includes updating the current playback position to correspond to a first playback position within the live content item that is a future playback position relative to the current playback position when the second input was received; and the one or more second statistics associated with the live content item are associated with the future playback position within the live content item (par. 296 using time marker 1236 to denote playback along timeline with event type icon visualizations (first, second to the nth ) and visualizing future playback position on the timeline).
As for claim 8, McLean teaches. The method of claim 3, wherein the one or more representations of one or more second live content items include: a first subset of the one or more second live content items that are currently available for playback in the playback user interface, wherein selection of a respective representation of a respective live content item in the first subset of the one or more second live content items initiates playback of the respective live content item in the playback user interface; and/or
a second subset of the one or more second live content items that will be available for playback in the future in the playback user interface (fig. 12B first and second subset of selectable content to playback 1238A-B).
As for claim 9, McLean teaches. The method of claim 1, wherein the scrubber bar includes a respective playback time indication that is based on:
a time of day at the electronic device that the live content item was first available for playback in the playback user interface; and the current playback position within the live content item (par. 292 a timeline 1208 for displaying camera events and their corresponding times and durations; a calendar affordance 1230 to jump to a particular calendar day in the timeline 1208; a time scale selector 1231 for selecting a level of detail in the timeline 1208; arrows 1232 and 1234 for scrolling backward and forward in the timeline).
As for claim 10, McLean teaches. The method of claim 9, further comprising: in response to detecting the second input: updating the respective playback time indication in accordance with the updated current playback position within the live content item, wherein the updated respective playback time indication includes an updated time of day at the electronic device at which the playback of the live content item at the updated current playback position within the live content item was first available (par. 292 updated time of day control for user; fig. 13a as additional user interface that shows timed events in a chronological order).
As for claim 11, McLean teaches. The method of claim 1, further comprising: in response to detecting the second input: displaying, via the display generation component, a selectable option with the scrubber bar in the playback user interface, wherein the selectable option is selectable to move the current playback position to a live playback position within the live content item, wherein the selectable option was not displayed when the first visual indicator was displayed in the first visual state (fig. 12a-e it is shown that the timeline renders and not renders specific controls and indications based upon user input at any given time).
As for claim 12, McLean teaches. The method of claim 11, further comprising: while displaying the scrubber bar with the selectable option in the playback user interface, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a third input corresponding to selection of the selectable option; and in response to receiving the third input: updating the current playback position to the live playback position within the live content item (par. 306 moving the 1236 time marker to current desired playback position along the time bar).
As for claim 13, McLean teaches. The method of claim 11, further comprising:
while displaying the scrubber bar that includes the selectable option in the playback user interface, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a third input corresponding to a request to scrub through the live content item; and
in response to receiving the third input, updating the current playback position within the live content item in accordance with the third input, including:
in accordance with a determination that the updated current playback position corresponds to the live playback position within the live content item, ceasing display of the selectable option in the playback user interface; and
in accordance with a determination that the updated current playback position does not correspond to the live playback position within the live content item, maintaining display of the selectable option in the playback user interface (par. 305-306 fig. 12b-c this preview bar 1248 can be rendered and not rendered based upon if the user is playing back current live content or scrubbing backwards in time of the live stream to view highlight thumbnails; FIG. 12C illustrates an example of “scrubbing” the timeline 1208, where the time marker 1236 has been moved to a position over the camera event bar 1238-A. In response to the time marker 1236 being positioned over the camera bar 1238-A, a preview bar 1248 is displayed. The preview bar 1248 includes a chronological sequence of thumbnails 1250 of still frames of the video associated with the camera event 1238-A).
As for claim 14, McLean teaches. The method of claim 1, wherein displaying the scrubber bar in the playback user interface includes displaying a first set of playback controls, including a first navigation option that is selectable to scrub backward in the live content by a predefined amount of time, the method further comprising: in response to receiving the first input: displaying, via the display generation component, the first navigation option that is selectable to scrub backward in the live content by the predefined amount of time in the playback user interface; and displaying a second navigation option for scrubbing forward in the live content item by the predefined amount of time in the playback user interface, wherein the second navigation option is deactivated (par. 305-306 fig. 12b-c various controls and thumbnails can be rendered to aid the user in scrubbing the live stream content being rendered in the playback area of the user interface).
As for claim 15, McLean teaches. The method of claim 14, further comprising: in response to receiving the second input, displaying, via the display generation component, the first navigation option and the second navigation option in the playback user interface, wherein the second navigation option is activated and selectable to scrub forward in the live content item by the predefined amount of time (par. 306 item 1236 time marker allows for the user to navigate live stream content along time bar).
As for claim 16, McLean teaches. The method of claim 1, wherein the scrubber bar includes a selectable option that is selectable to display one or more viewing options for the live content item in the playback user interface, the method further comprising: while displaying the scrubber bar that includes the selectable option, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a sequence of one or more inputs corresponding to selection of a first viewing option of the one or more viewing options for the live content item; and in response to receiving the sequence of one or more inputs: ceasing display of the playback user interface; and displaying, via the display generation component, a respective user interface corresponding to the first viewing option, wherein the respective user interface is configurable to include a plurality of live content items, and displaying the respective user interface includes displaying the live content item in a playback region of the respective user interface (fig. 12b is rendered to the user as preview of thumbnails for user selection, upon which when a user selects a thumbnail the preview window is removed and playback is started at the selected point in time within the live stream; par. 305-306).
As for claim 17, McLean teaches. The method of claim 16, wherein the respective user interface corresponding to the first viewing option includes:
one or more user interface objects corresponding to one or more respective content items; wherein selection of a first user interface object of the one or more user interface objects that corresponds to a first content item of the one or more respective content items initiates playback of the first content item in the playback region of the respective user interface concurrently with the live content item in the playback region of the respective user interface (par.297 and 306; fig. 12a-c concurrently displaying various playback content and previews along with statistical information for the user to be aided in selecting desired content for playback).
As for claim 18, McLean teaches. The method of claim 17, wherein the live content item has a current focus in the playback region in the respective user interface, the method further comprising: while displaying the respective user interface that includes the live content item and the one or more user interface objects corresponding to the one or more respective content items, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a request to move the focus from the live content item to the first user interface object corresponding to the first content item; and in response to receiving the request: moving the current focus from the live content item in the playback region to the first user interface object; and updating display, via the display generation component, of the playback region to concurrently include a placeholder indication of the first content item and the live content item; wherein, while the first user interface object has the current focus, the first user interface object is selectable to concurrently display the live content item and the first content item in the playback region in the respective user interface (par.305-306 user can move the time marker to give focus to along the time bar for area to be played back at during the live stream).
As for claim 19, McLean teaches. The method of claim 17, further comprising: while displaying the respective user interface that includes the live content item and the one or more user interface objects corresponding to the one or more respective content items, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a sequence of one or more inputs corresponding to selection of one or more content items of the one or more respective content items for playback; and
in response to receiving the sequence of one or more inputs: updating display, via the display generation component, of the respective user interface to concurrently display the live content item and the one or more content items selected for playback in the playback region of the respective user interface (par.297 and 306; fig. 12a-c concurrently displaying various playback content and previews along with statistical information for the user to be aided in selecting desired content for playback).
As for claim 20, McLean teaches. The method of claim 19, wherein updating display of the respective user interface to concurrently include the live content item and the one or more content items includes: displaying the live content item and the one or more content items selected for playback in a predefined arrangement in the respective user interface, wherein the live content is displayed at a first predefined location in the respective user interface and a first content item of the one or more content items is displayed at a second predefined location, adjacent to the first predefined location, in the respective user interface (fig. 12c the preview bar shows predefined location to display various thumbnails in chronological order, or predefined, to the user for selection of starting point of playback).
As for claim 21, McLean teaches. The method of claim 19, the method further comprising: while displaying the respective user interface that includes the live content item and the one or more content items selected for playback: in accordance with a determination that the live content item has focus in the respective user interface, outputting audio corresponding to the live content item without outputting audio corresponding to a first content item of the one or more content items selected for playback; and in accordance with a determination that the first content item has the focus in the respective user interface, outputting the audio corresponding to the first content item without outputting audio corresponding to the live content item (par. 237 playback of audio from recorded and live stream).
As for claim 22, McLean teaches. The method of claim 19, further comprising: while displaying the respective user interface that includes the live content item and the one or more content items selected for playback, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a respective input corresponding to selection of a respective content item in the respective user interface; and in response to receiving the respective input: in accordance with a determination that the respective content item is the live content item: ceasing display of the respective user interface; and initiating playback of the live content item in the playback user interface; and in accordance with a determination that the respective content item is a first content item of the one or more content items: ceasing display of the respective user interface; and initiating playback of the first content item in the playback user interface (par. 305-306 fig. 12b-c this preview bar 1248 can be rendered and not rendered based upon if the user is playing back current live content or scrubbing backwards in time of the live stream to view highlight thumbnails; FIG. 12C illustrates an example of “scrubbing” the timeline 1208, where the time marker 1236 has been moved to a position over the camera event bar 1238-A. In response to the time marker 1236 being positioned over the camera bar 1238-A, a preview bar 1248 is displayed. The preview bar 1248 includes a chronological sequence of thumbnails 1250 of still frames of the video associated with the camera event 1238-A).
As for claim 23, McLean teaches. The method of claim 19, further comprising: while displaying the respective user interface that includes the live content item and the one or more content items selected for playback, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a respective input corresponding to a request to navigate away from the respective user interface; and in response to receiving the respective input: ceasing display of the respective user interface; and displaying, via the display generation component, the live content item in the playback user interface at a live playback position within the live content item (par. 305-306 fig. 12b-c this preview bar 1248 can be rendered and not rendered based upon if the user is playing back current live content or scrubbing backwards in time of the live stream to view highlight thumbnails).
As for claim 24, McLean teaches. The method of claim 1, the method further comprising: in response to receiving the first input: displaying a selectable option that is selectable to display one or more representations of one or more second live content items, wherein the selectable option is displayed in a predefined region relative to the scrubber bar in the playback user interface; while displaying the scrubber bar and the selectable option in the playback user interface, receiving, via the one or more input devices, an input of a first type directed to the selectable option; in response to receiving the input of the first type, concurrently displaying, via the display generation component, the one or more representations of the one or more second live content items with the live content item in the playback user interface; while concurrently displaying the one or more representations of the one or more second live content items with the live content item, receiving, via the one or more input devices, an input of a second type, different from the first type, directed to a representation of a respective live content item of the one or more second live content items; and in response to receiving the input of the second type: displaying, via the display generation component, one or more viewing options for the respective live content item in the playback user interface, wherein a first viewing option of the one or more viewing options for the respective live content item is selectable to display a respective user interface corresponding to the first viewing option, including concurrently displaying the live content item and the respective live content item in a playback region of the respective user interface, wherein the respective user interface is configurable to include a plurality of live content items. (par.297 and 306; fig. 12a-c concurrently displaying various playback content and previews along with statistical information for the user to be aided in selecting desired content for playback; user can move the time marker to give focus to along the time bar for area to be played back at during the live stream. Fig. 12b-c this preview bar 1248 can be rendered and not rendered based upon if the user is playing back current live content or scrubbing backwards in time of the live stream to view highlight thumbnails; FIG. 12C illustrates an example of “scrubbing” the timeline 1208, where the time marker 1236 has been moved to a position over the camera event bar 1238-A. In response to the time marker 1236 being positioned over the camera bar 1238-A, a preview bar 1248 is displayed. The preview bar 1248 includes a chronological sequence of thumbnails 1250 of still frames of the video associated with the camera event 1238-A).
(Note:) It is noted that any citation to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006,1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/17/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
A1. Applicant argues that nowhere does McLean disclose displaying a
first visual indication "in a first visual state" in response to "receiving the first input" and displaying the same first visual indication "in a second visual state, different from the first visual state" in response to "receiving the second input".
R1. Examiner does not agree, figure 12a displays items 1238a-b are differently along the timeline, these bars display differently based upon detected camera events; for a second example as an alternative the live indicator 1296 is displayed in a static location in bold to denote that the user is currently viewing live content and when the user is not viewing live content is it hidden as shown in fig. 20F-H to left corner of the user interface.
A2. Applicant states amended claim 1 has been amended to incorporate the subject matter of now-canceled claim 3. Particularly, amended claim 1 requires "displaying, via the display generation component, a first selectable option that is selectable to display information corresponding to the live content item; and displaying a second selectable option that is selectable to display one or more representations of one or more second live content items; wherein the first selectable option and the second selectable option are displayed in a predefined region relative to the scrubber bar in the playback user interface" is not taught by prior art.
R2. Examiner does not agree, figure 12a items 1238A-B two distinct visual indicators representing different times within live stream; they are displayed overtop/relative to the scrubber bar on the user interface; there are a many selectable options presented across all the interfaces (i.e. portrait and landscape mode; fig. 11 and 12). The language ‘relative’ to the scrubber bar would not limit being overlaid/overlap of the scrubber bar.
Examiner recommends clarification amendment to advance prosecution.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquires
/NICHOLAS AUGUSTINE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2178 January 9, 2026