DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1, 21-25 is/are pending.
Claim(s) 1, 21, 23-24 is/are rejected.
Claim(s) 22, 25 is/are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim(s) 2-20 is/are cancelled by Applicant.
Response to Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species (a)(ii) and (b)(ii) and (c)(i) in the reply filed on 01/31/2025 is acknowledged.
The Election of Species Requirement in the previous Office Action 12/03/2025 with respect to species (d) has been withdrawn in view of the Claim Amendments filed 01/31/2025.
Claim(s) 22, 25 is/are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/31/2025.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, the newly added language is nearly illegible because of excessive pixelation.
MPEP 608.01 requires that the specification (including the abstract and claims), and any amendments for applications must have text presented in a form having sufficient clarity and contrast between the paper and the writing thereon to permit the direct reproduction of readily legible copies in any number by use of photographic, electrostatic, photo-offset, and microfilming processes and electronic capture by use of digital imaging and optical character recognition; and only a single column of text. See 37 CFR 1.52(a)
Applicant should carefully review any new submissions to ensure full compliance with legibility requirements (e.g., that ALL text is in black, and not gray or otherwise highlighted; etc.)
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 23-24, the disclosure as originally filed only provides support for: (i) “poly(lactic acid) containing less than 2 wt. % enzymes are depolymerized in days with up to 98% polymer-to-small molecule conversion” only with respect to “days” (i.e., more than 1 day); and (ii) "98% conversion within 24 hours" and ">95% PCL-small molecule conversion in one day" only with respect to a polycaprolactone (PCL)-RHP-BC-lipase composition. However, the specification does not provide support for the recited “~98% conversion within 24 hours” for: (1) other polymers (besides PCL) and other enzymes (besides BC-lipase) (claim 1); or (2) specifically a polylactic acid (PLA) / proteinase K system (claim 21).
Claim(s) 1, 21, 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is vague and indefinite because it is unclear what degree of depolymerization is required to qualify as “substantially complete depolymerization” (as compared to simply “complete depolymerization”).
Claim 1 is vague and indefinite because it is unclear what degree of “microplastics formation” is required to qualify as “without substantial microplastics formation” (e.g., less than 50%? less than 20%? less than 10%? etc.).
Claim 1 is vague and indefinite because it is unclear what degree of “polymer-to-small molecule conversion” is required to qualify as “near-complete polymer-to-small molecule conversion” (as compared to simply “complete polymer-to-small molecule conversion”).
Claim 1 is vague and indefinite because it is unclear what the percentage refers to and what the percentage is based on. For example, does the phrase “0.01 to 1.5 wt %” refer to:
• the amount of the nanoscopic dispersion based on the total amount of plastic, nanoscopic dispersion, and enzyme protectant?
• the amount of the enzyme based on the total amount of plastic, nanoscopic dispersion, and enzyme protectant?
• the amount of the enzyme relative to the amount of enzyme protectant?
• the amount of enzyme based on the amount of nanoscopic dispersion?
Claims 21, 23-24 are dependent on one or more of the above claims and therefore incorporate the above-described indefinite subject matter.
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1, 21 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over:
• claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,281,208 (XU ET AL).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the U.S. Patent claims a method of programmable degradation and microplastic elimination which utilizes a bioactive plastic composition comprising: (i) a polymer; and (ii) a nanoscopic dispersion of hydrolyzing enzymes and random heteropolymers (RHPs) (corresponding to the recited “enzyme protectant”), wherein the bioactive plastic composition can be polylactic acid (PLA) and proteinase K, wherein the enzyme content can be 0.001-1 wt%, and wherein the degradation mechanism can be selective chain end scission.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 (AIA )
Claim(s) 1, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
• DALIBEY ET AL (US 2020/0199354),
in view of RANDOM HETEROPOLYMERS PRESERVE PROTEIN FUNCTION IN FOREIGN ENVIRONMENTS (hereinafter “RANDOM HETEROPOLYMERS”),
and in view of STRUCTURAL EFFECTS OF TERMINAL GROUPS ON NONENZYMATIC AND ENZYMATIC DEGRADATIONS OF END-CAPPED POLY(L-LACTIDE) (hereinafter “STRUCTURAL EFFECTS OF TERMINAL GROUPS”)
DALIBEY ET AL ‘354 discloses a method of controllably degrading a plastic article, wherein the method comprises:
• providing a plastic material (e.g., semi-crystalline polyesters such as polylactic acid (PLA), etc.);
• incorporating a biological entity (e.g., proteinase K, which is an enzyme with a polylactic acid (PLA)-degrading activity) (corresponding to the recited “enzyme is a hydrolase” and “enzyme comprises an active site matched with the polyester backbone”) in the plastic material (e.g., PLA, etc.), wherein:
• the biological entities comprising enzymes which can be encapsulated (e.g., in nanocapsules or cage molecules);
• the biological entities (e.g., enzymes) are preferably present in amounts of 0.01-10 wt% based on the total weight of the plastic article;
• subjecting the degradable plastic article containing biological entities (e.g., enzymes) to biodegradation conditions (e.g., in water, etc.) and/or composting conditions to reduce a substantial amount (e.g., 90 wt%, etc.) of the plastic article to oligomers and/or monomers, water, carbon dioxide or methane, and biomass (corresponding to the recited “incubating the plastic under conditions to effect substantially complete depolymerization of the polymer without substantial microplastics formation with partial polymer degradation”).
(entire document, e.g., paragraph 0007-0013, 0075-0081, 0095-0101, 0173-0174, 0177-0179, 0356-0370, etc.) However, the reference does not specifically discuss the use of random heteropolymer (RHPs) as an enzyme protectant.
RANDOM HETEROPOLYMERS discloses that it is well known in the art to utilize random heteropolymers (RHPs) to encapsulate enzymes in order to form a nanoscopic polymeric shell which: (1) stabilizes and protects the enzyme (e.g., structurally, etc.) from foreign environments (e.g., polymer processing conditions, etc.); and/or (2) adjusts the dispersion and/or solubility characteristics of the enzyme, thereby producing RHP/enzyme complexes with nanoparticle size. (entire document).
STRUCTURAL EFFECTS OF TERMINAL GROUPS provides evidence that it is well known in the art that proteinase K is a known PLLA-degrading endo-type and exo-type enzyme which, as an exo-type enzyme, at least partially functions by reacting with the terminal chain end of PLLA molecules (corresponding to the recited “degraded primarily by chain-end mediated processive depolymerization”) (i.e., the enzymatic degradation reaction primarily occurs at the polymer surface because chain end groups are segregated on the surface). (page 1071, etc.)
Regarding claims 1, 21, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize known RHPs as disclosed in RANDOM HETEROPOLYMERS (corresponding to the recited “enzyme protectant”) to form nano-sized encapsulations and/or cages for PLA-degrading enzymes incorporated into the degradable plastic articles of DALIBEY ET AL ‘354 in order to protect said enzymes from hostile polymer processing conditions (e.g., masterbatch formation by dispersion or dissolution in solvents or melt-blending; polymer compounding conditions (e.g., in an melt-extruder, etc.); etc.) and thereby ensure that the enzymes retain a high level of degradation activity even after incorporation into a variety of plastic articles manufactured by various processing methods.
Further regarding claims 1, since STRUCTURAL EFFECTS OF TERMINAL GROUPS provides evidence that proteinase K is capable of degrading PLA-type resins by reacting with the terminal chain ends of the polymer, the Examiner has reason to believe that a PLA-based plastic articles containing encapsulated proteinase K in accordance with DALIBEY ET AL ‘354, wherein the encapsulated proteinase K is dispersed in the plastic in the form of protected nano-scale RHP-encapsulated particles (as suggested by RANDOM HETEROPOLYMERS) would exhibit a substantial degree of degradation at the polymer chain ends of the plastic (corresponding to the recited “wherein the active site and enzyme-protectant interactions are configured to provide processive depolymerization of the polymer as the primary degradation pathway” and the recited “degraded primarily by chain-end mediated processive depolymerization”) as recited in claim 1, therefore the Examiner has basis for shifting the burden of proof to applicant as in In re Fitzgerald et al., 205 USPQ 594.
Further regarding claim 1, one of ordinary skill in the art would have: (i) selected the type and amount of enzymatic biological entity incorporated into the degradable plastic articles of DALIBEY ET AL ‘354; and (ii) optionally incorporated effective amounts of additional other known biodegradation and/or depolymerization aids into the degradable plastic articles of DALIBEY ET AL ‘354; in order to obtain degradable with adequate physical properties (e.g., tensile strength, flexibility, heat resistance, etc.) and sufficient durability for known end-use applications, combined with, after usage, the desired high degree of biodegradation and/or composting characteristics for specific disposal conditions (corresponding to the recited “programmable degradation of a plastic” and the recited “substantially complete depolymerization of the polymer without substantial microplastics formation with partial polymer degradation: and the recited “programmable latency and material integrity, with near-complete polymer-to-small molecule conversion”).
Claim(s) 1, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
• EMBEDDED ENZYME NANOCLUSTERS DEPOLYMERIZE POLYESTERS VIA CHAIN_END MEDIATD PROCESSIVE DEGRADATION (hereinafter “EMBEDDED ENZYME NANOCLUSTERS”).
EMBEDDED ENZYME NANOCLUSTERS discloses a method of programmable polymer degradation which utilizes a plastic composition comprising: (i) a semi-crystalline polyester (e.g., PLA, etc.); and (ii) a dispersion of enzyme nanoclusters (e.g., comprising proteinase K in amounts of about 0.02 wt% and random heteropolymers (RHPs) (corresponding to the recited “enzyme protectant”)), wherein the bioactive plastic composition can be polylactic acid (PLA) and proteinase K, wherein the plastic composition experiences chain-end mediated processive depolymerization (e.g., in biodegradation and/or composting conditions) and reduces microplastic formation (corresponding to the recited “programmable degradation of a plastic” and the recited “the active site and enzyme-protectant interactions are configured to provide processive depolymerization of the polymer as the primary degradation pathway with expanded substrate selectivity, and incubating the plastic under conditions to effect substantially complete depolymerization of the polymer without substantial microplastics formation with partial polymer degradation”) and the recited “programmable latency and material integrity, with near-complete polymer-to-small molecule conversion”) (entire document)
Regarding claims 1, 21, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize known methods of controllably degrading plastic materials as disclosed in EMBEDDED ENZYME NANOCLUSTERS in order to effectively and selectively degrade plastic composition, while retaining high enzyme activity after exposure to polymer processing conditions.
Further regarding claim 1, one of ordinary skill in the art would have: (i) selected the type and amount of the dispersion of enzyme nanoclusters incorporated into the degradable polyester materials of EMBEDDED ENZYME NANOCLUSTERS; and (ii) optionally incorporated effective amounts of additional other known biodegradation and/or depolymerization aids into the degradable polyester materials of EMBEDDED ENZYME NANOCLUSTERS; in order to obtain degradable with adequate physical properties (e.g., tensile strength, flexibility, heat resistance, etc.) and sufficient durability for known end-use applications, combined with, after usage, the desired high degree of biodegradation and/or composting characteristics for specific disposal conditions (corresponding to the recited “programmable degradation of a plastic” and the recited “substantially complete depolymerization of the polymer without substantial microplastics formation with partial polymer degradation: and the recited “programmable latency and material integrity, with near-complete polymer-to-small molecule conversion”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
DAVE ET AL (US 2008/0086199) and FERREIRA ET AL (US 2014/0302378) disclose plastic articles comprising mixtures of PLA and proteinase K.
GUEMARD ET AL (US 2020/0190279) and GUEMARD ET AL (US 2018/0142097) disclose plastic articles containing nano-encapsulated enzymes.
“Near-complete depolymerization of polyesters with nano-dispersed enzymes” and “Enzymatic Self-Biodegradation of Poly(L-lactic acid) Films by Embedded Heat-Treated and Immobilized Proteinase K” and OKABE ET AL (US 2022/0358727) disclose adjustably degradable resin products containing protected enzymes.
The General Information telephone number for Technology Center 1700 is (571) 272-1700.
February 21, 2026
/Vivian Chen/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787