DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-11 and 13-16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al. (US2006/0009681; hereinafter Tanaka), in view of Morimoto et al. (US 2019/0133558; hereinafter Morimoto).
Regarding claim 1, Tanaka discloses an ultrasonic endoscope. Tanaka shows an ultrasonic endoscope (see abstract; fig. 1) comprising: a radial type ultrasound transducer disposed in a distal end part of an elongated insertion part to be inserted into a subject (see par. [0053], [0057]; fig. 2A, 2B, and 4A), wherein a distal end surface of the distal end part includes, in a case of being viewed from a direction perpendicular to the distal end surface (fig. 3 and 4A), a center surface portion (see combination of elements 11, 11a, and 15 in fig. 4A) positioned on a center side of the distal end surface (see fig. 3 and 4A), and an annular outer peripheral surface portion positioned outside the center surface portion (see 19 in 4A; par. [0056]), an observation window (see 11 in fig. 3; par. [0054]), an illumination window (see 10 in fig. 3; par. [0054], a forceps port (see 15 in fig. 3; par. [0055]), and a nozzle are provided in the center surface portion (see 17 in fig. 3; par. [0055]), the outer peripheral surface portion is a dead space of the distal end surface caused by the ultrasound transducer (see fig. 2A, 2B and 4A), and wherein a longitudinal axis direction of the insertion part is defined as a height direction that is perpendicular to the distal end surface (see fig. 2A, 2B and 4A), a flat surface of the outer peripheral surface portion has a height in the height direction different from a height of a flat surface of the center surface portion in the height direction (4A shows a flat surface of the outer peripheral surface portion 19 has a height in height direction different from a height of a flat surface of the center surface portion, the examiner notes that the any flat surface of outer peripheral surface portion 19 has a height that is different from any flat surface between element 11 and 15).
Furthermore, Tanaka shows wherein the outer peripheral surface includes a nozzle region adjacent to the nozzle (see fig. 3; the examiner notes that the region of outer peripheral right next to nozzle 17 is the at least part of region includes the nozzle adjacent region) and a height of a flat surface of the center surface portion in the height direction (see fig. 4A), but fails to explicitly state that flat surface of the nozzle adjacent region has a height in the height direction lower than the height of the flat surface of the center surface portion in the height direction.
Morimoto discloses an ultrasonic endoscope. Morimoto teaches flat surface of the nozzle adjacent region (see nozzle adjacent region which is side in horizontal direction of nozzle 82) has a height in the height direction lower than the height of the flat surface of the center surface portion in the height direction (fig. 3 shows the side in horizontal direction of nozzle 82 has a height that is lower than height of the flat surface of the center surface portion in height direction).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claim invention, to have utilized the teaching of flat surface of the nozzle adjacent region has a height in the height direction lower than the height of the flat surface of the center surface portion in the height direction in the invention of Tanaka, as taught by Morimoto, to be able to provide a compact nozzle to supply jetted fluid without compromising the size of the distal end of the ultrasonic endoscope.
Regarding claim 2, Tanaka shows wherein the at least part of region of the outer peripheral surface portion includes the nozzle adjacent region adjacent to the nozzle (see fig. 3; the examiner notes that the region of outer peripheral right next to nozzle 17 is the at least part of region includes the nozzle adjacent region).
Regarding claim 4, Tanaka wherein the nozzle adjacent region includes a region from an extending position of a jetting port of the nozzle to a position of the nozzle on a side opposite to the observation window (see fig. 3, 4B and 5A; par. [0055]).
Regarding claim 5, Tanaka shows wherein the at least part of region of the outer peripheral surface portion includes an observation window adjacent region adjacent to the observation window (see fig. 3; the examiner notes that the region of the outer peripheral right next to the observation window 11 is the at least part of region includes the observation window adjacent region).
Regarding claim 6, Tanaka shows wherein the observation window adjacent region has a height lower than the center surface portion (see fig. 3).
Regarding claim 7, Tanaka shows wherein the observation window adjacent region has a height higher than the center surface portion (see fig. 3).
Regarding claim 8, Tanaka shows wherein the observation window adjacent region is positioned on a side opposite to the nozzle with respect to the observation window (see 3, 4a and 5A).
Regarding claim 9, Tanaka shows wherein the observation window adjacent region is a region including a jetting range of a liquid jetted from the nozzle (see 3, 4a and 5A; par. [0055]).
Regarding claim 10, Tanaka shows wherein the observation window adjacent region is a region including a range sandwiched between two virtual tangent lines in contact with an outer periphery of the observation window with a center of the jetting port of the nozzle as a starting point (see fig. 3 and 5A; the examiner notes that from the figures of Tanaka, adding two virtual tangent lines in contact with an outer periphery of the observation window 11 will provide the observation window adjacent region is a region including a range sandwiched between two virtual tangent lines in contact with an outer periphery of the observation window with a center of the jetting port of the nozzle as a starting point).
Regarding claim 11, Tanaka shows wherein the at least part of region of the outer peripheral surface portion includes the nozzle adjacent region adjacent to the nozzle see fig. 3; the examiner notes that the region of outer peripheral right next to nozzle 17 is the at least part of region includes the nozzle adjacent region and an observation window adjacent region adjacent to the observation window (see fig. 3; the examiner notes that the region of the outer peripheral right next to the observation window 11 is the at least part of region includes the observation window adjacent region).
Regarding claim 13, Tanaka shows wherein the outer peripheral surface portion has a chamfer structure in an outer peripheral end portion (see fig. 4A).
Regarding claim 14, Tanaka shows wherein the outer peripheral surface portion is configured with a distal end cap that is a separate member from the center surface portion (see par. [0056]).
Regarding claim 15, Tanaka shows wherein the at least part of region of the outer peripheral surface portion includes a nozzle adjacent region adjacent to the nozzle (see fig. 3; the examiner notes that the region of outer peripheral right next to nozzle 17 is the at least part of region includes the nozzle adjacent region), on the outer peripheral surface portion, a height of the nozzle adjacent region is different from a height of a region of the outer peripheral surface portion other than the nozzle adjacent region (see fig. 3 and 4A).
Regarding claim 16, Tanaka shows wherein the at least part of region of the outer peripheral surface portion includes an observation window adjacent region adjacent to the observation window (see fig. 3; the examiner notes that the region of the outer peripheral right next to the observation window 11 is the at least part of region includes the observation window adjacent region), on the outer peripheral surface portion, a height of the observation window adjacent region is different from a height of a region of the outer peripheral surface portion other than the observation window adjacent region (see fig. 3 and 4A).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al. (US2006/0009681; hereinafter Tanaka), in view of Morimoto et al. (US 2019/0133558; hereinafter Morimoto) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yagami et al. (US 5,546,947; hereinafter Yagami).
Regarding claim 12, Tanaka and Morimoto disclose the invention substantially as described in the 102 rejection above, but fails to explicitly state wherein the at least part of region is different in surface wettability from the center surface portion.
Yagami discloses an ultrasonic endoprobe. Yagami teaches wherein the exterior surface of the endoscope has increased wettability (col. 4, lines 43-60).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teaching of having the exterior surface of the endoscope having increased wettability in the invention of Tanaka and Morimoto, as taught by Yagami, to reduce the sliding friction and makes it easier the insertion of the endoscope into the patient. The examiner notes that upon modification of prior art Tanaka to incorporate the teaching of Yagami would provide the at least part of region is different in surface wettability from the center surface portion.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any rejection applied in the prior office action of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The examiner has provided new prior art Morimoto.
Conclusion
/SHAHDEEP MOHAMMED/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797