DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 5/5/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-20 under 102 and 103have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of amendments made to independent claims 1 and 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 9-10, 17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. Claims 7, 9-10, 17, and 19-20 introduce a “fifth electronic component.” This item is not disclosed in the specification filed 9/25/2023 and therefore would be considered new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8 and 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Matsumoto (WO 2020022180 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Matsumoto teaches a high-frequency module, comprising: a first module substrate (41 first module substrate) including a first major surface (411 main surface) opposite to a second major surface (412 main surface, Fig 3 pg 31); a second module substrate (42 second module substrate) including a third major surface (421 main surface) opposite to a fourth major surface (422 main surface), the third major surface being disposed facing the second major surface (fig 3 pg 31); a plurality of electronic components disposed between the second major surface and the third major surface (Fig 3), on the first major surface (Fig 3), and on the fourth major surface (Fig 3); and a plurality of external connection terminals disposed on the fourth major surface (86 columnar electrodes and 91 mounting electrode, Fig 3), wherein the plurality of electronic components include a first electronic component (Combination of 11 13 and 12) including a first filter (12 transmission filter) coupled to a first power amplifier (11 power amplification element) and a first low-noise amplifier via a first switch (13 transmission matching element), a second electronic component (31 antenna switch) including a second filter coupled to a second low-noise amplifier (pg 6 ¶5), and a third electronic component including: a second switch (22 reception filter) coupled between the first filter and an antenna connection terminal (Fig 3) and between the second filter and the antenna connection terminal (Fig 3); and a switch controller controlling the second switch (21 low noise amplifier, pg 7 ¶7), the first electronic component is disposed one of between the second major surface and the third major surface, on the first major surface, and on the fourth major surface (Fig 3), the second electronic component is disposed in another one of between the second major surface and the third major surface, on the first major surface, and on the fourth major surface (Fig 3), and the third electronic component is disposed in another one of between the second major surface and the third major surface, on the first major surface, and on the fourth major surface (Fig 3)
Regarding claim 2, Matsumoto teaches the high-frequency module according to claim 1, wherein the first electronic component (Combination of 11 13 and 12) is disposed on the first major surface (411 main surface Fig 3).
Regarding claim 3, Matsumoto teaches the high-frequency module according to claim 1, wherein the second electronic component (31 antenna switch) is disposed between the second major surface (412 main surface) and the third major surface (421 main surface Fig 3).
Regarding claim 4, Matsumoto teaches the high-frequency module according to claim 1, wherein the third electronic component (22 reception filter) is disposed on the fourth major surface (422 main surface Fig 3).
Regarding claim 5, Matsumoto teaches the high-frequency module according to claim 1, further comprising: a first ground electrode pattern (61 pattern conductors) within the first module substrate (41 first module substate, Fig 3), wherein the first ground electrode pattern is disposed between the first electronic component and the second electronic component (Fig 3).
Regarding claim 6, Matsumoto teaches the high-frequency module according to claim 1, further comprising: a second ground electrode pattern (62 pattern conductor) within the second module substrate (42 second module substrate, Fig 3), wherein the second ground electrode pattern is disposed between the second electronic component and the third electronic component (Fig 3).
Regarding claim 8, Matsumoto teaches the high-frequency module according to claim 1, wherein the first low-noise amplifier and the second low-noise amplifier are a single same low-noise amplifier (pg 7 ¶9, 21 low noise amplifier).
Regarding claim 11, Matsumoto teaches a high-frequency module, comprising: a module substrate (43 module substrate) including a first major surface (431 main surface) opposite to a second major surface (432 main surface, Fig 4 pg 31); a plurality of electronic components disposed on the first major surface (Fig 4), on the second major surface (Fig 4), and within the module substrate (Fig 4); and a plurality of external connection terminals disposed on the second major surface (86 columnar electrodes and 91 mounting electrode, Fig 4), wherein the plurality of electronic components include a first electronic component (Combination of 11 13 and 12) including a first filter (12 transmission filter) coupled to a first power amplifier (11 power amplification element) and a first low-noise amplifier via a first switch (21 low noise amplifier), a second electronic component (31 antenna switch) including a second filter coupled to a second low-noise amplifier (pg 6 ¶5), and a third electronic component including: a second switch (22 reception filter) coupled between the first filter and an antenna connection terminal (Fig 4) and between the second filter and the antenna connection terminal (Fig 4); and a switch controller controlling the second switch (13 transmission matching element, pg 7 ¶7), the first electronic component is disposed one of on the first major surface, on the second major surface, and within the module substrate (Fig 4), the second electronic component is disposed another one of on the first major surface, on the second major surface, and within the module substrate (Fig 4), and the third electronic component is disposed other one of on the first major surface, on the second major surface, and within the module substrate (Fig 4) ,wherein the plurality of electronic components further includes a fourth electronic component that is disposed between the second major surface (412 main surface, Fig 3 pg 31) and the third major surface (421 main surface, Fig 3), on the first major surface (411 main surface), or on the fourth major surface where the third electronic component is disposed and that includes a fourth switch (13 transmission matching element) connected between the first switch and the first low-noise amplifier (Pg 8 ¶4, pg 7 ¶9, 21 low noise amplifier).
Regarding claim 12, Matsumoto teaches the high-frequency module according to claim 11, wherein the first electronic component (Combination of 11 13 and 12) is disposed on the first major surface (431 main surface Fig 3).
Regarding claim 13, Matsumoto teaches the high-frequency module according to claim 11, wherein the second electronic component (31 antenna switch) is disposed within the module substrate (Fig 4).
Regarding claim 14, Matsumoto teaches the high-frequency module according to claim 11, wherein the third electronic component (22 reception filter) is disposed on the second major surface (432 main surface Fig 4).
Regarding claim 15, Matsumoto teaches the high-frequency module according to claim 11, further comprising: a first ground electrode pattern (63 pattern conductor) within the module substrate (43 module substrate), wherein the first ground electrode pattern is disposed between the first electronic component and the second electronic component (Fig 4).
Regarding claim 16, Matsumoto teaches the high-frequency module according to claim 11, further comprising: a second ground electrode pattern (62 pattern conductor) within the module substrate (43 second module substrate, Fig 4), wherein the second ground electrode pattern is disposed between the second electronic component and the third electronic component (Fig 4).
Regarding claim 18, Matsumoto teaches the high-frequency module according to claim 11, wherein the first low-noise amplifier and the second low-noise amplifier are a single same low-noise amplifier (pg 9 ¶5, 21 low noise amplifier).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/E.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/HUNG S. BUI/Acting Patent Examiner, 2841/2800