DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 and 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Matsumoto (WO 2020022180 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Matsumoto teaches a high-frequency module, comprising: a first module substrate (41 first module substrate) including a first major surface (411 main surface) opposite to a second major surface (412 main surface, Fig 3 pg 31); a second module substrate (42 second module substrate) including a third major surface (421 main surface) opposite to a fourth major surface (422 main surface), the third major surface being disposed facing the second major surface (fig 3 pg 31); a plurality of electronic components disposed between the second major surface and the third major surface (Fig 3), on the first major surface (Fig 3), and on the fourth major surface (Fig 3); and a plurality of external connection terminals disposed on the fourth major surface (86 columnar electrodes and 91 mounting electrode, Fig 3), wherein the plurality of electronic components include a first electronic component (Combination of 11 13 and 12) including a first filter (12 transmission filter) coupled to a first power amplifier (11 power amplification element) and a first low-noise amplifier via a first switch (13 transmission matching element), a second electronic component (31 antenna switch) including a second filter coupled to a second low-noise amplifier (pg 6 ¶5), and a third electronic component including: a second switch (22 reception filter) coupled between the first filter and an antenna connection terminal (Fig 3) and between the second filter and the antenna connection terminal (Fig 3); and a switch controller controlling the second switch (21 low noise amplifier, pg 7 ¶7), the first electronic component is disposed one of between the second major surface and the third major surface, on the first major surface, and on the fourth major surface (Fig 3), the second electronic component is disposed in another one of between the second major surface and the third major surface, on the first major surface, and on the fourth major surface (Fig 3), and the third electronic component is disposed in another one of between the second major surface and the third major surface, on the first major surface, and on the fourth major surface (Fig 3).
Regarding claim 2, Matsumoto teaches the high-frequency module according to claim 1, wherein the first electronic component (Combination of 11 13 and 12) is disposed on the first major surface (411 main surface Fig 3).
Regarding claim 3, Matsumoto teaches the high-frequency module according to claim 1, wherein the second electronic component (31 antenna switch) is disposed between the second major surface (412 main surface) and the third major surface (421 main surface Fig 3).
Regarding claim 4, Matsumoto teaches the high-frequency module according to claim 1, wherein the third electronic component (22 reception filter) is disposed on the fourth major surface (422 main surface Fig 3).
Regarding claim 5, Matsumoto teaches the high-frequency module according to claim 1, further comprising: a first ground electrode pattern (61 pattern conductors) within the first module substrate (41 first module substate, Fig 3), wherein the first ground electrode pattern is disposed between the first electronic component and the second electronic component (Fig 3).
Regarding claim 6, Matsumoto teaches the high-frequency module according to claim 1, further comprising: a second ground electrode pattern (62 pattern conductor) within the second module substrate (42 second module substrate, Fig 3), wherein the second ground electrode pattern is disposed between the second electronic component and the third electronic component (Fig 3).
Regarding claim 7, Matsumoto teaches the high-frequency module according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of electronic components include a fourth electronic component including the first switch (13 transmission matching element) and a switch controller (31 antenna switch) controlling the first switch (pg 8 ¶4), and the fourth electronic component is disposed between the second major surface and the third major surface, on the first major surface, or on the fourth major surface where the third electronic component is disposed (Fig 3).
Regarding claim 8, Matsumoto teaches the high-frequency module according to claim 1, wherein the first low-noise amplifier and the second low-noise amplifier are a single same low-noise amplifier (pg 7 ¶9, 21 low noise amplifier).
Regarding claim 9, Matsumoto teaches the high-frequency module according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of electronic components include a fourth electronic component that is disposed between the second major surface (412 main surface) and the third major surface (421 main surface), on the first major surface (411 main surface), or on the fourth major surface (422 main surface) where the second electronic component is disposed and that includes a third filter (12 transmission filter) coupled to a second power amplifier (11 power amplification element) and a third low-noise amplifier via a third switch (31 antenna switch, pg 7 ¶7).
Regarding claim 11, Matsumoto teaches a high-frequency module, comprising: a module substrate (43 module substrate) including a first major surface (431 main surface) opposite to a second major surface (432 main surface, Fig 4 pg 31); a plurality of electronic components disposed on the first major surface (Fig 4), on the second major surface (Fig 4), and within the module substrate (Fig 4); and a plurality of external connection terminals disposed on the second major surface (86 columnar electrodes and 91 mounting electrode, Fig 4), wherein the plurality of electronic components include a first electronic component (Combination of 11 13 and 12) including a first filter (12 transmission filter) coupled to a first power amplifier (11 power amplification element) and a first low-noise amplifier via a first switch (21 low noise amplifier), a second electronic component (31 antenna switch) including a second filter coupled to a second low-noise amplifier (pg 6 ¶5), and a third electronic component including: a second switch (22 reception filter) coupled between the first filter and an antenna connection terminal (Fig 4) and between the second filter and the antenna connection terminal (Fig 4); and a switch controller controlling the second switch (13 transmission matching element, pg 7 ¶7), the first electronic component is disposed one of on the first major surface, on the second major surface, and within the module substrate (Fig 4), the second electronic component is disposed another one of on the first major surface, on the second major surface, and within the module substrate (Fig 4), and the third electronic component is disposed other one of on the first major surface, on the second major surface, and within the module substrate (Fig 4).
Regarding claim 12, Matsumoto teaches the high-frequency module according to claim 11, wherein the first electronic component (Combination of 11 13 and 12) is disposed on the first major surface (431 main surface Fig 3).
Regarding claim 13, Matsumoto teaches the high-frequency module according to claim 11, wherein the second electronic component (31 antenna switch) is disposed within the module substrate (Fig 4).
Regarding claim 14, Matsumoto teaches the high-frequency module according to claim 11, wherein the third electronic component (22 reception filter) is disposed on the second major surface (432 main surface Fig 4).
Regarding claim 15, Matsumoto teaches the high-frequency module according to claim 11, further comprising: a first ground electrode pattern (63 pattern conductor) within the module substrate (43 module substrate), wherein the first ground electrode pattern is disposed between the first electronic component and the second electronic component (Fig 4).
Regarding claim 16, Matsumoto teaches the high-frequency module according to claim 11, further comprising: a second ground electrode pattern (62 pattern conductor) within the module substrate (43 second module substrate, Fig 4), wherein the second ground electrode pattern is disposed between the second electronic component and the third electronic component (Fig 4).
Regarding claim 17, Matsumoto teaches the high-frequency module according to claim 11, wherein the plurality of electronic components include a fourth electronic component including the first switch (31 antenna switch), and the fourth electronic component is disposed on the first major surface, on the second major surface, or within the module substrate where the third electronic component is disposed (Fig 4).
Regarding claim 18, Matsumoto teaches the high-frequency module according to claim 11, wherein the first low-noise amplifier and the second low-noise amplifier are a single same low-noise amplifier (pg 9 ¶5, 21 low noise amplifier).
Regarding claim 19, Matsumoto teaches the high-frequency module according to claim 11, wherein the plurality of electronic components include a fourth electronic component that is disposed on the first major surface (431 main surface), on the second major surface (432 main surface), or within the module substrate (43 module substrate) where the second electronic component is disposed and that includes a third filter (12 transmission filter) coupled to a second power amplifier (11 power amplification element) and a third low-noise amplifier via a third switch (31 antenna switch, pg 9 ¶5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto in view of Shinozaki et. al (US 20210091807 A1) hereafter referred to as Shinozaki.
Regarding claim 10, Matsumoto teaches the high-frequency module according to claim 9, wherein the first electronic component (11 power amplification element) is disposed on the first major surface (411 main surface), and the fourth electronic component (31 antenna switch) is disposed between the second major surface (412 main surface) and the third major surface (421 main surface).
Matsumoto fails to teach the first power amplifier supports a first power class, the second power amplifier supports a second power class whose maximum output power is lower than a maximum output power of the first power class, the first electronic component is disposed on the first major surface, and the fourth electronic component is disposed between the second major surface and the third major surface. However, Shinozaki teaches the first power amplifier (11 transmission power amplifier) supports a first power class (¶37), the second power amplifier (12 transmission power amplifier) supports a second power class (¶37) whose maximum output power is lower than a maximum output power of the first power class (¶37). Matsumoto and Shinozaki are both in the industry of frequency module communication devices, therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Matsumoto to include the power amplifier structure from Shinozaki in order to allow for precise control of the power class available to the communication device. (Shinozaki ¶31)
Regarding claim 20, Matsumoto teaches the high-frequency module according to claim 19, wherein the first electronic component (11 power amplification element) is disposed on the first major surface (431 main surface), and the fourth electronic component is disposed within the module substrate (43 module substrate).
Matsumoto fails to teach the first power amplifier supports a first power class, the second power amplifier supports a second power class whose maximum output power is lower than a maximum output power of the first power class. However, Shinozaki teaches the first power amplifier (11 transmission power amplifier) supports a first power class (¶37), the second power amplifier (12 transmission power amplifier) supports a second power class (¶7) whose maximum output power is lower than a maximum output power of the first power class (¶37). Matsumoto and Shinozaki are both in the industry of frequency module communication devices, therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Matsumoto to include the power amplifier structure from Shinozaki in order to allow for precise control of the power class available to the communication device. (Shinozaki ¶31).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yamaguchi (WO 2021039068 A1), Mototsugu (JP 2020126921 A), and Furuya (WO 2018110397 A1) teach a high frequency module with a module substrate and a plurality of electronic components mounted on the substrate.
/E.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/HUNG S. BUI/Acting Patent Examiner, 2841/2800