DETAILED ACTION
Claim status
Claims 1-21 are pending
Claims 15-21 are withdrawn
Claims 1-14 are under examination
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of the following invention in the reply filed on 3/26/2026 is acknowledged.
Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.03(a)).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Group I, claims 1-14, drawn to a composition comprising moxifloxacin.
Claims 15-21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "The" corneal storage solution. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation because Claim 13 is an independent claim. In light of the specification, and for the sake of compact prosecution, Claim 13 is being examined as being dependent on Claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kuhn et al., (US 6,916,484, filed 7/25/2000, patented 7/12/2005).
With respect to claims 1 and 3, Khun claims an aqueous pharmaceutical composition comprising from 0.02-2.4% by weight moxifloxacin, and a working Example of 0.2% by weight moxifloxacin (Example 1, and see Claims 1 and 2 of Kuhn).
Although, Kuhn does not use the composition for corneal storage, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In instant case, the composition of Kuhn is an aqueous solution at a physiological osmolarity, can be used clinically and/or as a preservative (col 6, 2nd & 3rd para.). Thus, the composition of Kuhn is capable of storing cornea.
Accordingly, Kuhn anticipates instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lindstrom et al. (US 5,104,787, filed 3/05/1990, patented 4/14/1992), in view of Kuhn et al., (US 6,916,484, filed 7/25/2000, patented 7/12/2005) and Wagner et al. (Clin Opth, 2010, 4:41-45)
In regard to claims 1-7 and 13, Lindstrom teaches an claims a corneal storage solution comprising:
-An aqueous electrolyte solution (e.g., MEM and TC199),
-glycosaminoglycan (e.g., chondroitin sulfate),
-deturgescent agent (e.g,, dextran),
-energy source (e.g., sodium pyruvate),
-buffer system (e.g., HEPES),
-nutrient supplements (e.g., vitamin B12 and non-essential amino acids), and
-antimycotic agent (e.g., amphotericin B at about 0.1 mg/ml (i.e., 0.00010 % w/v)),
(col 7, Description of the Preferred Embodiments, Table I, Formula A, see also Claims 1 and 2). In regard the concentration of amphotericin B as per claim 13, 0.00010 % w/v is about 0.00025% w/v, and MPEP 2144.05(I) states that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close.
However, although Lindstrom teaches the presence of an antibiotic such as gentamicin, they are silent to the antibiotic moxifloxacin.
With respect to instant claims, Khun claims an aqueous pharmaceutical composition comprising about 0.02% by weight moxifloxacin (see Claims 1 and 2 of Kuhn).
Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to prepare the storage composition comprising an antibiotic as taught by Lindstrom and substitute moxifloxacin as the antibiotic as taught by Khun with a reasonable expectation of success. The ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so as taught by Wagner because moxifloxacin is more effective at killing bacteria from the eye than gentamicin (Abstract, p.43, Table 1 and Figs. 1-4).
Hence, the claimed invention as a whole was prima facie obvious in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claims 1, 3, 5-12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sundaresan et al. (Ind J Ophthal, 2019, 67:1579-84), in view of Kuhn et al., (US 6,916,484, filed 7/25/2000, patented 7/12/2005) and Wagner et al. (Clin Opth, 2010, 4:41-45),
In regard to claims 1, 3, 5-12, and 14, Sundaresan teaches the corneal storage solution of Cornisol (Abstract, Fig. 1). Although Sundaresan does not disclose the components, Applicant’s specification in Table 1 evidences that Cornisol comprises:
-An aqueous electrolyte solution (e.g., 0.4% MEM and 0.15% Medium-199),
-glycosaminoglycan (e.g., 2.5% chondroitin sulfate),
-deturgescent agent (e.g,, 1% dextran-40),
-energy source (e.g., 0.111% sodium pyruvate),
-buffer system (e.g., 0.8% HEPES),
-nutrient supplements (e.g., 0.000136% v/v vitamin B12),
- Glutamax (i.e., 1% l-alanyl-L-glutamine-dipeptide), and
-recombinant human insulin at 0.0006% v/v.
However, although Sundaresan teaches the presence of an antibiotic such as gentamicin, they are silent to the antibiotic moxifloxacin.
With respect to instant claims, Khun claims an aqueous pharmaceutical composition comprising about 0.02% by weight moxifloxacin (see Claims 1 and 2 of Kuhn). In regard the concentration of moxifloxacin as per claim 12, 0.02 % w/v is about 0.025% w/v, and MPEP 2144.05(I) states that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close.
Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to prepare the storage composition comprising an antibiotic as taught by Sundaresan and substitute moxifloxacin as the antibiotic as taught by Khun with a reasonable expectation of success. The ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so as taught by Wagner because moxifloxacin is more effective at killing bacteria from the eye than gentamicin (Abstract, p.43, Table 1 and Figs. 1-4).
Hence, the claimed invention as a whole was prima facie obvious in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Examiner Contact Information
/ARTHUR S LEONARD/Examiner, Art Unit 1631