DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-11 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shogo (JP2017-116290A) in view of Smith (US Pub No. 2014/0074667 A1).
As per claim 1, Shogo teaches an information processing system comprising:
a plurality of wireless devices arranged in a real space (paragraph [0015]: NFC tag 21, 22, 23, 24 attached to desk 31, 32, 33, 34 on a floor);
a reading apparatus that includes a reading unit configured to read identification information stored in each wireless device and a measuring unit configured to measure a relative amount of movement in the real space (paragraph [0017]: smartphone 1 with an NFC reader 14; paragraph [0018]: smartphone 1 having acceleration sensor 12); and
a management unit configured to manage a database in which a position in the real space at which each wireless device should be arranged is previously registered in association with identification information of the wireless device (paragraph [0016], [0030] and [0035]),
wherein the reading apparatus is configured to provide the management unit with the identification information read by the reading unit (paragraph [0020]) and movement amount information indicating the amount of movement measured by the measuring unit at the time of the reading (paragraphs [0032] & [0033]), and
the management unit is configured to determine, for two or more wireless devices arranged in the real space, whether a first positional relationship among the two or more wireless devices estimated based on the identification information and the movement amount information matches a second positional relationship among corresponding registered positions stored in the database (paragraph [0022]: database; paragraph [0023]: distance from a first desk 21 to a second desk 22).
Shogo does not expressly teach the corresponding registered positions corresponding to the identification information read from the two or more wireless devices and having been registered in the database before the management unit received the identification information and the movement amount information from the reading apparatus.
Smith teaches the corresponding registered positions corresponding to the identification information read from the two or more wireless devices and having been registered in the database before the management unit received the identification information and the movement amount information from the reading apparatus (paragraph [0036]: stationary RFID reader at known locations reading tag attached to moving assets; paragraph [0037]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to implement the stationary RFID reader as taught by Smith, since Smith states that such a modification would result in determining the location of a tag based on the known location of the stationary RFID reader.
As per claim 2, Shogo in view of Smith further teaches the information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the management unit is configured to,
in a case where it is determined that the first positional relationship does not match the second positional relationship (Shogo, paragraph [0032]), present a result of the determination to a user (Shogo, paragraph [0033]: displays the floor map FM), and
cause the user to perform one or more of:
correction of arrangement of a wireless device in the real space (Shogo, paragraph [0032]);
designation of a wireless device that has been arranged at a corresponding registered position (Shogo, paragraph [0032]); and
designation of a wireless device of which corresponding registered position should be corrected in the database (Shogo, paragraph [0022]: database; paragraph [0032]).
As per claim 3, Shogo in view of Smith further teaches the information processing system according to claim 2, wherein the management unit is configured to, after presenting the result of determination that the first positional relationship does not match the second positional relationship to the user and in a case where a wireless device that has been arranged at a corresponding registered position is designated by the user, further determine, based on comparison between the first positional relationship and the second positional relationship, which wireless device has been incorrectly arranged other than the designated wireless device from among the two or more wireless devices (Shogo, paragraph [0032]: desk 21 position has not changed and desk 25 position has changed).
As per claim 4, Shogo in view of Smith further teaches the information processing system according to claim 2, wherein the management unit is configured to, after presenting the result of determination that the first positional relationship does not match the second positional relationship to the user and in a case where a wireless device of which corresponding registered position should be corrected in the database is designated by the user, correct a registered position corresponding to the designated wireless device to a position estimated based on the first positional relationship (Shogo, paragraph [0022]: database; paragraph [0032]).
As per claim 5, Shogo in view of Smith further teaches the information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the management unit is configured to, in a case where it is determined that the first positional relationship does not match the second positional relationship, correct the corresponding registered position stored in the database such that it matches the first positional relationship (Shogo, paragraph [0032]: update position information for each desk).
As per claim 6, Shogo in view of Smith further teaches the information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the two or more wireless devices includes:
a first type of wireless device arranged in the real space in a fixed manner (Shogo, paragraph [0015]); and
a second type of wireless device that is attached to an item and moves together with the item (Shogo, paragraph [0032]: changing the arrangement position of desk 25);
wherein the management unit is configured to determine, based on comparison between the first positional relationship and the second positional relationship, whether the second type of wireless device has been arranged at a corresponding registered position assuming that the first type of wireless device has been arranged at a corresponding registered position stored in the database (Shogo, paragraph [0032]: position of desk 21 and desk 25 relative to one another).
As per claim 9, Shogo in view of Smith further teaches the information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the database is configured to store a registered position of each wireless device in association with one of a plurality of places within the real space (Shogo, paragraph [0022]: map-storing unit 118), and
the management unit is configured to determine whether the first positional relationship matches the second positional relationship for the two or more wireless devices associated with the same place (Shogo, paragraph [0032]: desk 21 and desk 25 located on the same floor in a building).
As per claim 10, Shogo in view of Smith further teaches the information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the database is configured to further store map information representing maps of places that are associated with the two or more wireless devices (Shogo, paragraph [0022]: map-storing unit 118), and
the management unit is configured to, in a case where it is determined that the first positional relationship does not match the second positional relationship, cause a screen of a user terminal to display, based on the map information, a map of the place on which a position of at least one of the two or more wireless devices is mapped (Shogo, paragraph [0022]: map-generating unit 113; paragraph [0032]: update position location for desk 21 and desk 25).
As per claim 11, Shogo in view of Smith further teaches the information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the wireless device is a radio frequency identification (RFID) tag (Shogo, paragraphs [0015] & [0016]), and
the reading unit of the reading apparatus is configured to emit an electromagnetic wave to a reading range and read the identification information sent back from the RFID tag utilizing energy of the electromagnetic wave (Shogo, paragraph [0014]).
As per claim 14, Shogo teaches an information processing apparatus that manages a database in which a position in a real space at which each of a plurality of wireless devices should be arranged is previously registered in association with identification information of the wireless device (paragraph [0015]: NFC tag 21, 22, 23, 24 attached to desk 31, 32, 33, 34 on a floor), comprising:
a communication unit configured to receive, from a reading apparatus that is capable of reading identification information stored in each wireless device and is capable of measuring relative amount of movement in the real space, the read identification information and movement amount information indicating the amount of movement measured at the time of the reading (paragraph [0017]: smartphone 1 with an NFC reader 14; paragraph [0018]: smartphone 1 having acceleration sensor 12); and
a determination unit configured to determine, for two or more wireless devices arranged in the real space, whether a first positional relationship among the two or more wireless devices estimated based on the identification information and the movement amount information matches a second positional relationship among corresponding registered positions stored in the database (paragraph [0022]: database; paragraph [0023]: distance from a first desk 21 to a second desk 22).
Shogo does not expressly teach the corresponding registered positions corresponding to the identification information read from the two or more wireless devices and having been registered in the database before the communication unit receives the identification information and the movement amount information from the reading apparatus.
Smith teaches the corresponding registered positions corresponding to the identification information read from the two or more wireless devices and having been registered in the database before the communication unit receives the identification information and the movement amount information from the reading apparatus (paragraph [0036]: stationary RFID reader at known locations reading tag attached to moving assets; paragraph [0037]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to implement the stationary RFID reader as taught by Smith, since Smith states that such a modification would result in determining the location of a tag based on the known location of the stationary RFID reader.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shogo in view Smith as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Moetteli (US Pub No. 2020/0219204 A1).
As per claim 7, Shogo in view of Smith teaches the information processing system according to claim 6.
Shogo in view of Smith does not expressly teach wherein an expected position for the second type of wireless device is further registered in the database in association with expected time information, and
the management unit is configured to determine, based on comparison between the first positional relationship and the second positional relationship, whether the second type of wireless device has been arranged at the expected position at a time indicated by the expected time information.
Moetteli teaches wherein an expected position for the second type of wireless device is further registered in the database in association with expected time information, and
the management unit is configured to determine, based on comparison between the first positional relationship and the second positional relationship, whether the second type of wireless device has been arranged at the expected position at a time indicated by the expected time information (paragraph [0294]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement the timed chair arrangement as taught by Moetteli, since Moetteli states in paragraph [0294] that such a modification would result in positioning furniture based on a desired/select event outcome.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shogo in view Smith as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cox et al. (Cox; US Pub No. 2010/0235012 A1).
As per claim 8, Shogo in view of Smith teaches the information processing system according to claim 1.
Shogo in view of Smith does not expressly teach wherein the management unit is configured to determine that the first positional relationship matches the second positional relationship in a case where a misalignment of a position in the first positional relationship with respect to a corresponding registered position in the second positional relationship falls below a tolerance for any wireless device from among the two or more wireless devices.
Cox teaches wherein the management unit is configured to determine that the first positional relationship matches the second positional relationship in a case where a misalignment of a position in the first positional relationship with respect to a corresponding registered position in the second positional relationship falls below a tolerance for any wireless device from among the two or more wireless devices (paragraph [0089]: likelihood a device is positioned relative to a first location is less than a predetermined value).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement the position determination as taught by Cox, since Cox states in paragraph [0089] that such a modification would result in determining whether or not a device is correctly positioned relative to an object.
Claim(s) 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shogo in view of Smith as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ko et al. (US Pub No. 2015/0326704 A1).
As per claim 12, Shogo in view of Smith teaches the information processing system according to claim 1.
Shogo in view of Smith does not expressly teach wherein the measuring unit is configured to measure the relative amount of movement based on sensor data output from a three-axis acceleration sensor, a gyro sensor, and a geomagnetic sensor.
Ko teaches wherein the measuring unit is configured to measure the relative amount of movement based on sensor data output from a three-axis acceleration sensor, a gyro sensor, and a geomagnetic sensor (paragraph [0193]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement the select sensor devices as outlined above and taught by Ko, since the Ko states in paragraph [0193] that the use of the specified combination of sensors is well known in the art.
As per claim 13, Shogo in view of Smith teaches the information processing system according to claim 1.
Shogo in view of Smith does not expressly teach wherein the information processing system comprises:
a server apparatus arranged in a cloud environment and including the management unit,
wherein the reading apparatus is configured to transmit the identification information and the movement amount information to the server apparatus directly or indirectly via another apparatus.
Ko teaches wherein the information processing system comprises:
a server apparatus arranged in a cloud environment and including the management unit (paragraph [0215]),
wherein the reading apparatus is configured to transmit the identification information and the movement amount information to the server apparatus directly or indirectly via another apparatus (paragraph [0215]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement the cloud server as taught by Ko, since Ko states in paragraph [0215] that such a modification is well known in the art for remote storage purposes.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the above claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/NAOMI J SMALL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685