DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Figure 2 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
The Examiner wishes to clarify the interpretation of the claimed limitations.
Claim 1 (and claim 8) include the language of “wherein the at least one heating device is arranged such that, as a result of the arraignment of the at least one heating device, at least one first heating circuit is formed in the tool body.” The claims and the instant specification do not further detail what constitutes a “circuit.”
For purposes continued examination, the Examiner is considering a “circuit” to be a relationship between at least two heating devices that would surround and area. In Figure 4, there are visual depictions of items 624 and 636 that would create a “circuit” of heating around the surface of the tool when inserted into the mold. The configuration of figure 4 is not required but the act of having a heating device on either side of the cavity in order to make a circuit of heating around that working space is going to be the working definition.
The idea of a “circuit” in an electronic sense is not supported. There is no evidence that the items 624 and 636 would connect to create a circuit that would then operate a heater.
If this is not the intended interpretation clarification will be required and supported by the instant specification as understood by the average artisan.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Gonzalez et al, US Patent Publication 2021/0138696.
Regarding claims 1 and 8, Gonzalez teaches a molding tool for producing three-dimensional products (see abstract and figures) from a fiber- containing material (see abstract), having at least one first tool component (item 804 figure 8) and at least one second tool component (802 figure 8 and [0066]), wherein the first tool component and the second tool component each have a tool body [0065], wherein the tool body of the first tool component has at least one cavity (cavity mold 804 [0065-0066 and figure 8), and the tool body of the second tool component has at least one mold part corresponding to the at least one cavity (core mold of 802 I figure 8 and [0065-0066]), wherein the at least one mold part and the at least one cavity can be moved relative to one another to form a mold space between corresponding surfaces of the at least one cavity and the at least one mold part (moved relative to each other by a hydraulic press [0035]) and is configured to be pressed in order to press a fiber-containing material introduced into the mold space [0040-0045 and 0065], and wherein the first tool component and/or the second tool component have at least one heating device (heating elements 812 [0065-0066]), wherein the at least one heating device is arranged such that, as a result of the arrangement of the at least one heating device, at least one first heating circuit is formed in the tool body, and at least one second heating circuit is formed in an associated at least one cavity or mold part [0066].
Gonzalez teaches that the heating elements are built directly into each of the upper and lower mold members and that for the benefit of fine control of the temperature throughout the mold, a plurality of segments can be divided up and independently controlled by heating elements and temperature sensors. The direct teaching of forming pair sectors int eh top and bottom mold member to independently monitor and control the temperature of all parts of the mold cavity will read on the requirements of first and second circuits being formed as a result of the arrangement of the heating devices.
Regarding claim 2, Gonzalez further teaches wherein the at least one heating device has at least one heating element arranged asymmetrically in the tool body and in the associated at least one cavity or mold part (figure 8 has an asymmetrical positioning of the items 812).
Regarding claims 4 and 9, Gonzalez further teaches wherein the at least one heating device has at least one first heating element and at least one second heating element, wherein the at least one first heating element is arranged in the tool body, and the at least one second heating element is arranged in the associated at least one cavity or mold part (see figure 8 for each side being shown a 812 and the open configuration of [0066]).
Regarding claims 7 and 10-11, Gonzalez further teaches wherein at least one heating element of at least one heating device for a cavity or mold part is arranged and/or controllable differently than at least one heating element of at least one heating device for a further cavity or mold part of a first tool component and/or a second tool component ([0066] teaches independent control to achieve the deiced heating of the mold).
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Hagenauer et al, WO2021073674 (using US Patent Publication 2023/0243107 as an English language equivalent).
Regarding claims 1 and 8, Hagenauer teaches a molding tool for producing three-dimensional products (see abstract and figures) from a fiber- containing material (see abstract), having at least one first tool component (item 804 figure 8) and at least one second tool component (Figure 9), wherein the first tool component and the second tool component each have a tool body (figure 9), wherein the tool body of the first tool component has at least one cavity (inner mold item 40 figure 9 and [0109])), and the tool body of the second tool component has at least one mold part corresponding to the at least one cavity (item 41 figure 9 [0109]), wherein the at least one mold part and the at least one cavity can be moved relative to one another to form a mold space between corresponding surfaces of the at least one cavity and the at least one mold part (moved relative to each other hot pressing lower too [0108])) and is configured to be pressed in order to press a fiber-containing material introduced into the mold space (formed part, item 10, [0101 and 0109]), and wherein the first tool component and/or the second tool component have at least one heating device (item 43 figure 9), wherein the at least one heating device is arranged such that, as a result of the arrangement of the at least one heating device, at least one first heating circuit is formed in the tool body, and at least one second heating circuit is formed in an associated at least one cavity or mold part ([0109] and figure 9).
Regarding claim 2, Hagenauer further teaches wherein the at least one heating device has at least one heating element arranged asymmetrically in the tool body and in the associated at least one cavity or mold part (figure 9 has an asymmetrical positioning of the items 43).
Regarding claim 3, Hagenauer further teaches wherein an effective heating surface of the at least one heating element has a larger surface area extension within:
- the tool body relative to a surface area extension within the associated at least one cavity or mold part, or
- at least one cavity or mold part relative to a surface area extension within the tool body (Hagenauer teaches that the central heating cartridge on one side will be oriented different than the up to 6 concentric other heating elements in the other mold member and that the first mold member will have a heating output greater than the second heating output this reads on one being a larger with a larger surface area extension within the mold part).
Regarding claims 4 and 9, Hagenauer further teaches wherein the at least one heating device has at least one first heating element and at least one second heating element, wherein the at least one first heating element is arranged in the tool body, and the at least one second heating element is arranged in the associated at least one cavity or mold part (see figure 9).
Regarding claim 5, Hagenauer further teaches wherein the at least one first heating element and the at least one second heating element have a different heating output due to their configuration [0109].
Regarding claim 6, Hagenauer further teaches having several cavities and associated mold parts, wherein heating elements of the at least one heating device are arranged differently with respect to a position and/or an orientation relative to one another and/or to the associated cavities or mold parts (see figure 9 and [0109]).
Regarding claims 7 and 10-11, Hagenauer further teaches wherein at least one heating element of at least one heating device for a cavity or mold part is arranged and/or controllable differently than at least one heating element of at least one heating device for a further cavity or mold part of a first tool component and/or a second tool component ([0109] teaches independent control to achieve different heating outputs on the different sides of the cavity).
While the Hagenauer reference shares an inventor with the instant application there is no double patenting rejections as the claims are not directed to the same aspects of the invention as the instant application.
Conclusion
JACOB T. MINSKEY
Examiner
Art Unit 1741
/JACOB T MINSKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748