Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/25/23, 11/6/23 and 3/1/24 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10, 12, 15, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Won et al., United States Patent Publication 2015/0065056 (herainfter “Won”).
Claim 1:
Won discloses:
A electronic device, comprising:
one or more processors; a display screen coupled to the one or more processors (see paragraph [0062] and [0063]). Won teaches processors coupled to display devices; and
a memory coupled to the one or more processors, wherein the memory is configured to store instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (see paragraph [0063]). Won teaches a processor connected to memory, cause the electronic device to be configured to:
display a screen of content (see paragraph [0042]) and [0067]). Won teaches displaying content on a screen;
send the first screen content to a display device, a current navigation function of the electronic device is a navigation function in addition to a three-key navigation function (see paragraphs [0042] and [0071]). Won teaches sending the screen content to a display along with an operation and a three-key navigation;
receive a first message sent by the display device, the first message is generated by the display device according to a first operation, the first operation acts on a virtual navigation key, the virtual navigation key is generated by the display device in response to the current navigation function of the electronic device is a navigation function in addition to a three-key navigation function (see paragraph [0070]-[0071] and figure 2). Won teaches receiving a first message sent by the computer generated based on the operation acting on the virtual navigation keys displayed. Won recites The first electronic device transmits second application screen data to the second electronic device, receives user input data from the second electronic device, and changes screen data based on the user input data. According to the change of the screen data, the first and second application screen data may be simultaneously changed and displayed, or only one of the first and second application screen data may be changed and displayed.
perform the navigation function corresponding to the virtual navigation key according to the first message, and adjust the first screen content to a second screen content (see paragraph [0070]-[0071]). Won teaches performing the navigation function corresponding to the virtual keys and the message and adjust the screen;
send the second screen content to the display device, so that the display device displays the second screen content in the screen projection area (see paragraph [0070]-[0071]). Won teaches sending the second screen content to the computer so that it displays the content on the projection.
Claim 2:
Won discloses:
wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the electronic device to be configured to: before receiving a first message sent by the display device, sent a target navigation function identifier to the display device, wherein the target navigation function identifier is used for identifying a current navigation function except a three-key navigation function on the electronic device (see paragraph [0101]). Won teaches identifying the device and configuring the data and application to be suitable for the device by communicating with identifier using the function suitable for the device.
Claim 3:
Won discloses:
the virtual navigation key is in a navigation bar, and the navigation bar is generated by the display device in response to the current navigation function of the electronic device is a navigation function in addition to a three-key navigation function; the navigation bar includes three virtual navigation keys, the first operation acts on one virtual navigation key among the three virtual navigation keys (see figure 2). Won teaches a navigation bar generated based on the navigation function and the three-key navigation using virtual keys.
Claim 4:
Won discloses:
wherein the first message includes a key press instruction (see paragraph [0050], [0059], [0170]). Won teaches the first message includes a key press instruction.
Claim 5:
Won discloses:
wherein the three virtual navigation keys include a menu key, a desktop key and a return key, wherein the menu key corresponds to a navigation function of entering a task menu, the desktop key corresponds to a navigation function of returning to a desktop, and the return key corresponds to a navigation function of returning to an upper level (see paragraphs [0077], [0078], [0079]). Won teaches three navigation keys including a menu key to enter a menu, a desktop key to return to desktop and a return key to return to an upper level.
Claim 6:
Won discloses:
wherein the electronic device and the display device are connected by wired connection or wireless connection (see paragraph [0049]). Won teaches the computer and mobile device can be connected wired or wireless.
Claim 7:
Won discloses:
wherein the first operation is a single-click on the virtual navigation key through a mouse pointer (see paragraph [0044] and [0110]). Won teaches a single click on the virtual keys through a mouse input.
Claim 8:
Won discloses:
wherein the navigation bar is located below the screen projection area (see figure 2). Won teaches the navigation bar is located below the screen projection.
Claim 9:
Won discloses:
wherein the first navigation function comprises a gesture navigation or an out-of-screen physical navigation, and the out-of-screen physical navigation function is implemented by using a physical key (see paragraph [0109] and [0050]). Won teaches a gesture navigation.
Claim 10:
Won discloses:
wherein the display device is a desktop computer or a notebook computer (see paragraph [0074]). Won teaches the display device is a computer.
Claim 12:
Won discloses:
wherein the screen projection window and the navigation bar are located in a same collaborative window (see figure 2). Won teaches the screen projection and the navigation bar are located in the same window.
Claim 15:
Won discloses:
wherein when the first operation is an operation acting on a menu key, the second screen content is a task menu (see paragraph [0077]). Won teaches the operation being a menu for a task;
when the first operation is an operation acting on a desktop key, the second screen content is a desktop (see paragraph [0078]). Won teaches the first operation is a desktop operation;
when the first operation is an operation acting on a return key, the second screen content is the content of an upper level (see paragraph [0079]). Won teaches the a return key operation to return to an upper level.
Claim 19, 20:
Although Claim 19 is a method claim and Claim 20 is a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claim, they are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as the device of Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11, 13, 14, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Won, in view of Yun et al., United States Patent Publication 2012/0088548 (hereinafter “Yun”).
Claim 11:
Won fails to expressly disclose a sliding operation.
Yun discloses:
wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the electronic device to be configured to: after adjust the first screen content to the second screen content, receive a second message sent by the display device, the second message is generated by the display device according to a second operation, and the second operation is an operation that slides inward from the edge of the projection area (see paragraph [0105] and [0106]). Yun teaches receiving a message about a sliding operation;
perform the navigation function corresponding to the second operation according to the second message, and adjust the second screen content to the third screen content (see paragraph [0105] and [0106]). Yun teaches receiving a message about a sliding operation, adjusting the screen based on the sliding operation.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the method disclosed by Won to include a maximize, minimize and close window keys in the projection for the purpose of being user friendly to be more conveniently controlling projections by a user, as taught by Yun.
Claim 13:
Won fails to expressly disclose a title bar with minimize window key, maximize window key and a close window key.
Yun discloses:
wherein the collaborative window comprises a title bar, and the title bar comprises at least a minimized window key, a maximized window key and a close window key (see paragraph [0085]). Yun teaches a maximize, minimize window key and a close key.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the method disclosed by Won to include a maximize, minimize and close window keys in the projection for the purpose of being user friendly to be more conveniently controlling projections by a user, as taught by Yun.
Claim 14:
Won fails to expressly disclose a title bar with minimize window key, maximize window key and a close window key.
Yun discloses:
wherein the title bar is located above the screen projection area (see paragraph [0085]). Yun teaches a maximize, minimize window key and a close key displayed above the screen projection area.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the method disclosed by Won to include a maximize, minimize and close window keys in the projection for the purpose of being user friendly to be more conveniently controlling projections by a user, as taught by Yun.
Claim 16:
Won fails to expressly disclose a navigation identifier.
Yun discloses:
wherein the target navigation function identifier includes any one of a string, a numerical number, a picture, a symbol, or text (see paragraph [0082]). Yun teaches sending a signal with an identifier to indicate the navigation.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the method disclosed by Won to include a navigation identifier for the purpose of being user friendly to be more conveniently controlling projections by a user, as taught by Yun.
Claim 17:
Won fails to expressly disclose a hidden navigation bar.
Yun discloses:
wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the electronic device to be configured to:
when the electronic device is in the three-key navigation function, a fourth screen content is displayed, and the fourth screen content includes an in-screen three-key navigation bar; sent the fourth screen content to the display device, so that the display device displays the fourth screen content on the screen projection area and does not display the navigation bar (see paragraph [0083]). Yun teaches sending information on the screen including executing a specific function to the device where navigations bar is not needed..
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the method disclosed by Won to include a hidden navigation bar for the purpose of being user friendly to be more conveniently controlling projections by a user, as taught by Yun.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Won, in view of Turner et al., United States Patent Publication 20150138213 (hereinafter “Turner”).
Claim 18:
Won fails to disclose gestures including sliding in different directions.
Turner discloses:
wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the electronic device to be configured to:
the electronic device returns to a desktop when the electronic device receives an operation of sliding up from the lower left end of the screen; the electronic device enters a task menu when the electronic device receives an operation of swiping up from the lower left end of the screen and holding for a period of time; and the electronic device returns to an upper level when the electronic device receives an operation of sliding rightward from the leftmost side of the screen of the electronic device (see paragraph [0091]). Turner teaches receiving gestures such as sliding up, swiping up and sliding rightward which can all have different operations .
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the method disclosed by Won to include identifying and executing the operations of different gestures for the purpose of being user friendly to be more conveniently and controlling screen on devices, as taught by Turner.
Conclusion
/TIONNA M BURKE/Examiner, Art Unit 2178 5/15/26