Claims 1-4, 7-10, 13-18 are pending.
RCE dated 06/05/2026 is entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/30/2025 have been fully considered. The amendments to the claims are now addressed by a new section of the reference of record 3GPP TR 23.700-91 V17.0.0 (2020-12), in particular in page 136-0137, which is an extended embodiment to train a Classifier model where the Client NWDAF also transmits semantic information. See the rejection below for details.
In addition, Applicant argues the reference does not disclose the server NWDAF does not “collect” any AI collaboration information, reasoning that the reference never mention any collecting nor does the server perform any collection operation.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant has imposed a much narrower scope than the broadest reasonable interpretation to the term “collect” than the claim language permits. Firstly, in context of a communication networking, a collection point does not necessarily have to perform an active data collection drive, it can simply be a collection point where data are delivered to and aggregated. A demanding for an active data collection drive by the server is unreasonable for the amount of details provided by the claim language. Secondly, in page 136-137, also in particular 6.24.2 clearly shows the server NWDAF does collect local ML information from client instances, and aggregates (i.e. collect) local model information to update ML model.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-10, 13-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP TR 23.700-91 V17.0.0 (2020-12) – IDS entry in view of Sharma et al. (US 2022/0167211).
As to claims 1 and 15:
A method and non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium is configured to store non-transitory stores program instructions, the non-transitory instructions configured to be for being executed by at least one processor to perform operations comprising (Section 6.24 - Federated Learning among Multiple NWDAF Instances with Client NWDAF in collaboration with Server NWDAF. Specifically, see page 136, Fig. 6.24.1.3-1), collecting, by a first communication apparatus, first data information; (See page 136, Fig. 6.24.1.3-1 Step 1-2. Each Client, i.e. NWDAF 1 and NWDAF 2,collects its local data and participates in the model training as defined in steps 7 in Fig. 6.24.1.2-1 in page 134-135. Full reference of page 135 and said figure is incorporated by reference herein)
receiving, by the first communication apparatus, artificial intelligence (Al) collaboration information from a second communication apparatus; (Page 136, step 1, receiving initial Federated Learning data from the server NWDAF, which is described in details in previous page 135, Step 7c, i.e. receiving the initial Federated Learing data at NWDAFs that participate in the Federated learning according to steps 7a and 7b including some parameters (such as initial ML model, data type list, maximum response time window, etc.) to help the local model training for Federated Learning, as well as aggregated training results per iteration it collected.)
and processing, by the first communication apparatus, an Al model of the first communication apparatus based on the first data information and the Al collaboration information. (page 136, Steps 5-8, during Federated Learning training procedure, each Client NWDAF iteratively process an AI model, i.e. the Classifier model, by training the received Classifier model from the server NWDAF based on its own data collected, and initial information and aggregated information per iteration sent by the Server)
sending, by the first communication apparatus to the second communication apparatus, semantic information obtained through the processing of the AI model of the first communication apparatus (Page 136, step 6, the server obtaining trained model result per iteration sent from each Client NWDAF, wherein the sending includes information pertaining the training such as the volume of the local dataset, parameters for updating of the Classifier, namely the information describing the context of the training, i.e. the kind of dataset, what parameters being used))
wherein the Al collaboration information comprises: second data information collected by the second communication apparatus (See page 136, AI collaboration information also include data received in step 7-8, i.e. the server aggregates, i.e. collects, training results to form aggregated model information and sends to each Client. Page 137, the server aggregates AI information i.e. collects)) information related to AI model processing of the second communication apparatus. (See page 136, step 1, initial learning parameters. Also referring to page 135, per description in 7c some parameters (such as initial ML model, data type list, maximum response time window, etc.) to help the local model training for Federated Learning. See also ¶0137, section 6.24.2 including local ML model information collected ).
While 3GPP TR 23.700-91 V17.0.0 refers to the first and second entities in communication as Server/Client NWDAFs without referring to them as the first and second communication devices. However, it is understandable in the art that these Functions are embodied in separate devices.
Sharma, in a related field of federated learning with NWDAFs, discloses that each NWDAFs are embodied in devices (nodes) with process/memory (i.e. CRM) and communication interfaces per ¶0053, 0030, 0090,0092, 0294-0296.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing time of the invention that the NWDAF nodes in 3GPP TR 23.700-91 V17.0.0 are embodied in hardware communication devices. Given Figure 6.24.1.2-1: General procedure for Federated Learning among Multiple NWDAF Instances of 3GPP TR 23.700-91 V17.0.0, or Fig. 1 of Sharma where the central (server) NWDAF and distributed NWDAFs to exchange information over communication links, which indicate they are embodied in separated communication devices, and more so apparent in Sharma (¶0294-0296).
As to claim 7:
A first communication apparatus, comprising: a communication apparatus, and a processing apparatus processor, (Figure 6.24.1.3-1, Client NWDAF) wherein the communication apparatus is configured to collect first data information; (Section 6.24 - Federated Learning among Multiple NWDAF Instances with Client NWDAF in collaboration with Server NWDAF. Specifically, see page 136, Fig. 6.24.1.3-1), collecting, by a first communication apparatus, first data information; (See page 136, Fig. 6.24.1.3-1 Step 1-2. Each Client, i.e. NWDAF 1 and NWDAF 2,collects its local data and participates in the model training as defined in steps 7 in Fig. 6.24.1.2-1 in page 134-135. Full reference of page 135 and said figure is incorporated by reference herein)
the communication apparatus is further configured to receive artificial intelligence (Al) collaboration information from a second communication apparatus; (Page 136, step 1, receiving initial Federated Learning data from the server NWDAF, which is described in details in previous page 135, Step 7c, i.e. receiving the initial Federated Learning data at NWDAFs that participate in the Federated learning according to steps 7a and 7b including some parameters (such as initial ML model, data type list, maximum response time window, etc.) to help the local model training for Federated Learning, as well as aggregated training results per iteration it collected.)
and the processing apparatus processor is configured to process an Al model of the first communication apparatus based on the first data information and the Al collaboration information. (page 136, Steps 5-8, during Federated Learning training procedure, each Client NWDAF iteratively process an AI model, i.e. the Classifier model, by training the received Classifier model from the server NWDAF based on its own data collected, and initial information and aggregated information per iteration sent by the Server)
the first communication apparatus is further considered to send, to the second communication apparatus, semantic information obtained through the processing of the AI model of the first communication apparatus (Page 136, step 6, the server obtaining trained model result per iteration sent from each Client NWDAF, wherein the sending includes information pertaining the training such as the volume of the local dataset, parameters for updating of the Classifier, namely the information describing the context of the training, i.e. the kind of dataset, what parameters being used))
wherein the Al collaboration information comprises: second data information collected by the second communication apparatus (See page 136, AI collaboration information also include data received in step 7-8, i.e. the server aggregates, i.e. collects, training results to form aggregated model information and sends to each Client. Page 137, the server aggregates AI information i.e. collects)) information related to AI model processing of the second communication apparatus. (See page 136, step 1, initial learning parameters. Also referring to page 135, per description in 7c some parameters (such as initial ML model, data type list, maximum response time window, etc.) to help the local model training for Federated Learning. See also ¶0137, section 6.24.2 including local ML model information collected ).
While 3GPP TR 23.700-91 V17.0.0 refers to the first and second entities in communication as Server/Client NWDAFs without referring to them as the first and second communication devices. However, it is understandable in the art that these Functions are embodied in separate devices.
Sharma, in a related field of federated learning with NWDAFs, discloses that each NWDAFs are embodied in devices (nodes) with process/memory and communication interfaces per ¶0053, 0030, 0090,0092, 0294-0296.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing time of the invention that the NWDAF nodes in 3GPP TR 23.700-91 V17.0.0 are embodied in hardware communication devices. Given Figure 6.24.1.2-1: General procedure for Federated Learning among Multiple NWDAF Instances of 3GPP TR 23.700-91 V17.0.0, or Fig. 1 of Sharma where the central (server) NWDAF and distributed NWDAFs to exchange information over communication links, which indicate they are embodied in separated communication devices, and more so apparent in Sharma (¶0294-0296).
As to claims 2, 8, 16:
3GPP TR 23.700-91 V17.0.0 in view of Sharma disclose all limitations of claim 1/7/15, wherein the first communication apparatus comprises:
a first-type communication interface; or a second-type communication interface
(See Sharma, ¶0289,0290, the network node having communication interfaces for exchanging communication with core network or other technology protocols)
wherein the first-type communication interface is useable by the first communication apparatus to receive the AI collaboration information from the second communication apparatus; and the second-type communication interface is configured to transmit the first data information between different functions in the first communication apparatus. (See 3GPP TR 23.700-91 V17.0.0 , Figure 6.24.1.3-1: General procedure for Federated Learning among Multiple NWDAF Instances of 3GPP TR 23.700-91 V17.0.0, or Fig. 1 of Sharma wherein receiving the central (server) NWDAF the AI collaboration information communication links, and to transmit data to other functions via its respective interfaces).
As to claims 3, 9, 17:
3GPP TR 23.700-91 V17.0.0 in view of Sharma disclose all limitations of claim 2/8/16, wherein the first communication apparatus further comprises:
a first AT function, and a first communication function, (See 3GPP TR 23.700-91 V17.0.0 , page 135-136, step 9 corresponding to Figure 6.24.1.2-1 and 6.24.1.3-1, which show Client NWDAF has AI function that retrieves ML model from server via its communication function and train the AI)
, and the second communication apparatus comprises:
a second Al function; and the receiving, by the first communication apparatus, the AI collaboration information from the second communication apparatus comprises:
receiving, by the first AT function, the AT collaboration information from the second function through the first-type communication interface. (See 3GPP TR 23.700-91 V17.0.0 , Figure 6.24.1.2-1, page 135, 7c, which shows the server NWDAF has AI function that sends the initial ML model and other ML data. See step 9 corresponding to Figure 6.24.1.2-1, which shows Client NWDAF has AI function that retrieves ML model from server via its communication function and train the AI)
As to claims 4, 10, 18:
3GPP TR 23.700-91 V17.0.0 in view of Sharma disclose all limitations of claim 2/8/16, wherein the first communication apparatus further comprises: a first Al function, and a first communication function; , (See 3GPP TR 23.700-91 V17.0.0 , page 135-136, step 7-9 corresponding to Figure 6.24.1.2-1, step 5-8 in page 136, which shows Client NWDAF has AI function that collects data and retrieves ML model from server via its communication function and train the AI)
and the collecting, by the first communication apparatus, the first data information comprises: collecting, by the first communication function, the first data information; and sending, by the first communication function, the first data information to the first Al function through the second-type communication interface. ((\See 3GPP TR 23.700-91 V17.0.0 , Figure 6.24.1.2-1, page 135, 7c, which shows the client NWDAF has AI function that collects data locally as well as from NRF and NF via its communication interfaces. See step 9 corresponding to Figure 6.24.1.2-1, which shows Client NWDAF has AI function that retrieves ML model from server via its communication function and train the AI)
As to claim 13:
3GPP TR 23.700-91 V17.0.0 in view of Sharma disclose all limitations of claim 7, wherein the information related to the AI model processing of the second communication apparatus comprises one or more of the following: semantic information obtained through the AI model processing of the second communication apparatus, action information of the second communication apparatus, reward information obtained through action execution by the second communication apparatus, reward information predicted by the second communication apparatus, or preset target information of the second communication apparatus. (See 3GPP TR 23.700-91 V17.0.0 , page 136, step 6, page 135, some parameters (such as initial ML model, data type list, maximum response time window, etc.) to help the local model training for Federated Learning, wherein the maximum response time window is the time window of the server that dictates the maximum allowed period of time for response).
As to claim 14:
3GPP TR 23.700-91 V17.0.0 in view of Sharma disclose all limitations of claim 13, wherein the preset target information of the second communication apparatus comprises one or more of the following information: an energy saving target, a quality of service target, or a reliability target of the second communication apparatus. (See 3GPP TR 23.700-91 V17.0.0 , page 135, wherein the maximum response time window is a reliability indicator imposed by the server that dictates the maximum allowed period of time for response).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20230083982- A communication method includes sending, by a first data analytics network element, a first request to a service discovery network element. The first request requests information about a second data analytics network element. The first request includes one or more of information about distributed learning or first indication information. The information about distributed learning includes a type of distributed learning. The first indication information indicates a type of the second data analytics network element. The method also includes receiving, by the first data analytics network element, information about the second data analytics network element from the service discovery network element. The second data analytics network element supports the type of distributed learning.
/QUAN M HUA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645