DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 4, 10 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities: “modulation and coding scheme MCS” should be replaced with “modulation and coding scheme (MCS)”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 6, 12 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities: “radio resource control RRC message” should be replaced with “radio resource control (RRC) message”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-9, 12, 14-16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US Pub. 2022/0232605).
Regarding claims 1, 7 and 14, Kim teaches a communications method, comprising: sending, by a terminal device, recommendation information to a network device, wherein the recommendation information indicates a recommendation of the terminal device for performing uplink scheduling by the network device (see “UAI for UL Scheduling” in step 615 in Figure 6); and receiving, by the terminal device, a configuration parameter of uplink scheduling from the network device (see “UL Grant” in step 635 in Figure 6).
Regarding claims 2, 8 and 15, Kim teaches he sending the recommendation information includes sending the following for uplink grant-free scheduling (“configured grant” in [0085]): periodicity information or time domain offset information (“the UAI may indicate one or more of a periodicity of uplink traffic, an offset between uplink traffic and a packet arrival” in [0085]).
Regarding claims 3, 9 and 16, Kim teaches the sending the recommendation information includes sending the following for uplink grant-based scheduling: periodicity information of physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring (“Periodicity” 530 in Figure 5) or time domain offset information of PDCCH monitoring (“Time Offset” 510 in Figure 5).
Regarding claims 6, 12 and 19, Kim teaches the sending the recommendation information further includes: sending, by the terminal device, a radio resource control RRC message to the network device, wherein the RRC message includes the recommendation information, and the RRC message is one of the following messages: an RRC connection resume complete message, an RRC connection setup complete message, an RRC connection reconfiguration complete message, and an RRC recommendation message (“sending the UAI to the serving base station (e.g., in uplink control information (UCI), in RRC signaling (e.g., in an information element for UAI)” in [0091]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 5, 10, 11, 13, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. in view of Lei et al. (US Pub. 2021/0337511).
Regarding claims 4, 10 and 17, Kim teaches the limitations in claims 1, 7 and 14 as shown above. Kim, however, does not teach the sending the recommendation information including sending the following for uplink transmission: a number of repetitions, a modulation and coding scheme MCS, or spectral efficiency of an MCS. Lei teaches the sending the recommendation information including sending the following for uplink transmission: a number of repetitions, a modulation and coding scheme MCS, or spectral efficiency of an MCS (“the enhanced UAI 512 may include an indication of the UE preferred bandwidth, modulation and coding scheme (MCS)” in [0086]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim to have the sending the recommendation information including sending the following for uplink transmission: a number of repetitions, a modulation and coding scheme MCS, or spectral efficiency of an MCS as taught by Lei in order to satisfy latency requirements [0086].
Regarding claims 5, 11 and 18, Lei teaches the sending the recommendation information further includes sending: validity time information, probability information, target information, or reward feedback information (“the enhanced UAI indicating a BWP for the target cell” in [0111]).
Regarding claim 13, Lei teaches the determining the configuration parameter includes: determining, by the network device, the configuration parameter based on the recommendation information (“the enhanced UAI transmission indicates a preferred BWP” in [0107]) and a load status of the network device (“the BWPs may be configured for load balancing or for a reduced UE capability” in [0076]).
Conclusion
/CLEMENCE S HAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414