DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-9, 12, 14-16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US Pub. 2022/0232605).
Regarding claims 1, 7 and 14, Kim teaches a communications method, comprising: sending, by a terminal device, recommendation information to a network device, wherein the recommendation information indicates a recommendation of the terminal device for performing uplink scheduling by the network device (“uplink scheduling information 215” in [0085]); and receiving, by the terminal device, a configuration parameter of the uplink scheduling from the network device (“Based on the uplink scheduling information, the base station 105-a may allocate uplink resources, which may be indicated to the UE 115-a in RRC message 220 (e.g., for a configured grant)” in [0085]), the configuration parameter being determined based on the recommendation information, wherein the sending the recommendation information includes sending the following for uplink grant-free scheduling (“configured grant” in [0085]): periodicity information or time domain offset information (“the UAI may indicate one or more of a periodicity of uplink traffic, an offset between uplink traffic and a packet arrival” in [0085]).
Regarding claims 6, 12 and 19, Kim teaches the sending the recommendation information further includes: sending, by the terminal device, a radio resource control (RRC) message to the network device, wherein the RRC message includes the recommendation information, and the RRC message is one of the following messages: an RRC connection resume complete message, an RRC connection setup complete message, an RRC connection reconfiguration complete message, and an RRC recommendation message (“sending the UAI to the serving base station (e.g., in uplink control information (UCI), in RRC signaling (e.g., in an information element for UAI)” in [0091]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 5, 10, 11, 13, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. in view of Lei et al. (US Pub. 2021/0337511).
Regarding claims 4, 10 and 17, Kim teaches the limitations in claims 1, 7 and 14 as shown above. Kim, however, does not teach the sending the recommendation information including sending the following for uplink transmission: a number of repetitions, a modulation and coding scheme (MCS), or spectral efficiency of an MCS. Lei teaches the sending the recommendation information including sending the following for uplink transmission: a number of repetitions, a modulation and coding scheme MCS, or spectral efficiency of an MCS (“the enhanced UAI 512 may include an indication of the UE preferred bandwidth, modulation and coding scheme (MCS)” in [0086]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim to have the sending the recommendation information including sending the following for uplink transmission: a number of repetitions, a modulation and coding scheme MCS, or spectral efficiency of an MCS as taught by Lei in order to satisfy latency requirements [0086].
Regarding claims 5, 11 and 18, Lei teaches the sending the recommendation information further includes sending: validity time information, probability information, target information, or reward feedback information (“the enhanced UAI indicating a BWP for the target cell” in [0111]).
Regarding claim 13, Lei teaches the determining the configuration parameter includes: determining, by the network device, the configuration parameter based on the recommendation information (“the enhanced UAI transmission indicates a preferred BWP” in [0107]) and a load status of the network device (“the BWPs may be configured for load balancing or for a reduced UE capability” in [0076]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/04/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In pages 9-10, the applicant argues that Kim does not teach UAI in Grant-Free Scheduling. Kim teaches UAI in Grant-Free Scheduling (“Based on the uplink scheduling information, the base station 105-a may allocate uplink resources, which may be indicated to the UE 115-a in RRC message 220 (e.g., for a configured grant)” in [0085]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CLEMENCE S HAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414