DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-15 are pending in the present application.
Election/Restrictions
Restriction to one of the following inventions is required under 35 U.S.C. 121:
I. Claims 1-6, drawn to a pharmaceutical composition comprising a TMEM16F inhibitor, an anti-cancer agent and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier , classified in A61K 31/498.
II. Claims 7-15, drawn to a method of treating cancer in a mammal, classified in A61P 35/00.
The inventions are independent or distinct, each from the other because:
Inventions I and II are related as product and process of use. The inventions can be shown to be distinct if either or both of the following can be shown: (1) the process for using the product as claimed can be practiced with another materially different product or (2) the product as claimed can be used in a materially different process of using that product. See MPEP § 806.05(h). In the instant case the process of treating cancer in a mammal can be practiced with another materially different product. Filvaroff et al. (US 10,648,983 B2, published on 05/12/2020) teaches a method of treating cancer via administration of compounds of formula (I). See abstract, col. 2, compound D and compound E from examples 6.1-6.3, fig. 1A and Table 1.
Restriction for examination purposes as indicated is proper because all the inventions listed in this action are independent or distinct for the reasons given above and there would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required because one or more of the following reasons apply:
The inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification.
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of an invention to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected invention.
The election of an invention may be made with or without traverse. To reserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
This application contains claims directed to the following patentably distinct species a TMEM16F inhibitor. The species are independent or distinct because mutually exclusive characteristics for each potential functional group. In addition, these species are not obvious variants of each other based on the current record.
Applicant is required under 35 U.S.C. 121 to elect a single disclosed species, or a single grouping of patentably indistinct species, for prosecution on the merits to which the claims shall be restricted if no generic claim is finally held to be allowable. Currently, claims 1-15 are generic.
There is a serious search and/or examination burden for the patentably distinct species as set forth above because at least the following reason(s) apply: The inventions require different fields of search (searching different groups/subgroups as well as employing different search strategies).
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of a species to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected species or grouping of patentably indistinct species, including any claims subsequently added. An argument that a claim is allowable or that all claims are generic is considered nonresponsive unless accompanied by an election.
The election may be made with or without traverse. To preserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the election of species requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable on the elected species or grouping of patentably indistinct species.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the species, or groupings of patentably indistinct species from which election is required, are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing them to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the species unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other species.
Upon the allowance of a generic claim, applicant will be entitled to consideration of claims to additional species which depend from or otherwise require all the limitations of an allowable generic claim as provided by 37 CFR 1.141.
During a telephone conversation with Sandra Sciascia-Zirger on December 05, 2025 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of Invention I, claims 1-6, as well as a species of “niclosamide”. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action.
As per MPEP 803.02, the examiner will determine whether the entire scope of the claims is patentable. Applicants' elected species is not allowable over the prior art as indicated in the rejection under 35 U.S.C 102.
As the Applicant’s elected species has been found not allowable, the Markush-type claims have been rejected and claims to the nonelected invention held withdrawn from further consideration. Claims 1-6 have been examined to the extent that they embrace and are readable on the elected embodiment and the above identified nonelected species. Claims 1-6 have been found to be not allowable over the prior art.
Claims 7-15 are withdrawn from consideration by the Examiner under 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
The examiner has required restriction between product or apparatus claims and process claims. Where applicant elects claims directed to the product/apparatus, and all product/apparatus claims are subsequently found allowable, withdrawn process claims that include all the limitations of the allowable product/apparatus claims should be considered for rejoinder. All claims directed to a nonelected process invention must include all the limitations of an allowable product/apparatus claim for that process invention to be rejoined.
In the event of rejoinder, the requirement for restriction between the product/apparatus claims and the rejoined process claims will be withdrawn, and the rejoined process claims will be fully examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. Thus, to be allowable, the rejoined claims must meet all criteria for patentability including the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101, 102, 103 and 112. Until all claims to the elected product/apparatus are found allowable, an otherwise proper restriction requirement between product/apparatus claims and process claims may be maintained. Withdrawn process claims that are not commensurate in scope with an allowable product/apparatus claim will not be rejoined. See MPEP § 821.04. Additionally, in order for rejoinder to occur, applicant is advised that the process claims should be amended during prosecution to require the limitations of the product/apparatus claims. Failure to do so may result in no rejoinder. Further, note that the prohibition against double patenting rejections of 35 U.S.C. 121 does not apply where the restriction requirement is withdrawn by the examiner before the patent issues. See MPEP § 804.01.
Priority
The following continuity data is acknowledged in the present application file:
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed 07/24/2024 has been acknowledged by the Examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding the limitation “A TMEM16F inhibitor”, recited in present claim 1 and dependent claims 2-3 and 5, this limitation is interpreted as an intended use for the agents and thus not given patentable weight. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art.
Regarding an intended use limitation, MPEP 2111.02(II) notes:
“If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See Shoes by Firebug LLC v. Stride Rite Children’s Grp., LLC, 962 F.3d 1362, 2020 USPQ2d 10701 (Fed. Cir. 2020)”.
In this situation, the limitation does not affect the structure of particular TMEM16F inhibitors presently claimed. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. The present claims are interpreted for the purposes of applying prior art as a compound or agent as recited in present claims 2-3.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4, line 4, "procarbizine" should read "procarbazine".
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In the present instance, claim 4 recites the broad recitation of anti-cancer agents nitrosoureas and etoposides, and the claim also recites methotrexate, taxol, mercaptopurine, etc., which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. Further, it is unclear which compounds of the nitrosourea genus or etoposide genus are encompassed by the present claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2015/065919 (Gao et al.).
Gao discloses a pharmaceutical composition comprising niclosamide (see present claims 2-3), an anti-cancer agent (which is docetaxel; see present claim 4), and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier. See paragraphs 126-130 and claims 1, 7-8 and 10. Gao discloses the following in paragraph 234:
A typical composition of the present invention for oral or intravenous administration can be about 0.1 to about 10 mg of active ingredient per patient per day; about 1 to about 100 mg per patient per day; about 25 to about 200 mg per patient per day; about 50 to about 500 mg per patient per day; about 100 to about 1000 mg per patient per day; or about 1000 to about 2000 mg per patient per day. Exemplary dosages include, but are not limited to, about 10 mg, 20 mg, 25 mg, 50 mg, 75 mg, 100 mg, 200 mg, 300 mg, 400 mg, 500 mg, 600 mg, 700 mg, 800 mg, 900 mg, 1,000 mg, 1,250 mg, 1,500 mg, 2,000 mg, 2,500 mg, 3,000 mg, or more of the active ingredient per patient per day.
See present claims 5-6.
Regarding the limitation of a TMEM16F inhibitor of the present claims, recited in present claim 1 and dependent claims 2-3 and 5, this limitation is interpreted as an intended use for the agents and thus not given patentable weight. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art.
Regarding an intended use limitation, MPEP 2111.02(II) notes:
“If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See Shoes by Firebug LLC v. Stride Rite Children’s Grp., LLC, 962 F.3d 1362, 2020 USPQ2d 10701 (Fed. Cir. 2020)”.
In this situation, the limitation does not affect the structure of particular TMEM16F inhibitors presently claimed. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. The present claims are interpreted for the purposes of applying prior art as a compound or agent as recited in present claims 2-3. As Gao discloses a composition comprising niclosamide, an anti-cancer agent and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, Gao discloses a composition comprising a TMEM16F inhibitor, an anti-cancer agent and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, as presently claimed.
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2009/148623 A2 (Thompson et al.).
Thompson discloses a pharmaceutical composition comprising niclosamide (see present claims 2-3), an anti-cancer agent (including asparaginase, bleomycin, carboplatin, cisplatin, ifosfamide and vinblastine; see present claim 4), and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier. See claims 18 (page 30, line 2 in particular) and 20.
Thompson discloses where the composition can be formulated for oral dosage form, intravenous dosage form and topical dosage form. See page 21, last paragraph. See present claim 5.
Thompson discloses the following in page 24, first full paragraph:
In general, a suitable daily dose of a compound of the invention will be that amount of the compound that is the lowest dose effective to produce a therapeutic effect. Such an effective dose will generally depend upon the factors described above. Generally, doses will range from about 0.0001 to about 100 mg per kilogram of body weight per day.
See present claim 6.
Regarding the limitation of a TMEM16F inhibitor of the present claims, recited in present claim 1 and dependent claims 2-3 and 5, this limitation is interpreted as an intended use for the agents and thus not given patentable weight. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art.
Regarding an intended use limitation, MPEP 2111.02(II) notes:
“If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See Shoes by Firebug LLC v. Stride Rite Children’s Grp., LLC, 962 F.3d 1362, 2020 USPQ2d 10701 (Fed. Cir. 2020)”.
In this situation, the limitation does not affect the structure of particular TMEM16F inhibitors presently claimed. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. The present claims are interpreted for the purposes of applying prior art as a compound or agent as recited in present claims 2-3. As Thompson discloses a composition comprising niclosamide, an anti-cancer agent and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, Thompson discloses a composition comprising a TMEM16F inhibitor, an anti-cancer agent and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, as presently claimed.
Conclusion
Claims 1-6 are rejected.
Claims 7-15 are withdrawn.
/QUINCY A. MCKOY/
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1626
/KAMAL A SAEED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1626