DETAILED ACTION
Claims status
In response to the application filed on 12/31/2025, claims 1-20 are currently pending for the examination. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-11, 13, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US 2021/0392666 A1) in view of Zhang et al. (US 2025/0193865 A1).
Regarding claim 1; Huang teaches a wireless transmit receive unit (WTRU) comprising: a processor configured to:
receive physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) configuration information (See Fig. 14: receiving a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) indicator that indicates first PUCCH resource for first instance. ¶ [0099]);
receive subband configuration information (See Fig. 14: the first slot type or the second slot type is one of a special slot type or a subband full duplex slot type. ¶ [0075]), the SBFD configuration information indicating one orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols (See Fig. 14: the UE to receive and process OFDM symbols. ¶ [0051]) that are associated with a set of one subbands for uplink transmission and a set of one subbands (See Fig. 7: A slot that provides bidirectional transmission on different subbands within a same component carrier may have a slot type that is referred to as subband full duplex (SBFD). ¶ [0075]) for downlink reception (See Fig. 4, At UE 120, antennas 252 a through 252 r may receive the downlink signals from base station 110 and/or other base stations and may provide received signals to demodulators (DEMODs) 254 a through 254 r, respectively. ¶ [0051])
receive downlink control information (DCI) comprising a first PUCCH resource indicator (PRI) (See Fig. 14: receive, from a base station, a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource indicator, which indicates a first PUCCH resource for a first instance of a repeated PUCCH message, ¶ [0099]);
determine that a PUCCH transmission indicated by the DCI (See Fig. 11: A base station (e.g., gNB) may indicate to a UE which PUCCH resource set to use with three explicit bits in downlink control information (DCI) for a physical downlink shared channel RE mapping indicator and one bit based control channel element index. ¶ [0087]) is to be sent using at least one of the one OFDM symbols (See Fig. 11: FIG. 11 shows an example 1100 of a PUCCH resource set with 8 PUCCH resources. Each PUCCH resource is shown as a configuration of REs within a tone * OFDM symbol grid. In FIG. 11, tones (subcarriers) are shown in a vertical direction, and OFDM symbols are shown in a horizontal direction. ¶ [0088]) that are associated with the set of one subbands for uplink transmission (See Fig. 11: In FIG. 11, tones (subcarriers or subbands) are shown in a vertical direction, and OFDM symbols are shown in a horizontal direction. There are varying “shapes” and “sizes” for an RE configuration. For example, one RE configuration may have a wide rectangular shape and a small quantity of REs, while another RE configuration may have fewer symbols but a large number of subcarriers or subbands. ¶ [0088]) and the set of one subbands for downlink reception indicated by the SBFD configuration information (See Fig. 11: A slot that provides bidirectional transmission on different subbands/subcarriers within a same component carrier may have a slot type that is referred to as subband full duplex (SBFD). ¶ [0075]).
determine, based on a first rule of interpreting the first PRI and the PUCCH configuration information (See Fig. 14: The first PUCCH resource indicator may indicate a first PUCCH resource (which RE configuration to use as a PUCCH resource) for the first slot. UE 1420 may use the first PUCCH resource in the first slot for the first instance of the PUCCH repetition. ¶ [0100]), that a first PUCCH resource indicated by the first PRI (Huang: ¶ [0100]) is included in at least one frequency resource (See Fig. 4: As shown in FIG. 4, time-frequency resources in a radio access network may be partitioned into resource blocks, shown by a single resource block (RB) 405. ¶ [0063]) that is at least partially included in at least one subband of the set of one subbands for uplink transmission (See Fig. 11: ¶ [0075]) and one subband of the set of one subbands for downlink reception (See Fig. 11: A base station (e.g., gNB) may indicate to a UE which PUCCH resource set to use with three explicit bits in downlink control information (DCI) for a physical downlink shared channel RE mapping indicator and one bit based control channel element index. ¶ [0087]) indicated by the SBFD configuration information (See Fig. 8: A network may use different variations of slot patterns. For example, FIG. 8 shows an example 800 of a slot pattern of a special slot, two SBFD slots, and an uplink slot. FIG. 8 shows an example 802 of a slot pattern of a downlink slot, two SBFD slots with a first BWP size for uplink, and an SBFD slot with a second, larger BWP size for uplink. In some aspects, in one SBFD slot, a BWP for uplink may be 80 megahertz (MHz) and a BWP for downlink may be 20 MHz, while in another SBFD slot, a BWP for uplink may be 20 MHz and a BWP for downlink may be 80 MHz. ¶ [0078]);
determine a second PUCCH resource (See Fig. 16: a second PUCCH resource indicator, which indicates a second PUCCH resource for a second instance of the repeated PUCCH message. ¶ [0110]) in response to the determination that the first PUCCH resource indicated by the first PRI (See Fig. 16: in response to the first PUCCH resource indicator, which indicates a first PUCCH resource for a first instance of a repeated PUCCH message, ¶ [0110]) is included in at least one frequency resource that is at least partially included in at least one subband of the set of one subbands for uplink transmission and one subband of the set of one subbands for downlink reception (See Fig. 11: A base station (e.g., gNB) may indicate to a UE which PUCCH resource set to use with three explicit bits in downlink control information (DCI) for a physical downlink shared channel RE mapping indicator and one bit based control channel element index. ¶ [0087]) indicated by the SBFD configuration information (See Fig. 8: A network may use different variations of slot patterns. For example, FIG. 8 shows an example 800 of a slot pattern of a special slot, two SBFD slots, and an uplink slot. FIG. 8 shows an example 802 of a slot pattern of a downlink slot, two SBFD slots with a first BWP size for uplink, and an SBFD slot with a second, larger BWP size for uplink. In some aspects, in one SBFD slot, a BWP for uplink may be 80 megahertz (MHz) and a BWP for downlink may be 20 MHz, while in another SBFD slot, a BWP for uplink may be 20 MHz and a BWP for downlink may be 80 MHz. ¶ [0078]), wherein the second PUCCH resource is determined based on a second rule for interpreting the first PRI and the PUCCH configuration information, the second PUCCH resource (See Fig. 16: a second PUCCH resource indicator, which indicates a second PUCCH resource for a second instance of the repeated PUCCH message as described. ¶ [0110]) being within the set of one subbands for uplink transmission indicated by the SBFD configuration information (See Fig. 16: at step 1630, a second slot (i.e., second frequency) for the second instance (block 1620). For example, the UE (e.g., using receive processor 258, transmit processor 264, controller/processor 280, memory 282) may determine a first slot for the first instance and a second slot for the second instance... ¶ [0112]); and
transmit the PUCCH transmission using the second frequency resource (See Fig. 16: transmitting a second slot (i.e., second frequency) for the second instance (block 1620). For example, the UE (e.g., using receive processor 258, transmit processor 264, controller/processor 280, memory 282) may determine a first slot for the first instance and a second slot for the second instance... ¶ [0112]).
Even though, Huang teaches determining the first PUCCH resource indicator indicated by the DCI and the second PUCCH resource indicator indicated by the DCI, and using a slot that provides bidirectional transmission on different subbands within a same component carrier may have a slot type that is referred to as subband full duplex (SBFD), Huang doesn’t explicitly describe using non-overlapping configuration information.
However, Zhang from the same or similar fields of endeavor further discloses a method of using non-overlapping configuration information (See Figs. 2D and 2E: using non-overlapping full duplex on subband for data transmission. ¶ [0098] and [0116]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide the method of using non-overlapping configuration information as taught by Zhang to have incorporated in the system of Huang, so that it would not only provide to activate more UL resources by full duplex in TDD system but also more UL resources may lead to better UL coverage, lower UL transmission latency and improved UL capability. Zhang: ¶ [0115].
[Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “at least one of”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner].
Regarding claim 3; Huang teaches the WTRU wherein the second rule comprises applying a different mapping for the first PRI to PUCCH resources for transmissions associated with the SFBD configuration information and the first PRI (Huang: See Fig. 17, a first PUCCH resource indicator that indicates the first PUCCH resource for the first instance and a second PUCCH resource indicator that indicates the second PUCCH resource for the second instance (block 1720). For example, the base station (e.g., using transmit processor 220, receive processor 238, controller/processor 240, memory 242) may transmit, to the UE, a first PUCCH resource indicator that indicates the first PUCCH resource for the first instance and a second PUCCH resource indicator that indicates the second PUCCH resource. ¶ [0124]).
Regarding claim 5; Huang teaches the WTRU of claim 1, wherein the second PUCCH resource is in slot symbols (Huang: See Fig. 17, a second PUCCH resource indicator that indicates the second PUCCH resource for the second instance (block 1720). For example, the base station (e.g., using transmit processor 220, receive processor 238, controller/processor 240, memory 242) may transmit, to the UE, a first PUCCH resource indicator that indicates the first PUCCH resource for the first instance and a second PUCCH resource indicator that indicates the second PUCCH resource for the second instance. ¶ [0124]).
Regarding claim 6; Huang teaches the WTRU of claim 1, wherein the PUCCH configuration information comprises a number of transmission repetitions (Huang: UE 1420 may use the first PUCCH resource in the first slot for the first instance of the PUCCH repetition. UE 1420 may use a second PUCCH resource indicated by the second PUCCH resource indicator for transmitting a second instance of the PUCCH repetition in a second slot. ¶ [0100]).
Regarding claim 7; Huang teaches the WTRU wherein the processor is configured to transmit the PUCCH transmission using a frequency domain resource allocation (FDRA) (See Fig. 10: a slot pattern with a variable allocation of SBFD slots. The first three SBFD slots allocate more bandwidth to downlink data, in a contiguous uplink and downlink pattern. FIG. 10 also shows a fourth SBFD slot that allocates more bandwidth to uplink data on a PUSCH. For example, the PUSCH is transmitted on larger BWPs surrounding a smaller BWP for downlink data. ¶ [0084]).
Regarding claim 9; Huang teaches the WTRU of claim 1, wherein the determination of the second PUCCH resource comprises re-indexing PUCCH resources (See Fig. 14: UE 1420 may use a second PUCCH resource indicated by the second PUCCH resource indicator for transmitting a second instance of the PUCCH repetition (i.e., re-indexing) in a second slot. ¶ [0100]).
Regarding claim 10; Huang teaches the WTRU of claim 1, wherein the transmission of the PUCCH transmission is in time units configured for SBFD (See Fig. 4: FIG. 4, time-frequency resources in a radio access network may be partitioned into resource blocks, shown by a single resource block (RB) 405. An RB 405 is sometimes referred to as a physical resource block (PRB). An RB 405 includes a set of subcarriers (e.g., 12 subcarriers) and a set of symbols (e.g., 14 symbols) that are schedulable by a base station 110 as a unit. In some aspects, an RB 405 may include a set of subcarriers in a single slot. As shown, a single time-frequency resource included in an RB 405 may be referred to as a resource element (RE) 410. ¶ [0063]).
Regarding claim 11; Huang teaches a method implemented by a wireless transmit receive unit (WTRU), the method comprising:
receiving physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) configuration information (See Fig. 14: receiving a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) indicator that indicates first PUCCH resource for first instance. ¶ [0099]);
receiving subband configuration information (See Fig. 14: the first slot type or the second slot type is one of a special slot type or a subband full duplex slot type. ¶ [0075]), the SBFD configuration information indicating one orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols (See Fig. 14: the UE to receive and process OFDM symbols. ¶ [0051]) that are associated with a set of one subbands for uplink transmission and a set of one subbands (See Fig. 7: A slot that provides bidirectional transmission on different subbands within a same component carrier may have a slot type that is referred to as subband full duplex (SBFD). ¶ [0075]) for downlink reception (See Fig. 4, At UE 120, antennas 252 a through 252 r may receive the downlink signals from base station 110 and/or other base stations and may provide received signals to demodulators (DEMODs) 254 a through 254 r, respectively. ¶ [0051])
receiving downlink control information (DCI) comprising a first PUCCH resource indicator (PRI) (See Fig. 14: receive, from a base station, a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource indicator, which indicates a first PUCCH resource for a first instance of a repeated PUCCH message, ¶ [0099]);
determining that a PUCCH transmission indicated by the DCI (See Fig. 11: A base station (e.g., gNB) may indicate to a UE which PUCCH resource set to use with three explicit bits in downlink control information (DCI) for a physical downlink shared channel RE mapping indicator and one bit based control channel element index. ¶ [0087]) is to be sent using at least one of the one OFDM symbols (See Fig. 11: FIG. 11 shows an example 1100 of a PUCCH resource set with 8 PUCCH resources. Each PUCCH resource is shown as a configuration of REs within a tone * OFDM symbol grid. In FIG. 11, tones (subcarriers) are shown in a vertical direction, and OFDM symbols are shown in a horizontal direction. ¶ [0088]) that are associated with the set of one subbands for uplink transmission (See Fig. 11: In FIG. 11, tones (subcarriers or subbands) are shown in a vertical direction, and OFDM symbols are shown in a horizontal direction. There are varying “shapes” and “sizes” for an RE configuration. For example, one RE configuration may have a wide rectangular shape and a small quantity of REs, while another RE configuration may have fewer symbols but a large number of subcarriers or subbands. ¶ [0088]) and the set of one subbands for downlink reception indicated by the SBFD configuration information (See Fig. 11: A slot that provides bidirectional transmission on different subbands/subcarriers within a same component carrier may have a slot type that is referred to as subband full duplex (SBFD). ¶ [0075]).
determining, based on a first rule of interpreting the first PRI and the PUCCH configuration information (See Fig. 14: The first PUCCH resource indicator may indicate a first PUCCH resource (which RE configuration to use as a PUCCH resource) for the first slot. UE 1420 may use the first PUCCH resource in the first slot for the first instance of the PUCCH repetition. ¶ [0100]), that a first PUCCH resource indicated by the first PRI (Huang: ¶ [0100]) is included in at least one frequency resource (See Fig. 4: As shown in FIG. 4, time-frequency resources in a radio access network may be partitioned into resource blocks, shown by a single resource block (RB) 405. ¶ [0063]) that is at least partially included in at least one subband of the set of one subbands for uplink transmission (See Fig. 11: ¶ [0075]) and one subband of the set of one subbands for downlink reception (See Fig. 11: A base station (e.g., gNB) may indicate to a UE which PUCCH resource set to use with three explicit bits in downlink control information (DCI) for a physical downlink shared channel RE mapping indicator and one bit based control channel element index. ¶ [0087]) indicated by the SBFD configuration information (See Fig. 8: A network may use different variations of slot patterns. For example, FIG. 8 shows an example 800 of a slot pattern of a special slot, two SBFD slots, and an uplink slot. FIG. 8 shows an example 802 of a slot pattern of a downlink slot, two SBFD slots with a first BWP size for uplink, and an SBFD slot with a second, larger BWP size for uplink. In some aspects, in one SBFD slot, a BWP for uplink may be 80 megahertz (MHz) and a BWP for downlink may be 20 MHz, while in another SBFD slot, a BWP for uplink may be 20 MHz and a BWP for downlink may be 80 MHz. ¶ [0078]);
determining a second PUCCH resource (See Fig. 16: a second PUCCH resource indicator, which indicates a second PUCCH resource for a second instance of the repeated PUCCH message. ¶ [0110]) in response to the determination that the first PUCCH resource indicated by the first PRI (See Fig. 16: in response to the first PUCCH resource indicator, which indicates a first PUCCH resource for a first instance of a repeated PUCCH message, ¶ [0110]) is included in at least one frequency resource that is at least partially included in at least one subband of the set of one subbands for uplink transmission and one subband of the set of one subbands for downlink reception (See Fig. 11: A base station (e.g., gNB) may indicate to a UE which PUCCH resource set to use with three explicit bits in downlink control information (DCI) for a physical downlink shared channel RE mapping indicator and one bit based control channel element index. ¶ [0087]) indicated by the SBFD configuration information (See Fig. 8: A network may use different variations of slot patterns. For example, FIG. 8 shows an example 800 of a slot pattern of a special slot, two SBFD slots, and an uplink slot. FIG. 8 shows an example 802 of a slot pattern of a downlink slot, two SBFD slots with a first BWP size for uplink, and an SBFD slot with a second, larger BWP size for uplink. In some aspects, in one SBFD slot, a BWP for uplink may be 80 megahertz (MHz) and a BWP for downlink may be 20 MHz, while in another SBFD slot, a BWP for uplink may be 20 MHz and a BWP for downlink may be 80 MHz. ¶ [0078]), wherein the second PUCCH resource is determined based on a second rule for interpreting the first PRI and the PUCCH configuration information, the second PUCCH resource (See Fig. 16: a second PUCCH resource indicator, which indicates a second PUCCH resource for a second instance of the repeated PUCCH message as described. ¶ [0110]) being within the set of one subbands for uplink transmission indicated by the SBFD configuration information (See Fig. 16: at step 1630, a second slot (i.e., second frequency) for the second instance (block 1620). For example, the UE (e.g., using receive processor 258, transmit processor 264, controller/processor 280, memory 282) may determine a first slot for the first instance and a second slot for the second instance... ¶ [0112]); and
transmitting the PUCCH transmission using the second frequency resource (See Fig. 16: transmitting a second slot (i.e., second frequency) for the second instance (block 1620). For example, the UE (e.g., using receive processor 258, transmit processor 264, controller/processor 280, memory 282) may determine a first slot for the first instance and a second slot for the second instance... ¶ [0112]).
Even though, Huang teaches determining the first PUCCH resource indicator indicated by the DCI and the second PUCCH resource indicator indicated by the DCI, and using a slot that provides bidirectional transmission on different subbands within a same component carrier may have a slot type that is referred to as subband full duplex (SBFD), Huang doesn’t explicitly describe using non-overlapping configuration information.
However, Zhang from the same or similar fields of endeavor further discloses a method of using non-overlapping configuration information (See Figs. 2D and 2E: using non-overlapping full duplex on subband for data transmission. ¶ [0098] and [0116]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide the method of using non-overlapping configuration information as taught by Zhang to have incorporated in the system of Huang, so that it would not only provide to activate more UL resources by full duplex in TDD system but also more UL resources may lead to better UL coverage, lower UL transmission latency and improved UL capability. Zhang: ¶ [0115].
[Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “at least one of”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner].
Regarding claim 13; Huang teaches the WTRU wherein the second rule comprises applying a different mapping for the first PRI to PUCCH resources for transmissions associated with the SFBD configuration information and the first PRI (Huang: See Fig. 17, a first PUCCH resource indicator that indicates the first PUCCH resource for the first instance and a second PUCCH resource indicator that indicates the second PUCCH resource for the second instance (block 1720). For example, the base station (e.g., using transmit processor 220, receive processor 238, controller/processor 240, memory 242) may transmit, to the UE, a first PUCCH resource indicator that indicates the first PUCCH resource for the first instance and a second PUCCH resource indicator that indicates the second PUCCH resource. ¶ [0124]).
Regarding claim 15; Huang teaches the WTRU of claim 1, wherein the second PUCCH resource is in slot symbols (Huang: See Fig. 17, a second PUCCH resource indicator that indicates the second PUCCH resource for the second instance (block 1720). For example, the base station (e.g., using transmit processor 220, receive processor 238, controller/processor 240, memory 242) may transmit, to the UE, a first PUCCH resource indicator that indicates the first PUCCH resource for the first instance and a second PUCCH resource indicator that indicates the second PUCCH resource for the second instance. ¶ [0124]).
Regarding claim 16; Huang teaches the WTRU of claim 1, wherein the PUCCH configuration information comprises a number of transmission repetitions (Huang: UE 1420 may use the first PUCCH resource in the first slot for the first instance of the PUCCH repetition. UE 1420 may use a second PUCCH resource indicated by the second PUCCH resource indicator for transmitting a second instance of the PUCCH repetition in a second slot. ¶ [0100]).
Regarding claim 17; Huang teaches the WTRU wherein the processor is configured to transmit the PUCCH transmission using a frequency domain resource allocation (FDRA) (See Fig. 10: a slot pattern with a variable allocation of SBFD slots. The first three SBFD slots allocate more bandwidth to downlink data, in a contiguous uplink and downlink pattern. FIG. 10 also shows a fourth SBFD slot that allocates more bandwidth to uplink data on a PUSCH. For example, the PUSCH is transmitted on larger BWPs surrounding a smaller BWP for downlink data. ¶ [0084]).
Regarding claim 19; Huang teaches the WTRU of claim 1, wherein the determination of the second PUCCH resource comprises re-indexing PUCCH resources (See Fig. 14: UE 1420 may use a second PUCCH resource indicated by the second PUCCH resource indicator for transmitting a second instance of the PUCCH repetition (i.e., re-indexing) in a second slot. ¶ [0100]).
Regarding claim 20; Huang teaches the WTRU of claim 1, wherein the transmission of the PUCCH transmission is in time units configured for SBFD (See Fig. 4: FIG. 4, time-frequency resources in a radio access network may be partitioned into resource blocks, shown by a single resource block (RB) 405. An RB 405 is sometimes referred to as a physical resource block (PRB). An RB 405 includes a set of subcarriers (e.g., 12 subcarriers) and a set of symbols (e.g., 14 symbols) that are schedulable by a base station 110 as a unit. In some aspects, an RB 405 may include a set of subcarriers in a single slot. As shown, a single time-frequency resource included in an RB 405 may be referred to as a resource element (RE) 410. ¶ [0063]).
Claims 2, 12, 8, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US 2021/0392666 A1) in view of LEE et al. (US 2024/0313907 A1).
Regarding claims 2 and 12; Huang teaches the WTRU of claim 1, wherein the second rule comprises applying a frequency to the first PUCCH resource (Huang: ¶ [0048]).
Huang doesn’t explicitly provide using frequency offset.
However, LEE teaches using frequency offset (See Fig. 9: for a primary cell (PCell) downlink represents a frequency offset between point A and the lowest subcarrier of the lowest resource block. ¶ [0089]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide the method of using frequency offset as taught by LEE to have incorporated in the system of Huang, so that it would provide an advantage that the amount of transmitted resources increases due to the number of a plurality of layers and thereby a robust channel coding with a low coding rate may be used for a TB, and additionally, because a plurality of TRPs have different channels, it may be expected to improve reliability of a received signal based on a diversity gain. LEE: ¶ [0137].
Regarding claims 8 and 18; Huang in view of LEE teaches the WTRU of claim 1, wherein the DCI indicates that the first PRI is for HARQ-ACK transmission (LEE: identifying a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource for an NACK only-based hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ)-ACK report and a PUCCH resource for a channel state information (CSI) report; and transmitting, to the base station, HARQ-ACK information about the at least one PDSCH in the PUCCH resource for the CSI report on the basis of multiplexing of the NACK only-based HARQ-ACK report with the CSI report. See abstract).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon the rejected base claims but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
In response to the amendment as filed on 12/31/2025, Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but they are not persuasive.
Arguments:
Huang and Zhang, alone or in combination, fail to teach or suggest "determine, based on a first rule of interpreting the first PRI and the PUCCH configuration information, that a first PUCCH resource indicated by the first PRI is included in at least one frequency resource that is at least partially included in at least one subband of the set of one or more subbands for uplink transmission and one subband of the set of one or more subbands for downlink reception indicated by the SBFD configuration information," as recited by independent claim 1 (emphasis added).
Examiner’s responses:
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
At the outset, Applicant does not clearly define what is meant by “at least partially included in a subband.” The term “partially” is broad and encompasses any situation in which a frequency resource overlaps, even in part, with a defined subband. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), “partially included” does not require full containment within a subband. Any overlap between the PUCCH resource frequency allocation and the uplink or downlink subband satisfies the limitation. The claims do not impose any additional structural or numerical constraint on the degree of overlap.
Huang Teaches a first PUCCH resource indicator (PRI) indicating a first PUCCH resource for a first instance of a repeated PUCCH message; A second PRI indicating a second PUCCH resource for a second instance of the repeated PUCCH message; Determining a first slot for a first instance and a second slot for a second instance; and Transmitting the respective instances in their indicated PUCCH resources. Huang further teaches Subband Full Duplex (SBFD) operation. A slot that provides bidirectional transmission on different subbands within the same component carrier may be configured as an SBFD slot. See, e.g.: ¶ [0075] ¶ [0078] ¶ [0099] Fig. 8 (example slot patterns including SBFD slots) Figure 8 illustrates: Special slots, SBFD slots, Uplink slots, Downlink slots, SBFD slots with different uplink BWP sizes. Huang explicitly discloses that: In one SBFD slot, the uplink BWP may be 80 MHz and the downlink BWP 20 MHz; In another SBFD slot, the uplink BWP may be 20 MHz and the downlink BWP 80 MHz (¶ [0075]). Thus, SBFD slots include separate uplink and downlink subbands within the same component carrier. Because PUCCH resources are frequency-domain resources allocated within BWPs, and because SBFD slots define distinct UL and DL BWPs (subbands), any PUCCH resource allocated within the UL BWP necessarily is at least partially included in the UL subband of the SBFD configuration. Likewise, the SBFD slot defines the DL subband for reception. Accordingly, Huang teaches a configuration in which a PUCCH resource indicated by a PRI is included in frequency resources that fall within SBFD-defined uplink subbands while the slot simultaneously includes a downlink subband for reception.
Huang expressly discloses SBFD slots where uplink and downlink transmissions occur simultaneously in different subbands of the same carrier. Thus, the SBFD configuration information defines:
One or more uplink subbands; and
One downlink subband within the same slot.
When the UE interprets the PRI and applies the SBFD configuration, it determines the frequency allocation of the indicated PUCCH resource relative to the SBFD-defined uplink subband.
Zhang further provides Non-Overlapping Full Duplex on Subbands. The rejection further relies on Zhang (US 2025/0193865 A1) to teach and clarify full duplex operation using non-overlapping subbands.
Zhang discloses:
Full duplex operation on a subband basis;
Uplink and downlink transmissions occurring simultaneously in different frequency portions of the same carrier; and
Configuration rules governing the allocation and interpretation of such subband resources.
See, for example:
¶ [0098]: describing full duplex operation using separate subbands for uplink and downlink within a carrier;
¶ [0116]: describing configuration and interpretation of subband-based duplex resource allocations.
Zhang explicitly teaches non-overlapping subband full duplex, where uplink and downlink resources are separated in frequency but coexist within the same carrier and slot structure.
Thus, the UE determines, based on interpreting the PRI and PUCCH configuration information, that the indicated PUCCH resource is included in a frequency resource that is at least partially included in an uplink subband, while the SBFD configuration defines a downlink subband within the same carrier. Zhang reinforces that such subband-based duplex configuration and interpretation is known and rule-based, thereby further supporting the claimed “determine, based on a first rule” limitation. Zhang teaches non-overlapping full duplex subband configuration and rule-based interpretation of such resources.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to apply Zhang’s explicit non-overlapping subband full duplex configuration principles to Huang’s SBFD slot arrangement in order to: Ensure proper duplex separation of uplink and downlink resources; Improve spectral efficiency; and Provide predictable configuration-based interpretation of resource indicators.
Huang teaches SBFD slot structures and PUCCH resource determination based on configuration information.Together, Huang and Zhang teach or render obvious:
Determining, based on interpretation of a PRI and configuration information,
That an indicated PUCCH resource is included in a frequency resource,
That is at least partially included in an uplink subband defined by SBFD configuration,
While the SBFD configuration also defines a downlink subband for reception.
Accordingly, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive, and the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAI AUNG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416