DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kikushima (PG Pub 20200067454).
Considering claim 1, Kikushima (Figures 1-3) teaches a piezoelectric device comprising: a piezoelectric element (10 + paragraph 0028); a package (20 + paragraph 0028) containing at least the piezoelectric element; and a vibration absorber (40 + paragraph 0035) disposed on a mounting component (50 + paragraph 0035), configured to absorb vibration transmitted from the mounting component to the package, and supporting the package, the mounting component being a component to which the package is mounted (paragraph 0035).
Considering claim 2, Kikushima (Figures 1-3) teaches a piezoelectric element (10 + paragraph 0028); an electronic element (60 + paragraph 0035) that drives the piezoelectric element; a first package containing (20 + paragraph 0028) the piezoelectric element and the electronic element; a second package (90 + 80 + paragraph 0051) containing the first package and vibration absorber (40 + paragraph 0035) disposed inside the second package and supporting the first package, the vibration absorber being configured to absorb vibration transmitted from the second package to the first package (paragraph 0035).
Considering claim 3, Kikushima (Figures 1-3) teaches a piezoelectric device comprising: a piezoelectric element (10 + paragraph 0028); a first package (20 + paragraph 0035) containing the piezoelectric element (10 + paragraph 0028); an electronic element (60 + paragraph 0035) that drives the piezoelectric element; a second package (90 + 80 + paragraph 0051) containing the electronic element and the first package; a vibration absorber (40 + paragraph 0035) disposed inside the second package (90 + 80 + paragraph 0051) and supporting the first package, the vibration absorber being configured to absorb vibration transmitted from the second package to the first package (paragraphs 0035-0038).
Considering claim 4, Kikushima (Figures 1-3) teaches wherein the first package comprises a first base (22 + paragraph 0031) to which the piezoelectric element (10 + paragraph 0028) is mounted and a first lid (24 + paragraph 0033) that hermetically seals the piezoelectric element together with the first base, wherein the second package comprises a second base (80 + paragraph 0026) to which the electronic element is mounted and to which the first package is mounted with the vibration absorber (40 + paragraph 0035) interposed between the first package and the second base and a second lid (90 + paragraph 0026) that hermetically seals the electronic element and the first package together with the second base.
Considering claim 5, Kikushima (Figures 1-3) teaches wherein the first package comprises, a first base (22a + paragraph 0029) comprising a first major face and a second major face opposite to the first major face, the first major face being a major face to which the piezoelectric element (10 + paragraph 0028) is mounted, the second major face being a major face to which the electronic element (60 + paragraph 0035) is mounted, a first lid (24 + paragraph 0031) that hermetically seals the piezoelectric element together (10 + paragraph 0028) with the first base, wherein the second package comprises a second base (80 + paragraph 0051) to which the first package is mounted the vibration absorber (40 + paragraph 0035) interposed between the first package and the second base and a second lid (90 + paragraph 0051) that hermetically seals the electronic element and the first package together with the second base (paragraph 0051).
Considering claim 6, Kikushima (Figures 1-3) teaches wherein the first package comprises a first base (22a + paragraph 0029) to which the piezoelectric element (10 + paragraph 0028) is mounted, and a first lid (24 + paragraph 0033) that hermetically seals the piezoelectric element together with the first base and wherein the second package comprises a second base (80 + paragraph 0026) to which the electronic element (60 + paragraph 0026) with the first package secured to the electronic element is mounted, the first package being secured to the electronic element with the vibration absorber (40 + paragraph 0026) interposed between the first package and the electronic element, and a second lid (90 + paragraph 0026) that hermetically seals the electronic element and the first package together with the second base.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kikushima (PG Pub 20200067454) and in view of Nagano (US PN 5,616,981).
Considering claim 7, Kikushima teaches the vibration absorber as described above.
However, Kikushima does not teach wherein the vibration absorber comprises a gel material.
Nagano teaches wherein the vibration absorber comprises a gel material (abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the vibration absorber comprises a gel material into Kikushima’s device for the benefit of using a common and well-known material on the bsis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Conclusion
/BRYAN P GORDON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837