DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0330191) in view of Hu et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2025/0093522).
Regarding claim 1, Shin teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (Figs. 7B, 12), the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station, a first system information block (SIB) associated with satellite assistance information (UE receives, via SIB, satellite assistance info from BS [Paragraphs 9-10, 172-173, 179-180, 185-186, 220]), the first SIB including first information on serving cell ephemeris (the assistance info comprises info about serving cell ephemeris [Paragraphs 171-172, 220]) and second information on a validity duration of the serving cell ephemeris (the assistance info also comprises duration period of the cell ephemeris [Paragraph 178, 182]); and
receiving, from the base station, a second system information block (SIB) associated with neighbor satellite information based on a first timer with a duration of the validity duration of the serving cell ephemeris (the UE also receives from the BS, via SIB, secondary info about neighbor satellite; where the secondary info comprises a first timer that lasts as the duration of the ephemeris of the serving cell [Paragraph 220, 231, 246]) and a second timer (the secondary info also comprises a second timer [Paragraphs 189, 191]) [(the secondary info, via the SIB, comprises ephemeris of the second cell [Paragraphs 182, 191, 220]).
However, Shin does not explicitly mention: [second timer] for an acquisition of the first SIB before a radio link failure (RLF).
Hu teaches, in a similar field of endeavor of communication systems, the following:
[second timer] for an acquisition of the first SIB before a radio link failure (RLF) (it is being disclosed that, information on cell ephemeris comprises a timer for acquisition of the SIB before RLF takes place. Hence, a person having ordinary skills in the art would recognize that similar process takes places on second timer of the primary reference Shin [Paragraphs 4, 198, 274]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system (as taught by Shin) by acquiring SIB before RLF (as taught by Hu) for the purpose of properly reading data included in the SIBs (Hu – Paragraph 5).
Regarding claim 2, Shin further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein a validity duration of the neighbor cell ephemeris is same as the validity duration of the serving cell ephemeris (duration of the timers for first and second cells are the same [Paragraph 180]).
Regarding claim 3, Shin further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein a validity duration of the neighbor cell ephemeris is identified based on the second timer (secondary ephemeris’ duration is established based on the second timer [Paragraph 182]).
Regarding claim 4, Shin further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein a validity duration of the neighbor cell ephemeris is explicitly signaled (secondary ephemeris’ duration is explicitly signaled and established [Paragraph 183]).
Regarding claims 5-8, these claims are rejected as applied to claims 1-4.
Regarding claims 9-12, these claims are rejected as applied to claims 1-4.
Regarding claims 13-16, these claims are rejected as applied to claims 1-4.
Regarding claims 17-20, these claims are rejected as applied to claims 1-4.
Conclusion
April 3, 2026
/FABRICIO R MURILLO GARCIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2633