DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “plurality of through-holes having different diameters with each other”, “axis of a largest through-hole” and “convex curved surface” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The amendment filed 09/11/2025 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows:
“the gear case comprising a plurality of through-holes having different diameters with each other”;
“wherein the motor case is provided at a position offset from an axis of a largest through- hole in the plurality of through-holes provided in the gear case”;
“a surface of the knuckle on a gear case side is a convex curved surface and does not have any protrusions”;
“wherein the motor case is provided on an opposite side of the convex curved surface of the knuckle”;
“wherein the motor case has a portion that does not overlap with the gear case in a view of a direction of the axis of the largest through-hole”
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The Specification fails to provide the required written description for:
“the gear case comprising a plurality of through-holes having different diameters with each other”;
“wherein the motor case is provided at a position offset from an axis of a largest through- hole in the plurality of through-holes provided in the gear case”;
“a surface of the knuckle on a gear case side is a convex curved surface and does not have any protrusions”;
“wherein the motor case is provided on an opposite side of the convex curved surface of the knuckle”;
“wherein the motor case has a portion that does not overlap with the gear case in a view of a direction of the axis of the largest through-hole”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawasaki et al. (US 8,910,735) in view of Terada et al. (JP 2016067158).
With respect to claims 1 and 8, Kawasaki et al. teach an in-wheel motor unit comprising a motor case (Fig.5, Item 67) that accommodates a motor; a gear case (Fig.5, Item 68) disposed adjacent to the motor case, the gear case comprising a plurality of through-holes having different diameters with each other (Fig.5, spaces accommodating i.e. the gear Item 77, bearings and output shaft Item 59); and a knuckle (Figs.5 and 6, Item 43L) with the gear case (Fig.5, Item 68), wherein the motor case (Fig.5, Item 67) is provided at a position offset from an axis (imaginary line extending over the length of Item 59) of a largest through- hole in the plurality of through-holes provided in the gear case (Fig.5, Item 68); but fail to particularly disclosed wherein the knuckle is integrally configured with the gear case.
On the other hand, Terada et al. teach an in-wheel motor unit (Figs.1 and 4, Item 21) comprising a motor case (Fig.4, Item 22a); a gear case (Fig.4, Item 22b) disposed adjacent to the motor case; and a knuckle (Fig.4, Item 11) integrally configured with the gear case (Specification § starting with “As shown schematically in FIGS.3 to 5, the knuckle arm 11”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the Kawasaki et al. knuckle to be integral to the gear case as taught by Terada et al. because it would facilitate the assembly of the in-wheel motor components by simplifying the number of components to handle and would provide structural stability, rigidity and/or strength by eliminating the use of attaching means. Furthermore, it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1893).
With respect to claims 2, 7 and 8, Kawasaki et al. teach wherein the knuckle (Figs.5 and 6, Item 48) is provided between the motor case (Fig.5, Item 67) and the gear case (Fig.5, Item 68).
With respect to claims 3 and 7, Terada et al. teach wherein a surface of the knuckle on a gear case side is a convex curved surface and does not have any protrusions (Figs.4 and 12).
With respect to claims 4, 7 and 8, Terada et al. teach wherein the motor case (Fig.4, Item 22t) is provided on an opposite side of the convex curved surface of the knuckle (Fig.4, Item 11).
With respect to claims 5, 7 and 8, Kawasaki et al. teach wherein the motor case (Fig.5, Item 67) is provided above the gear case (Fig.5, Item 68).
With respect to claims 6 and 7, Kawasaki et al. teach wherein the motor case (Fig.5, Item 67) has a portion that does not overlap with the gear case (Fig.5, Item 68) in a view of a direction of the axis (imaginary line extending over the length of Item 59) of the largest through-hole.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terada et al. (JP 2016067158) or Tamura et al. (US 10,011,164).
Terada et al. teach an in-wheel motor unit (Figs.1 and 4, Item 21) comprising a motor case (Fig.4, Item 22a) that accommodates a motor; a gear case (Fig.4, Item 22b) disposed adjacent to the motor case; and a knuckle (Fig.4, Item 11) integrally configured with the gear case (Specification § starting with “As shown schematically in FIGS.3 to 5, the knuckle arm 11”).
Tamura et al. teach an in-wheel motor unit (Fig.1) comprising a motor case (Fig.2, Item 23) that accommodates a motor; a gear case (Fig.2, Item 33) disposed adjacent to the motor case; and a knuckle (Fig.2, Item 34) integrally configured with the gear case (Figs.1 and 2; Col.6, Line 65 — Col.7, Line 20).
Terada et al. and Tamura et al. fail to particularly describe wherein the integrated configuration of the knuckle and the gear case is configured to reduce a swing moment of the knuckle, thereby improving alignment of a gear supported by the gear case and reducing vibration and eccentricity of the motor.
The Examiner considers that any person with ordinary skill in the art would acknowledge that Terada et al. and Tamura et al. are configured to reduce a swing moment of the knuckle, thereby improving alignment of a gear supported by the gear case and reducing vibration and eccentricity of the motor because it has been held that the recitation that an element is "configured to" performing a function is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform. It does not constitute a limitation in any patentable sense. In re Hutchison, 69 USPQ 138; also, it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d - 164 7 (1987).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection relies on a reference not applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/Edgardo San Martin/
Edgardo San Martín
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2837
December 13, 2025