DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 14-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on December 19, 2025.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the three 1st channels (claim 11) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Fig. 4 only shows two of the 1st channels (403). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraph 0015, “slot 124” should be ‘slot 125”.
In paragraph 0032, “a of a” should be “of a”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 8, the recitation that the first channels and second channels are separated by a pair of third channels appears to be misdescriptive. Fig. 4 shows that only a single third channel separates each of the other channels.
Claim 9 is rejected based on its dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Crum (11,559,975).
Crum discloses a label comprising, a substrate (Figs. 2A-2E); an adhesive (108”, Fig. 2E) disposed on a backside (100B, Fig. 2B) of the substrate in multiple channels (108C”, Fig. 2E) defined in the backside, wherein first channels (108C:, 108L”, Fig. 2E) include the adhesive disposed on the backside in a first coat weight (Column 12, lines 1-39) and second channels (the three larger middle channels 108L”, Fig. 2E) include the adhesive disposed on the backside in a second coat weight (Column 12, lines 14-18) and the backside of the label further includes third channels (108R”, Fig. 2E) that are devoid of' any of the adhesive (column 12, lines 1-8).
Regarding claim 3, the adhesive disclosed by Crum is a hot melt adhesive. See column 10, lines 33-36.
Regarding claim 8, Fig. 2E shows that each of the first and second channels are separated by a third channel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crum (11,559,975) in view of Hansen et al. (2003/0089452).
Crum discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above. However, Crum does not specifically disclose that the label is a linerless label. Hansen teaches a linerless label (4, Fig. 1, paragraph 0075). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the label disclosed by Crum a linerless label, as taught by Hansen, to avoid having to dispose of a liner after the label is installed.
Claims 4-7, and 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crum (11,559,975).
Regarding claim 4, Crum discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above. However, Crum does not disclose that the second channels cover more area on the backside of the label than the first channels. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the second channels cover more area than the first channels because such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size, shape or proportion of a component, which is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.04(IV).
Regarding claim 5, Crum discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above. However, Crum does not disclose that the third channels cover less area on the backside of the label than the first channels. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the third channels cover less area than the first channels because such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size, shape or proportion of a component, which is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.04(IV).
Regarding claim 6, although Crum discloses that the third channels are located away from the side edges (Fig. 2E), It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to position two of the third channels at the side edges because merely shifting the position of an element, when such a shift does not affect the operation of the device, has been held to be an obvious matter of design choice. See MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C).
Regarding claim 7, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to locate the first one of the third channels adjacent to one of the first channels, and the second one of the third channels adjacent to another first channel because merely shifting the position of an element, when such a shift does not affect the operation of the device, has been held to be an obvious matter of design choice. See MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C).
Regarding claim 9, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide two sets of three of the second channels because it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. See MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(B).
Regarding claim 10, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to locate each set of second channels adjacent to a given third channel along a first side, and the give3n third channel further adjacent to a given first channel because merely shifting the position of an element, when such a shift does not affect the operation of the device, has been held to be an obvious matter of design choice. See MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C).
Regarding claim 11, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide three first channels, each adjacent to a third channel, and a third channel being further adjacent to a side edge because it has been held that mere duplication of parts (the three first channels) has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. See MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(B), and because merely shifting the position of an element, when such a shift does not affect the operation of the device, has been held to be an obvious matter of design choice. See MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C).
Regarding claim 12, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the first coat weight 20 gsm and the second coat weight 12 gsm because it has been held that optimization within prior art conditions or through routine experimentation involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A).
Regarding claim 13, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the first channels cover approximately 42.8% of the total backside area, the second channels cover approximately 46.2% of the total backside area, and the third channels cover approximately 11% of the total backside area because it has been held that optimization within prior art conditions or through routine experimentation involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The relevance of each reference is explained below, unless the relevance is deemed to be readily apparent.
/GARY C HOGE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631