Detailed Action
1. This Action is in response to Applicant's Patent Application filed on September 25, 2023. Claims 1-30 are currently pending in the present application. This Action is made Non-Final.
America Invents Act (AIA ) Information
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement(s) submitted within this application (has/have) been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Double Patenting
doctrine grounded in public policy ( a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the
unjustified or improper timewise extension of the "right to exclude" granted by a patent
and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A nonstatutory double
patenting rejection is appropriate where the claims at issue are not identical, but at least
one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s)
because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been
obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d
1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir.
1993); In re Langi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Omum,
686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619
(CCPA 1970); and In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
may be used to overcome an actual or provisional rejection based on a nonstatutory
double patenting ground provided the reference application or patent either is shown to
be commonly owned with this application, or claims an invention made as a result of
activities undertaken within the scope of a joint research agreement. See MPEP §717.02 for applications subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions
of the AIA as explained in MPEP § 2159. See MPEP §§ 706.02(1)(1) - 706.02(1)(3) for
applications not subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the
AIA . A terminal disclaimer must be signed in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321 (b).
used. Please visit www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application in which the
form is filed determines what form (e.g., PTO/SB/25, PTO/SB/26, PTO/AIA /25, or
PTO/AIA /26) should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out
completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all
requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more
information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to
http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidedance/eTD-info-I.sp.
5. Claims 1 and 14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as
being unpatentable over claim 10 of US 12146946 B2.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct
from each other, as exposed below.
The present application discloses a system in wireless communication networks
for managing and receiving flight path information for user equipment (UE) such as
unmanned aerial vehicles or drones, wherein an apparatus, i.e., a base station or other
network node, is configured to transmit a request to an unmanned aerial vehicle (UE)
for its flight path information, specifying a "differential flight path reporting configuration,"
and process the flight path inform at ion sent back by the U E based on that specific
request.
Independent claims 1, 14, 23, and 27 are illustrative of the claimed invention,
wherein claims 1 and 14 disclose the apparatuses in a network node and in a U E,
respectively, configured to transmit/receive/request flight path information; and wherein
claims 23 and 27 disclose similar apparatuses as in claims 1 and 14, wherein the
apparatus in the UE detects a UE flight path change that satisfies a threshold, and the
apparatus in claim 27 receives, from a user equipment (UE), last reported UE flight path
information, and receives, without transmitting a flight path information request from the
UE, a flight path change indication that is associated with a UE flight path change.
Claim 10 of commonly owned US 12146946 B2, Saha et al., discloses:
A user equipment (UE) comprising: a transceiver; a memory; and a processor communicatively coupled to the transceiver and the memory and configured to: determine a flight path report to provide: partial-path flight path reporting, wherein the flight path report contains first flight path information indicative of a portion of the flight path of the UE that is less than all of the flight path of the UE and that corresponds to a region of interest indicated by a request received by the UE; or triggered flight path reporting, the processor being configured to determine second flight path information for the flight path report in response to occurrence of a trigger event other than a flight path reporting request, the second flight path information indicative of at least some of the flight path of the UE; or differential flight path reporting, wherein the flight path report comprises third flight path information indicative of a difference between a present flight path of the UE and a previous flight path of the UE; or any combination thereof; and transmit, via the transceiver to a network entity, the flight path report.
Present application's claim 1 discloses:
An apparatus for wireless communication at a network node, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured, individually or collectively, to cause the network node to: transmit a flight path information request that indicates a differential (reads on: difference between a present flight path of the UE and a previous flight path of the UE) flight path reporting configuration that is associated with user equipment (UE) flight path information associated with a UE; and receive the UE flight path information, the UE flight path
information being based at least in part on the differential flight path reporting configuration.
As indicated by the highlighted text in the comparison above, the subject matter
of independent claim 1 of the present application is contained in claim 10 of US 12146946 B2. The difference between the compared claims consists basically in the
wording and that the present application's claim is a broader expression of the patent's
application claim.
Independent claim 14 discloses similar subject matter as an apparatus in the U E
configured to communicate with the network node of claim 1 . The ref ore, similar rejection rationale applies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ryu; Jinsook et al. (US 11570739 B2), hereafter “Ryu.”
Consider claim 1. Ryu discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a network node, comprising: one or more memories (fig. 13 #1322); and one or more processors (fig. 13 #1321), coupled to the one or more memories, configured, individually or collectively, to cause the network node (fig. 13 #1320) to (see fig. 13, col. 29 lines 10-12: “includes a wireless device 1310, a base station 1320, and a physical deployment of one or more network functions”): transmit a flight path information request that indicates a differential flight path reporting configuration that is associated with user equipment (UE) flight path information associated with a UE (see col. 38 lines 46-62: “a base station may request to a wireless device to report flight path information by sending a user equipment information request message. The flight path information may comprise a number of waypoints defined as 3D locations. The user equipment information message may indicate a maximum number of waypoints and/or whether timestamps are required for the waypoints. The wireless device may receive the user equipment information message. If the wireless device is available to report the flight path, the wireless device may send a user equipment information response message to the base station. The user equipment response message may comprise one or more waypoints and one or more timestamps associated with the one or more waypoints. The base station may use the flight path information for congestion prediction or resource handling to mitigate interference”); and receive the UE flight path information, the UE flight path information being based at least in part on the differential flight path reporting configuration (see col. 38 lines 56-61: “If the wireless device is available to report the flight path, the wireless device may send a user equipment information response message to the base station. The user equipment response message may comprise one or more waypoints and one or more timestamps associated with the one or more waypoints. The base station may use the flight path information for congestion prediction or resource handling to mitigate interference.” Examiner’s Analysis: Ryu discloses exchanging flight path information between the base station and the UE at different time and location (e.g., differential).
Consider claim 2 in view of claim 1 above. Ryu further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to:
communicate, to a core network, a flight path query that is associated with the UE; and
receive, from the core network, a response to the flight path query, wherein the flight path information request is based at least in part on the response from the core network (see col. 7 lines 36-50: “FIG. 2A, an NF 211 (a consumer NF in this example) may send a request 221 to an NF 212 (a producer NF). The request 221 may be a request for a particular service and may be sent based on a discovery that NF 212 is a producer of that service. The request 221 may comprise data relating to NF 211 and/or the requested service. The NF 212 may receive request 221, perform one or more actions associated with the requested service (e.g., retrieving data), and provide a response 221. The one or more actions performed by the NF 212 may be based on request data included in the request 221, data stored by NF 212, and/or data retrieved by NF 212. The response 222 may notify NF 211 that the one or more actions have been completed. The response 222 may comprise response data relating to NF 212, the one or more actions, and/or the requested service”).
Consider claim 3 in view of claim 2 above. Ryu further discloses wherein the UE flight path information comprises differential flight path information, and the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to: generate full flight path information based at least in part on the response from the core network and the differential flight path information (see col. 38 lines 56-61: “The user equipment response message may comprise one or more waypoints and one or more timestamps associated with the one or more waypoints. The base station may use the flight path information for congestion prediction or resource handling to mitigate interference”).
Consider claim 4 in view of claim 1 above. Ryu further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to:
transmit an indication that indicates support for differential flight path information (see col. 38 lines 2-18: “In an example, the aerial communication service may be an aerial user equipment (UE) communication. The aerial communication service may support the UAS. The RAN functions for the aerial communication service may comprise a height-based measurement reporting, an interference detection for the aerial UE communication, an interference mitigation for the aerial UE communication, a flight path information reporting, a location reporting for the aerial UE communication, and/or the like.
(182) In an example, the base station may send an RRC message (e.g., RRC configuration message, RRC reconfiguration message) to a wireless device. The RRC message may comprise one or more measurement events regarding the height-based measurement reporting. The one or more measurement event may indicate to the wireless device, a height threshold for the height-based measurement reporting”).
Consider claim 5 in view of claim 4 above. Ryu further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to:
transmit a second indication of a validity duration that is associated with validating differential flight path information (see col. 22 lines 15-18: “A base station storing an RRC context for a UE or a last serving base station of the UE may be referred to as an anchor base station. An anchor base station may maintain an RRC context for the UE at least during a period of time that the UE stays in a RAN notification area of the anchor base station and/or during a period of time that the UE stays in RRC inactive 920”).
Consider claim 6 in view of claim 1 above. Ryu further discloses wherein the flight path information request includes a timestamp that is based at least in part on prior UE flight path information (see col. 38 lines 56-59: “The user equipment response message may comprise one or more waypoints and one or more timestamps associated with the one or more waypoints”).
Consider claim 7 in view of claim 1 above. Ryu further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to: receive, from the UE, a flight path information request response that indicates no change to UE flight path information see col. 38 lines 56-59: “The user equipment response message may comprise one or more waypoints and one or more timestamps associated with the one or more waypoints”).
Consider claim 8 in view of claim 1 above. Ryu further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to:
receive, from the UE, a flight path identifier; communicate the flight path identifier to a core network; and receive, from the core network, UE flight path information that is based at least in part on the flight path identifier (see col. 39 lines 8-12: “The RID may be an ability of a UAS in flight to provide identification and tracking information that may be received by other parties and may play a role in identifying and grounding unauthorized UAS in restricted areas”).
Consider claim 9 in view of claim 1 above. Ryu further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to: transmit differential flight path configuration information (see col. 38 lines 2-18: “In an example, the aerial communication service may be an aerial user equipment (UE) communication. The aerial communication service may support the UAS. The RAN functions for the aerial communication service may comprise a height-based measurement reporting, an interference detection for the aerial UE communication, an interference mitigation for the aerial UE communication, a flight path information reporting, a location reporting for the aerial UE communication, and/or the like.
(182) In an example, the base station may send an RRC message (e.g., RRC configuration message, RRC reconfiguration message) to a wireless device. The RRC message may comprise one or more measurement events regarding the height-based measurement reporting. The one or more measurement event may indicate to the wireless device, a height threshold for the height-based measurement reporting”).
Consider claim 10 in view of claim 1 above. Ryu further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to:
communicate the UE flight path information to a core network based at least in
part on a next generation application protocol (NGAP) procedure associated with the core network (see fig. 1B, col. 38 lines 2-18 and col. 6 lines 14-19: “As illustrated in FIG. 1B, communication network 150 includes UEs 151, a next generation radio access network (NG-RAN) 152, a 5G core network (5G-CN) 155, and one or more DNs 158. The NG-RAN 152 includes one or more base stations, illustrated as generation node Bs (gNBs) 152A and next generation evolved Node Bs (ng eNBs) 152B.”).
Consider claim 11 in view of claim 1 above. Ryu further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to:
request stored flight path information from an access and mobility management
function (AMF) at a core network; and receive, as a response from the core network, the stored flight path information based at least in part on the AMF at the core network (see col. 8 lines 51-66: “wherein the one or more processors are further
configured to cause the network node to:
request stored flight path information from an access and mobility management function (AMF) at a core network; and
receive, as a response from the core network, the stored flight path information based at least in part on the AMF at the core network”).
Consider claim 12 in view of claim 1 above. Ryu further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to: receive, from the UE and as the UE flight path information, differential flight path information; and communicate the differential flight path information to a core network (see col. 38 lines 2-18: “In an example, the aerial communication service may be an aerial user equipment (UE) communication. The aerial communication service may support the UAS. The RAN functions for the aerial communication service may comprise a height-based measurement reporting, an interference detection for the aerial UE communication, an interference mitigation for the aerial UE communication, a flight path information reporting, a location reporting for the aerial UE communication, and/or the like.
(182) In an example, the base station may send an RRC message (e.g., RRC configuration message, RRC reconfiguration message) to a wireless device. The RRC message may comprise one or more measurement events regarding the height-based measurement reporting. The one or more measurement event may indicate to the wireless device, a height threshold for the height-based measurement reporting”).
Consider claim 13 in view of claim 1 above. Ryu further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to: store the UE flight path information locally (see col. 38 lines 46-62: “a base station may request to a wireless device to report flight path information by sending a user equipment information request message. The flight path information may comprise a number of waypoints defined as 3D locations. The user equipment information message may indicate a maximum number of waypoints and/or whether timestamps are required for the waypoints. The wireless device may receive the user equipment information message. If the wireless device is available to report the flight path, the wireless device may send a user equipment information response message to the base station. The user equipment response message may comprise one or more waypoints and one or more timestamps associated with the one or more waypoints. The base station may use the flight path information for congestion prediction or resource handling to mitigate interference”).
Consider claim 14. Ryu discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a UE (fig. 13 #1310), comprising: one or more memories (fig. 13 #1312); and one or more processors (fig. 13 #1311), coupled to the one or more memories, configured to cause the UE (fig. 13 #1310) to (see fig. 13, col. 29 lines 10-12: “includes a wireless device 1310, a base station 1320, and a physical deployment of one or more network functions”): receive an indication that indicates that a network node supports differential flight path information (see col. 38 lines 2-18: “In an example, the aerial communication service may be an aerial user equipment (UE) communication. The aerial communication service may support the UAS. The RAN functions for the aerial communication service may comprise a height-based measurement reporting, an interference detection for the aerial UE communication, an interference mitigation for the aerial UE communication, a flight path information reporting, a location reporting for the aerial UE communication, and/or the like.
(182) In an example, the base station may send an RRC message (e.g., RRC configuration message, RRC reconfiguration message) to a wireless device. The RRC message may comprise one or more measurement events regarding the height-based measurement reporting. The one or more measurement event may indicate to the wireless device, a height threshold for the height-based measurement reporting”); receive a flight path information request from the network node (see col. 38 lines 46-62: “a base station may request to a wireless device to report flight path information by sending a user equipment information request message. The flight path information may comprise a number of waypoints defined as 3D locations. The user equipment information message may indicate a maximum number of waypoints and/or whether timestamps are required for the waypoints. The wireless device may receive the user equipment information message. If the wireless device is available to report the flight path, the wireless device may send a user equipment information response message to the base station. The user equipment response message may comprise one or more waypoints and one or more timestamps associated with the one or more waypoints. The base station may use the flight path information for congestion prediction or resource handling to mitigate interference”); and transmit a response to the flight path information request that is based at least in part on the network node supporting the differential flight path information (see col. 38 lines 56-61: “If the wireless device is available to report the flight path, the wireless device may send a user equipment information response message to the base station. The user equipment response message may comprise one or more waypoints and one or more timestamps associated with the one or more waypoints. The base station may use the flight path information for congestion prediction or resource handling to mitigate interference.” Examiner’s Analysis: Ryu discloses exchanging flight path information between the base station and the UE at different time and location (e.g., differential)).
Consider claim 15 in view of claim 14 above. Ryu further discloses wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to transmit the response, are configured to cause the UE to: transmit UE flight path information based at least in part on receiving the flight path information request, and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: update a last reported flight path buffer based at least in part on the UE flight path information (see col. 38 lines 56-59: “The user equipment response message may comprise one or more waypoints and one or more timestamps associated with the one or more waypoints”).
Consider claim 16 in view of claim 15 above. Ryu further discloses wherein the UE flight path information comprises full flight path information (see col. 38 lines 56-61: “The user equipment response message may comprise one or more waypoints and one or more timestamps associated with the one or more waypoints. The base station may use the flight path information for congestion prediction or resource handling to mitigate interference”).
Consider claim 17 in view of claim 16 above. Ryu further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to:
determine that the differential flight path information is invalid based at least in
part on a validity duration (see col. 41 lines 3-10: “The AMF may receive the UE context response message comprising the subscription information. In response to receiving the UE context response message, the AMF may determine whether an authentication and/or authorization for the UAS service is required. The determination may be based on the capability provided by the wireless device, the CAA UAV identifier, subscription information provided by the subscription server, and/or the like.”); and wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to transmit the UE flight path information, are configured to cause the UE to: transmit the full flight path information based at least in part on determining that the differential flight path information is invalid (see col. 38 lines 46-62: “a base station may request to a wireless device to report flight path information by sending a user equipment information request message. The flight path information may comprise a number of waypoints defined as 3D locations. The user equipment information message may indicate a maximum number of waypoints and/or whether timestamps are required for the waypoints. The wireless device may receive the user equipment information message. If the wireless device is available to report the flight path, the wireless device may send a user equipment information response message to the base station. The user equipment response message may comprise one or more waypoints and one or more timestamps associated with the one or more waypoints. The base station may use the flight path information for congestion prediction or resource handling to mitigate interference”).
Consider claim 18 in view of claim 15 above. Ryu further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to:
transmit differential flight path configuration information (see col. 38 lines 2-18: “In an example, the aerial communication service may be an aerial user equipment (UE) communication. The aerial communication service may support the UAS. The RAN functions for the aerial communication service may comprise a height-based measurement reporting, an interference detection for the aerial UE communication, an interference mitigation for the aerial UE communication, a flight path information reporting, a location reporting for the aerial UE communication, and/or the like.
(182) In an example, the base station may send an RRC message (e.g., RRC configuration message, RRC reconfiguration message) to a wireless device. The RRC message may comprise one or more measurement events regarding the height-based measurement reporting. The one or more measurement event may indicate to the wireless device, a height threshold for the height-based measurement reporting”).
Consider claim 19 in view of claim 15 above. Ryu further discloses wherein the flight path information request includes a timestamp that is based at least in part on prior UE flight path information associated with the UE (see col. 38 lines 56-59: “The user equipment response message may comprise one or more waypoints and one or more timestamps associated with the one or more waypoints”).
Consider claim 20 in view of claim 14 above. Ryu further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: transmit a flight path information request response that indicates no change to UE flight path information (see col. 38 lines 56-59: “The user equipment response message may comprise one or more waypoints and one or more timestamps associated with the one or more waypoints”).
Consider claim 21 in view of claim 14 above. Ryu further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: transmit a flight path information request response that includes a flight path identifier. (see col. 39 lines 8-12: “The RID may be an ability of a UAS in flight to provide identification and tracking information that may be received by other parties and may play a role in identifying and grounding unauthorized UAS in restricted areas”).
Consider claim 22 in view of claim 14 above. Ryu further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: receive differential flight path configuration information (see col. 38 lines 2-18: “In an example, the aerial communication service may be an aerial user equipment (UE) communication. The aerial communication service may support the UAS. The RAN functions for the aerial communication service may comprise a height-based measurement reporting, an interference detection for the aerial UE communication, an interference mitigation for the aerial UE communication, a flight path information reporting, a location reporting for the aerial UE communication, and/or the like.
(182) In an example, the base station may send an RRC message (e.g., RRC configuration message, RRC reconfiguration message) to a wireless device. The RRC message may comprise one or more measurement events regarding the height-based measurement reporting. The one or more measurement event may indicate to the wireless device, a height threshold for the height-based measurement reporting”).
Consider claim 23. Ryu discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at an UE (fig. 13 #1310), comprising: one or more memories (fig. 13 #1312); and one or more processors (fig. 13 #1311), coupled to the one or more memories, configured to cause the UE (fig. 13 #1310) to (see fig. 13, col. 29 lines 10-12: “includes a wireless device 1310, a base station 1320, and a physical deployment of one or more network functions”): receive an indication that indicates that a network node supports differential flight path information (see col. 38 lines 2-18: “In an example, the aerial communication service may be an aerial user equipment (UE) communication. The aerial communication service may support the UAS. The RAN functions for the aerial communication service may comprise a height-based measurement reporting, an interference detection for the aerial UE communication, an interference mitigation for the aerial UE communication, a flight path information reporting, a location reporting for the aerial UE communication, and/or the like.
(182) In an example, the base station may send an RRC message (e.g., RRC configuration message, RRC reconfiguration message) to a wireless device. The RRC message may comprise one or more measurement events regarding the height-based measurement reporting. The one or more measurement event may indicate to the wireless device, a height threshold for the height-based measurement reporting”); receive a flight path information request from the network node (see col. 38 lines 46-62: “a base station may request to a wireless device to report flight path information by sending a user equipment information request message. The flight path information may comprise a number of waypoints defined as 3D locations. The user equipment information message may indicate a maximum number of waypoints and/or whether timestamps are required for the waypoints. The wireless device may receive the user equipment information message. If the wireless device is available to report the flight path, the wireless device may send a user equipment information response message to the base station. The user equipment response message may comprise one or more waypoints and one or more timestamps associated with the one or more waypoints. The base station may use the flight path information for congestion prediction or resource handling to mitigate interference”); and transmit a response to the flight path information request that is based at least in part on the network node supporting the differential flight path information (see col. 38 lines 56-61: “If the wireless device is available to report the flight path, the wireless device may send a user equipment information response message to the base station. The user equipment response message may comprise one or more waypoints and one or more timestamps associated with the one or more waypoints. The base station may use the flight path information for congestion prediction or resource handling to mitigate interference.” Examiner’s Analysis: Ryu discloses exchanging flight path information between the base station and the UE at different time and location (e.g., differential)).
Consider claim 24 in view of claim 23 above. Ryu further discloses wherein the UE flight path change is based at least in part on last reported UE flight path information (see col. 38 lines 46-62: “a base station may request to a wireless device to report flight path information by sending a user equipment information request message. The flight path information may comprise a number of waypoints defined as 3D locations. The user equipment information message may indicate a maximum number of waypoints and/or whether timestamps are required for the waypoints. The wireless device may receive the user equipment information message. If the wireless device is available to report the flight path, the wireless device may send a user equipment information response message to the base station. The user equipment response message may comprise one or more waypoints and one or more timestamps associated with the one or more waypoints. The base station may use the flight path information for congestion prediction or resource handling to mitigate interference”).
Consider claim 25 in view of claim 23 above. Ryu further discloses wherein the UE flight path change is based at least in part on last reported UE flight path information (see col. 38 lines 46-62: “a base station may request to a wireless device to report flight path information by sending a user equipment information request message. The flight path information may comprise a number of waypoints defined as 3D locations. The user equipment information message may indicate a maximum number of waypoints and/or whether timestamps are required for the waypoints. The wireless device may receive the user equipment information message. If the wireless device is available to report the flight path, the wireless device may send a user equipment information response message to the base station. The user equipment response message may comprise one or more waypoints and one or more timestamps associated with the one or more waypoints. The base station may use the flight path information for congestion prediction or resource handling to mitigate interference”).
Consider claim 26 in view of claim 23 above. Ryu further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: receive a flight path information request from the network node, wherein transmitting the current UE flight path information is based at least in part on receiving the flight path information request from the network node (see col. 7 lines 36-50: “FIG. 2A, an NF 211 (a consumer NF in this example) may send a request 221 to an NF 212 (a producer NF). The request 221 may be a request for a particular service and may be sent based on a discovery that NF 212 is a producer of that service. The request 221 may comprise data relating to NF 211 and/or the requested service. The NF 212 may receive request 221, perform one or more actions associated with the requested service (e.g., retrieving data), and provide a response 221. The one or more actions performed by the NF 212 may be based on request data included in the request 221, data stored by NF 212, and/or data retrieved by NF 212. The response 222 may notify NF 211 that the one or more actions have been completed. The response 222 may comprise response data relating to NF 212, the one or more actions, and/or the requested service”).
Consider claim 27. Ryu discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a network node (fig. 13 #1320), comprising: one or more memories (fig. 13 #1322); and one or more processors (fig. 13 #1321), coupled to the one or more memories, configured to cause the network node to (see fig. 13, col. 29: lines 10-12: “includes a wireless device 1310, a base station 1320, and a physical deployment of one or more network functions”): receive, from a user equipment (UE), last reported UE flight path information (see col. 38 lines 46-62: “a base station may request to a wireless device to report flight path information by sending a user equipment information request message. The flight path information may comprise a number of waypoints defined as 3D locations. The user equipment information message may indicate a maximum number of waypoints and/or whether timestamps are required for the waypoints. The wireless device may receive the user equipment information message. If the wireless device is available to report the flight path, the wireless device may send a user equipment information response message to the base station. The user equipment response message may comprise one or more waypoints and one or more timestamps associated with the one or more waypoints. The base station may use the flight path information for congestion prediction or resource handling to mitigate interference”); and receive, without transmitting a flight path information request and from the UE, a flight path change indication that is associated with a UE flight path change (see col. 38 lines 56-61: “If the wireless device is available to report the flight path, the wireless device may send a user equipment information response message to the base station. The user equipment response message may comprise one or more waypoints and one or more timestamps associated with the one or more waypoints. The base station may use the flight path information for congestion prediction or resource handling to mitigate interference.” Examiner’s Analysis: Ryu discloses exchanging flight path information between the base station and the UE at different time and location (e.g., differential)).
Consider claim 28 in view of claim 27 above. Ryu further discloses wherein the one or more processors, to cause the network node to receive the flight path change indication, are configured to cause the network node to: receive the flight path change indication in at least one of: a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE), or UE assistance information message (see col. 38 lines 2-18: “In an example, the aerial communication service may be an aerial user equipment (UE) communication. The aerial communication service may support the UAS. The RAN functions for the aerial communication service may comprise a height-based measurement reporting, an interference detection for the aerial UE communication, an interference mitigation for the aerial UE communication, a flight path information reporting, a location reporting for the aerial UE communication, and/or the like. (182) In an example, the base station may send an RRC message (e.g., RRC configuration message, RRC reconfiguration message) to a wireless device. The RRC message may comprise one or more measurement events regarding the height-based measurement reporting. The one or more measurement event may indicate to the wireless device, a height threshold for the height-based measurement reporting.” Examiner’s Note: claim is written in alternative format).
Consider claim 29 in view of claim 27 above. Ryu further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to: receive current UE flight path information that includes the flight path change indication (see col. 38 lines 46-62: “a base station may request to a wireless device to report flight path information by sending a user equipment information request message. The flight path information may comprise a number of waypoints defined as 3D locations. The user equipment information message may indicate a maximum number of waypoints and/or whether timestamps are required for the waypoints. The wireless device may receive the user equipment information message. If the wireless device is available to report the flight path, the wireless device may send a user equipment information response message to the base station. The user equipment response message may comprise one or more waypoints and one or more timestamps associated with the one or more waypoints. The base station may use the flight path information for congestion prediction or resource handling to mitigate interference”).
Consider claim 30 in view of claim 27 above. Ryu further discloses wherein the one or more processors, to cause the network node to receive the current UE flight path information, are configured to cause the network node to autonomously receive the current UE flight path information without transmitting the flight path information request (see col. 37 line 62 – col. 38 line 11: “Base stations of the wireless network and wireless devices may employ radio access network (RAN) functions for an aerial communication service (e.g., UAS, UAV, unmanned aerial service). Base stations and wireless devices may support radio access network (RAN) functions for an aerial communication service (e.g., UAS, UAV). The RAN functions for the aerial communication service may be an aerial user equipment (UE) communication. In an example, the aerial communication service may be an aerial user equipment (UE) communication. The aerial communication service may support the UAS. The RAN functions for the aerial communication service may comprise a height-based measurement reporting, an interference detection for the aerial UE communication, an interference mitigation for the aerial UE communication, a flight path information reporting, a location reporting for the aerial UE communication, and/or the like”).
Conclusion
9. The following prior arts are made of record and not relied upon, but is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20250175861 A1: discloses wherein the processor is enabled with report on
leave for multi-cell trigger; and/or transmit flight path available information in at least one message in response to flight path information being available…
US 20210021334 A1: discloses generating flight path information, where the
flight path information includes location information of at least one target node on a flight path…
US 20240212508 A1: discloses determining that flight information is needed
might be based on any of the following, in various examples: the flight path of the UE-equipped UAV has changed…
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Rafael Pérez-Gutiérrez can be reached at (571) 272-7915. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/MARCOS BATISTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642
April 28, 2026