DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 13-15, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al., US2023/0042048A1, (“Kim”).
Regarding claim 1:
Kim discloses a method performed by a terminal (e.g., Fig. 2, 200) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
determining whether uplink control information (UCI) (e.g., [0222], CG-UCI) is multiplexed in a first physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) including more than one transport block (e.g., [0222], CG PUSCH 1A) or whether the first PUSCH is simultaneously transmitted with a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) including the UCI (e.g., [0272], [0299]);
receiving information for scheduling transmission of the first PUSCH (e.g., [0180], [0186], configuration of resources for CG PUSCH ID 1, Fig. 9); and
transmitting the first PUSCH or the PUCCH including the UCI based on the determination (e.g., [0183], [0222], CG-UCI may be included in a selected CG PUSCH).
Regarding claim 2:
Kim further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the transmitting of the first PUSCH or the PUCCH including the UCI based on the determination includes at least one of:
in case of determining that the UCI is multiplexed in the first PUSCH including more than one transport block, when the PUCCH overlaps with the first PUSCH in a time domain, multiplexing the UCI of the PUCCH in the first PUSCH, and transmitting the multiplexed first PUSCH (e.g., [0162], [0222]);
in case of determining that the UCI is not multiplexed in the first PUSCH including more than one transport block, when the PUCCH overlaps with the first PUSCH in the time domain, transmitting the PUCCH; in case of determining that the UCI is not multiplexed in the first PUSCH including more than one transport block, when the PUCCH does not overlap with any second PUSCH including one transport block in the time domain, transmitting the PUCCH; in case of determining that the UCI is not multiplexed in the first PUSCH including more than one transport block, when the PUCCH overlaps with a second PUSCH including one transport block in the time domain, multiplexing the UCI of the PUCCH in the second PUSCH including one transport block, and transmitting the multiplexed second PUSCH or transmitting the first PUSCH including more than one transport block; in case of determining that the UCI is not multiplexed in the first PUSCH including more than one transport block, when the PUCCH overlaps with the first PUSCH in the time domain, simultaneously transmitting the PUCCH and the first PUSCH; in case of determining that the UCI is not multiplexed in the first PUSCH including more than one transport block, when the PUCCH overlaps with the first PUSCH in a same serving cell in the time domain, transmitting the PUCCH; in case of determining that the UCI is not multiplexed in the first PUSCH including more than one transport block, when the PUCCH overlaps with the first PUSCH in a different serving cell in the time domain, simultaneously transmitting the PUCCH and the first PUSCH; in case of determining that the first PUSCH is simultaneously transmitted with the PUCCH including the UCI, when the PUCCH overlaps with the first PUSCH in the time domain, simultaneously transmitting the PUCCH and the first PUSCH; or in case of determining that the first PUSCH is not simultaneously transmitted with the PUCCH including the UCI, when the PUCCH overlaps with the first PUSCH in the time domain, transmitting the PUCCH.
Regarding claim 3:
Kim further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the determining of whether the UCI is multiplexed in the first PUSCH including more than one transport block or whether the first PUSCH is simultaneously transmitted with the PUCCH including the UCI includes: receiving a first configuration indicating whether the UCI can be multiplexed in the first PUSCH including more than one transport block or whether the first PUSCH can be simultaneously transmitted with the PUCCH including the UCI; and determining whether the UCI can be multiplexed in the first PUSCH including more than one transport block or whether the first PUSCH can be simultaneously transmitted with the PUCCH including the UCI based on the first configuration (e.g., [0163], [0299]).
Regarding claim 13:
Kim further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the information for scheduling transmission of the first PUSCH includes at least one of a configured uplink grant or DCI (e.g., [0180], [0186], configuration of resources for CG PUSCH ID 1).
Regarding claim 14:
Kim discloses a terminal (e.g., Fig. 2, 200) in a wireless communication system, the terminal comprising: a transceiver (Fig. 2, 230); and a controller (Fig. 2, 210) coupled to the transceiver and configured to: determine whether uplink control information (UCI) is multiplexed in a first physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) including more than one transport block or whether the first PUSCH is simultaneously transmitted with a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) including the UCI, receive information for scheduling transmission of the first PUSCH, and transmit the first PUSCH or the PUCCH including the UCI based on the determination. (See similar features discussed in rejection of claim 1.)
Regarding claim 15:
See rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claims 19 and 20:
See rejections of claims 1 and 14. Claims 19 and 20 are directed to a base station and a corresponding method including features similar to those recited by claims 1 and 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 6, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Khoshnevisan et al., US 2023/0354339 A1, (“Khoshnevisan”).
Regarding claim 5:
Kim does not disclose receiving a second configuration indicating a maximum number of transport blocks included in a PUSCH.
Khoshnevisan teaches receiving a second configuration indicating a maximum number of transport blocks included in a PUSCH (e.g., [0133]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Kim based on the teaching from Khoshnevisan to include the feature receiving a second configuration indicating a maximum number of transport blocks included in a PUSCH, in order to enable flexible configuration of transport blocks in a PUSCH.
Regarding claim 6:
Kim further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein in case that the UCI can be multiplexed in the first PUSCH including more than one transport block, the method further comprises receiving a third configuration indicating a number or scale of resources on the first PUSCH that are allocated for UCI multiplexing in the first PUSCH (e.g., [0186], a resource list for a CG PUSCH ID 1).
Regarding claim 16:
See similar features discussed in rejections of claims 3, 5, and 6.
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Singh et al., US 2023/0291510 A1, (“Singh”).
Regarding claim 7:
Kim does not disclose wherein the receiving of the information for scheduling transmission of the first PUSCH includes receiving downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling the first PUSCH, and wherein the DCI indicates at least one of a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) field, a new data indicator field, a redundancy version field, a priority indicator field, a downlink assignment indicator (DAI) field, a beta offset indicator field separately for each of the more than one transport block.
Singh teaches receiving downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling the first PUSCH, and wherein the DCI indicates at least one of a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) field, a new data indicator field, a redundancy version field, a priority indicator field, a downlink assignment indicator (DAI) field, a beta offset indicator field separately for each of the more than one transport block (e.g., [0139], [0140]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Kim based on the teaching from Singh to include the features wherein the receiving of the information for scheduling transmission of the first PUSCH includes receiving downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling the first PUSCH, and wherein the DCI indicates at least one of a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) field, a new data indicator field, a redundancy version field, a priority indicator field, a downlink assignment indicator (DAI) field, a beta offset indicator field separately for each of the more than one transport block, in order to improve spectrum efficiency of transmitting multiple transport blocks.
Regarding claim 17:
See similar features discussed in rejection of claim 7.
Claims 8-10, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Yang et al., US 2024/0057079A1, (“Yang”).
Regarding claim 8:
Kim does not disclose wherein the receiving of the information for scheduling transmission of the first PUSCH includes receiving a DCI for scheduling the first PUSCH including a first transport block and a second transport block, and wherein the transmitting of the first PUSCH or the PUCCH including the UCI includes: generating a first medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU) for the first transport block based on data in one or more logical channels (LCs) or logical channel groups (LCGs), and transmitting only the first transport block in the first PUSCH, in case that there is no data available for transmission for any of the one or more LCs or any of the one or more LCGs after the first MAC PDU is generated.
Yang teaches receiving a DCI for scheduling the first PUSCH including a first transport block and a second transport block (e.g., [0143], [0162], [0171]), and generating a first medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU) for the first transport block based on data in one or more logical channels (LCs) or logical channel groups (LCGs) (e.g., [0127], [0158]-[0160]) and transmitting only the first transport block in the first PUSCH, in case that there is no data available for transmission for any of the one or more LCs or any of the one or more LCGs after the first MAC PDU is generated (e.g., [0163], [0164], [0166]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Kim based on the teaching from Yang to include the features wherein the receiving of the information for scheduling transmission of the first PUSCH includes receiving a DCI for scheduling the first PUSCH including a first transport block and a second transport block, and wherein the transmitting of the first PUSCH or the PUCCH including the UCI includes: generating a first medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU) for the first transport block based on data in one or more logical channels (LCs) or logical channel groups (LCGs), and transmitting only the first transport block in the first PUSCH, in case that there is no data available for transmission for any of the one or more LCs or any of the one or more LCGs after the first MAC PDU is generated, in order to improve spectrum efficiency of transmitting multiple transport blocks.
Regarding claim 9:
Kim does not disclose wherein the receiving of the information for scheduling transmission of the first PUSCH includes receiving a DCI for scheduling the first PUSCH including a first transport block and a second transport block, and wherein the transmitting of the first PUSCH or the PUCCH including the UCI includes: generating a first MAC PDU for the first transport block based on data in one or more LCs or one or more LCGs, generating a second MAC PDU for the second transport block by using one or more padding bits, in case that there is no data available for transmission for any of the one or more LCs or any of the one or more LCGs after the first MAC PDU is generated, and transmitting the first transport block and the second transport block in the first PUSCH.
Yang teaches receiving a DCI for scheduling the first PUSCH including a first transport block and a second transport block (e.g., [0143], [0162], [0171]), and generating a first MAC PDU for the first transport block based on data in one or more LCs or one or more LCGs (e.g., [0127], [0158]-[0160]) and generating a second MAC PDU for the second transport block by using one or more padding bits, in case that there is no data available for transmission for any of the one or more LCs or any of the one or more LCGs after the first MAC PDU is generated, and transmitting the first transport block and the second transport block in the first PUSCH (e.g., [0151], [0163], [0164],).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Kim based on the teaching from Yang to include the features wherein the receiving of the information for scheduling transmission of the first PUSCH includes receiving a DCI for scheduling the first PUSCH including a first transport block and a second transport block, and wherein the transmitting of the first PUSCH or the PUCCH including the UCI includes: generating a first MAC PDU for the first transport block based on data in one or more LCs or one or more LCGs, generating a second MAC PDU for the second transport block by using one or more padding bits, in case that there is no data available for transmission for any of the one or more LCs or any of the one or more LCGs after the first MAC PDU is generated, and transmitting the first transport block and the second transport block in the first PUSCH, in order to improve spectrum efficiency of transmitting multiple transport blocks.
Regarding claim 10:
Kim does not disclose wherein the receiving of the information for scheduling transmission of the first PUSCH includes receiving a DCI for scheduling the first PUSCH including a first transport block and a second transport block, and wherein the transmitting of the first PUSCH or the PUCCH including the UCI includes: generating a first MAC PDU and a second MAC PDU based on one or more data available for transmission for one or more LCs or one or more LCGs, so that the one or more data available for transmission are uniformly included in the first MAC PDU and the second MAC PDU, and transmitting the first MAC PDU and the second MAC PDU in the first PUSCH by using the first transport block and the second transport block.
Yang teaches receiving a DCI for scheduling the first PUSCH including a first transport block and a second transport block (e.g., [0143], [0162], [0171]), and generating a first MAC PDU and a second MAC PDU based on one or more data available for transmission for one or more LCs or one or more LCGs, so that the one or more data available for transmission are uniformly included in the first MAC PDU and the second MAC PDU, and transmitting the first MAC PDU and the second MAC PDU in the first PUSCH by using the first transport block and the second transport block (e.g., [0127], [0146], [0151], [0163], [0164]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Kim based on the teaching from Yang to include the features wherein the receiving of the information for scheduling transmission of the first PUSCH includes receiving a DCI for scheduling the first PUSCH including a first transport block and a second transport block, and wherein the transmitting of the first PUSCH or the PUCCH including the UCI includes: generating a first MAC PDU and a second MAC PDU based on one or more data available for transmission for one or more LCs or one or more LCGs, so that the one or more data available for transmission are uniformly included in the first MAC PDU and the second MAC PDU, and transmitting the first MAC PDU and the second MAC PDU in the first PUSCH by using the first transport block and the second transport block, in order to improve spectrum efficiency of transmitting multiple transport blocks.
Regarding claim 18:
See rejection of claim 10.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 11, and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/BO HUI A ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465