DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I(claims 126-138, 152 and 153) in the reply filed on 6/22/26 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Species Elect
Applicant elects a toothpaste as oral composition.
Information Disclosure Statement
Receipt is acknowledged of the Information Disclosure Statement filed 3/28/24; 6/22/26. The Examiner has considered the references cited therein to the extent that each is a proper citation. Please see the attached USPTO Form 1449.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 126, 129, 132, 136 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a2) as being anticipated by Cardona et al. (WO 2017/210543).
Cardona teaches with regards to instant claim 126 a composition for oral administration comprising geranylgeraniol (see pg. 6, lines 31+) wherein the carrier is magnesium stearate (see pg. 11, lines 20+, as required by instant claim 129 and 136) and an antioxidant (see pg. 8, lines 15+, as required by instant claim 132).
Claim(s) 126, 128 129, 138 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a2) as being anticipated by Bockmuhl et al. (US 2008/0118580)
Bockmuhl teaches with regards to toothpaste as the oral composition comprising geranylgeraniol (see abstract, 0018, 0131 as required by instant claims 126 and 138) wherein the composition is a mouth rinse (see 0131 as required by instant claim 128), magnesium stearate as the carrier (see 0157, as required by instant claim 126 and 129).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 126, 128-129, 132, 133-136, 138 and 152-153 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cardona et al. (WO 2017/210543) in view of Bockmuhl et al. (US 2008/0118580) and Matsuda (JP H09249575) and Tan (US 2021/0113491) and as evidenced by Da Silva (BR 102018075756).
Cardona teaches with regards to instant claim 126 a composition for oral administration comprising geranylgeraniol (see pg. 6, lines 31+) wherein the carrier is magnesium stearate (see pg. 11, lines 20+) and an antioxidant (see pg. 8, lines 15+).
However fails to teach the oral composition is a toothpaste.
Bockmuhl teaches with regards to toothpaste as the oral composition comprising geranylgeraniol (see abstract, 0018, 0131 as required by instant claims 126 and 138) and mouth rinse (see 0131 as required by instant claim 128), magnesium stearate as the carrier (see 0157, as required by instant claim 126 and 129).
Matsuda teaches a composition for treating periodontosis comprising a diterpene alcohol in a toothpaste form comprising hydrated silica (as required by instant claims 135, 153. As evidenced by Da Silva, diterpene alcohol is a geranylgeraniol has been used to describe a naturally occurring straight chain diterpene alcohol, whose structural formula can be described as: all trans-3,7,11,15-tetramethylhexadecatetra-2,6,10, 14-in-1 -ol. Therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonable expectation of using the diterpene of Da Silva to result in the instant claimed invention.
Tan teaches diterpene alcohol (see 0080), a carrier starch paste, colloidal silica (see 0064 as required by instant claims 129, 133, 134, 152-153).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine and modify the recited prior art to result in the instant claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success because they are drawn to the same technical field.
Claim(s) 126-127, 130-131 and 137 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cardona et al. (WO 2017/210543) in view of Bockmuhl et al. (US 2008/0118580) and Matsuda (JP H09249575) and Tan (US 2021/0113491) and as evidenced by Da Silva (BR 102018075756) as applied to claims 126, 128-129, 132, 133-136, 138 and 152-153 above
Cardona teaches with regards to instant claim 126 a composition for oral administration comprising geranylgeraniol (see pg. 6, lines 31+) wherein the carrier is magnesium stearate (see pg. 11, lines 20+) and an antioxidant (see pg. 8, lines 15+).
However fails to teach the oral composition is a toothpaste.
Bockmuhl teaches with regards to toothpaste as the oral composition comprising geranylgeraniol (see abstract, 0018, 0131 as required by instant claims 126 and 138) and mouth rinse (see 0131 as required by instant claim 128), magnesium stearate as the carrier (see 0157, as required by instant claim 126 and 129).
Matsuda teaches a composition for treating periodontosis comprising a diterpene alcohol in a toothpaste form comprising hydrated silica (as required by instant claims 135, 153. As evidenced by Da Silva, diterpene alcohol is a geranylgeraniol has been used to describe a naturally occurring straight chain diterpene alcohol, whose structural formula can be described as: all trans-3,7,11,15-tetramethylhexadecatetra-2,6,10, 14-in-1 -ol. Therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonable expectation of using the diterpene of Da Silva to result in the instant claimed invention.
Tan teaches diterpene alcohol (see 0080), a carrier starch paste, colloidal silica (see 0064 as required by instant claims 129, 133, 134, 152-153).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the recited art to result in the instant claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success because they are drawn to the same technical field. Although none of the cited reference teach the oral composition with the recited concentration. Nonetheless the composition having concentration is based on that the determination of a dosage having the optimum therapeutic index is well within the level of the ordinary skill in the art, and the artisan would be motivated to determine the optimum amounts to get the maximum effect of the drug, hence the reference makes obvious the instant invention.
No claims are allowed.
/SHIRLEY V GEMBEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615 7/7/26