Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuhr (US 2011 / 0135975 A1) in view of Kretschmar (DE 102019210765 A1 ; machine translation relied upon herein ). Regarding claim 1 , Fuhr teaches a battery assembly 22 comprising: A battery cell 24 having a cell casing provided with an outer casing surface 108 (see Fuhr Fig ure 19 below ). The outer casing surface 108 has a first plurality of grooves formed therein. Fuhr Figure 19 A battery cell holder 42 having a plurality of cell pockets 44, wherein each of the cell pockets 44 has a wall and a wall surface (see Fuhr Fig ure 21 below ) Fuhr Figure 21 Fuhr does not teach : the wall surface has a second plurality of grooves that interact with the first plurality of grooves on the outer surface of the cell casing; and wherein the interaction of the first plurality of grooves on the cell casing with the second plurality of grooves on the wall of each of the plurality of cell pockets cooperate to prevent the battery cell from moving relative to the battery cell holder. Kretschmar teaches a battery module 1 comprising a battery cell 2 having a cell casing 3 provided with an outer casing surface 11 (see Kretschmar Annotated Fig. 1 below ). The outer casing surface has a first plurality of grooves 5 , 6 formed therein. Furthermore Kretschmar teaches a battery cell holder 4 having a plurality of cell pockets 8, wherein each of the cell pockets 8 has a wall 10 and a wall surface (see Annotated Kretschmar Fig. 1 below ), wherein the wall surface has a plurality of grooves that interact with the grooves 5 , 6 on the outer surface of the cell casing; and wherein the interaction of the grooves 5 , 6 on the cell casing 3 with the grooves on the wall 10 of each of the plurality of cell pockets cooperate to prevent the battery cell from moving relative to the battery cell holder 4. Kretschmar Figure 1 Fuhr and Kretschmar are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the field of battery modules. A skilled artisan would have been capable of modifying the wall of each of the plurality of cell pockets of the battery holder, as taught by Fuhr, such that the wall was provided with a corresponding surface for locking the cells in place, as taught by Kretschmar. The result of securely locking the cells in place would also have been reasonably predictable ( see paragraphs [0031-0032] of Kretschmar m achine translation ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the wall of each of the plurality of cell pockets of the battery cell assembly, as taught by Fuhr, such that the wall surface had a second plurality of grooves that correspond to and interact with the first plurality of grooves on the outer surface of the cell casing, for the purpose of securing the battery cells in place. Per claim 2, Fuhr , in view of Kretschmar , teach the limitations of claim 1, as addressed above. Fuhr teach es that the walls include a plurality of spaces 70 (channels) configured as vent spaces for gases (see [0054]; Fuhr Fig. 10 below) . Fuhr Figure 10 While Fuhr characterizes these spaces for gas venting, they are structurally identical to the “cooling channels” recited in the claim. Under the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI), a “cooling channel” is a conduit through which a fluid may pass to remove heat. The vent channels 70 of Fuhr are disposed in the walls of the cell pockets and, by facilitating the passage of gas, inherently provide a path for thermal dissipation. Accordingly, these spaces are considered to mee the limitation to “cooling channels”, broadly recited. Per claim 3 , Fuhr , in view of Kretschmar , teach the limitations of claim 2, as addressed above. Fuhr teaches that an edge portion 64 of a seal 54 (see Fuhr Figure 10 above) is disposed between the electrochemical cell 24 (the cell casing) and the space 70 (the cooling channel, as interpreted in claim 2) (see [0054]) . While Fuhr does not explicitly label the material of the seal 54 as a “thermal interface material” for the purpose of “ promoting heat transfer,” it occupies the exact physical interface where heat transfer must occur between the cell and the interpreted cooling channel (space 70). Since the material of seal 54 will conduct at least some heat, it is considered to correspond to the claimed “thermal interface material”, broadly recited. Per claim 4, Fuhr , in view of Kretschmar , teach the limitations of claim 1 , as addressed above . Fuhr , in view of Kretschmar, further teach the limitations of claim 4. Fuhr does not teach: a first and a second end, wherein a first plurality of the first plurality of grooves is formed in the cell casing surface at the first end of the cell casing and a second plurality of the first plurality of grooves are formed in the cell casing surface at the second end of the cell casing. Kretschmar teaches a battery module 1 comprising a plurality of battery cell s 2 , each having a cell casing (see Kretschmar Annotated Figure 1 below) , wherein the cell casing has a first end and a second end, wherein a first plurality 5 of the first plurality of grooves 5, 6 is formed at the first end of the cell casing and a second plurality 6 of the first plurality of grooves 5, 6 are formed in the cell casing surface at the second end of the cell casing (see Kretschmar Annotated Fig. 1 below). Kretschmar Annotated Figure 1 Fuhr and Kretschmar are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the field of battery modules. A skilled artisan would have been capable of modifying the cell casing having a plurality of grooves, as taught by Fuhr, such that the cell casing was provided with a plurality of grooves at both a first end and at a second end of the cell casing for locking the cells in place, as taught by Kretschmar. The result of securely locking the cells in place would also have been reasonably predictable (see paragraphs [0031-0032] of Kretschmar Machine Translation). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the cell casing of the cells having a plurality of grooves, as taught by Fuhr, such that a plurality of grooves was provided at both a first end and at a second end of the cell casing, as taught by Kretschmar, for the purpose of securing the battery cells in place. Per claim 5 , Fuhr in view of Kretschmar teach the limitations of claim 4 , as addressed above . Fuhr further teaches that the first plurality of grooves is formed in the first wall portion, and is provided with a first wall thickness (See Fuhr Annotated Fig. 20 below ) . Fuhr Annotated Figure 20 Per claim 6 , Fuhr , in view of Kretschmar , teach the limitations of claim 5 , as addressed above . Fuhr further teaches that the second wall portion has a second wall thickness, wherein the thickness of the second wall portion is less than the thickness of the first wall portion (see Fuhr Annotated Fig. 20 above) . Per claim 7, Fuhr , in view of Kretschmar , teach the limitations of claim 6 , as addressed above . Fuhr further teaches that the second wall portion is disposed at one of the ends of the cell casing ( s ee Fuhr Annotated Fig. 20 above ) . Per claim 8, Fuhr , in view of Kretschmar , teach the limitations of claim 6 , as addressed above . Fuhr , in view of Kretschmar , further teach the limitations of claim 8, addressed below. Fuhr does not teach : the wall of each of the plurality of cell pockets has first and a second end, wherein a first plurality of the second plurality of grooves are formed on the surface of the wall at the first end of each of the plurality of cell pockets and a second plurality of the second plurality of grooves are formed on the surface of the wall at the second end of each of the plurality of cell pockets. Kretschmar teaches that the wall of each of the plurality of cell pockets has first and a second end (see Kretschmar Annotated Figure 1 below) , wherein a first plurality of the second plurality of grooves are formed on the surface of the wall at the first end of each of the plurality of cell pockets and a second plurality of the second plurality of grooves are formed on the surface of the wall at the second end of each of the plurality of cell pockets (see Kretschmar Annotated Figure 1 below) . Kretschmar Annotated Figure 1 Fuhr and Kretschmar are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the field of battery modules. A skilled artisan would have been capable of modifying the wall of each of the plurality of cell pockets of the battery holder, as taught by Fuhr, such that the wall was provided with a corresponding surface for locking the cells in place, as taught by Kretschmar. The result of securely locking the cells in place would also have been reasonably predictable ( see paragraphs [0031-0032] of Kretschmar Machine Translation ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the wall of each of the plurality of cell pockets of the battery cell assembly, as taught by Fuhr, such that the wall surface had a second plurality of grooves that correspond to and interact with the first plurality of grooves on the outer surface of the cell casing, for the purpose of securing the battery cells in place. Per claim 9, Fuhr in view of Kretschmar teach the limitations of claim 1, as addressed above . Fuhr further teaches that the battery cell holder 42 has a protrusion that extends from an end of the battery cell holder and wherein the protrusion and the end of the casing define a vent gas passage 50 (see Fuhr Annotated Fig. 20 below). Fuhr Annotated Figure 20 Regarding claim 10, Fuhr teaches a battery assembly 22 comprising: A battery cell 24 having a cell casing provided with an outer casing surface 108 (see Fuhr Fig. 19 below ). The outer casing surface 108 has a first plurality of grooves formed therein. Fuhr Figure 19 A battery cell holder 42 having a plurality of cell pockets 44, wherein each of the cell pockets 44 has a wall and a wall surface (see Fuhr Annotated Fig. 21 below) Fuhr Figure 21 a plurality of cooling channels 70 , wherein each of the plurality of cooling channels are disposed in the wall of each of the plurality of cell pockets . Specifically, Fuhr teaches that the battery cell holder 42 comprises cell pockets 44 with walls (see Fuhr Fig ure 21 above), wherein the walls include a plurality of spaces or channels 70 configured as vent spaces for gases (see [0054]; Fuhr Fig. 10 below). Fuhr Figure 10 While Fuhr characterizes these spaces for gas venting, they are structurally identical to the “cooling channels” recited in the claim. Under the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI), a “cooling channel” is a conduit through which a fluid may pass to remove heat. The vent channels 70 of Fuhr are disposed in the walls of the cell pockets and, by facilitating the passage of gas, inherently provide a path for thermal dissipation. Accordingly, these spaces are considered to mee the limitation to “cooling channels”, broadly recited. Fuhr does not teach : the wall surface has a second plurality of grooves that interact with the first plurality of grooves on the outer surface of the cell casing; and wherein the interaction of the first plurality of grooves on the cell casing with the second plurality of grooves on the wall of each of the plurality of cell pockets cooperate to prevent the battery cell from moving relative to the battery cell holder. Kretschmar teaches a battery module 1 comprising a battery cell 2 having a cell casing 3 provided with an outer casing surface 11 (see Kretschmar Annotated Fig. 1 below ). The outer casing surface has a first plurality of grooves 5 , 6 formed therein. Furthermore Kretschmar teaches a battery cell holder 4 having a plurality of cell pockets 8, wherein each of the cell pockets 8 has a wall 10 and a wall surface (see Annotated Kretschmar Fig. 1 below ), wherein the wall surface has a plurality of grooves that interact with the grooves 5 , 6 on the outer surface of the cell casing; and wherein the interaction of the grooves 5 , 6 on the cell casing 3 with the grooves on the wall 10 of each of the plurality of cell pockets cooperate to prevent the battery cell from moving relative to the battery cell holder 4. Kretschmar Figure 1 Fuhr and Kretschmar are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the field of battery modules. A skilled artisan would have been capable of modifying the wall of each of the plurality of cell pockets of the battery holder, as taught by Fuhr, such that the wall was provided with a corresponding surface for locking the cells in place, as taught by Kretschmar. The result of securely locking the cells in place would also have been reasonably predictable ( see paragraphs [0031-0032] of Kretschmar machine translation ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the wall of each of the plurality of cell pockets of the battery cell assembly, as taught by Fuhr, such that the wall surface had a second plurality of grooves that correspond to and interact with the first plurality of grooves on the outer surface of the cell casing, for the purpose of securing the battery cells in place. Per claim 11, Fuhr in view of Kretschmar teach the limitations of claim 10, as addressed above . Fuhr teaches that an edge portion 64 of a seal 54 (see Fuhr Figure 10 above) is disposed between the electrochemical cell 24 (the cell casing) and the space 70 (the cooling channel, as interpreted in claim 2) (see [0054]). While Fuhr does not explicitly label the material of the seal 54 as a “thermal interface material” for the purpose of “promoting heat transfer,” it occupies the exact physical interface where heat transfer must occur between the cell and the interpreted cooling channel (space 70). Since the material of seal 54 will conduct at least some heat, it is considered to correspond to the claimed “thermal interface material”, broadly recited. Per claim 1 2 , Fuhr , in view of Kretschmar , teach the limitations of claim 10, as addressed above . Fuhr , in view of Kretschmar, further teach the limitations of claim 12. Fuhr does not teach: a first and a second end, wherein a first plurality of the first plurality of grooves is formed in the cell casing surface at the first end of the cell casing and a second plurality of the first plurality of grooves are formed in the cell casing surface at the second end of the cell casing. Kretschmar teaches a battery module 1 comprising a plurality of battery cells 2, each having a cell casing (see Kretschmar Annotated Figure 1 below), wherein the cell casing has a first end and a second end, wherein a first plurality 5 of the first plurality of grooves 5, 6 is formed at the first end of the cell casing and a second plurality 6 of the first plurality of grooves 5, 6 are formed in the cell casing surface at the second end of the cell casing (see Kretschmar Annotated Fig. 1 below). Kretschmar Annotated Figure 1 Fuhr and Kretschmar are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the field of battery modules. A skilled artisan would have been capable of modifying the cell casing having a plurality of grooves, as taught by Fuhr, such that the cell casing was provided with a plurality of grooves at both a first end and at a second end of the cell casing for locking the cells in place, as taught by Kretschmar. The result of securely locking the cells in place would also have been reasonably predictable (see paragraphs [0031-0032] of Kretschmar Machine Translation). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the cell casing of the cells having a plurality of grooves, as taught by Fuhr, such that a plurality of grooves was provided at both a first end and at a second end of the cell casing, as taught by Kretschmar, for the purpose of securing the battery cells in place. Per claim 1 3 , Fuhr in view of Kretschmar teach the limitations of claim 12, as addressed above . Fuhr further teaches that the first plurality of grooves is formed in the first wall portion, and is provided with a thickness (See Fuhr Fig. 20 below ) Fuhr Annotated Figure 20 Per claim 1 4 , Fuhr in view of Kretschmar teach the limitations of claim 13, as addressed above . Fuhr further teaches that the cell casing further comprises a second wall portion, wherein the second wall portion has a second wall thickness, and wherein the second wall thickness is less than the first wall thickness of the first wall portion (see Fuhr Fig. 20 below) , wherein a portion of the cell casing separates from the cell casing at the second wall thickness to release a gas from the cell casing (see Fig. 10A below). Fuhr Annotated Figure 20 Fuhr Annotated Figure 10A Per claim 1 5 , Fuhr in view of Kretschmar teach the limitations of claim 14, as addressed above . Fuhr further teaches that the second wall portion is disposed at one of the ends of the cell casing (See Fig. 20 above ) Per claim 1 6 , Fuhr in view of Kretschmar teach the limitations of claim 15, as addressed above . For the reasons above in addressing Claim 8, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the wall of each of the plurality of cell pockets of the battery cell assembly, as taught by Fuhr, such that the wall surface had a second plurality of grooves that correspond to and interact with the first plurality of grooves on the outer surface of the cell casing, for the purpose of securing the battery cells in place. Per claim 1 7 , Fuhr in view of Kretschmar teach the limitations of claim 10, as addressed above . Fuhr further teaches that the battery cell holder 42 has a protrusion that extends from an end of the battery cell holder and wherein the protrusion and the end of the casing define a vent gas passage 50 Fuhr Annotated Figure 20 Regarding claim 18 , Fuhr teaches a battery assembly 22 comprising : A battery cell 24 having a cell casing provided with an outer casing surface 108 (see Fuhr Fig. 19 below). The outer casing surface 108 has a first plurality of grooves formed therein. Fuhr Figure 19 A battery cell holder 42 having a plurality of cell pockets 44, wherein each of the cell pockets 44 has a wall and a wall surface (see Fuhr Annotated Fig. 21 below ) Fuhr Figure 21 the cell casing has a first wall portion an d a second wall portion, wherein the first wall portion has a first wall thickness, wherein the first plurality of grooves is formed in the first wall portion, (See Fuhr Annotated Fig. 20 below ) . wherein the second wall portion has a second wall thickness, and wherein the second wall thickness is less than the first wall thickness of the first wall portion (See Fuhr Annotated Fig. 20 below ) ; Fuhr Annotated Figure 20 a plurality of cooling channels 70 , wherein each of the plurality of cooling channels are disposed in the wall of each of the plurality of cell pockets 44 . Specifically, Fuhr teaches that the battery cell holder 42 comprises cell pockets 44 with walls (see Fuhr Fig. 21 above), wherein the walls include a plurality of spaces or channels 70 configured as vent spaces for gases (see [0054]; Fuhr Fig. 10 below). Fuhr Figure 10 While Fuhr characterizes these spaces for gas venting, they are structurally identical to the “cooling channels” recited in the claim. Under the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI), a “cooling channel” is a conduit through which a fluid may pass to remove heat. The vent channels 70 of Fuhr are disposed in the walls of the cell pockets and, by facilitating the passage of gas, inherently provide a path for thermal dissipation. Accordingly, these spaces are considered to mee the limitation to “cooling channels”, broadly recited. Fuhr does not teach : the wall surface has a second plurality of grooves that interact with the first plurality of grooves on the outer surface of the cell casing; and wherein the interaction of the first plurality of grooves on the cell casing with the second plurality of grooves on the wall of each of the plurality of cell pockets cooperate to prevent the battery cell from moving relative to the battery cell holder; . Kretschmar teaches a battery module 1 comprising a battery cell 2 having a cell casing 3 provided with an outer casing surface 11 (see Kretschmar Annotated Fig. 1 below ). The outer casing surface has a first plurality of grooves 5 , 6 formed therein. Furthermore Kretschmar teaches a battery cell holder 4 having a plurality of cell pockets 8, wherein each of the cell pockets 8 has a wall 10 and a wall surface (see Annotated Kretschmar Fig. 1 below ), wherein the wall surface has a plurality of grooves that interact with the grooves 5 , 6 on the outer surface of the cell casing; and wherein the interaction of the grooves 5 , 6 on the cell casing 3 with the grooves on the wall 10 of each of the plurality of cell pockets cooperate to prevent the battery cell from moving relative to the battery cell holder 4. Kretschmar Figure 1 Fuhr and Kretschmar are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the field of battery modules. A skilled artisan would have been capable of modifying the wall of each of the plurality of cell pockets of the battery holder, as taught by Fuhr, such that the wall was provided with a corresponding surface for locking the cells in place, as taught by Kretschmar. The result of securely locking the cells in place would also have been reasonably predictable ( see paragraphs [0031-0032] of Kretschmar machine translation ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the wall of each of the plurality of cell pockets of the battery cell assembly, as taught by Fuhr, such that the wall surface had a second plurality of grooves that correspond to and interact with the first plurality of grooves on the outer surface of the cell casing, for the purpose of securing the battery cells in place. Per claim 1 9 , Fuhr in view of Kretschmar teach the limitations of claim 18 , as addressed above . Fuhr , in view of Kretschmar , further teach the limitations of claim 19 , addressed below . Fuhr does not teach : the wall of each of the plurality of cell pockets has first and a second end, wherein a first plurality of the second plurality of grooves are formed on the surface of the wall at the first end of each of the plurality of cell pockets and a second plurality of the second plurality of grooves are formed on the surface of the wall at the second end of each of the plurality of cell pockets. Kretschmar teaches that each of the plurality of cell pockets has first and a second end, wherein a first plurality of the second plurality of grooves are formed on the surface of the wall at the first end of each of the plurality of cell pockets and a second plurality of the second plurality of grooves are formed on the surface of the wall at the second end of each of the plurality of cell pockets (see Kretschmar Annotated Figure 1 below) . Kretschmar Annotated Figure 1 Fuhr and Kretschmar are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the field of battery modules. A skilled artisan would have been capable of modifying the wall of each of the plurality of cell pockets of the battery holder, as taught by Fuhr, such that the wall was provided with a corresponding surface for locking the cells in place, as taught by Kretschmar. The result of securely locking the cells in place would also have been reasonably predictable ( see paragraphs [0031-0032] of Kretschmar Machine Translation ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the wall of each of the plurality of cell pockets of the battery cell assembly, as taught by Fuhr, such that the wall surface had a second plurality of grooves that correspond to and interact with the first plurality of grooves on the outer surface of the cell casing, for the purpose of securing the battery cells in place. Per claim 20 , Fuhr in view of Kretschmar teach the limitations of claim 18 , as addressed above . Fuhr further teaches that the battery cell holder 42 has a protrusion that extends from an end of the battery cell holder and wherein the protrusion and the end of the casing define a vent gas passage 50 ( s ee Fuhr Fig. 10A above ) . Fuhr Annotated Figure 20 Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT JEROME J NASH whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-3025 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday - Friday, 8:00 am-5:00 pm . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Jeffrey Barton can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571) 272-1307 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /J.J.N./ Examiner, Art Unit 1726 /JEFFREY T BARTON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1726 2 April 2026