DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 22 December 2025 (including supplemental filed on 21 January 2026). Claims 1, 4-6, 9-11, 14-15, and 19-21 are now pending in the present application and claims 2-3, 7-8, 12-13, and 16-18 are canceled. This office action is made Final.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-13, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by ZTE-3GPP (“Identification and Access Restriction for RedCap”; R2-2100572).
Regarding claims 1, 6, and 11, ZTE-3GPP discloses a terminal (e.g., UE) comprising:
at least one processor (e.g., UE) with a memory (e.g., UE) storing computer program code, wherein the at least one processor (e.g., UE) with the memory (e.g., UE) is configured to { (see pp. 1-2, sec. 2.1; pp. 3-4, sec. 2.2) }:
receive (e.g., UE) a system information block 1 (SIB1) { (see pp. 1-2, sec. 2.1), where the system has SIB1 }; and
determine { (see pp. 1-2, sec. 2.1; pp. 3-4, sec. 2.2) }:
whether or not first information indicating that a Reduced Capability (RedCap) terminal is allowed to camp on a cell is included in the SIB1 { (see pp. 1-2, sec. 2.1; pp. 3-4, sec. 2.2), where the system provides a RedCap UE access }, and
whether or not second information indicating that whether or not the cell is barred for a RedCap terminal with a specific number of receivers is included in the SIB1 in a case where the first information is included in the SIB1 { (see pp. 1-2, sec. 2.1; pp. 3-4, sec. 2.2), where the system can allow/block access of a RedCap UE in which the feature a specific number of receivers is a parameter (specification/capability/criteria) of a RedCap UE (e.g., UE capabilities) (Note 1: also, see pg. 1, [0005] of orig. spec. of instant application that references 3GPP standard) },
determine whether or not the cell is barred for the RedCap terminal with the specific number of receivers based on the second information and a number of receivers of the terminal in a case where the second information is included in the SIB1 { (see pp. 1-2, sec. 2.1; pp. 3-4, sec. 2.2), where the system can allow/block access of a RedCap UE in which the feature a specific number of receivers is a parameter (specification/capability/criteria) of a RedCap UE (e.g., UE capabilities) (see Note 1 above) }; and
control selection or reselection of the cell based on a measured reception level in a case where the cell is not barred { (see pp. 1-2, sec. 2.1; pp. 3-4, sec. 2.2), where the system provides reselection (see ‘Proposals 3-4’}.
Regarding claims 5, 10, and 15, ZTE-3GPP discloses the terminal according to claim 1, wherein, in a case where the RedCap terminal is in an idle state, an inactive state, or a connected state during running of a specific timer, the at least one processor with the memory is configured to determine whether or not the first information is included in the SIB1 { (see pp. 1-2, sec. 2.1; pp. 3-4, sec. 2.2) }.
Regarding claims 10, ZTE-3GPP discloses the terminal according to claim 1, wherein the terminal is the RedCap terminal (UE) { (see pp. 1-2, sec. 2.1; pp. 3-4, sec. 2.2), where the system has a RedCap UE (see pp. 4-6, sec. 2.3-2.4) }.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 9, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZTE-3GPP (“Identification and Access Restriction for RedCap”; R2-2100572) in view of further support Nokia-3GPP (“Initial Access for RedCap UEs”; R1-20008072).
Regarding claims 4 , 9, and 14, ZTE-3GPP discloses
the terminal according to any one of claims 1, wherein the specific number of receivers is a single receiver or two receivers { (see pp. 1-2, sec. 2.1; pp. 3-4, sec. 2.2) }.
ZTE-3GPP does not specifically disclose having the feature(s) single receiver. However, the examiner maintains that the feature(s) single receiver was well known in the art, as taught by Nokia-3GPP.
In the same field of endeavor, Nokia-3GPP discloses the feature(s) single receiver { (see sec. 2.1-2.2), }.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of ZTE-3GPP as further supported by Nokia-3GPP to have the feature(s) single receiver, in order to provide procedure to reduce capability of devices, as taught by Nokia-3GPP (see pp. 1-2, sec. 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1, 4-6, 9-11, 14-15, and 19-21 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection necessitated by the amended language, new limitations, and/or new claims.
In response to applicant’s arguments, the Examiner respectfully disagrees as the applied reference(s) provide more than adequate support and to further clarify (see the above claims for relevant citations and comments in this section).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Liu et al. (US 2021/0045054 A1) discloses cell selection based on class of user equipments.
Nagano et al. (US 2024/0015641 A1) discloses terminal, base station, and wireless communication method.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIE J DANIEL JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465
WJD,Jr
14 April 2026