DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s Amendment filed on July 22, 2026 has been reviewed.
Claims 1, 12 and 16 are amended in the amendment.
Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, 10, 12 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pressnell et al. (US 2022/0086536 A1), hereinafter referred to as Pressnell, in view of Bernstein et al. (US 2021/0141992 A1), hereinafter referred to as Bernstein, and further in view of Rottler et al. (US 2011/0118858 A1), hereinafter referred to as Rottler.
With respect to claim 1, Pressnell teaches A media playback system comprising:
a first playback device having a first content store (process 12 (e.g., a helper) running on a media playing device 14 and that provides services 16 to (e.g., helps) a player 18 that is also running on the playing device with persistent storage 35, para. 0037 and 0066; fig. 1); and
one or more computer-readable media having instructions stored thereon that (memory storing instructions, claim 37), when executed by one or more processors (processor, para. 0005), cause the media playback system to perform operations comprising:
configuring the first playback device to stream content items received via a network connection without storing the streamed content items in the first content store (the communication channel 24 between the playing device and the CDN 26 through which the streaming files 28 of the media item are delivered, para. 0037; providing the streaming files received from the CDN directly to the player, for example, without storing them persistently in the persistent storage, para. 0046), and
after receiving an indication to store content (the downloaded media items will play from the locally stored set of streaming files, without the playing device needing to request them from the CDN (with the potential associated fluctuating, limited, or absent connectivity); user must choose to engage the download feature by clicking a download button or in one case (Netflix Smart Download) automatically in response to a user's viewing behavior, para. 0012, 0066 and 0105),
identifying one or more content items to store in the corresponding content stores of the plurality of playback devices (to support its services, the helper can, among other things, use the manifest to request, receive, store, and maintain streaming files for the media item in the long-term storage cache, para. 0105; also see para. 0012),
retrieving the one or more content items to store in the corresponding content stores of the plurality of playback devices (the downloaded media items will play from the locally stored set of streaming files, without the playing device needing to request them from the CDN (with the potential associated fluctuating, limited, or absent connectivity), para. 0012; to support its services, the helper can, among other things, use the manifest to request, receive, store, and maintain streaming files for the media item in the long-term storage cache, para. 0105; the services provided by the helper to storage and retrieval of portions or all of the media items at the playing device or other co-located or co-used or co-owned devices, para. 0066),
storing the retrieved one or more content items in the first content store of the first playback device (indicating the availability of bandwidth on the communication channel in conjunction with the player's requests during which the helper can request and store streaming files to establish one or more backup sets of streaming files of a chosen quality level or levels; the backup set can be made available to the player if channel quality declines, if available bandwidth declines or connectivity is lost altogether, para. 0096; also see para. 0011, 0020), and
configuring the first playback device to play content items from the first content store of the first playback device (indicating the availability of bandwidth on the communication channel in conjunction with the player's requests during which the helper can request and store streaming files to establish one or more backup sets of streaming files of a chosen quality level or levels; the backup set can be made available to the player if channel quality declines, for example, if available bandwidth declines or connectivity is lost altogether, para. 0096; also see para. 0011, 0020).
Pressnell does not explicitly teach
providing, for display, a user interface comprising a list of
receiving, from a user, a selection of a plurality of playback devices from among the list of of the plurality of playback devices includes a selection of the first playback device;
providing, for display, a user interface comprising a list of content items,
receiving, from the user, a selection of one or more content items, from among the list of content items,
retrieving the selected one or more content items to
However, Bernstein teaches
providing, for display, a user interface comprising a list of (the playback control region 133d can include selectable (e.g., via touch input and/or via a cursor or another suitable selector) icons to cause one or more playback devices in a selected playback zone or zone group to perform playback actions, para. 0072);
receiving, from a user, a selection of a plurality of playback devices from among the list of of the plurality of playback devices includes a selection of the first playback device (the playback control region 133d can include selectable (e.g., via touch input and/or via a cursor or another suitable selector) icons to cause one or more playback devices in a selected playback zone or zone group to perform playback actions, para. 0072 and 0075);
providing, for display, a user interface comprising a list of content items (the audio content source region 333e includes a listing of one or more media content sources from which a user can select media items for playback and/or adding to a playback queue, para. 0076; fig. 3),
receiving, from the user, a selection of one or more content items, from among the list of content items (if a user selects “Browse” in the lower display region 233f, the control device 230 can be configured to output a second user interface display 231b (FIG. 2B) comprising a plurality of music services 233g (e.g., Spotify, Radio by Tunein, Apple Music, Pandora, Amazon, TV, local music, line-in) through which the user can browse and from which the user can select media content for play back via one or more playback devices (e.g., one of the playback devices 110, para. 0075; receiving user input representing a selection of the displayed media content data, and responsive to receiving the selection, causing the one or more networked playback devices to retrieve, from the media streaming service, media content corresponding to the selected media content data for playback, para. 0134),
retrieving the selected one or more content items to (receiving user input representing a selection of the displayed media content data, and responsive to receiving the selection, causing the one or more networked playback devices to retrieve, from the media streaming service, media content corresponding to the selected media content data for playback, para. 0134) in order to perform functions relevant to facilitating user access, control, and configuration of the media playback system as taught by Bernstein (para. 0070),
Therefore, based on Pressnell in view of Bernstein, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Bernstein to the system of Pressnell in order to perform functions relevant to facilitating user access, control, and configuration of the media playback system as taught by Bernstein (para. 0070).
Pressnell in view of Bernstein does not explicitly teach
receiving, from the user, a selection of one or more content items, from among the list of content items, to store in corresponding content stores of the selected plurality of playback devices,
after receiving the selection of the one or more content items, configuring the selected plurality of playback devices to store the selected one or more content items in the corresponding content stores of the selected plurality of playback devices,
retrieving the selected one or more content items to store in the corresponding content stores of the selected plurality of playback devices,
However, Rottler teaches
receiving, from the user, a selection of one or more content items, from among the list of content items (the user can select some or all of the media items of the library for local storage on the device, a user required to select only a subset of the available media items of the media library due to limited storage resources of the electronic device, para. 0038; fig. 3), to store in corresponding content stores of the selected plurality of playback devices (the user can select some or all of the media items of the library for local storage on the device, a user required to select only a subset of the available media items of the media library due to limited storage resources of the electronic device, para. 0038; fig. 3),
after receiving the selection of the one or more content items, configuring the selected plurality of playback devices to store the selected one or more content items in the corresponding content stores of the selected plurality of playback devices (display 300 can include side bar 310 identifying different types of media and devices available to the user's media library. For example, side bar 310 can include options for music, movies, TV shows, audiobooks, radio, or any other type of media; side bar 310 including listings identifying electronic devices that are connected to the host device library (e.g., iPhone 312), as well as collections of media items; the user can select any of the options in side bar 310 to direct display 300 to provide corresponding content, para. 0041; in response to receiving a user selection of a "music" option, region 320 can include a listing of available music in the user's media library and in response to a user selection of a device (e.g., iPhone 312), display 300 can include options relating to the content that a user wishes to store on the device, para. 0042; fig. 3),
retrieving the selected one or more content items to store in the corresponding content stores of the selected plurality of playback devices (the streamed media items that an electronic device must retrieve and locally store from the user's media library, para. 0008; because a user's library can include more media than can be stored on the device (e.g., as indicated by device capacity bar 330), the user select a subset of the user's available media items to store locally, para. 0042) in order to ensure a seamless transition between the locally stored portion and the streamed portion of the media item as taught by Rottler (para. 0065),
Therefore, based on Pressnell in view of Bernstein, and further in view of Rottler, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Rottler to the system of Pressnell in view of Bernstein in order to ensure a seamless transition between the locally stored portion and the streamed portion of the media item as taught by Rottler (para. 0065).
With respect to claim 7, Pressnell teaches The media playback system of claim 1, wherein the streamed content items are played at a first resolution and wherein the content items stored in the first content store are played at a second resolution different from the first resolution (the temporarily stored versions and at least one of the persistently stored other versions have different qualities; the use of the persistently stored other versions to enhance the presentation includes providing other stored versions of a minimum quality when a quality of the temporarily stored versions falls to the minimum quality level or lower or the playing device is unable to receive the versions to be temporarily stored, para. 0020; the “quality” of a digital file for a media item can refer to the fineness of the detail captured by the file, such as its resolution; higher quality digital files are larger than lower quality digital files for a given content, para. 0043).
With respect to claim 10, Pressnell in view of Bernstein teaches The media playback system of claim 1 as described above,
Further, Bernstein teaches the operations further comprising:
while the first playback device is playing a first content item from the first content store, receiving, from a controller device, a control command to modify playback of the first content item by the first playback device (the playback control region 133d can include selectable (e.g., via touch input and/or via a cursor or another suitable selector) icons to cause one or more playback devices in a selected playback zone or zone group to perform playback actions such as, play or pause, fast forward, rewind, skip to next, skip to previous, enter/exit shuffle mode, enter/exit repeat mode, enter/exit cross fade mode, etc., the playback control region 133d include selectable icons to modify equalization settings, playback volume, and/or other suitable playback actions, para. 0072) in order to perform functions relevant to facilitating user access, control, and configuration of the media playback system as taught by Bernstein (para. 0070).
Therefore, based on Pressnell in view of Bernstein, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Bernstein to the system of Pressnell in order to perform functions relevant to facilitating user access, control, and configuration of the media playback system as taught by Bernstein (para. 0070).
With respect to claim 12, Pressnell teaches A method comprising:
configuring a first playback device, having a first content store (process 12 (e.g., a helper) running on a media playing device 14 and that provides services 16 to (e.g., helps) a player 18 that is also running on the playing device, para. 0037), to stream content items received via a network connection without storing the streamed content items in the first content store (the communication channel 24 between the playing device and the CDN 26 through which the streaming files 28 of the media item are delivered, para. 0037; providing the streaming files received from the CDN directly to the player, for example, without storing them persistently in the persistent storage, para. 0046),
after receiving an indication to store content (the downloaded media items will play from the locally stored set of streaming files, without the playing device needing to request them from the CDN (with the potential associated fluctuating, limited, or absent connectivity); user must choose to engage the download feature by clicking a download button or in one case (Netflix Smart Download) automatically in response to a user's viewing behavior, para. 0012),
identifying one or more content items to store in the corresponding content stores of the plurality of playback devices (to support its services, the helper can, among other things, use the manifest to request, receive, store, and maintain streaming files for the media item in the long-term storage cache, para. 0105; also see para. 0012),
retrieving the one or more content items to store in the corresponding content stores of the plurality of playback devices (the downloaded media items will play from the locally stored set of streaming files, without the playing device needing to request them from the CDN (with the potential associated fluctuating, limited, or absent connectivity), para. 0012; to support its services, the helper can, among other things, use the manifest to request, receive, store, and maintain streaming files for the media item in the long-term storage cache, para. 0105; the services provided by the helper to storage and retrieval of portions or all of the media items at the playing device or other co-located or co-used or co-owned devices, para. 0066),
storing the retrieved one or more content items in the first content store of the first playback device (indicating the availability of bandwidth on the communication channel in conjunction with the player's requests during which the helper can request and store streaming files to establish one or more backup sets of streaming files of a chosen quality level or levels; the backup set can be made available to the player if channel quality declines, if available bandwidth declines or connectivity is lost altogether, para. 0096; also see para. 0011, 0020), and
configuring the first playback device to play content items from the first content store of the first playback device (indicating the availability of bandwidth on the communication channel in conjunction with the player's requests during which the helper can request and store streaming files to establish one or more backup sets of streaming files of a chosen quality level or levels; the backup set can be made available to the player if channel quality declines, for example, if available bandwidth declines or connectivity is lost altogether, para. 0096; also see para. 0011, 0020).
Pressnell does not explicitly teach
providing, for display, a user interface comprising a list of
receiving, from a user, a selection of a plurality of playback devices from among the list of of the plurality of playback devices includes a selection of the first playback device;
providing, for display, a user interface comprising a list of content items,
receiving, from the user, a selection of one or more content items, from among the list of content items,
retrieving the selected one or more content items to
However, Bernstein teaches
providing, for display, a user interface comprising a list of (the playback control region 133d can include selectable (e.g., via touch input and/or via a cursor or another suitable selector) icons to cause one or more playback devices in a selected playback zone or zone group to perform playback actions, para. 0072),
receiving, from a user, a selection of a plurality of playback devices from among the list of of the plurality of playback devices includes a selection of the first playback device (the playback control region 133d can include selectable (e.g., via touch input and/or via a cursor or another suitable selector) icons to cause one or more playback devices in a selected playback zone or zone group to perform playback actions, para. 0072),
providing, for display, a user interface comprising a list of content items (the audio content source region 333e includes a listing of one or more media content sources from which a user can select media items for playback and/or adding to a playback queue, para. 0076; fig. 3),
receiving, from the user, a selection of one or more content items, from among the list of content items (if a user selects “Browse” in the lower display region 233f, the control device 230 can be configured to output a second user interface display 231b (FIG. 2B) comprising a plurality of music services 233g (e.g., Spotify, Radio by Tunein, Apple Music, Pandora, Amazon, TV, local music, line-in) through which the user can browse and from which the user can select media content for play back via one or more playback devices (e.g., one of the playback devices 110, para. 0075; receiving user input representing a selection of the displayed media content data, and responsive to receiving the selection, causing the one or more networked playback devices to retrieve, from the media streaming service, media content corresponding to the selected media content data for playback, para. 0134),
retrieving the selected one or more content items to (receiving user input representing a selection of the displayed media content data, and responsive to receiving the selection, causing the one or more networked playback devices to retrieve, from the media streaming service, media content corresponding to the selected media content data for playback, para. 0134) in order to perform functions relevant to facilitating user access, control, and configuration of the media playback system as taught by Bernstein (para. 0070),
Therefore, based on Pressnell in view of Bernstein, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Bernstein to the method of Pressnell in order to perform functions relevant to facilitating user access, control, and configuration of the media playback system as taught by Bernstein (para. 0070).
Pressnell in view of Bernstein does not explicitly teach
receiving, from the user, a selection of one or more content items, from among the list of content items, to store in corresponding content stores of the selected plurality of playback devices,
after receiving the selection of the one or more content items, configuring the selected plurality of playback devices to store the selected one or more content items in the corresponding content stores of the selected plurality of playback devices,
retrieving the selected one or more content items to store in the corresponding content stores of the selected plurality of playback devices,
However, Rottler teaches
receiving, from the user, a selection of one or more content items, from among the list of content items (the user can select some or all of the media items of the library for local storage on the device, a user required to select only a subset of the available media items of the media library due to limited storage resources of the electronic device, para. 0038; fig. 3), to store in corresponding content stores of the selected plurality of playback devices (the user can select some or all of the media items of the library for local storage on the device, a user required to select only a subset of the available media items of the media library due to limited storage resources of the electronic device, para. 0038; fig. 3),
after receiving the selection of the one or more content items, configuring the selected plurality of playback devices to store the selected one or more content items in the corresponding content stores of the selected plurality of playback devices (display 300 can include side bar 310 identifying different types of media and devices available to the user's media library. For example, side bar 310 can include options for music, movies, TV shows, audiobooks, radio, or any other type of media; side bar 310 including listings identifying electronic devices that are connected to the host device library (e.g., iPhone 312), as well as collections of media items; the user can select any of the options in side bar 310 to direct display 300 to provide corresponding content, para. 0041; in response to receiving a user selection of a "music" option, region 320 can include a listing of available music in the user's media library and in response to a user selection of a device (e.g., iPhone 312), display 300 can include options relating to the content that a user wishes to store on the device, para. 0042; fig. 3),
retrieving the selected one or more content items to store in the corresponding content stores of the selected plurality of playback devices (the streamed media items that an electronic device must retrieve and locally store from the user's media library, para. 0008; because a user's library can include more media than can be stored on the device (e.g., as indicated by device capacity bar 330), the user select a subset of the user's available media items to store locally, para. 0042) in order to ensure a seamless transition between the locally stored portion and the streamed portion of the media item as taught by Rottler (para. 0065),
Therefore, based on Pressnell in view of Bernstein, and further in view of Rottler, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Rottler to the method of Pressnell in view of Bernstein in order to ensure a seamless transition between the locally stored portion and the streamed portion of the media item as taught by Rottler (para. 0065).
With respect to claim 16, Pressnell teaches One or more tangible, non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions that (process 12 (e.g., a helper) running on a media playing device 14 and that provides services 16 to (e.g., helps) a player 18 that is also running on the playing device, para. 0037; memory storing instructions, claim 37), when executed by one or more processors of a media playback system (processor, para. 0005), cause the media playback system to perform operations comprising:
configuring a first playback device, having a first content store (process 12 (e.g., a helper) running on a media playing device 14 and that provides services 16 to (e.g., helps) a player 18 that is also running on the playing device, para. 0037), to stream content items received via a network connection without storing the streamed content items in the first content store (the communication channel 24 between the playing device and the CDN 26 through which the streaming files 28 of the media item are delivered, para. 0037; providing the streaming files received from the CDN directly to the player, for example, without storing them persistently in the persistent storage, para. 0046),
after receiving an indication to store content (the downloaded media items will play from the locally stored set of streaming files, without the playing device needing to request them from the CDN (with the potential associated fluctuating, limited, or absent connectivity); user must choose to engage the download feature by clicking a download button or in one case (Netflix Smart Download) automatically in response to a user's viewing behavior, para. 0012),
identifying one or more content items to store in the corresponding content stores of the plurality of playback devices (to support its services, the helper can, among other things, use the manifest to request, receive, store, and maintain streaming files for the media item in the long-term storage cache, para. 0105; also see para. 0012),
retrieving the one or more content items to store in the corresponding content stores of the plurality of playback devices (the downloaded media items will play from the locally stored set of streaming files, without the playing device needing to request them from the CDN (with the potential associated fluctuating, limited, or absent connectivity), para. 0012; to support its services, the helper can, among other things, use the manifest to request, receive, store, and maintain streaming files for the media item in the long-term storage cache, para. 0105; the services provided by the helper to storage and retrieval of portions or all of the media items at the playing device or other co-located or co-used or co-owned devices, para. 0066),
storing the retrieved one or more content items in the first content store of the first playback device (indicating the availability of bandwidth on the communication channel in conjunction with the player's requests during which the helper can request and store streaming files to establish one or more backup sets of streaming files of a chosen quality level or levels; the backup set can be made available to the player if channel quality declines, if available bandwidth declines or connectivity is lost altogether, para. 0096; also see para. 0011, 0020), and
configuring the first playback device to play content items from the first content store of the first playback device (indicating the availability of bandwidth on the communication channel in conjunction with the player's requests during which the helper can request and store streaming files to establish one or more backup sets of streaming files of a chosen quality level or levels; the backup set can be made available to the player if channel quality declines, for example, if available bandwidth declines or connectivity is lost altogether, para. 0096; also see para. 0011, 0020).
Pressnell does not explicitly teach
providing, for display, a user interface comprising a list of
receiving, from a user, a selection of a plurality of playback devices from among the list of of the plurality of playback devices includes a selection of the first playback device;
providing, for display, a user interface comprising a list of content items,
receiving, from the user, a selection of one or more content items, from among the list of content items,
retrieving the selected one or more content items to
However, Bernstein teaches
providing, for display, a user interface comprising a list of (the playback control region 133d can include selectable (e.g., via touch input and/or via a cursor or another suitable selector) icons to cause one or more playback devices in a selected playback zone or zone group to perform playback actions, para. 0072),
receiving, from a user, a selection of a plurality of playback devices from among the list of of the plurality of playback devices includes a selection of the first playback device (the playback control region 133d can include selectable (e.g., via touch input and/or via a cursor or another suitable selector) icons to cause one or more playback devices in a selected playback zone or zone group to perform playback actions, para. 0072),
providing, for display, a user interface comprising a list of content items (the audio content source region 333e includes a listing of one or more media content sources from which a user can select media items for playback and/or adding to a playback queue, para. 0076; fig. 3),
receiving, from the user, a selection of one or more content items, from among the list of content items (if a user selects “Browse” in the lower display region 233f, the control device 230 can be configured to output a second user interface display 231b (FIG. 2B) comprising a plurality of music services 233g (e.g., Spotify, Radio by Tunein, Apple Music, Pandora, Amazon, TV, local music, line-in) through which the user can browse and from which the user can select media content for play back via one or more playback devices (e.g., one of the playback devices 110, para. 0075; receiving user input representing a selection of the displayed media content data, and responsive to receiving the selection, causing the one or more networked playback devices to retrieve, from the media streaming service, media content corresponding to the selected media content data for playback, para. 0134),
retrieving the selected one or more content items to (receiving user input representing a selection of the displayed media content data, and responsive to receiving the selection, causing the one or more networked playback devices to retrieve, from the media streaming service, media content corresponding to the selected media content data for playback, para. 0134) in order to perform functions relevant to facilitating user access, control, and configuration of the media playback system as taught by Bernstein (para. 0070),
Therefore, based on Pressnell in view of Bernstein, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Bernstein to the medium of Pressnell in order to perform functions relevant to facilitating user access, control, and configuration of the media playback system as taught by Bernstein (para. 0070).
Pressnell in view of Bernstein does not explicitly teach
receiving, from the user, a selection of one or more content items, from among the list of content items, to store in corresponding content stores of the selected plurality of playback devices,
after receiving the selection of the one or more content items, configuring the selected plurality of playback devices to store the selected one or more content items in the corresponding content stores of the selected plurality of playback devices,
retrieving the selected one or more content items to store in the corresponding content stores of the selected plurality of playback devices,
However, Rottler teaches
receiving, from the user, a selection of one or more content items, from among the list of content items (the user can select some or all of the media items of the library for local storage on the device, a user required to select only a subset of the available media items of the media library due to limited storage resources of the electronic device, para. 0038; fig. 3), to store in corresponding content stores of the selected plurality of playback devices (the user can select some or all of the media items of the library for local storage on the device, a user required to select only a subset of the available media items of the media library due to limited storage resources of the electronic device, para. 0038; fig. 3),
after receiving the selection of the one or more content items, configuring the selected plurality of playback devices to store the selected one or more content items in the corresponding content stores of the selected plurality of playback devices (display 300 can include side bar 310 identifying different types of media and devices available to the user's media library. For example, side bar 310 can include options for music, movies, TV shows, audiobooks, radio, or any other type of media; side bar 310 including listings identifying electronic devices that are connected to the host device library (e.g., iPhone 312), as well as collections of media items; the user can select any of the options in side bar 310 to direct display 300 to provide corresponding content, para. 0041; in response to receiving a user selection of a "music" option, region 320 can include a listing of available music in the user's media library and in response to a user selection of a device (e.g., iPhone 312), display 300 can include options relating to the content that a user wishes to store on the device, para. 0042; fig. 3),
retrieving the selected one or more content items to store in the corresponding content stores of the selected plurality of playback devices (the streamed media items that an electronic device must retrieve and locally store from the user's media library, para. 0008; because a user's library can include more media than can be stored on the device (e.g., as indicated by device capacity bar 330), the user select a subset of the user's available media items to store locally, para. 0042) in order to ensure a seamless transition between the locally stored portion and the streamed portion of the media item as taught by Rottler (para. 0065),
Therefore, based on Pressnell in view of Bernstein, and further in view of Rottler, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Rottler to the medium of Pressnell in view of Bernstein in order to ensure a seamless transition between the locally stored portion and the streamed portion of the media item as taught by Rottler (para. 0065).
Claims 2-3, 13-14 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pressnell et al. (US 2022/0086536 A1), hereinafter referred to as Pressnell, in view of Bernstein et al. (US 2021/0141992 A1), hereinafter referred to as Bernstein, further in view of Rottler et al. (US 2011/0118858 A1), hereinafter referred to as Rottler, and furthermore in view of Gossain (US 2014/0181202 A1).
With respect to claim 2, Pressnell in view of Bernstein, and further in view of Rottler teaches The media playback system of claim 1 as described above,
Pressnell in view of Bernstein, and further in view of Rottler does not explicitly teach the operations further comprising:
after receiving a request to play a first content item,
identifying, from among a plurality of synchronized playback devices, one or more playback devices storing the first content item, and
selecting, from among the identified one or more playback devices storing the first content item, a playback coordinator for coordinating playback of the first content item.
However, Gossain teaches the operations further comprising:
after receiving a request to play a first content item (providing multimedia content (requested or otherwise) to local playback networks, para. 0095),
identifying, from among a plurality of synchronized playback devices, one or more playback devices storing the first content item (the audio source found locally from another device over the data network 128, from the controller 130, stored on the zone player itself, or from an audio source communicating directly to the zone player, para. 0042), and
selecting, from among the identified one or more playback devices storing the first content item, a playback coordinator for coordinating playback of the first content item (a first device from the one or more devices in the media playback system is a group coordinator device configured to provide audio content data and audio content playback timing information to other devices in the group to facilitate the synchronized audio content playback, establishing the group of one or more devices in a playback system involve selecting or designating the first device as the group coordinator of the group, para. 0099) in order to facilitate a selection of a plurality of audio sources available on the network and enable control of one or more zone players as taught by Gossain (para. 0067).
Therefore, based on Pressnell in view of Bernstein, further in view of Rottler, and furthermore in view of Gossain, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Gossain to the system of Pressnell in view of Bernstein, and further in view of Rottler in order to facilitate a selection of a plurality of audio sources available on the network and enable control of one or more zone players as taught by Gossain (para. 0067).
With respect to claim 3, Pressnell in view of Bernstein, further in view of Rottler, and furthermore in view of Gossain teaches The media playback system of claim 2 as described above,
Further, Gossain teaches wherein the playback coordinator is configured to: during coordinated playback of the first content item,
send timing information to a first identified playback device storing the first content item without sending audio content to the first identified playback device (the first media device 1010 perform group coordinator device tasks, which include receiving media content through the media device 1006 and the media device 1008; processing the media content, generating playback timing information, and subsequently sending at least playback timing information back to the media device 1008 for synchronized playback, para. 0111), and
send timing information and audio content to at least one playback device that does not store the first content item (a first device of the one or more devices in the media playback system is a group coordinator configured to provide audio content data and audio content playback timing information to other devices in the group, para. 0030) in order to facilitate a selection of a plurality of audio sources available on the network and enable control of one or more zone players as taught by Gossain (para. 0067).
Therefore, based on Pressnell in view of Bernstein, further in view of Rottler, and furthermore in view of Gossain, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Gossain to the system of Pressnell in view of Bernstein, and further in view of Rottler in order to facilitate a selection of a plurality of audio sources available on the network and enable control of one or more zone players as taught by Gossain (para. 0067).
With respect to claim 13, Pressnell in view of Bernstein, and further in view of Rottler teaches The method of claim 12 as described above,
Pressnell in view of Bernstein, and further in view of Rottler does not explicitly teach further comprising:
after receiving a request to play a first content item,
identifying, from among a plurality of synchronized playback devices, one or more playback devices storing the first content item, and
selecting, from among the identified one or more playback devices storing the first content item, a playback coordinator for coordinating playback of the first content item.
However, Gossain teaches further comprising:
after receiving a request to play a first content item (providing multimedia content (requested or otherwise) to local playback networks, para. 0095),
identifying, from among a plurality of synchronized playback devices, one or more playback devices storing the first content item (the audio source found locally from another device over the data network 128, from the controller 130, stored on the zone player itself, or from an audio source communicating directly to the zone player, para. 0042), and
selecting, from among the identified one or more playback devices storing the first content item, a playback coordinator for coordinating playback of the first content item (a first device from the one or more devices in the media playback system is a group coordinator device configured to provide audio content data and audio content playback timing information to other devices in the group to facilitate the synchronized audio content playback, establishing the group of one or more devices in a playback system involve selecting or designating the first device as the group coordinator of the group, para. 0099) in order to facilitate a selection of a plurality of audio sources available on the network and enable control of one or more zone players as taught by Gossain (para. 0067).
Therefore, based on Pressnell in view of Bernstein, further in view of Rottler, and furthermore in view of Gossain, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Gossain to the method of Pressnell in view of Bernstein, and further in view of Rottler in order to facilitate a selection of a plurality of audio sources available on the network and enable control of one or more zone players as taught by Gossain (para. 0067).
With respect to claim 14, Pressnell in view of Bernstein, further in view of Rottler, and furthermore in view of Gossain teaches The method of claim 13 as described above,
Further, Gossain teaches wherein the playback coordinator is configured to:
send timing information to a first identified playback device storing the first content item without sending audio content to the first identified playback device (the first media device 1010 perform group coordinator device tasks, which include receiving media content through the media device 1006 and the media device 1008; processing the media content, generating playback timing information, and subsequently sending at least playback timing information back to the media device 1008 for synchronized playback, para. 0111), and
send timing information and audio content to at least one playback device that does not store the first content item (a first device of the one or more devices in the media playback system is a group coordinator configured to provide audio content data and audio content playback timing information to other devices in the group, para. 0030) in order to facilitate a selection of a plurality of audio sources available on the network and enable control of one or more zone players as taught by Gossain (para. 0067).
Therefore, based on Pressnell in view of Bernstein, further in view of Rottler, and furthermore in view of Gossain, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Gossain to the method of Pressnell in view of Bernstein, and further in view of Rottler in order to facilitate a selection of a plurality of audio sources available on the network and enable control of one or more zone players as taught by Gossain (para. 0067).
With respect to claim 17, Pressnell in view of Bernstein, and further in view of Rottler teaches The one or more tangible, non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 16 as described above,
Pressnell in view of Bernstein, and further in view of Rottler does not explicitly teach the operations further comprising:
after receiving a request to play a first content item,
identifying, from among a plurality of synchronized playback devices, one or more playback devices storing the first content item, and
selecting, from among the identified one or more playback devices storing the first content item, a playback coordinator for coordinating playback of the first content item.
However, Gossain teaches the operations further comprising:
after receiving a request to play a first content item (providing multimedia content (requested or otherwise) to local playback networks, para. 0095),
identifying, from among a plurality of synchronized playback devices, one or more playback devices storing the first content item (the audio source found locally from another device over the data network 128, from the controller 130, stored on the zone player itself, or from an audio source communicating directly to the zone player, para. 0042), and
selecting, from among the identified one or more playback devices storing the first content item, a playback coordinator for coordinating playback of the first content item (a first device from the one or more devices in the media playback system is a group coordinator device configured to provide audio content data and audio content playback timing information to other devices in the group to facilitate the synchronized audio content playback, establishing the group of one or more devices in a playback system involve selecting or designating the first device as the group coordinator of the group, para. 0099) in order to facilitate a selection of a plurality of audio sources available on the network and enable control of one or more zone players as taught by Gossain (para. 0067).
Therefore, based on Pressnell in view of Bernstein, further in view of Rottler, and furthermore in view of Gossain, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Gossain to the medium of Pressnell in view of Bernstein, and further in view of Rottler in order to facilitate a selection of a plurality of audio sources available on the network and enable control of one or more zone players as taught by Gossain (para. 0067).
With respect to claim 18, Pressnell in view of Bernstein, further in view of Rottler, and furthermore in view of Gossain teaches The one or more tangible, non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 17 as described above,
Further, Gossain teaches wherein the playback coordinator is configured to:
during coordinated playback of the first content item,
send timing information to a first identified playback device storing the first content item without sending audio content to the first identified playback device (the first media device 1010 perform group coordinator device tasks, which include receiving media content through the media device 1006 and the media device 1008; processing the media content, generating playback timing information, and subsequently sending at least playback timing information back to the media device 1008 for synchronized playback, para. 0111), and
send timing information and audio content to at least one playback device that does not store the first content item (a first device of the one or more devices in the media playback system is a group coordinator configured to provide audio content data and audio content playback timing information to other devices in the group, para. 0030) in order to facilitate a selection of a plurality of audio sources available on the network and enable control of one or more zone players as taught by Gossain (para. 0067).
Therefore, based on Pressnell in view of Bernstein, further in view of Rottler, and furthermore in view of Gossain, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Gossain to the medium of Pressnell in view of Bernstein, and further in view of Rottler in order to facilitate a selection of a plurality of audio sources available on the network and enable control of one or more zone players as taught by Gossain (para. 0067).
Claims 4-6, 15 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pressnell et al. (US 2022/0086536 A1), hereinafter referred to as Pressnell, in view of Bernstein et al. (US 2021/0141992 A1), hereinafter referred to as Bernstein, further in view of Rottler et al. (US 2011/0118858 A1), hereinafter referred to as Rottler, and furthermore in view of in view of Schoenwald (US 2021/0037071 A1).
With respect to claim 4, Pressnell in view of Bernstein, and further in view of Rottler teaches The media playback system of claim 1 as described above,
Pressnell in view of Bernstein, and further in view of Rottler does not explicitly teach the operations further comprising:
after determining that a first content item has been added to a queue associated with the first playback device, automatically downloading the first content item to the first playback device.
However, Schoenwald teaches the operations further comprising:
after determining that a first content item has been added to a queue associated with the first playback device, automatically downloading the first content item to the first playback device (the user can select the option for automatic downloading and select if they want automatic downloads to occur over both mobile data and WiFi, depending on availability, or via WiFi only; where downloading via mobile data is permitted, download speeds can be increased by using both WiFi and mobile data for downloading content, a file's packets can be divided into two groups, one which will download over WiFi, and one which will download over data, the size of these queues would adjust based off of the speeds of the networks, para. 0041) in order to ensure the user always has content as soon as it becomes available while the latter could be set so that downloads would take place as taught by Schoenwald (para. 0043).
Therefore, based on Pressnell in view of Bernstein, further in view of Rottler, and furthermore in view of Schoenwald, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Schoenwald to the system of Pressnell in view of Bernstein, and further in view of Rottler in order to ensure the user always has content as soon as it becomes available while the latter could be set so that downloads would take place as taught by Schoenwald (para. 0043).
With respect to claim 5, Pressnell in view of Bernstein, and further in view of Rottler teaches The media playback system of claim 1 as described above,
Pressnell in view of Bernstein, and further in view of Rottler does not explicitly teach the operations further comprising:
accessing a playlist associated with the first playback device; and
identifying, from the accessed playlist, content items marked for download.
However, Schoenwald teaches the operations further comprising:
accessing a playlist associated with the first playback device (a list of media marked for archival can listed with the download queue for easy access and, should the user choose, deselection or deletion, para. 0048); and
identifying, from the accessed playlist, content items marked for download (a list of media marked for archival can listed with the download queue for easy access and, should the user choose, deselection or deletion, para. 0048) in order to ensure the user always has content as soon as it becomes available while the latter could be set so that downloads would take place as taught by Schoenwald (para. 0043).
Therefore, based on Pressnell in view of Bernstein, further in view of Rottler, and furthermore in view of Schoenwald, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Schoenwald to the system of Pressnell in view of Bernstein, and further in view of Rottler in order to ensure the user always has content as soon as it becomes available while the latter could be set so that downloads would take place as taught by Schoenwald (para. 0043).
With respect to claim 6, Pressnell in view of Bernstein, further in view of Rottler, and furthermore in view of Schoenwald teaches The media playback system of claim 5 as described above,
Further, Schoenwald teaches the operations further comprising:
providing, for display, a user interface comprising, for each of the one or more content items identified by the accessed playlist, an indication of whether the content item is stored in the first content store of the first playback device (Saved media marked by either an icon, a color highlight, or a shaded area to indicate their designation, a list of media marked for archival can listed with the download queue for easy access and, should the user choose, deselection or deletion, para. 0048) in order to ensure the user always has content as soon as it becomes available while the latter could be set so that downloads would take place as taught by Schoenwald (para. 0043).
Therefore, based on Pressnell in view of Bernstein, further in view of Rottler, and furthermore in view of Schoenwald, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Schoenwald to the system of Pressnell in view of Bernstein, and further in view of Rottler in order to ensure the user always has content as soon as it becomes available while the latter could be set so that downloads would take place as taught by Schoenwald (para. 0043).
With respect to claim 15, Pressnell in view of Bernstein, and further in view of Rottler teaches The method of claim 12 as described above,
Pressnell in view of Bernstein, and further in view of Rottler does not explicitly teach further comprising:
after determining that a first content item has been added to a queue associated with the first playback device, automatically downloading the first content item to the first playback device.
However, Schoenwald teaches further comprising:
after determining that a first content item has been added to a queue associated with the first playback device, automatically downloading the first content item to the first playback device (the user can select the option for automatic downloading and select if they want automatic downloads to occur over both mobile data and WiFi, depending on availability, or via WiFi only; where downloading via mobile data is permitted, download speeds can be increased by using both WiFi and mobile data for downloading content, a file's packets can be divided into two groups, one which will download over WiFi, and one which will download over data, the size of these queues would adjust based off of the speeds of the networks, para. 0041) in order to ensure the user always has content as soon as it becomes available while the latter could be set so that downloads would take place as taught by Schoenwald (para. 0043).
Therefore, based on Pressnell in view of Bernstein, further in view of Rottler, and furthermore in view of Schoenwald, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Schoenwald to the method of Pressnell in view of Bernstein, and further in view of Rottler in order to ensure the user always has content as soon as it becomes available while the latter could be set so that downloads would take place as taught by Schoenwald (para. 0043).
With respect to claim 19, Pressnell in view of Bernstein, and further in view of Rottler teaches The one or more tangible, non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 16 as described above,
Pressnell in view of Bernstein, and further in view of Rottler does not explicitly teach the operations further comprising:
after determining that a first content item has been added to a queue associated with the first playback device, automatically downloading the first content item to the first playback device.
However, Schoenwald teaches the operations further comprising:
after determining that a first content item has been added to a queue associated with the first playback device, automatically downloading the first content item to the first playback device (the user can select the option for automatic downloading and select if they want automatic downloads to occur over both mobile data and WiFi, depending on availability, or via WiFi only; where downloading via mobile data is permitted, download speeds can be increased by using both WiFi and mobile data for downloading content, a file's packets can be divided into two groups, one which will download over WiFi, and one which will download over data, the size of these queues would adjust based off of the speeds of the networks, para. 0041) in order to ensure the user always has content as soon as it becomes available while the latter could be set so that downloads would take place as taught by Schoenwald (para. 0043).
Therefore, based on Pressnell in view of Bernstein, further in view of Rottler, and furthermore in view of Schoenwald, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Schoenwald to the media of Pressnell in view of Bernstein, and further in view of Rottler in order to ensure the user always has content as soon as it becomes available while the latter could be set so that downloads would take place as taught by Schoenwald (para. 0043).
With respect to claim 20, Pressnell in view of Bernstein, and further in view of Rottler teaches The one or more tangible, non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 16 as described above,
Pressnell in view of Bernstein, and further in view of Rottler does not explicitly teach the operations further comprising:
accessing a playlist associated with the first playback device; and
identifying, from the accessed playlist, content items marked for download.
However, Schoenwald teaches the operations further comprising:
accessing a playlist associated with the first playback device (a list of media marked for archival can listed with the download queue for easy access and, should the user choose, deselection or deletion, para. 0048); and
identifying, from the accessed playlist, content items marked for download (a list of media marked for archival can listed with the download queue for easy access and, should the user choose, deselection or deletion, para. 0048) in order to ensure the user always has content as soon as it becomes available while the latter could be set so that downloads would take place as taught by Schoenwald (para. 0043).
Therefore, based on Pressnell in view of Bernstein, further in view of Rottler, and furthermore in view of Schoenwald, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Schoenwald to the media of Pressnell in view of Bernstein, and further in view of Rottler in order to ensure the user always has content as soon as it becomes available while the latter could be set so that downloads would take place as taught by Schoenwald (para. 0043).
Claims 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pressnell et al. (US 2022/0086536 A1), hereinafter referred to as Pressnell, in view of Bernstein et al. (US 2021/0141992 A1), hereinafter referred to as Bernstein, further in view of Rottler et al. (US 2011/0118858 A1), hereinafter referred to as Rottler, and furthermore in view of Sant et al. (US 2015/0222950 A1), hereinafter referred to as Sant.
With respect to claim 8, Pressnell teaches The media playback system of claim 1, the operations further comprising:
while the first playback device has a network connection, configuring the first playback device to stream content items received via the network connection (the communication channel 24 between the playing device and the CDN 26 through which the streaming files 28 of the media item are delivered, para. 0037; providing the streaming files received from the CDN directly to the player, for example, without storing them persistently in the persistent storage, para. 0046); and
after determining that the network connection has been lost, configuring the first playback device to stream content items from the first content store of the first playback device (indicating the availability of bandwidth on the communication channel in conjunction with the player's requests during which the helper can request and store streaming files to establish one or more backup sets of streaming files of a chosen quality level or levels; the backup set can be made available to the player if channel connectivity is lost altogether, para. 0096; also see para. 0011, 0020).
Pressnell in view of Bernstein, and further in view of Rottler does not explicitly teach the operations further comprising:
while the first playback device has a WiFi connection, configuring the first playback device to stream content items received via the WiFi connection; and
after determining that the WiFi connection has been lost, configuring the first playback device to stream content items from the first content store of the first playback device.
However, Sant teaches the operations further comprising:
while the first playback device has a WiFi connection, configuring the first playback device to stream content items received via the WiFi connection (the system accesses the content, a wireless connection, such as wifi, para. 0091; the system uses its network connectivity to download, progressively download and/or stream the content, para. 0104); and
after determining that the WiFi connection has been lost, configuring the first playback device to stream content items from the first content store of the first playback device (cached data is used to provide the system with access to content and/or associated metadata when "offline" (when online connectivity is unavailable), such as when travelling on some planes and underground railways or when connectivity is disabled, para. 0107) in order to permit content to be broadcast to one or more suitable media players, whether connected directly or wirelessly as taught by Sant (para. 0113).
Therefore, based on Pressnell in view of Bernstein, further in view of Rottler, and furthermore in view of Sant, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Sant to the system of Pressnell in view of Bernstein, and further in view of Rottler in order to permit content to be broadcast to one or more suitable media players, whether connected directly or wirelessly as taught by Sant (para. 0113).
With respect to claim 11, Pressnell in view of Bernstein, and further in view of Rottler teaches The media playback system of claim 1 as described above,
Pressnell in view of Bernstein, and further in view of Rottler does not explicitly teach the operations further comprising:
while the first playback device is streaming content via a WiFi connection, receiving one or more control instructions via the WiFi connection; and
while the first playback device is playing content stored in the first content store, receiving one or more control instructions via a second connection other than the WiFi connection.
However, Sant teaches teach the operations further comprising:
while the first playback device is streaming content via a WiFi connection, receiving one or more control instructions via the WiFi connection (the system accesses the content, a wireless connection, such as wifi, para. 0091; the system uses its network connectivity to download, progressively download and/or stream the content, para. 0104); and
while the first playback device is playing content stored in the first content store, receiving one or more control instructions via a second connection other than the WiFi connection (cached data is used to provide the system with access to content and/or associated metadata when "offline" (when online connectivity is unavailable), such as when travelling on some planes and underground railways or when connectivity is disabled, para. 0107) in order to permit content to be broadcast to one or more suitable media players, whether connected directly or wirelessly as taught by Sant (para. 0113).
Therefore, based on Pressnell in view of Bernstein, further in view of Rottler, and furthermore in view of Sant, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Sant to the system of Pressnell in view of Bernstein, and further in view of Rottler in order to permit content to be broadcast to one or more suitable media players, whether connected directly or wirelessly as taught by Sant (para. 0113).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pressnell et al. (US 2022/0086536 A1), hereinafter referred to as Pressnell, in view of Bernstein et al. (US 2021/0141992 A1), hereinafter referred to as Bernstein, further in view of Rottler et al. (US 2011/0118858 A1), hereinafter referred to as Rottler, and furthermore in view of Nagarajan et al. (US 2020/0218329 A1), hereinafter referred to as Nagarajan.
With respect to claim 9, Pressnell in view of Bernstein, and further in view of Rottler teaches The media playback system of claim 1 as described above,
Pressnell in view of Bernstein, and further in view of Rottler does not explicitly teach the operations further comprising:
determining a current battery level for the first playback device; and
identifying one or more content items to download onto the first playback device is based on the determined current battery level.
However, Nagarajan teaches the operations further comprising:
determining a current battery level for the first playback device (a third-party content provider choose a ‘search and display’ campaign type, a third-party content provider elect to offer third-party content of a ‘click to download’ type only when the battery level of a particular user device is at a high battery level, when the battery level is low, the third-party content provider elect to offer third-party content including text and links to additional content, the third-party content being offered correspond to the battery level of the user device so as to avoid inconveniencing the user by depleting a remaining charge amount, para. 0030); and
identifying one or more content items to download onto the first playback device is based on the determined current battery level (a third-party content provider choose a ‘search and display’ campaign type, a third-party content provider elect to offer third-party content of a ‘click to download’ type only when the battery level of a particular user device is at a high battery level, when the battery level is low, the third-party content provider elect to offer third-party content including text and links to additional content, the third-party content being offered correspond to the battery level of the user device so as to avoid inconveniencing the user by depleting a remaining charge amount, para. 0030) in order to avoid inconveniencing the user by depleting a remaining charge amount as taught by Nagarajan (para. 0030).
Therefore, based on Pressnell in view of Bernstein, further in view of Rottler, and furthermore in view of Nagarajan, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Nagarajan to the system of Pressnell in view of Bernstein, and further in view of Rottler in order to avoid inconveniencing the user by depleting a remaining charge amount as taught by Nagarajan (para. 0030).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.H.N/Examiner, Art Unit 2447
September 29, 2026
/JOON H HWANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2447