DETAILED ACTION
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
The examiner encourages Applicant to submit an authorization to communicate with the examiner via the Internet by making the following statement (from MPEP 502.03):
“Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file.”
Please note that the above statement can only be submitted via Central Fax, Regular postal mail, or EFS Web (PTO/SB/439).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed June 9, 2026 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. With respect to the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejections, Applicant argues that the claims are eligible because:
“claim 1 has been amended to recite "ordering the command in a command queue based, at least in part, on comparing the execution weight of the one or more command parameters to execution weights of one or more previously received commands in the command queue." Applicant respectfully submits that these features cannot practically be performed in the human mind.
Unlike "determining" parameters or weights, the act ofordering commands within a command queue based on real-time weight comparisons requires maintaining and manipulating a data structure (the command queue) as commands are received. This is an inherently computer implemented operation.” (Applicant’s Remarks, Pgs. 6-7).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The recited “ordering” and “comparing” steps can be completed in the human mind with the aid of pen and paper through observation, evaluation, judgment, and/or opinion. For example, a person can create an ordered listing of commands based on comparing the execution weight of the one or more command parameters to execution weights of one or more previously received commands in the command queue.
“Under Step 2A, Prong 2, a claim integrates a judicial exception into a practical application when the claim reflects an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to another technology or technical field. See MPEP § 2106.04(d)(1). In this case, claim 1 recites a specific technical process for managing command execution in a data storage device. For example, claim 1 describes a process in which commands are dynamically ordered within a single command queue by comparing calculated execution weights of incoming commands against execution weights of commands already in the queue.
This provides a specific improvement to the technical functioning of the data storage device itself. As explained in the specification, the claimed approach provides "improved command sequencing when compared with current solutions, improved performance of the data storage device while decreasing latency and increasing throughput, and increasing the life of the data storage device." (Specification, para. [0024]).” (Applicant’s Remarks, Pg. 7).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. “An important consideration in determining whether a claim improves technology is the extent to which the claim covers a particular solution to a problem or a particular way to achieve a desired outcome, as opposed to merely claiming the idea of a solution or outcome… It is important to note, the judicial exception alone cannot provide the improvement. The improvement can be provided by one or more additional elements. See the discussion of Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175, 187 and 191-92, 209 USPQ 1, 10 (1981)) in subsection II, below. In addition, the improvement can be provided by the additional element(s) in combination with the recited judicial exception.” (MPEP 2106.05(a)). As discussed in the rejections below, the claims do not provide additional elements that provide an improvement.
“Additionally, and even if claim 1 was found to be directed to an abstract idea under Step 2A, claim 1 recites significantly more under Step 2B. The act of dynamically ordering commands within a command queue based on real-time execution weight comparisons is not a routine or conventional computer function. This operation requires maintaining and manipulating a data structure (the command queue) in real-time as commands are received, comparing calculated weights against weights of previously received commands, and inserting commands at specific positions within the queue based on those comparisons.” (Applicant’s Remarks, Pg. 8).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. As an initial matter, the examiner would like to note that the claims do not recite “dynamically ordering commands within a command queue based on real-time execution weight comparisons,” “comparing calculated weights against weights of previously received commands,” or “maintaining and manipulating a data structure (the command queue) in real-time as commands are received. For example, the “ordering” step is not triggered by receiving a command. The claims also use the result of comparisons but do not claim the actual comparing step. Furthermore, as discussed in the rejections below, the “ordering” step is analyzed as a mental process. The additional element of a “command queue” amounts to an attempt to generally link the use of the judicial execution to a particular technological environment or field of use. (MPEP 2106.05(h)). Limitations that the courts have found not to be enough to qualify as “significantly more” when recited in a claim with a judicial exception include:…iv. Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.” (MPEP 2105.05(A)).
With respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections, Applicant’s arguments are related to newly amended claim language and have been fully addressed in the rejections below.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-9 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
In adhering to the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (2019 PEG), Step 1 is directed to determining whether or not the claims fall within a statutory class. Herein, the claims fall within statutory class of process, machine or manufacture. Hence, the claims qualify as potentially eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C §101. With Step 1 being directed to a statutory category, the analysis directed to Step 2A.
Step 2A is a two prong inquiry. Prong 1 considers whether the claim recites a judicial exception (an abstract idea enumerated in the 2019 PEG, a law of nature, or a natural phenomenon). In this case independent claim 1 recites mental processes as applied to human activity (i.e. concepts performed in the human mind but for the recitation of generic computing components). For example, the following claimed steps are functions that can be reasonably carried out in the human mind with the aid of pen and paper, through observation, evaluation, judgment, and/or opinion:
determining command parameters associated with the command, the command parameters being selected from a group of command parameters including a data attribute parameter, a data location parameter and a command attribute parameter;
determining an execution weight for one or more of the command parameters;
determining an execution order for the command based, at least in part, on the execution weight of the one or more command parameters; and
ordering the command in a command queue based, at least in part, on comparing the execution weight of the one or more command parameters to execution weights of one or more previously received commands in the command queue.
But for the recitation of generic computing components, steps a-d can be completed in the human mind with the aid of pen and paper through observation, evaluation, judgment, and/or opinion. Steps a-d describe collecting and analyzing information at a high level of generality. According to the MPEP, these steps are examples of mental processes, thus it is reasonable to identify these limitations as reciting mental processes. (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III (A), claims do recite a mental process when they contain limitations that can practically be performed in the human mind, including for example, observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions. Examples of claims that recite mental processes include: a claim to “collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis,” where the data analysis steps are recited at a high level of generality such that they could practically be performed in the human mind, Electric Power Group v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1353-54, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1741-42 (Fed. Cir. 2016)).
Since the claims are directed toward a judicial exception, analysis flows to Prong 2. Prong 2 considers whether the judicial exception is integrated into a practical application. In this case, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claim language merely describes steps of collecting data, field of use/technological environment, and using a computer as a tool to apply the abstract idea and fails to describe an improvement to the functioning of a computer or other technical field. The additional elements recited in the claim do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application for the following reasons:
The additional elements of a “memory controller,” “data storage device,” and a “command queue” are recited at a high level of generality and amounts to using a generic computing component as a tool to apply the abstract idea (MPEP § 2106.05(f)). This additional element also appears to be an attempt to generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. (MPEP 2106.05(h)); and
The additional element of “receiving a command for execution on a data storage device” amounts to insignificant extra-solution data gathering/data transmission activity (MPEP § 2106.05(g)).
Therefore the abstract idea has not been integrated into practical application and the claims are directed to the abstract idea.
Since the claims are directed to the determined judicial exception, the analysis flows to Step 2B. Therein, the elements and combination of elements are examined in the claims to determine whether the claims as a whole amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception. In this case, the additional elements identified at Step 2A Prong 2, individually or in an order combination, also do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea for the same reasons as given in Step 2A Prong 2 and further because:
The claimed “memory controller,” “data storage device” and “command queue” are generically recited as mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer. Thus, this step does not add significantly more to the respective limitations. Taken as an ordered combination, the afore-mentioned limitation is directed to limitations referenced in Alice Corp. (also called the Mayo test) that are not enough to qualify as significantly more when recited in a claim with an abstract idea. (MPEP § 2106.05 (I)(A)), “Limitations that the courts have found not to be enough to qualify as “significantly more” when recited in a claim with a judicial exception include: i… mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer.”
The additional element of “receiving a command for execution on a data storage device” amounts to well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions because the step is claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) and as insignificant extra-solution activity. “The courts have recognized the following computer functions as well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity. i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network.” (MPEP 2106.05(d) (II)).
“A claim directed to a judicial exception cannot be made eligible “simply by having the applicant acquiesce to limiting the reach of the patent for the formula to a particular technological use.” Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175, 192 n.14, 209 USPQ 1, 10 n. 14 (1981). Thus, limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself, and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application.” (MPEP 2106.05 (h)).
Employing generic computer functions to execute an abstract idea, even when limiting the use of the idea to one particular environment, does not add significantly more, similar to how limiting the abstract idea in Flook to petrochemical and oil-refining industries was insufficient. (MPEP 2106.05 (h)).
Regarding claim 2, the additional element of “wherein the execution order is based, at least in part, on a determined force and wherein the determined force is proportional to the execution weight of the one or more command parameters” is analyzed with step c as a mental process since the “determining” steps can be reasonably carried out in the human mind with the aid of pen and paper, through observation, evaluation, judgment, and/or opinion but for the recitation of generic computing components. For example, a person can think and evaluate to determine an execution order based on a determined command force.
Regarding claim 3, the additional element of “wherein the command is a system command” amounts to using a generic computing component as a tool to apply the abstract idea (MPEP § 2106.05(f)). This additional element also appears to be an attempt to generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. (MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Regarding claim 4, the additional element of “wherein the command is received from a host device” amounts to using a generic computing component as a tool to apply the abstract idea (MPEP § 2106.05(f)). This additional element also appears to be an attempt to generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. (MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Regarding claim 5, the additional element of “wherein the execution order is based, at least in part, on a first time parameter and a second time parameter” appears to be an attempt to generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. (MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Regarding claim 6, the additional element of “wherein the data attribute command parameter includes one or more of a size of data associated with the command and a temperature of the data associated with the command” appears to be an attempt to generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. (MPEP 2106.05(h));
Regarding claim 7, the additional element of “wherein the data location command parameter includes one or more of a logical block address (LBA) associated with the command, a physical location of a memory block associated with the command, an age of the memory block associated with the command and a code rate associated with the memory block” appears to be an attempt to generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. (MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Regarding claim 8, the additional element of “wherein the command attribute command parameter includes one or more of a command type, a command origin and a time parameter” appears to be an attempt to generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. (MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Regarding claim 9, the additional element of “wherein the execution weight is determined based, at least in part, on a number of received commands exceeding a threshold” appears to be an attempt to generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. (MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Regarding claim 17, this claim is not patent eligible for the same reasons given for claim 1 for the common limitations.
The following limitation does not recite a practical application because the additional element of a “system” amounts to using a generic computing component as a tool to apply the abstract idea (MPEP § 2106.05(f)). The additional element also appears to be an attempt to generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. (MPEP 2106.05(h)). This additional element also does not add significantly more to the respective limitations. Taken as an ordered combination, the afore-mentioned limitation is directed to limitations referenced in Alice Corp. (also called the Mayo test) that are not enough to qualify as significantly more when recited in a claim with an abstract idea. (MPEP § 2106.05 (I)(A)), “Limitations that the courts have found not to be enough to qualify as “significantly more” when recited in a claim with a judicial exception include: i… mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer.”
Regarding claim 18, this claim is ineligible for the same reasons given for claim 2.
Regarding claim 19, the additional element of “means for comparing the execution weight of the command to an execution weight of one or more previously received commands” recites an additional mental process under Prong 1 since this step can be reasonably carried out in the human mind with the aid of pen and paper, through observation, evaluation, judgment, and/or opinion but for the recitation of generic computing components. For example, a person can think and evaluate to compare determined execution weights for previous commands.
Regarding claim 20, the additional element of “means for determining whether the command is received from a host device or whether the command is a system command” recites an additional mental process under Prong 1 since this step can be reasonably carried out in the human mind with the aid of pen and paper, through observation, evaluation, judgment, and/or opinion but for the recitation of generic computing components. For example, a person can think and evaluate to determine a type/source of a command.
Claims 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
In adhering to the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (2019 PEG), Step 1 is directed to determining whether or not the claims fall within a statutory class. Herein, the claims fall within statutory class of process, machine or manufacture. Hence, the claims qualify as potentially eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C §101. With Step 1 being directed to a statutory category, the analysis directed to Step 2A.
Step 2A is a two prong inquiry. Prong 1 considers whether the claim recites a judicial exception (an abstract idea enumerated in the 2019 PEG, a law of nature, or a natural phenomenon). In this case independent claim 1 recites mental processes as applied to human activity (i.e. concepts performed in the human mind but for the recitation of generic computing components). For example, the following claimed steps are functions that can be reasonably carried out in the human mind with the aid of pen and paper, through observation, evaluation, judgment, and/or opinion:
determining one or more command parameters associated with a received command, the one or more command parameters being selected from a group of command parameters including, a data attribute parameter, a data location parameter and a command attribute parameter;
determining an execution weight for each of the one or more command parameters; and
determining a force associated with the command, wherein the force is proportional to the execution weight of each of the one or more command parameters.
But for the recitation of generic computing components, steps A-C can be completed in the human mind with the aid of pen and paper through observation, evaluation, judgment, and/or opinion. Steps A-C describe collecting and analyzing information at a high level of generality. According to the MPEP, these steps are examples of mental processes, thus it is reasonable to identify these limitations as reciting mental processes. (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III (A), claims do recite a mental process when they contain limitations that can practically be performed in the human mind, including for example, observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions. Examples of claims that recite mental processes include: a claim to “collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis,” where the data analysis steps are recited at a high level of generality such that they could practically be performed in the human mind, Electric Power Group v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1353-54, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1741-42 (Fed. Cir. 2016)).
Since the claims are directed toward a judicial exception, analysis flows to Prong 2. Prong 2 considers whether the judicial exception is integrated into a practical application. In this case, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claim language merely describes steps of collecting data, field of use/technological environment, and using a computer as a tool to apply the abstract idea and fails to describe an improvement to the functioning of a computer or other technical field. The additional elements recited in the claim do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application for the following reasons:
The additional element of a “system,” “controller,” and a “memory storing instructions that, when executed by the controller, perform operations” are recited at a high level of generality and amounts to using a generic computing component as a tool to apply the abstract idea (MPEP § 2106.05(f)). The additional elements also appear to be an attempt to generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. (MPEP 2106.05(h)); and
The additional element of “a received a command” amounts to insignificant extra-solution data gathering/data transmission activity (MPEP § 2106.05(g)).
Therefore the abstract idea has not been integrated into practical application and the claims are directed to the abstract idea.
Since the claims are directed to the determined judicial exception, the analysis flows to Step 2B. Therein, the elements and combination of elements are examined in the claims to determine whether the claims as a whole amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception. In this case, the additional elements identified at Step 2A Prong 2, individually or in an order combination, also do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea for the same reasons as given in Step 2A Prong 2 and further because:
The claimed “system,” “controller,” and “memory storing instructions that, when executed by the controller, perform operations” are generically recited as mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer. Thus, these additional elements do not add significantly more to the respective limitations. Taken as an ordered combination, the afore-mentioned limitation is directed to limitations referenced in Alice Corp. (also called the Mayo test) that are not enough to qualify as significantly more when recited in a claim with an abstract idea. (MPEP § 2106.05 (I)(A)), “Limitations that the courts have found not to be enough to qualify as “significantly more” when recited in a claim with a judicial exception include: i… mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer.”
The additional element of a “received command ” amounts to well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions because the step is claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) and as insignificant extra-solution activity. “The courts have recognized the following computer functions as well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity. i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network.” (MPEP 2106.05(d) (II)).
“A claim directed to a judicial exception cannot be made eligible “simply by having the applicant acquiesce to limiting the reach of the patent for the formula to a particular technological use.” Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175, 192 n.14, 209 USPQ 1, 10 n. 14 (1981). Thus, limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself, and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application.” (MPEP 2106.05 (h)).
Employing generic computer functions to execute an abstract idea, even when limiting the use of the idea to one particular environment, does not add significantly more, similar to how limiting the abstract idea in Flook to petrochemical and oil-refining industries was insufficient. (MPEP 2106.05 (h)).
Regarding claim 11, the additional element of “determining an execution order for the command based, at least in part, on the force” is analyzed with step C as a mental process since the “determining” steps can be reasonably carried out in the human mind with the aid of pen and paper, through observation, evaluation, judgment, and/or opinion but for the recitation of generic computing components. For example, a person can think and evaluate to determine an execution order based on a determined command force.
Regarding claim 12, the additional element of “comparing the force of the command to a force of one or more previously received commands” recites an additional mental process under Prong 1 since this step can be reasonably carried out in the human mind with the aid of pen and paper, through observation, evaluation, judgment, and/or opinion but for the recitation of generic computing components. For example, a person can think and evaluate to compare determined execution weights for previous commands.
Regarding claim 13, the additional element of “wherein the data attribute command parameter includes one or more of a size of data associated with the command and a temperature of the data associated with the command” appears to be an attempt to generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. (MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Regarding claim 14, the additional element of “wherein the data location command parameter includes one or more of a logical block address (LBA) associated with the command, a physical location of a memory block associated with the command, an age of the memory block associated with the command and a code rate associated with the memory block” appears to be an attempt to generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. (MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Regarding claim 15, the additional element of “wherein the command attribute command parameter includes one or more of a command type, a command origin and a time parameter” appears to be an attempt to generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. (MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Regarding claim 16, the additional element of “wherein the execution weight is determined based, at least in part, on a number of received commands exceeding a threshold” appears to be an attempt to generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. (MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 10-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rimoni et al. (US 2016/0266934) in view of Khafizova (US 9612874) and Smith et al. (US 2019/0205244).
As per claim 1, Rimoni teaches the invention substantially as claimed including a method performed by a memory controller of a data storage device, comprising:
receiving a command for execution on a data storage device ([0016], controller 120 may be configured to receive one or more tasks, such as a task 134, from an access device 130; Examiner Note: Rimoni’s controller is a part of its storage device:[0013], data storage device 102 includes a controller 120);
determining command parameters associated with the command ([0016], controller 120 may determine at least one characteristic of the task 134. For example, the task 134 may include one or more fields that indicate the at least one characteristic of the task 134), the command parameters being selected from a group of command parameters including a data attribute parameter ([0016], at least one characteristic may include ...a data size), a data location parameter ([0016], at least one characteristic may include ...an address) and a command attribute parameter ([0016], at least one characteristic may include a write operation, a read operation, a high priority operation... and/or a protocol; and [0023], Each task may include task information. The task information may indicate one or more characteristics of the task, such as a ...a read/write operation type); and
determining an execution order for the command ([0017], A task order 194 in which the tasks are selected from the multiple task queues 166 may indicate an order in which the tasks are to be processed to perform memory access operations. By selecting tasks from the multiple task queues 166 and/or by using a weight value to select multiple tasks from a particular queue, an order of execution of the tasks may be determined that promotes efficient execution of the tasks based on the architecture of the data storage device 102).
Rimoni fails to specifically teach, determining an execution weight for one or more of the command parameters; determining an execution order for the command based, at least in part, on the execution weight of the one or more command parameters; and ordering the command in a command queue based, at least in part, on comparing the execution weight of the one or more command parameters to execution weights of one or more previously received commands in the command queue.
However, Khafizova teaches, determining an execution weight for one or more of the command parameters (Column 8, Lines 12-15, the prioritization engine 275 assigns, or otherwise associates, each of the processing job parameters 246 and the user parameters 248 with a respective numeric value N; and Column 8, Lines 47-51, the higher the numeric value N that is assigned to the processing job parameter 246 or user parameter 248, the more weight that processing job parameter or user parameter will be accorded when determining the processing job priority 276); and
determining an execution order for the command based, at least in part, on the execution weight of the one or more command parameters (Column 8, Lines 47-51, the higher the numeric value N that is assigned to the processing job parameter 246 or user parameter 248, the more weight that processing job parameter or user parameter will be accorded when determining the processing job priority 276; Examiner Note: Khafizova’s jobs are scheduled according to their priorities: Column 4, Lines 10-18, the request processing server 110 may prioritize the pending processing jobs using the respective processing job priorities of the pending processing jobs. For example, pending processing jobs with the highest processing job priorities may be scheduled to be executed first in the execution order, while pending processing jobs with the lowest processing job priorities may be scheduled to be executed last in the execution order.
Romini and Khafizova are analogous because they are each related task scheduling. Romini teaches a method of scheduling commands received by a storage device including determining an execution order for said commands based on command parameters. (Abstract, data storage device may receive, from the access device, task declarations that specify tasks to be performed by the data storage device; [0017], A task order 194 in which the tasks are selected from the multiple task queues 166 may indicate an order in which the tasks are to be processed to perform memory access operations. By selecting tasks from the multiple task queues 166 and/or by using a weight value to select multiple tasks from a particular queue, an order of execution of the tasks may be determined that promotes efficient execution of the tasks based on the architecture of the data storage device 102; and [0023], Each task may include task information. The task information may indicate one or more characteristics of the task, such as a task identifier (ID), a priority flag (e.g., a high priority flag), a length of data to be transferred, a data start address, and/or a read/write operation type, as illustrative, non-limiting examples). Khafizova teaches a task scheduling method including assigning an execution weights to task parameters and using said weights to determine a priority order for task execution. (Abstract, systems and methods for managing the execution of processing jobs. In one embodiment, a method includes receiving a processing job associated with a set of processing job parameters. The processing job is sent from a user interfacing device associated with a user. The method also includes determining a processing job priority for the processing job using the set of processing job parameters; and Column 2, Lines 5-15, associating each of the set of processing job parameters with a respective numeric value (N), assigning a respective weight (W) to each of the set of processing job parameters, determining a respective weighted value (X) for each of the set of processing job parameters, wherein X=W*N. The method also includes Summating the respective weighted values (X) for each of the set of processing job parameters to form a weighted total (T), determining a cumulative utility factor (F) associated with the user, and determining a processing job priority (P) for the processing job). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that based on the combination, the “task scheduler module” of Romini would be modified with Khafizova’s job weighting and prioritization mechanisms resulting in a system that provides task management based on weighted job parameters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Romini and Khafizova.
The combination of Romini-Khafizova fails to specifically teach, ordering the command in a command queue based, at least in part, on comparing the execution weight of the one or more command parameters to execution weights of one or more previously received commands in the command queue.
However, Smith teaches, ordering the command in a command queue based, at least in part, on comparing the execution weight of the one or more command parameters to execution weights of one or more previously received commands in the command queue ([0259], a set of commands directed to a certain range of memory addresses may be targeted by one or more order control commands and the command set may thus be controlled, modified, reordered, given priority, allowed to pass other commands, rearranged in one or more buffers, combinations of these, etc.; [0269], an ordering buffer (or queue, FIFO, etc.) may be used to store, queue, manipulate, order, re-order, perform combinations of these functions and/or other operations and the like, etc. For example, in one embodiment, an ordering buffer etc. may be used in front of (e.g. logically preceding, ahead of, etc.) one or more memory controllers. In this case, for example, the ordering buffer may be a request ordering buffer (or command ordering buffer, etc.); and [0300], demultiplexer may take requests (e.g. read request, write request, commands, etc.) from, for example a receiver crossbar block (e.g. switch, MUX array, etc.) and split them into priority queues etc.).
The combination of Romini-Khafizova and Smith are analogous because they are each related task scheduling. Romini teaches a method of scheduling commands received by a storage device including determining an execution order for said commands based on command parameters. Khafizova teaches a task scheduling method including assigning an execution weights to task parameters and using said weights to determine a priority order for task execution. Smith teaches memory system that manages commands including identifying their sources, determining an execution order based on several factors including a number of tasks, and storing tasks in prioritized queues. ([0300], the demultiplexer may take requests (e.g. read request, write request, commands, etc.) from, for example a receiver crossbar block (e.g. switch, MUX array, etc.) and split them into priority queues etc.; [0366], command tags etc. may be used to mark, identify, order, re-order, shuffle, position, and/or perform ordering and/or other operations on one or more commands... the atomic operation tag, for example, may include one or more of the following (but not limited to the following): ...the number of commands (e.g. transactions, requests, etc.) in the atomic operation; and [0388], an additional tag field (e.g. alignment tag, etc.) may be added to the command (e.g. use an additional field, use a special command format, populate an otherwise normally unused field, etc.). For example, in one embodiment, the alignment tag, for example, may include one or more of the following (but not limited to the following): ... source identification..). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that based on the combination, the task characteristics analyzed by the “task scheduler module” of the combination of Romini-Khafizova’s would be modified to include the source identification command tag taught by Smith resulting in a system that provides task management based on weighted job parameters including a command source. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of the combination of Romini-Khafizova and Smith.
As per claim 2, Khafizova teaches, wherein the execution order is based, at least in part, on a determined force (Column 8, Lines 52-57, prioritization engine 275 may also assign a weight W to each of the processing job parameters 246 and the user parameters 248. The weight W may be used to determine the impact that each of the processing job parameters 246 and the user parameters 248 will have on the processing job priority 276) and wherein the determined force is proportional to the execution weight of the one or more command parameters (Column 8, Lines 57-60, the higher the weight W is for a particular processing job or user parameter, the more that processing job or user parameter will cause the processing job priority 276 to have a higher value).
As per claim 3, Rimoni teaches, wherein the command is a system command ([0016], task 134 may be associated with an instruction, a command, or a request, from the access device 130, and the task 134 may be performed by the data storage device 102).
As per claim 4, Rimoni teaches, wherein the command is received from a host device ([0016], task 134 may be associated with an instruction, a command, or a request, from the access device 130, and the task 134 may be performed by the data storage device 102).
As per claim 5, Khafizova teaches, wherein the execution order (Column 10, Lines 36-38, prioritization engine 275 determines an individual utility factor IK for each of the pending and prioritized processing jobs 279, wherein IK =PK (Z-tK)/Z; and Column 11, Lines 18-20, The weighted total T for the processing job 211 may then be divided by the cumulative utility factor F associated with the user 254 to form the processing job priority 276) is based, at least in part, on a first time parameter (Column 10, Lines 21-23, process pending time period tK is an amount of time that the respective pending and prioritized processing job 279 has been pending.) and a second time parameter (Column 10, Lines 14-21, Z is a predetermined time period that may be selected or defined by a user or entity that is using the process manager 244 to manage processing jobs. In the non-limiting example of the table 278, the predetermined time period Z is equal to five days. However, the predetermined time period Z may be on the order of seconds, minutes, weeks, months, or any other time.).
As per claim 6, Rimoni teaches, wherein the data attribute command parameter includes one or more of a size of data associated with the command ([0016], at least one characteristic may include ...a data size) and a temperature of the data associated with the command ([0097], The at least one characteristic may include ... a high priority operation; and [0090], the multiple task queues 400 are configured such that a high priority task(s) 410 is not received by a queue. Accordingly, when a high priority task(s) 410 is received, the high priority task(s) 410 may be selected irrespective of a selection sequence (e.g., a queue selection sequence and/or a task selection sequence) applied to the multiple task queues 400. To illustrate, a task received from the access device may be automatically selected (e.g., rather than being assigned to a queue) in response to a determination that the task is a high priority task).
As per claim 7, Rimoni teaches, wherein the data location command parameter includes one or more of a logical block address (LBA) associated with the command, a physical location of a memory block associated with the command ([0023], Each task may include task information. The task information may indicate one or more characteristics of the task, such as ...a data start address; and [0028], the controller 120 is configured to send data and a write command to cause the memory 104 to store data to a specified address of the memory 104. The write command may specify a physical address of a portion of the memory 104 (e.g., a physical address of a word line of the memory 104) that is to store the data. The controller 120 is configured to send a read command to the memory 104 to access data from a specified address of the memory 104. The read command may specify the physical address of a portion of the memory 104 (e.g., a physical address of a word line of the memory 104)), an age of the memory block associated with the command and a code rate associated with the memory block.
As per claim 8, Rimoni teaches, wherein the command attribute command parameter includes one or more of a command type ([0016], at least one characteristic may include a write operation, a read operation, a high priority operation... and/or a protocol; and [0023], Each task may include task information. The task information may indicate one or more characteristics of the task, such as a ...a read/write operation type), a command origin and a time parameter.
As per claim 9, Smith teaches, wherein the execution weight is determined based, at least in part, on a number of received commands exceeding a threshold ([0366], command tags etc. may be used to mark, identify, order, re-order, shuffle, position, and/or perform ordering and/or other operations on one or more commands... the atomic operation tag, for example, may include one or more of the following (but not limited to the following): ...the number of commands (e.g. transactions, requests, etc.) in the atomic operation; and [0989], control the sequence of a number of commands. For example, the sequencing may be such that a sequence of commands meets, satisfies, respects, obeys, fulfills, etc. one or more...desired operating behavior, etc. of one or more stacked memory chips and/or portions of one or more stacked memory chips... the order, priority, timing, sequence, and/or other properties of one or more commands sequences, sets and/or groups of commands etc. issued, executed, queued, transferred etc. to one or more memory chips, portions of one or more memory chips, one or more memory controllers, etc. may be controlled, managed, etc.).
As per claim 10, Rimini teaches the invention substantially as claimed including a system, comprising:
a controller ([0013], data storage device 102 includes a controller 120); and a
memory ([0013], data storage device 102 includes a ... memory 104, such as a non-volatile memory, that is coupled to the controller 120) storing instructions that, when executed by the controller, perform operations, comprising:
determining one or more command parameters associated with a received command ([0016], controller 120 may determine at least one characteristic of the task 134. For example, the task 134 may include one or more fields that indicate the at least one characteristic of the task 134), the one or more command parameters being selected from a group of command parameters including, a data attribute parameter ([0016], at least one characteristic may include ...a data size), a data location parameter ([0016], at least one characteristic may include ...an address) and a command attribute parameter ([0016], at least one characteristic may include a write operation, a read operation, a high priority operation... and/or a protocol).
Rimoni fails to fails to specifically teach, determining an execution weight for each of the one or more command parameters; and determining a force associated with the command, wherein the force is proportional to the execution weight of each of the one or more command parameters.
However, Khafizova teaches, determining an execution weight for each of the one or more command parameters (Column 8, Lines 12-15, the prioritization engine 275 assigns, or otherwise associates, each of the processing job parameters 246 and the user parameters 248 with a respective numeric value N; and Column 8, Lines 47-51, the higher the numeric value N that is assigned to the processing job parameter 246 or user parameter 248, the more weight that processing job parameter or user parameter will be accorded when determining the processing job priority 276); and
determining a force associated with the command, wherein the force is proportional to the execution weight of each of the one or more command parameters (Column 8, Lines 54-60, weight W may be used to determine the impact that each of the processing job parameters 246 and the user parameters 248 will have on the processing job priority 276. For example, the higher the weight W is for a particular processing job or user parameter, the more that processing job or user parameter will cause the processing job priority 276 to have a higher value).
The combination of Rimoni-Khafizova fails to specifically teach ordering the command in a command queue based, at least in part, on the force.
However, Smith teaches, ordering the command in a command queue based, at least in part, on the force ([0259], a set of commands directed to a certain range of memory addresses may be targeted by one or more order control commands and the command set may thus be controlled, modified, reordered, given priority, allowed to pass other commands, rearranged in one or more buffers, combinations of these, etc.; [0269], an ordering buffer (or queue, FIFO, etc.) may be used to store, queue, manipulate, order, re-order, perform combinations of these functions and/or other operations and the like, etc. For example, in one embodiment, an ordering buffer etc. may be used in front of (e.g. logically preceding, ahead of, etc.) one or more memory controllers. In this case, for example, the ordering buffer may be a request ordering buffer (or command ordering buffer, etc.); and [0300], demultiplexer may take requests (e.g. read request, write request, commands, etc.) from, for example a receiver crossbar block (e.g. switch, MUX array, etc.) and split them into priority queues etc.).
The same motivation used in the rejection of claim 1 is applicable to the instant claim.
As per claim 11, Khafizova teaches, further comprising instructions for determining an execution order for the command based, at least in part, on the force (Column 8, Lines 54-60, weight W may be used to determine the impact that each of the processing job parameters 246 and the user parameters 248 will have on the processing job priority 276. For example, the higher the weight W is for a particular processing job or user parameter, the more that processing job or user parameter will cause the processing job priority 276 to have a higher value; and Column 4, Lines 10-18, the request processing server 110 may prioritize the pending processing jobs using the respective processing job priorities of the pending processing jobs. For example, pending processing jobs with the highest processing job priorities may be scheduled to be executed first in the execution order, while pending processing jobs with the lowest processing job priorities may be scheduled to be executed last in the execution order).
As per claim 12, Khafizova teaches, further comprising instructions for comparing the force of the command to a force of one or more previously received commands (Column 9, Lines 51-62, the user 254 may have initiated processing jobs other than the processing job 211, and which are currently pending. In this situation, the weighted total T may still be used as the processing job priority 276. However, in one embodiment, the prioritization engine 275 may determine a cumulative utility factor F for the user 254, and divide the weighted total T by the cumulative utility factor F to equal the processing job priority 276. The cumulative utility factor F, in one embodiment, is a fairness mechanism that adjusts the processing job priority 276 based on the processing jobs that the user 254 has initiated other than the processing job 211; Examiner Note: Khafizova’s force (i.e. weight) is used to determine a weighted total which is then used to determine a job’s priority relative to previously received jobs: Column 9, Lines 20-21, prioritization engine 275 may also determine a weighted value X for each of the processing job parameters; Column 9, Lines 41-42, the weighted total T may be used as the processing job priority 276;).
As per claim 13, this claim is similar to claim 6 and is rejected for the same reasons.
As per claim 14, this claim is similar to claim 7 and is rejected for the same reasons.
As per claim 15, this claim is similar to claim 8 and is rejected for the same reasons.
As per claim 16, this claim is similar to claim 9 and is rejected for the same reasons.
As per claim 17, this is the “system claim” corresponding to claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons. The same motivation used in the rejection of claim 1 is applicable to the instant claim.;
As per claim 18, this claim is similar to claim 2 and is rejected for the same reasons.
As per claim 19, Khafizova teaches, further comprising means for comparing the execution weight of the command to an execution weight of one or more previously received commands (Column 11, Lines 25-29, the prioritization engine 275, upon determining the processing job priority 276 for the processing job 211, may prioritize the processing job 211 relative to the other pending processing jobs managed by the process manager 244; Examiner Note: Khafizova’s priorities are based on a comparison of execution weights: Column 8, Lines 47-51, the higher the numeric value N that is assigned to the processing job parameter 246 or user parameter 248, the more weight that processing job parameter or user parameter will be accorded when determining the processing job priority 276).
As per claim 20, Smith teaches, further comprising means for determining whether the command is received from a host device or whether the command is a system command ([0366], command tags etc. may be used to mark, identify, order, re-order, shuffle, position, and/or perform ordering and/or other operations on one or more commands; and [0388], an additional tag field (e.g. alignment tag, etc.) may be added to the command (e.g. use an additional field, use a special command format, populate an otherwise normally unused field, etc.). For example, in one embodiment, the alignment tag, for example, may include one or more of the following (but not limited to the following): ... source identification...; Examiner Note: Smith’s system determines responds to host and system commands: [0163], a memory read may be performed by sending (e.g. transmitting from CPU to stacked memory package, etc.) a read request. The read data may be returned in a read response; [0663], a memory controller ...may perform such operations (e.g. reordering, modification, alteration, combinations of these, etc.) on requests and/or commands and/or responses and/or completions etc. (e.g. on packets, groups of packets, sequences of packets, portion(s) of packets, data field(s) within packet(s), data structures containing one or more packets and/or portion(s) of packets, on data derived from packets, etc.), to effect (e.g. implement, perform, execute, allow, permit, enable, etc.) one or more of the following (but not limited to the following): ... respond to system commands and/or other instructions for reordering; and [0900], there may be any number of command sets (e.g. internal command sets, external command sets, etc.)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is as follows:
Amiri et al. (US 2021/0157638 A1)-teaches command scheduling based on priority and utilizes priority queues:
[0012], determining a first functional unit candidate based on a priority of one or more additional instructions in an available queue, the available queue including one or more instructions to be bundled with one or more currently scheduled instructions; and
[0052], instructions in the available queue may be arranged in order of priority;
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MELISSA A HEADLY/Examiner, Art Unit 2197
/BRADLEY A TEETS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2197