DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 5-17 in the reply filed on January 27, 2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “901” in FIG. 9 has been used to designate both the “UE synchronizes and decodes” and the “Is LBT default?” operations.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description:
In FIG. 9: 901, 902, 903, 904, 906, 908, 909, 910, 911.
In FIG. 10: 1001, 1002, 1003, 1004, 1005, 1006, 1007, 1008, 1009, 1010, 1011, 1012, 1013, 1014.
In FIG. 11: 1101, 1102, 1103, 1104, 1105, 1106, 1107, 1108, 1109.
In FIG. 14: 1401, 1402, 1403, 1404, 1405, 1406, 1407, 1408, 1409, 1410, 1411, 1412, 1413.
In FIG. 15: 1501, 1502, 1503, 1504, 1505, 1506, 1507, 1508, 1509.
In FIG. 17: 1703, 1706, 1707.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The specification fails to include a description of the reference numbers in FIGS. 9-11, 14-15, and 17 noted above with respect to the objection to the drawings.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation of “[t]he method of claim 5, wherein the UE transmits the message without performing any LBT procedure.” However, claim 5 recites, in part, “transmitting, by the UE, a message using an LBT procedure in response to determining that the LBT configuration is the default LBT cell configuration.” It is unclear how the UE can transmit the message using an LBT procedure as recited in claim 5, and transmit the message without performing any LBT procedure as recited in claim 7.
Similarly, claim 23 recites “The UE of claim 21, wherein the UE transmits the message without performing any LBT procedure.” Claim 21 recites, in part, “transmitting a message using an LBT procedure in response to determining that the LBT configuration is the default LBT cell configuration.” It is unclear how the UE can transmit the message using an LBT procedure as recited in claim 5, and transmit the message without performing any LBT procedure as recited in claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 5-7, 10, 11-13, 17, 21-23, 26, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Niu et al. (US 2023/0101279 A1)(hereinafter “Niu”).
Regarding claim 5, Niu discloses a method comprising:
decoding, by a user equipment (UE), at least one of a master information block (MIB) or a system information block (SIB) received from a base station (Fig. 2, [¶0024]: in the illustrated embodiment, the network node 204 configures 206 a SIB to provide information to the UE 202. The SIB may include LBT related parameters. For example, the network node 204 may set up LBT related parameters in an LBT configuration element. In some embodiments, the LBT configuration element may be named lbt-ConfigCommon. The LBT configuration element lbt-ConfigCommon may include a number of LBT related parameters. The LBT configuration element may include a parameter that indicates whether LBT or no LBT may be used. This parameter may depend on local regulations. The LBT configuration element may also include a parameter that indicates an LBT type. For example, the LBT type parameter may indicate whether to use directional, omni, or combination of both for LBT. Additionally, the LBT type parameter may indicate if receiver assisted is enabled or not. [¶0027]: the network node 204 may transmit 208 the SIB to the UE 202. When the UE 202 receives the SIB, the UE 202 may decode 210 the SIB to determine the LBT related parameters including the TCI state parameter.);
determining, by the UE, that a listen before talk (LBT) configuration is a default LBT cell configuration, in accordance with the at least one of the MIB or the SIB ([¶0026]: in some embodiments, if the LBT configuration element is not configured in the SIB, the UE 202 and the network node 204 may use a default value. For example, in some embodiments the default value may correspond to omni LBT (“a default LBT cell configuration”).); and
transmitting, by the UE, a message using an LBT procedure in response to determining that the LBT configuration is the default LBT cell configuration ([¶0032]: the TCI state signaled in the DCI message may be used to indirectly or directly indicate the transmission beam. For example, in one embodiment, the DCI message can indicate an LBT beam (sensing beam direction) and the UE 202 may derive transmission beam by associated sensing beam to reference signal association. Thus, the UE 202 may determine the transmission beam direction indirectly. In another embodiment, the DCI message can directly indicate the transmission beam TCI state. [¶0038]: a UE receiving a DCI message including the bit field 300a may decode the DCI message to determine the TCI state indicated in the bit field 300a. If directional LBT is enabled and the TCI state indicated by the DCI message is not included in UE's active TCI state list as configured by a SIB via RRC signaling, [¶0057]: LBT is a mechanism whereby equipment (for example, UE 622 and UE 620, RAN node 614 or RAN node 616, etc.) senses a medium (for example, a channel or carrier frequency) and transmits when the medium is sensed to be idle (or when a specific channel in the medium is sensed to be unoccupied). Accordingly, the UE transmits a message using the determined LBT configuration, i.e., the default LBT cell configuration in this case.).
Regarding claim 6, Niu discloses all features of claim 5 as outlined above.
Niu also discloses: determining, by the UE, that a second LBT configuration is not the default LBT cell configuration ([¶0027]: when the UE 202 receives the SIB, the UE 202 may decode 210 the SIB to determine the LBT related parameters including the TCI state parameter. [¶0024]: the LBT configuration element may also include a parameter that indicates an LBT type. For example, the LBT type parameter may indicate whether to use directional (“a second LBT configuration”), omni, or combination of both for LBT. [¶0029]: if directional LBT is configured in SIB (e.g., lbt-ConfigCommon is configured) the network node 204 may configure the DCI message to indicate the TCI state.); and
transmitting, by the UE, a second message using the LBT procedure in accordance with the at least one of the MIB or the SIB ([¶0038]: a UE receiving a DCI message including the bit field 300a may decode the DCI message to determine the TCI state indicated in the bit field 300a. If directional LBT is enabled and the TCI state indicated by the DCI message is not included in UE's active TCI state list as configured by a SIB via RRC signaling, [¶0057]: LBT is a mechanism whereby equipment (for example, UE 622 and UE 620, RAN node 614 or RAN node 616, etc.) senses a medium (for example, a channel or carrier frequency) and transmits when the medium is sensed to be idle (or when a specific channel in the medium is sensed to be unoccupied). Accordingly, the UE transmits a message using the determined LBT configuration, i.e., the default LBT cell configuration in this case.).
Regarding claim 7, Niu discloses all features of claim 5 as outlined above.
Niu also discloses wherein the UE transmits the message without performing any LBT procedure ([¶0024]: the LBT configuration element may include a parameter that indicates whether LBT or no LBT may be used. Accordingly, if the LBT configuration element indicates that no LBT may be used, the UE transmits the message without performing any LBT procedure.).
Regarding claim 10, Niu discloses all features of claim 5 as outlined above.
Niu also discloses the LBT procedure being a directional LBT procedure ([¶0029] If directional LBT is configured in SIB (e.g., lbt-ConfigCommon is configured) the network node 204 may configure the DCI message to indicate the TCI state).
Regarding claim 11, Niu discloses a method comprising:
decoding, by a user equipment (UE), at least one of a master information block (MIB) or a system information block (SIB) received from a base station (Fig. 2, [¶0024]: in the illustrated embodiment, the network node 204 configures 206 a SIB to provide information to the UE 202. The SIB may include LBT related parameters. For example, the network node 204 may set up LBT related parameters in an LBT configuration element. In some embodiments, the LBT configuration element may be named lbt-ConfigCommon. The LBT configuration element lbt-ConfigCommon may include a number of LBT related parameters. The LBT configuration element may include a parameter that indicates whether LBT or no LBT may be used. This parameter may depend on local regulations. The LBT configuration element may also include a parameter that indicates an LBT type. For example, the LBT type parameter may indicate whether to use directional, omni, or combination of both for LBT. Additionally, the LBT type parameter may indicate if receiver assisted is enabled or not. [¶0027]: the network node 204 may transmit 208 the SIB to the UE 202. When the UE 202 receives the SIB, the UE 202 may decode 210 the SIB to determine the LBT related parameters including the TCI state parameter.);
determining, by the UE, that a listen before talk (LBT) configuration is a default LBT configuration, in accordance with the at least one of the MIB or the SIB ([¶0026]: in some embodiments, if the LBT configuration element is not configured in the SIB, the UE 202 and the network node 204 may use a default value. For example, in some embodiments the default value may correspond to omni LBT (“a default LBT cell configuration”).); and
transmitting, by the UE, a message using an LBT procedure in response to determining that the LBT configuration is the default LBT configuration ([¶0032]: the TCI state signaled in the DCI message may be used to indirectly or directly indicate the transmission beam. For example, in one embodiment, the DCI message can indicate an LBT beam (sensing beam direction) and the UE 202 may derive transmission beam by associated sensing beam to reference signal association. Thus, the UE 202 may determine the transmission beam direction indirectly. In another embodiment, the DCI message can directly indicate the transmission beam TCI state. [¶0038]: a UE receiving a DCI message including the bit field 300a may decode the DCI message to determine the TCI state indicated in the bit field 300a. If directional LBT is enabled and the TCI state indicated by the DCI message is not included in UE's active TCI state list as configured by a SIB via RRC signaling, [¶0057]: LBT is a mechanism whereby equipment (for example, UE 622 and UE 620, RAN node 614 or RAN node 616, etc.) senses a medium (for example, a channel or carrier frequency) and transmits when the medium is sensed to be idle (or when a specific channel in the medium is sensed to be unoccupied). Accordingly, the UE transmits a message using the determined LBT configuration, i.e., the default LBT cell configuration in this case.).
Regarding claim 12, Niu discloses all features of claim 11 as outlined above.
Niu also discloses: determining, by the UE, that a second LBT configuration is not the default LBT configuration ([¶0027]: when the UE 202 receives the SIB, the UE 202 may decode 210 the SIB to determine the LBT related parameters including the TCI state parameter. [¶0024]: the LBT configuration element may also include a parameter that indicates an LBT type. For example, the LBT type parameter may indicate whether to use directional (“a second LBT configuration”), omni, or combination of both for LBT. [¶0029]: if directional LBT is configured in SIB (e.g., lbt-ConfigCommon is configured) the network node 204 may configure the DCI message to indicate the TCI state.); and
transmitting, by the UE, a second message using the LBT procedure in accordance with at least one of the MIB or the SIB ([¶0038]: a UE receiving a DCI message including the bit field 300a may decode the DCI message to determine the TCI state indicated in the bit field 300a. If directional LBT is enabled and the TCI state indicated by the DCI message is not included in UE's active TCI state list as configured by a SIB via RRC signaling, [¶0057]: LBT is a mechanism whereby equipment (for example, UE 622 and UE 620, RAN node 614 or RAN node 616, etc.) senses a medium (for example, a channel or carrier frequency) and transmits when the medium is sensed to be idle (or when a specific channel in the medium is sensed to be unoccupied). Accordingly, the UE transmits a message using the determined LBT configuration, i.e., the default LBT cell configuration in this case.).
Regarding claim 13, Niu discloses all features of claim 11 as outlined above.
Niu also discloses: determining, by the UE, that a second LBT configuration is not the default LBT configuration ([¶0027]: when the UE 202 receives the SIB, the UE 202 may decode 210 the SIB to determine the LBT related parameters including the TCI state parameter. [¶0024]: the LBT configuration element may also include a parameter that indicates an LBT type. For example, the LBT type parameter may indicate whether to use directional (“a second LBT configuration”), omni, or combination of both for LBT. [¶0029]: if directional LBT is configured in SIB (e.g., lbt-ConfigCommon is configured) the network node 204 may configure the DCI message to indicate the TCI state.); and
transmitting, by the UE, a second message without using the LBT procedure ([¶0024]: the LBT configuration element may include a parameter that indicates whether LBT or no LBT may be used. Accordingly, if the LBT configuration element indicates that no LBT may be used, the UE transmits the message without performing any LBT procedure..
Regarding claim 17, Niu discloses all features of claim 11 as outlined above.
Niu also discloses the LBT procedure being a directional LBT procedure ([¶0029] If directional LBT is configured in SIB (e.g., lbt-ConfigCommon is configured) the network node 204 may configure the DCI message to indicate the TCI state).
Regarding claim 21, Niu discloses a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 2: UE 202) comprising:
at least one processor (Fig. 7, [¶0072]: application circuitry 702 may include one or more processor cores…); and
a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing programming, the programming including instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the UE to perform operations (Fig. 7, [¶0072]: memory circuitry 708. The processors (or cores) of the application circuitry 702 may be coupled with or may include memory/storage elements and may be configured to execute instructions stored in the memory/storage to enable various applications or operating systems to run on the infrastructure equipment 700.) including:
decoding at least one of a master information block (MIB) or a system information block (SIB) received from a base station (Fig. 2, [¶0024]: in the illustrated embodiment, the network node 204 configures 206 a SIB to provide information to the UE 202. The SIB may include LBT related parameters. For example, the network node 204 may set up LBT related parameters in an LBT configuration element. In some embodiments, the LBT configuration element may be named lbt-ConfigCommon. The LBT configuration element lbt-ConfigCommon may include a number of LBT related parameters. The LBT configuration element may include a parameter that indicates whether LBT or no LBT may be used. This parameter may depend on local regulations. The LBT configuration element may also include a parameter that indicates an LBT type. For example, the LBT type parameter may indicate whether to use directional, omni, or combination of both for LBT. Additionally, the LBT type parameter may indicate if receiver assisted is enabled or not. [¶0027]: the network node 204 may transmit 208 the SIB to the UE 202. When the UE 202 receives the SIB, the UE 202 may decode 210 the SIB to determine the LBT related parameters including the TCI state parameter.);
determining that a listen before talk (LBT) configuration is a default LBT cell configuration, in accordance with the at least one of the MIB or the SIB ([¶0026]: in some embodiments, if the LBT configuration element is not configured in the SIB, the UE 202 and the network node 204 may use a default value. For example, in some embodiments the default value may correspond to omni LBT (“a default LBT cell configuration”).); and
transmitting a message using an LBT procedure in response to determining that the LBT configuration is the default LBT cell configuration ([¶0032]: the TCI state signaled in the DCI message may be used to indirectly or directly indicate the transmission beam. For example, in one embodiment, the DCI message can indicate an LBT beam (sensing beam direction) and the UE 202 may derive transmission beam by associated sensing beam to reference signal association. Thus, the UE 202 may determine the transmission beam direction indirectly. In another embodiment, the DCI message can directly indicate the transmission beam TCI state. [¶0038]: a UE receiving a DCI message including the bit field 300a may decode the DCI message to determine the TCI state indicated in the bit field 300a. If directional LBT is enabled and the TCI state indicated by the DCI message is not included in UE's active TCI state list as configured by a SIB via RRC signaling, [¶0057]: LBT is a mechanism whereby equipment (for example, UE 622 and UE 620, RAN node 614 or RAN node 616, etc.) senses a medium (for example, a channel or carrier frequency) and transmits when the medium is sensed to be idle (or when a specific channel in the medium is sensed to be unoccupied). Accordingly, the UE transmits a message using the determined LBT configuration, i.e., the default LBT cell configuration in this case.).
Regarding claim 22, Niu discloses all features of claim 21 as outlined above.
Niu also discloses the operations further comprising:
determining that a second LBT configuration is not the default LBT cell configuration ([¶0027]: when the UE 202 receives the SIB, the UE 202 may decode 210 the SIB to determine the LBT related parameters including the TCI state parameter. [¶0024]: the LBT configuration element may also include a parameter that indicates an LBT type. For example, the LBT type parameter may indicate whether to use directional (“a second LBT configuration”), omni, or combination of both for LBT. [¶0029]: if directional LBT is configured in SIB (e.g., lbt-ConfigCommon is configured) the network node 204 may configure the DCI message to indicate the TCI state.); and
transmitting a second message using the LBT procedure in accordance with the at least one of the MIB or the SIB ([¶0032]: the TCI state signaled in the DCI message may be used to indirectly or directly indicate the transmission beam. For example, in one embodiment, the DCI message can indicate an LBT beam (sensing beam direction) and the UE 202 may derive transmission beam by associated sensing beam to reference signal association. Thus, the UE 202 may determine the transmission beam direction indirectly. In another embodiment, the DCI message can directly indicate the transmission beam TCI state. [¶0038]: a UE receiving a DCI message including the bit field 300a may decode the DCI message to determine the TCI state indicated in the bit field 300a. If directional LBT is enabled and the TCI state indicated by the DCI message is not included in UE's active TCI state list as configured by a SIB via RRC signaling, [¶0057]: LBT is a mechanism whereby equipment (for example, UE 622 and UE 620, RAN node 614 or RAN node 616, etc.) senses a medium (for example, a channel or carrier frequency) and transmits when the medium is sensed to be idle (or when a specific channel in the medium is sensed to be unoccupied). Accordingly, the UE transmits a message using the determined LBT configuration, i.e., the default LBT cell configuration in this case.).
Regarding claim 23, Niu discloses all features of claim 21 as outlined above.
Niu also discloses wherein the UE transmits the message without performing any LBT procedure ([¶0024]: the LBT configuration element may include a parameter that indicates whether LBT or no LBT may be used. Accordingly, if the LBT configuration element indicates that no LBT may be used, the UE transmits the message without performing any LBT procedure.).
Regarding claim 26, Niu discloses all features of claim 21 as outlined above.
Niu also discloses the LBT procedure being a directional LBT procedure ([¶0029] If directional LBT is configured in SIB (e.g., lbt-ConfigCommon is configured) the network node 204 may configure the DCI message to indicate the TCI state).
Regarding claim 27, Niu discloses a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 2: UE 202) comprising:
at least one processor (Fig. 7, [¶0072]: application circuitry 702 may include one or more processor cores…); and
a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing programming, the programming including instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the UE to perform operations (Fig. 7, [¶0072]: memory circuitry 708. The processors (or cores) of the application circuitry 702 may be coupled with or may include memory/storage elements and may be configured to execute instructions stored in the memory/storage to enable various applications or operating systems to run on the infrastructure equipment 700.) including:
decoding at least one of a master information block (MIB) or a system information block (SIB) received from a base station (Fig. 2, [¶0024]: in the illustrated embodiment, the network node 204 configures 206 a SIB to provide information to the UE 202. The SIB may include LBT related parameters. For example, the network node 204 may set up LBT related parameters in an LBT configuration element. In some embodiments, the LBT configuration element may be named lbt-ConfigCommon. The LBT configuration element lbt-ConfigCommon may include a number of LBT related parameters. The LBT configuration element may include a parameter that indicates whether LBT or no LBT may be used. This parameter may depend on local regulations. The LBT configuration element may also include a parameter that indicates an LBT type. For example, the LBT type parameter may indicate whether to use directional, omni, or combination of both for LBT. Additionally, the LBT type parameter may indicate if receiver assisted is enabled or not. [¶0027]: the network node 204 may transmit 208 the SIB to the UE 202. When the UE 202 receives the SIB, the UE 202 may decode 210 the SIB to determine the LBT related parameters including the TCI state parameter.);
determining that a listen before talk (LBT) configuration is a default LBT configuration, in accordance with the at least one of the MIB or the SIB ([¶0026]: in some embodiments, if the LBT configuration element is not configured in the SIB, the UE 202 and the network node 204 may use a default value. For example, in some embodiments the default value may correspond to omni LBT (“a default LBT cell configuration”).); and
transmitting a message using an LBT procedure in response to determining that the LBT configuration is the default LBT configuration ([¶0032]: the TCI state signaled in the DCI message may be used to indirectly or directly indicate the transmission beam. For example, in one embodiment, the DCI message can indicate an LBT beam (sensing beam direction) and the UE 202 may derive transmission beam by associated sensing beam to reference signal association. Thus, the UE 202 may determine the transmission beam direction indirectly. In another embodiment, the DCI message can directly indicate the transmission beam TCI state. [¶0038]: a UE receiving a DCI message including the bit field 300a may decode the DCI message to determine the TCI state indicated in the bit field 300a. If directional LBT is enabled and the TCI state indicated by the DCI message is not included in UE's active TCI state list as configured by a SIB via RRC signaling, [¶0057]: LBT is a mechanism whereby equipment (for example, UE 622 and UE 620, RAN node 614 or RAN node 616, etc.) senses a medium (for example, a channel or carrier frequency) and transmits when the medium is sensed to be idle (or when a specific channel in the medium is sensed to be unoccupied). Accordingly, the UE transmits a message using the determined LBT configuration, i.e., the default LBT cell configuration in this case.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-9 and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niu in view of Malladi et al. (US 2015/0365880 A1)(hereinafter “Malladi”).
Regarding claim 8, Niu discloses all features of claim 5 as outlined above.
Niu does not explicitly disclose receiving, by the UE from the base station, a second message; detecting, by the UE, a change in the LBT procedure; and transmitting, by the UE, a third message using the LBT procedure with the change. However, Malladi discloses receiving, by the UE from the base station, a second message ([¶0076]: the base station 105-c may transmit a SIB during a CCA-exempt transmission (CET) subframe associated with the base station 105-c.); detecting, by the UE, a change in the LBT procedure ([¶0013] some aspects of the method, apparatuses, and/or non-transitory computer-readable medium may further comprise dynamically modifying the LBT parameter, and transmitting an updated version of the system information block at a next CET subframe. [¶0076]: the SIB may be updated between transmissions. For example, the SIB module 550 may dynamically modify the LBT parameter between SIB transmissions and transmit an updated version of the SIB (i.e., containing the modified LBT parameter) at the next CET subframe or opportunistically at the next non-CET subframe associated with opportunistic SIB transmissions.); and transmitting, by the UE, a third message using the LBT procedure with the change ([¶0123] In certain examples, the LBT parameter(s) received in the SIB may include an ECCA counter parameter, q, used by the UEs 115-c to transmit to the base station.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the SIB from the base station, as taught by Niu, to indicate a change in the previous LBT procedure, as taught by Malladi. Doing so allows for the LBT procedure to be modified to compensate for dynamically changing conditions within the communication system.
Regarding claim 9, Niu discloses all features of claim 5 as outlined above.
Niu does not explicitly disclose receiving, by the UE from the base station, a second message; determining, by the UE, that there is no change in the LBT procedure; and transmitting, by the UE, a third message using the LBT procedure in accordance with at least one of the MIB or the SIB. However, Malladi discloses receiving, by the UE from the base station, a second message ([¶0076]: the base station 105-c may transmit a SIB during a CCA-exempt transmission (CET) subframe associated with the base station 105-c.); determining, by the UE, that there is no change in the LBT procedure ([¶0013] some aspects of the method, apparatuses, and/or non-transitory computer-readable medium may further comprise dynamically modifying the LBT parameter, and transmitting an updated version of the system information block at a next CET subframe. [¶0076]: the SIB may be updated between transmissions. For example, the SIB module 550 may dynamically modify the LBT parameter between SIB transmissions and transmit an updated version of the SIB (i.e., containing the modified LBT parameter) at the next CET subframe or opportunistically at the next non-CET subframe associated with opportunistic SIB transmissions. Examiner notes that if the LBT parameters remain the same as the previously received LBT parameters, inherently no change in LBT procedure is determined by the UE.); and transmitting, by the UE, a third message using the LBT procedure in accordance with at least one of the MIB or the SIB ([¶0123] In certain examples, the LBT parameter(s) received in the SIB may include an ECCA counter parameter, q, used by the UEs 115-c to transmit to the base station.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the SIB from the base station, as taught by Niu, to indicate no change in the previous LBT procedure, as taught by Malladi. Doing so allows for the LBT procedure to be modified to compensate for either static or dynamically changing conditions within the communication system.
Regarding claim 24, Niu discloses all features of claim 21 as outlined above.
Niu does not explicitly disclose receiving, from the base station, a second message; detecting a change in the LBT procedure; and transmitting a third message using the LBT procedure with the change. However, Malladi discloses receiving, from the base station, a second message ([¶0076]: the base station 105-c may transmit a SIB during a CCA-exempt transmission (CET) subframe associated with the base station 105-c.); detecting a change in the LBT procedure ([¶0013] some aspects of the method, apparatuses, and/or non-transitory computer-readable medium may further comprise dynamically modifying the LBT parameter, and transmitting an updated version of the system information block at a next CET subframe. [¶0076]: the SIB may be updated between transmissions. For example, the SIB module 550 may dynamically modify the LBT parameter between SIB transmissions and transmit an updated version of the SIB (i.e., containing the modified LBT parameter) at the next CET subframe or opportunistically at the next non-CET subframe associated with opportunistic SIB transmissions.); and transmitting a third message using the LBT procedure with the change ([¶0123] In certain examples, the LBT parameter(s) received in the SIB may include an ECCA counter parameter, q, used by the UEs 115-c to transmit to the base station.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the SIB from the base station, as taught by Niu, to indicate a change in the previous LBT procedure, as taught by Malladi. Doing so allows for the LBT procedure to be modified to compensate for dynamically changing conditions within the communication system.
Regarding claim 25, Niu discloses all features of claim 21 as outlined above.
Niu does not explicitly disclose receiving, by the UE from the base station, a second message; determining, by the UE, that there is no change in the LBT procedure; and transmitting, by the UE, a third message using the LBT procedure in accordance with at least one of the MIB or the SIB. However, Malladi discloses receiving, by the UE from the base station, a second message ([¶0076]: the base station 105-c may transmit a SIB during a CCA-exempt transmission (CET) subframe associated with the base station 105-c.); determining, by the UE, that there is no change in the LBT procedure ([¶0013] some aspects of the method, apparatuses, and/or non-transitory computer-readable medium may further comprise dynamically modifying the LBT parameter, and transmitting an updated version of the system information block at a next CET subframe. [¶0076]: the SIB may be updated between transmissions. For example, the SIB module 550 may dynamically modify the LBT parameter between SIB transmissions and transmit an updated version of the SIB (i.e., containing the modified LBT parameter) at the next CET subframe or opportunistically at the next non-CET subframe associated with opportunistic SIB transmissions. Examiner notes that if the LBT parameters remain the same as the previously received LBT parameters, inherently no change in LBT procedure is determined by the UE.); and transmitting, by the UE, a third message using the LBT procedure in accordance with at least one of the MIB or the SIB ([¶0123] In certain examples, the LBT parameter(s) received in the SIB may include an ECCA counter parameter, q, used by the UEs 115-c to transmit to the base station.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the SIB from the base station, as taught by Niu, to indicate no change in the previous LBT procedure, as taught by Malladi. Doing so allows for the LBT procedure to be modified to compensate for either static or dynamically changing conditions within the communication system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim et al. (US 2024/0155635 A1) – Method and Device For Carrying Out Communication In Wireless Communication System.
Zhu et al. (US 2024/0049281 A1) – Mode Indication Method, Terminal Device and Network Device.
Do et al. (US 2023/0328775 A1) – Systems and Methods For Changing LBT For Unlicensed Networks.
Futaki (US 20170339717 A1) – Radio Terminal, Radio Station, and Method Performed Thereby.
/MICHAEL WAYNE MADDOX/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/CHI TANG P CHENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463