DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 23 and 38 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 40 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 23, 25, 26, 28-30, 32-39, 41, 43, and 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lynn et al. (US Patent No. 7,315,245), and further in view of Granville (US Patent No. 5,148,948).
Re: Claim 23, Lynn discloses the claimed invention including a re-usable sensor module for use with a container, the sensor module (71) (Figs. 1-3) comprising:
an elastically deformable capsule with a top portion (75) (Col. 8, lines 4-10, top portion flexes) having a top surface (97) and a bottom surface (71) that is opposite and faces away from the top surface of the capsule (Fig. 4), wherein the top surface of the capsule is adapted to receive a bottom portion of the container thereon (Fig. 4);
a first sensor (27) arranged within the capsule and configured to measure a parameter associated with an elastic deformation of the capsule resulting from actuation of a dispenser or presence of the container (Col. 8, lines 64-67, measures a parameter associated with actuation of the dispenser)); and
a processor (61) arranged within the capsule and coupled to the first sensor, wherein the processor is configured to at least temporarily record at least one of the parameter and an event associated therewith (Col. 9, lines 1-15, 36-40, processor records the parameter and event), wherein
Lynn discloses the sensor module being capable of being mounted (Col. 6, lines 48-54) except for any particulars thereof. However, Granville teaches module (10) further comprises a fastening member (15, 16, 17, 18) positioned on the bottom surface (13) of the capsule (Figs. 1 and 3), wherein the fastening member comprises a clamping mechanism (15, 16) configured to detachably fasten the module to a holder (9) for the container (Fig. 1)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to include a clamp fastening member as taught by Granville, since Lynn states in column 7, lines 5-14 that the base may take a variety of sizes and configurations based on the needs of the user. Further, Granville states in column 5, lines 55-58 that that such a modification includes fixedly mounting the container on a sink counter top but also to discourage, if not prevent, the unauthorized removal of the container.
Re: Claim 25, Lynn as modified by Granville in the rejection of claim 23 above discloses the claimed invention including the fastening member is detachable from the module (Granville: Fig. 1, user removes the clamp from the module).
Re: Claim 26, Lynn discloses the claimed invention including a lower portion of the capsule has a bottom surface which is planar for properly aligning the sensor module relative to the holder when placed thereon (Fig. 1-3 depicts a bottom surface with a planar portion for aligning the module with holder).
Re: Claim 28, Lynn discloses the claimed invention including the top portion of the sensor module is dome-shaped (Col. 7, lines 21-23, may be designed to shape into any type of bottom).
Re: Claim 29, Lynn discloses the claimed invention including the top portion of the sensor module is made from an elastically deformable material (Col. 8, lines 4-10, top portion flexes, thus inherently made of a material capable of elastic deformation)
Re: Claim 30, Lynn discloses the claimed invention including the first sensor is one of a force sensor, a pressure sensor and a mechanical switch (Col. 7, lines 60-32, switch).
Re: Claim 32, Lynn discloses the claimed invention including the event is representative of a respective actuation of the dispenser (Col. 9, lines 1-19, actuation event).
Re: Claim 33, Lynn discloses the claimed invention including the processor is configured to determine, based on at least one of the parameter and the event, at least one of a current filling level of the container and an exchange of the container ((Col. 9, lines 1-19, monitors the amount of material used from within the container, thus inherently capable of informing when a new container is needed).
Re: Claim 34, Lynn discloses the claimed invention including the processor is configured to repeatedly acquire the parameter at predefined points in time (Col. 9, lines 1-19, time parameter).
Re: Claim 35, Lynn discloses the claimed invention including the processor is configured to repeatedly acquire the parameter at configured thresholds (Col. 10, lines 1-15, processor acquires parameter within thresholds to account for priming and timing).
Re: Claim 36, Lynn discloses the claimed invention including the processor is coupled to a light-emitting element (78) (Col. 10, lines 20-26, processor coupled to display).
Re: Claim 37, Lynn discloses the claimed invention including the sensor module comprises a second sensor configured to detect a position of the sensor module (Col. 10, lines 42-65, detects wherein the sensor module is positioned).
Re: Claim 38, the rejection from claim 23 above covers the limitations recited in this claim, and further Lynn in view of Granville discloses a holder (9) configured to accommodate the container (Granville: Fig. 1).
Re: Claim 39, Lynn as modified by Granville in the rejection of claim 23 above discloses the claimed invention including the fastening member is detachable from the module (Granville: Fig. 1, user removes the clamp from the module).
Re: Claim 41, Lynn in view of Granville discloses the claimed invention including the holder is a frame configured to be mounted to a patient's bed or a wall (Granville: Figs. 1, Col. 1, lines 13-20, can mount to any wall).
Re: Claim 43-44, Lynn in view of Granville discloses the claimed invention including the sensor module has at least one surface (15) configured to align with and/or engage a portion of the holder to prevent rotation of the sensor module within the holder (Granville: Col. 34-36, elastomeric surface creates a high friction contact with the holder to prevent rotation).
Claim(s) 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lynn et al. (US Patent No. 7,315,245) and Granville (US Patent No. 5,148,948) as applied to claim 23 above, and further in view of Johnson et al. (US 2017/0018166 A1).
Re: Claim 31, Lynn discloses the claimed invention except for the parameter expressly being a weight of the container. However, Johnson discloses using a sensor gathering a parameter representative of a weight of the container (Para. 125, weight parameter).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to include a weight parameter as taught by Johnson, since Johnson states in paragraph 125 that such a modification provides real time monitoring of the amount of product remaining in the container rather than just gathering actuation events which only provide an estimate.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. References cited on the PTO-892 provide additional examples of fastening members for containers.
/CHARLES P. CHEYNEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754