DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3 and 7-14 are finally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Strauch (6,330,846).
Strauch discloses all of the limitations of claim 1, i.e., a tool holder for a hand-held power tool an intended workpiece as disclosed in 01:5-17, comprising:
an at least partially tubular base body carrier 2 defining an inner holder receiving bit 18, Fig. 2 that receives an insertion tool 18;
a locking device 16, 17, 19 configured to releaseably lock the received insertion tool, the locking device including a locking sleeve 16 and a locking element 17; and
a spring element 19 configured to load the locking sleeve into a locked position along a longitudinal extension of the at least partially tubular base body Fig. 2,
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (BLOCKING ELEMENT)]a blocking element annotated above associated with the locking sleeve 16,
wherein a contact element shoulder as annotated in partial Fig. 2 is defined at least partially on an inner circumference of the locking sleeve,
wherein a fixing element 15, 20 is defined on an outer circumference of the at least partially tubular base body, and
wherein the spring element 19 is configured to load the fixing element Fig. 2 against the contact element shoulder, and
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (ANGLED WALL)]wherein the blocking element is (i) displaceable along the longitudinal extension on an outer circumference of the at least partially tubular base body i.e., movable with the fixed sleeve 16 against the bias of spring 19, and/or (ii) rotatable in a circumferential direction of the at least partially tubular base body. Please note that the angled terminal wall of sleeve 16, partial Fig.2, would pull the blocking element with the sleeve backwards against the bias of the spring 19.
Regarding claim 3, PA (prior art, Strauch) meets the limitations, i.e., the tool holder according to claim 1, wherein the spring element 19 is configured to bear against the blocking element BE annotated Fig. 2 in a circumferential direction of the at least partially tubular base body and/or along the longitudinal extension.
Regarding claim 7, PA meets the limitations, i.e., tool holder according to claim 1, wherein the contact element shoulder annotated above abuts the fixing element 15, 20 along the longitudinal extension Fig. 2 and/or in the circumferential direction of the at least partially tubular base body.
Regarding claim 8, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the tool holder according to claim 1, wherein the spring element 19 abuts the fixing element 15 along the longitudinal extension Fig. 2 and/or in the circumferential direction.
Regarding claim 9, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the tool holder according to claim 1, wherein the fixing element 15 is arranged along the longitudinal extension between the contact element shoulder annotated above and the spring element 19, Fig. 2.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (1st AREA
1ST Dim)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (2ND AREA)]Regarding claim 10, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the tool holder according to claim 1, wherein the contact element shoulder is arranged along the longitudinal extension between a receiving area annotated partial Fig. 2 configured to receive the locking element 17 and the fixing element Fig. 2.
Regarding claim 11, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the tool holder according to claim 10, wherein:
the locking sleeve 16 defines a guide section sloped receiving area on an inner circumference of the locking sleeve Fig. 2, the guide section facing the at least partially tubular base body 2, and the guide section sloped section configured to guide the locking element 17, and the receiving area is arranged along the longitudinal extension between the guide section and the contact element Fig. 2.
Regarding claim 12, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the tool holder according to claim 1, wherein: the inner holder carrier 2 defines (i) a first area at a free end of the inner holder and having a first diameter annotated above, and (ii) a second area facing away from the free end and having a second diameter annotated, the second diameter is smaller than the first diameter, and an outer circumference of the insertion tool is arranged in the first area.
Regarding claim 13, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the tool holder according to claim 12, since the holder is at least capble of receiving and holding an insertion tool 18 that is a double-head bit including a similarly sized machining section that would be capable of being arranged in the second area.
CLAIM 14,
Strauch discloses all of the limitations of claim 14, i.e., a hand-held power tool chuck for an electric screwdriver 01:17, comprising:
a tool holder 2 including:
an at least partially tubular base body carrier 2 defining an inner holder receiving bit 18, Fig. 2 that receives an insertion tool 18;
a locking device 16, 17, 19 configured to releaseably lock the received insertion tool, the locking device including a locking sleeve 16 and a locking element 17; and
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (SHOULDER)]a spring element 19 configured to load the locking sleeve into a locked position along a longitudinal extension of the at least partially tubular base body Fig. 2,
a blocking element annotated above associated with the locking sleeve 16,
wherein a contact element shoulder as annotated in partial Fig. 2 above is defined at least partially on an inner circumference of the locking sleeve,
wherein a fixing element 15, 20 is defined on an outer circumference of the at least partially tubular base body,
wherein the spring element 19 is configured to load the fixing element Fig. 2 against the contact element shoulder, and
wherein the blocking element is (i) displaceable along the longitudinal extension on an outer circumference of the at least partially tubular base body i.e., movable with the fixed sleeve 16 against the bias of spring 19, and/or (ii) rotatable in a circumferential direction of the at least partially tubular base body. Please note that the angled terminal wall of sleeve 16, partial Fig.2, would pull the blocking element with the sleeve backwards against the bias of the spring 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 6 are finally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strauch in view of Martindell (4,692,073).
Strauch meets all of the limitations of claim 5, except for a terminating element associated with the blocking element, the terminating element formed in a receptacle arranged on an inner circumference of the locking sleeve.
Martindell teaches a check wherein the spring biasing the locking element is secured to the body by a flat washer 84 retained by a retaining ring terminating element 86, embodiment of Fig. 3. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to modify the invention of Strauch with a terminating element as taught by Martindell for providing a stop for the terminal end of the sleeve and the blocking element and/or it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to modify the invention of Strauch by augmenting the fixed blocking element with the terminating element 86 as taught by Martindell for ease of disassembly or service and/or as an alternative means of retaining the sleeve and spring.
Regarding claim 6, PA (prior art, Strauch modified by Martindell) meets the limitations, i.e., the tool holder according to claim 5, wherein the blocking 84 modified by Martindell element is arranged along the longitudinal extension between the spring element and the terminating element 86 Fig. 4.
Claim 13, in the alternative is finally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strauch in view of Smith (686,424).
Strauch meets all of the limitations of claim 13 as applied to claim 12 above, however in order to expedite the prosecution, Strauch does not meet a tool holder in combination with a double-head bit.
Smith teaches a screw driver kit having double-head tool bits F, wherein the driving bit is arranged in a second area having a smaller diameter than the first area defined by the receiving cavity of the chuck. The double-head bit engages the second area with shoulders @apperture K defining a stop. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to modify the invention of Strauch double-head bits secured in the second smaller diameter area by stopping shoulders as taught by taught by Smith for diversifying the tool with bits of different sizes and/or shapes.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 25, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the amendment to claim 1, reciting for a blocking element that is displaceable and/or rotatable along the longitudinal axis, reads over the teaching of Martindell. Examiner, respectfully disagrees.
As indicated above, the retaining means as disclosed in Strauch, is at least capable of moving longitudinally along the shank 5 with the sleeve 16. The retaining means is disclosed attached to the sleeve and spaced from the shank. One of ordinary skill in the art would realize that the retaining means/blocking element moves with the sleeve against the bias of the spring 19, see for example reference USP 10,343,266, wherein the retaining means or collar ring 125 fixed to collar/sleeve 120 and is movable axially relative to the barrel/shank 15 against the bias of spring 130 04:19-21, Fig. 6 shown here.
Please note that the alternative language of “and/or” only requires for one of these features to be disclosed to read over the claim. Strauch and as indicated above, meets the recitation, since the blocking element has to be movable with the sleeve to provide a supporting abutment for the spring while being compressed in a backward movement of the sleeve during operation.
Also note that Paragraph [0071] of the instant application describes for the blocking element to be displaceable along the extension, which appears to be the case only during assembly of the tool. Said paragraph only describes for the blocking element to bear against the spring and there is no description for fixedly moving with the spring during operation of the tool. Also note that the embodiment of Fig. 11 discloses a rotatable locking element in the form of a snap ring, and drawings also disclose for the rotatable and/or displaceable blocking element 330 to further be blocked between terminating element 340 and spring, such that there is no axial movement of the block and there is no disclosure for the block to move back and forth with the spring.
/Hadi Shakeri/
August 5, 2026 Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723