DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: various modules and determining units in claims 5-8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
The claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 1 recites a method for predicting a diffusion range of a hazardous gas, comprising: gridding a space area of a public scene to obtain a gridded space; performing a leakage source analysis according to the gridded space to determine a leakage feature; determining a hazardous gas prediction manner according to the leakage feature and an early warning condition, wherein the hazardous gas prediction manner includes a hazardous gas existence mode and a protective gas coexistence mode; determining a diffusion circle coverage according to the hazardous gas prediction manner and a wall barrier action; determining a hazardous gas concentration in grids covered by a diffusion circle according to the diffusion circle coverage; and determining a hazardous gas distribution according to the hazardous gas concentration, a leakage outlet and a ventilation opening,
Claim 5 recites a system for predicting a diffusion range of a hazardous gas, comprising: a gridding module configured to grid a space area of a public scene to obtain a gridded space; a leakage source analyzing module configured to perform leakage source analysis according to the gridded space to determine a leakage feature; a hazardous gas prediction manner determining module configured to determine a hazardous gas prediction manner according to the leakage feature and an early warning condition, wherein the hazardous gas prediction manner comprises a hazardous gas existence mode and a protective gas coexistence mode; a diffusion circle coverage determining module configured to determine a diffusion circle coverage according to the hazardous gas prediction manner and a wall barrier action; a hazardous gas concentration determining module configured to determine a hazardous gas concentration in grids covered by the diffusion circle according to the diffusion circle coverage; and a gas distribution determining module configured to determine a hazardous gas distribution according to the hazardous gas concentration, a leakage outlet and a ventilation opening,
Claim 9 recites an electronic device, comprising: one or more processors; and a storage device storing one or more programs thereon; wherein the one or more programs, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors for: gridding a space area of a public scene to obtain a gridded space; performing a leakage source analysis according to the gridded space to determine a leakage feature; determining a hazardous gas prediction manner according to the leakage feature and an early warning condition, wherein the hazardous gas prediction manner includes a hazardous gas existence mode and a protective gas coexistence mode; determining a diffusion circle coverage according to the hazardous gas prediction manner and a wall barrier action; determining a hazardous gas concentration in grids covered by a diffusion circle according to the diffusion circle coverage; and determining a hazardous gas distribution according to the hazardous gas concentration, a leakage outlet and a ventilation opening…
Claim 13 recites a non-transitory, computer readable medium having computer program instructions tangibly stored on the computer readable medium, wherein the computer readable instructions are executable by a processor to perform a method, the method comprising: gridding a space area of a public scene to obtain a gridded space; performing a leakage source analysis according to the gridded space to determine a leakage feature; determining a hazardous gas prediction manner according to the leakage feature and an early warning condition, wherein the hazardous gas prediction manner comprises includes a hazardous gas existence mode and a protective gas coexistence mode; determining a diffusion circle coverage according to the hazardous gas prediction manner and a wall barrier action; determining a hazardous gas concentration in grids covered by a diffusion circle according to the diffusion circle coverage; and determining a hazardous gas distribution according to the hazardous gas concentration, a leakage outlet and a ventilation opening.…
and thus grouped as Mathematical concepts – mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations.
These judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements, the data gathering step, (claims 1, 5, 9 and 13) “gridding a space area of a public scene to obtain a gridded space” are mere data gathering that do not add a meaningful limitation to the method as they are insignificant extra-solution activity. Furthermore, the additional elements (claims 5, 9 and 13) the “modules, one or more processors and executable by a processor” are recited as performing generic computer functions routinely used in computer applications. Generic computer components recited as performing generic computer functions amount to no more than using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. All of which are considered not indicative of integration into a practical application (see “Federal Register / Vol. 84, No. 4/ Monday, January 7, 2019 / Notices” – page 55, second column).
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements of the data gathering steps are mere data collect steps which fall under insignificant extra solution activity and deemed insufficient to qualify as “significantly more” - see MPEP 2106.05(g). The additional elements of the modules, one or more processors and executable by a processor are mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and deemed insufficient to qualify as “significantly more” see MPEP 2106.05(f).
Dependent claims 2-4, 6-8, 10-12, and 14-16 when analyzed as a whole are patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. §101 because the dependent claims fail to establish that the claims are not directed to an abstract idea as they are directed mathematical concepts and/or mental processes and do not add significantly more to the abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 9, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nottrott et al. [US Patent Number 10,962,437 B1; hereinafter “Nottrott”].
Regarding claim 1, Nottrott teaches a method for predicting a diffusion range of a hazardous gas (leak indication search area (LISA) indicators – figure 32 – C40L3-28), comprising:
gridding a space area of a public scene to obtain a gridded space (survey includes multiple measurement runs performed along a common path and/or in a common area - C40L3-28);
performing a leakage source analysis according to the gridded space to determine a leakage feature (spatial aggregation of quality controlled leak detections is performed using machine learning and data mining techniques, e.g. clustering - C40L3-28);
determining a hazardous gas prediction manner according to the leakage feature and an early warning condition, wherein the hazardous gas prediction manner includes a hazardous gas existence mode and a protective gas coexistence mode (statistical analysis of spatial concentration profiles and wind data is performed for the aggregated group of leak detections - C40L3-28);
determining a diffusion circle coverage according to the hazardous gas prediction manner and a wall barrier action (figure 33-D, collection for leak detection instances … slightly larger circles … slightly smaller circles – C40L48-60);
determining a hazardous gas concentration in grids covered by a diffusion circle according to the diffusion circle coverage (spatial variability of gas concentrations - C39L30-39) (figures 33-A to 33-H show gas concentrations and gas distributions – C40L29 – C42L26); and
determining a hazardous gas distribution according to the hazardous gas concentration, a leakage outlet and a ventilation opening (methane and ethane concentration during a plume detection are used to calculate the distribution of ethane/methane ratio values for each indication – C43L33-37) (figures 33-A to 33-H show gas concentrations and gas distributions – C40L29 – C42L26).
Regarding claim 5, Nottrott teaches a system for predicting a diffusion range of a hazardous gas, comprising:
a gridding module configured to grid a space area of a public scene to obtain a gridded space (survey includes multiple measurement runs performed along a common path and/or in a common area - C40L3-28);
a leakage source analyzing module configured to perform leakage source analysis according to the gridded space to determine a leakage feature (spatial aggregation of quality controlled leak detections is performed using machine learning and data mining techniques, e.g. clustering - C40L3-28);
a hazardous gas prediction manner determining module configured to determine a hazardous gas prediction manner according to the leakage feature and an early warning condition, wherein the hazardous gas prediction manner comprises a hazardous gas existence mode and a protective gas coexistence mode (statistical analysis of spatial concentration profiles and wind data is performed for the aggregated group of leak detections - C40L3-28);
a diffusion circle coverage determining module configured to determine a diffusion circle coverage according to the hazardous gas prediction manner and a wall barrier action (figure 33-D, collection for leak detection instances … slightly larger circles … slightly smaller circles – C40L48-60);
a hazardous gas concentration determining module configured to determine a hazardous gas concentration in grids covered by the diffusion circle according to the diffusion circle coverage (spatial variability of gas concentrations - C39L30-39) (figures 33-A to 33-H show gas concentrations and gas distributions – C40L29 – C42L26); and
a gas distribution determining module configured to determine a hazardous gas distribution according to the hazardous gas concentration, a leakage outlet and a ventilation opening (methane and ethane concentration during a plume detection are used to calculate the distribution of ethane/methane ratio values for each indication – C43L33-37) (figures 33-A to 33-H show gas concentrations and gas distributions – C40L29 – C42L26).
Regarding claim 9, Nottrott teaches an electronic device, comprising:
one or more processors; and a storage device storing one or more programs thereon; wherein the one or more programs, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors for:
gridding a space area of a public scene to obtain a gridded space (survey includes multiple measurement runs performed along a common path and/or in a common area - C40L3-28);
performing a leakage source analysis according to the gridded space to determine a leakage feature (spatial aggregation of quality controlled leak detections is performed using machine learning and data mining techniques, e.g. clustering - C40L3-28);
determining a hazardous gas prediction manner according to the leakage feature and an early warning condition, wherein the hazardous gas prediction manner includes a hazardous gas existence mode and a protective gas coexistence mode (statistical analysis of spatial concentration profiles and wind data is performed for the aggregated group of leak detections - C40L3-28);
determining a diffusion circle coverage according to the hazardous gas prediction manner and a wall barrier action (figure 33-D, collection for leak detection instances … slightly larger circles … slightly smaller circles – C40L48-60);
determining a hazardous gas concentration in grids covered by a diffusion circle according to the diffusion circle coverage (spatial variability of gas concentrations - C39L30-39) (figures 33-A to 33-H show gas concentrations and gas distributions – C40L29 – C42L26); and
determining a hazardous gas distribution according to the hazardous gas concentration, a leakage outlet and a ventilation opening (methane and ethane concentration during a plume detection are used to calculate the distribution of ethane/methane ratio values for each indication – C43L33-37) (figures 33-A to 33-H show gas concentrations and gas distributions – C40L29 – C42L26).
Regarding claim 13, Nottrott teaches a non-transitory, computer readable medium having computer program instructions tangibly stored on the computer readable medium, wherein the computer readable instructions are executable by a processor to perform a method, the method comprising:
gridding a space area of a public scene to obtain a gridded space (survey includes multiple measurement runs performed along a common path and/or in a common area - C40L3-28);
performing a leakage source analysis according to the gridded space to determine a leakage feature (spatial aggregation of quality controlled leak detections is performed using machine learning and data mining techniques, e.g. clustering - C40L3-28);
determining a hazardous gas prediction manner according to the leakage feature and an early warning condition, wherein the hazardous gas prediction manner includes a hazardous gas existence mode and a protective gas coexistence mode (statistical analysis of spatial concentration profiles and wind data is performed for the aggregated group of leak detections - C40L3-28);
determining a diffusion circle coverage according to the hazardous gas prediction manner and a wall barrier action (figure 33-D, collection for leak detection instances … slightly larger circles … slightly smaller circles – C40L48-60);
determining a hazardous gas concentration in grids covered by a diffusion circle according to the diffusion circle coverage (spatial variability of gas concentrations - C39L30-39) (figures 33-A to 33-H show gas concentrations and gas distributions – C40L29 – C42L26); and
determining a hazardous gas distribution according to the hazardous gas concentration, a leakage outlet and a ventilation opening (methane and ethane concentration during a plume detection are used to calculate the distribution of ethane/methane ratio values for each indication – C43L33-37) (figures 33-A to 33-H show gas concentrations and gas distributions – C40L29 – C42L26).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4, 6-8, 10-12, and 14-16 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 101, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claims 2, 6, 10 and 14 are objected to because the closest prior art, Nottrott et al. [US Patent Number 10,962,437 B1], fails to anticipate or render obvious determining whether the public scene meets the early warning condition to obtain a first determination result, wherein the early warning condition is that the hazardous gas reaches a security alert or a protective gas valve has been turned on; if the first determination result is yes, determining that the hazardous gas prediction manner is the protective gas coexistence mode; and if the first determination result is no, determining that the hazardous gas prediction manner is the hazardous gas existence mode, in combination with all other limitations in the claim(s) as defined by applicant.
Claims 3, 7, 11 and 15 are objected to because the closest prior art, Nottrott et al. [US Patent Number 10,962,437 B1], fails to anticipate or render obvious determining whether an action with a wall barrier takes place to obtain a second determination result; if the second determination result is yes, determining the diffusion circle coverage according to the hazardous gas existence mode of the hazardous gas prediction manner and a gas diffusion rule with a barrier; and if the second determination result is no, determining the diffusion circle coverage according to the hazardous gas existence mode of the hazardous gas prediction manner, a wind velocity, and the gas diffusion rule without a barrier, in combination with all other limitations in the claim(s) as defined by applicant.
Claim 4, 8, 12 and 16 are objected to because the closest prior art, Nottrott et al. [US Patent Number 10,962,437 B1], fails to anticipate or render obvious determining whether an action with the ventilation opening takes place to obtain a third determination result; if the third determination result is yes, determining the hazardous gas distribution according to a size and a position of the ventilation opening, the hazardous gas concentration and the leakage outlet; and if the third determination result is no, determining the hazardous gas distribution according to the hazardous gas concentration and the leakage outlet, in combination with all other limitations in the claim(s) as defined by applicant.
Relevant Prior Art / Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ogiso et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0232741 A1) discloses a fluid leakage detection system that respectively detect values of detection target amounts based on distributions of the values of detection target amounts acquired;
Muralidhar et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2019/0285504 A1) discloses heuristic-based techniques for gas leak source identification.
/RICKY GO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857