CTFR 18/473,924 CTFR 89972 DETAILED ACTION This action is in response to the applicant’s reply on April 30, 2026. Claims 1, 3-12, and 14-22 are pending and addressed below. Response to Amendment Claims 1, 3-6, 11-12, 14-20 have been amended. Claims 21-22 are newly added. Claims 1, 3-12, and 14-22 are pending and addressed below. Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-12, and 14-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-103 AIA The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1, 3-12, and 14-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dinant et al., US 2019/0168583 (hereinafter Dinant) in view of Leopold, German Patent No. DE 10 2022 130 819 A1 (hereinafter Leopold) (all citations are to the English translation dated 2026) . Claim 1: Dinant disclose a vent system (outlet device 1 ) for a motor vehicle (ventilation of a vehicle interior V, see Fig 1, par [0051] ), the vent system comprising: a vent conduit (housing H of outlet device 1) defining a vent conduit inlet (air inlet orifice 11 ) (see Fig 1 ); a vent outlet (air outlet orifice 12) separated from the vent conduit inlet (air inlet orifice 11 ) (as shown in Fig 1, par [0051] ); a first vent channel (first air channel C1 ) including a first vent channel inlet (at arrow F2 in Fig 1 ) in fluid communication with the vent conduit inlet ( 11 ) and a first channel nozzle (opposing circumferential section 23a ) defining a first fluid flow path to the vent outlet ( 12 ) along a first direction (first partial volume flow direction 5 ); and a second vent channel (second air channel C2) including a second vent channel inlet (at arrow F1 in Fig 1 ) in fluid communication with the vent conduit inlet ( 11 ) and a second channel nozzle (opposing circumferential section 23b ) defining a second fluid flow path to the vent outlet ( 12 ) along a second direction (second partial volume flow direction 6 ) convergent with the first direction (at outlet flow FE ) (see par [0051], [0059] ); a separator panel (central body 30 with first air-directing surface 31 and second air-directing surface 32 ) disposed between the first vent channel ( C1 ) and the second vent channel ( C2 ) and extending from a first separator end at the vent conduit inlet (air inlet orifice 11 ) to a second separator end at the vent outlet (air outlet orifice 12) (as shown in Fig 1) ; and a primary flap ( 50, 60 ) having a first flap end ( 50 ) pivotally attached to the vent conduit (housing H of outlet device 1 ) adjacent to the first separator end ( 11 ) and an opposite second flap end ( 60 ) configured to selectively obstruct each of the first vent channel inlet and the second vent channel inlet (see Fig 11-18 ). Dinant is silent as to the second separator end recessed from the vent outlet. Leopold discloses a ventilation system including a separator panel (flow body 11 ) disposed between a first and second channel (as shown in Fig 4 ). The separator extending from a first separator end at the vent conduit inlet (rear end portion 12 ) and a second separator end (front end portion 15 ) recessed from the vent outlet (air outlet 10 ) (as shown in Fig 4 ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the second separator end of Dinant to be recessed from the vent out as disclosed by Leopold, as one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of a recessed separator end would have yielded the predictable results of simplified air flow system without extruding parts. Claim 11: Dinant discloses a dash panel for a passenger compartment of a motor vehicle (shown in Fig 10 ), the dash panel comprising: an upper dash panel including a first distal end (located above 1 in Fig 10 ); a lower dash panel (located below 1 in Fig 10 ) spaced apart from the upper dash panel (as shown in Fig 10) including a second distal end (see Fig 10 ); a vent outlet (air outlet orifice 12) disposed between the first distal end of the upper dash panel (located above outlet device 1) and the second distal end of the lower dash panel (located below outlet device 1) (as shown in Fig 9-10 ); and a vent system (outlet device 1 ) disposed between the upper dash panel (located above outlet device 1 ) and the lower dash panel (located below outlet device 1 ) (shown in Fig 10 ) and in communication with the vent outlet ( 12 ) (as shown in Fig 9-10 ), the vent system ( 1 ) including: a vent conduit inlet (air inlet orifice 11 ); a vent conduit (housing H of outlet device 1) having a length extending along a longitudinal axis (see Fig 1 ) and including a first vent channel (first air channel C1 ) including a first vent channel inlet (at arrow F2 in Fig 1 ) in fluid communication with the vent conduit inlet ( 11 ) and a first channel nozzle (opposing circumferential section 23a ) defining a first fluid flow path to the vent outlet ( 12 ) along a first direction (first partial volume flow direction 5 ); and a second vent channel (second air channel C2) including a second vent channel inlet (at arrow F1 in Fig 1 ) in fluid communication with the vent conduit inlet ( 11 ) and a second channel nozzle (opposing circumferential section 23b ) defining a second fluid flow path to the vent outlet ( 12 ) along a second direction (second partial volume flow direction 6 ) convergent with the first direction (at outlet flow FE ) (see par [0051], [0059] ); and a separator (central body 30 with first air-directing surface 31 and second air-directing surface 32 ) disposed between the first vent channel ( C1 ) and the second vent channel ( C2 ) and extending from a first separator end at the vent conduit inlet (air inlet orifice 11 ) to a second separator end at the vent outlet (air outlet orifice 12) (as shown in Fig 1). Dinant is silent as to the second separator end recessed from the vent outlet. Leopold discloses a ventilation system including a separator (flow body 11 ) disposed between a first and second channel (as shown in Fig 4 ). The separator extending from a first separator end at the vent conduit inlet (rear end portion 12 ) and a second separator end (front end portion 15 ) recessed from the vent outlet (air outlet 10 ) (as shown in Fig 4 ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the second separator end of Dinant to be recessed from the vent out as disclosed by Leopold, as one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of a recessed separator end would have yielded the predictable results of simplified air flow system without extruding parts. Claim 12: Dinant further discloses the vent system further comprises a primary flap (first flap 50 and second flap 60 ) disposed in the vent conduit inlet ( 11 ) and configured to selectively obstruct the first vent channel inlet ( C1 ) or the second vent channel inlet ( C2 ) (see Fig 1, par [0064] ). Claim 3: Dinant further discloses wherein the first vent channel ( C1 ) and the second vent channel ( C2 ) are each at least partially defined by a separator panel (central body 30 with first air-directing surface 31 and second air-directing surface 32 ) disposed between the primary flap ( 50, 60 ) and the vent outlet ( 12 ). Claims 4 and 14: Dinant further discloses further comprising a first secondary vane (vertical fins 71, 72, 73. 74, 75) disposed in the first vent channel ( C1 ) (see Fig 1, 3, 5 ) and a second secondary vane (vertical fins 71, 72, 73. 74, 75 ) disposed in the second vent channel ( C2 ) (see Fig 1, 3, 5 ), each of the first secondary vane (vertical fins 71, 72, 73. 74, 75 ) and the second secondary vane (vertical fins 71, 72, 73. 74, 75 ) configured to selectively rotate to direct a flow of air in a lateral direction (vertical fins are pivotally mounted to the housing 10 with providing a respective fin-adjustment axis D71, D72, D73, D74, D75 , see Fig 3-7, par [0088]-[0090] ). Claims 5: Dinant further discloses the wherein the second end of the separator panel (Leopold, at 15) , the first secondary vane (vertical fins 71, 72, 73. 74, 75 ) and the second secondary vane (vertical fins 71, 72, 73. 74, 75 ) are completely recessed from the vent outlet ( 12 ) (as shown in Fig 3-7, par [0090]-[0091] ). Claim 6 and 15: Dinant, as modified by Leopold discloses a primary vane motor configured to rotate the primary vane (Leopold, a first actuator for pivoting the first air guide element 23, pg 3 ), and a secondary vane motor configured to rotate the secondary vane (Leopold, a second actuator for pivoting the second air guide element 24, pg 3 ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the primary vane and the secondary vane of Dinant to further include primary and secondary vane motors respectively, as one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of vane motors would have yielded the predictable results of controlling the primary and secondary vanes in order to adjust the air flow into the interior of the vehicle. Claim 16: Dinant further discloses wherein a height of at least one of the first vent channel ( C1 ) and the second vent channel ( C2 ) tapers along the direction from the vent conduit inlet ( 11 ) to the vent outlet ( 12 ) (as shown Fig 3 ). Claims 7 and 17: Dinant further discloses wherein the first vent channel ( C1 ) extends along a first arcuate (curved) path (first inner surface section 21 ) and the second vent channel ( C2 ) extends along a second arcuate (curved) path (second inner surface section 22 ) (as shown in Fig 3, par [0060] ). Claims 8 and 18: Dinant further discloses wherein the first channel nozzle (circumferential section 23a ) includes a first nozzle outlet (opening at 23a ) defining a first nozzle axis (axis of 23a ) and the second channel nozzle (circumferential sections 23b ) includes a second nozzle outlet (opening at 23b ) defining a second nozzle axis (axis of 23b ) that converges with the first nozzle axis (opposing circumferential sections 23a, 23b meet each other in an intersection point P23 or intersection line in the first reference plane E1, see Fig 3, par [0059]). Claims 9 and 19: Dinant further discloses wherein the first nozzle outlet (at 23a ) is disposed adjacent to the second nozzle outlet (at 23b ) at the vent outlet (opening at 23a i s next to the opening at 23b, Fig 3, par [0059]). Claims 10 and 20: Dinant further discloses wherein the first nozzle outlet (at 23a ) is separated from the second nozzle outlet (at 23b ) at the vent outlet (separated by fin adjustment device A70 and central body 30 , F ig 3, par [0061], [0093] ). Claim 21: Dinant, as modified by Leopold, discloses wherein no part of the vent system extends through the vent outlet (Leopold, 9, 10 ) (Leopold, Fig 1-4 ). Claim 22: Dinant, as modified by Leopold, discloses wherein the vent system does not include external actuators within the passenger compartment of the motor vehicle (Leopold, as shown in Fig 1-4 ) . Conclusion 12-151-07 AIA 07-97 12-51-07 Claim s 1, 3-12, and 14-22are rejected. No claims are allowed. 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CAROLINE N BUTCHER whose telephone number is (571)272-1623. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 10-6 pm EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Tara E Schimpf can be reached at (571) 270-7741. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /CAROLINE N BUTCHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3676 Application/Control Number: 18/473,924 Page 2 Art Unit: 3676 Application/Control Number: 18/473,924 Page 3 Art Unit: 3676 Application/Control Number: 18/473,924 Page 4 Art Unit: 3676 Application/Control Number: 18/473,924 Page 5 Art Unit: 3676 Application/Control Number: 18/473,924 Page 6 Art Unit: 3676 Application/Control Number: 18/473,924 Page 7 Art Unit: 3676