DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claims 29-43 are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: The previously presented and new inventions are related as mutually exclusive species in an intermediate-final product relationship. Distinctness is proven for claims in this relationship if the intermediate product is useful to make other than the final product and the species are patentably distinct (MPEP § 806.05(j)). In the instant case, the intermediate product is deemed to be useful as a sound dampening coating and the inventions are deemed patentably distinct because there is nothing of record to show them to be obvious variants.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 29-43 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wittwer et al. (US 2022/0186069) in view of Smith et al. (Journal of Polymer Science, Vol. 42, 391-416, 1960).
Considering Claims 16 and 18-25: Wittwer et al. teaches a polyurethane coating composition comprising a first component that comprises 7.5 weight percent of castor oil and 9.9 weight percent of dipropylene glycol/polyols; 2.0 weight percent of trifunctional polypropylene glycol/a triol; optionally less than 2 weight percent of plasticizer (¶0118); 9 weight percent of calcium carbonate; soy lecithin/a dispersant; a silane/adhesion promoter; and pyrogenic silica/a rheology modifier; and dibutyl tin dilaurate/a catalyst (Table 2); and a second component comprising polymeric diphenyl methylene diisocyanate/an aromatic diisocyanate (Table 2).
Wittwer et al. does not teach the Young’s modulus of the composition. However, Smith et al. teaches a polyurethane coating having a Young’s modulus of 80 psi/0.55 MPa (Table 1). Wittwer et al. and Smith et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely polyurethane coatings. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have prepared a polyurethane with the Young’s modulus of Smith et al. in the invention of Wittwer et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, as Smith et al. suggests, to provide an elastomeric coating to the surface (Introduction).
Wittwer et al. does not teach applying the waterproofing polyurethane composition onto an article with a pre-applied waterproofing membrane. However, this is a statement of intended use. If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Shoes by Firebug LLC v. Stride Rite Children’s Grp., LLC, 962 F.3d 1362, 2020 USPQ2d 10701 (Fed. Cir. 2020) (The court found that the preamble in one patent’s claim is limiting but is not in a related patent); Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP § 2111.02.
The Office realizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference(s). However, the reference(s) teaches all of the claimed ingredients, in the claimed amounts, and teaches the composition as being made by a substantially similar process. The original specification does not provide any disclosure on how to obtain the claimed properties outside the components of the composition itself. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. peel adhesion with hardened concrete, would necessarily arise from a composition with all the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts. "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. If it is the applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching enabling a person of ordinary skill in the art to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients, absent undue experimentation.
Considering Claim 17: Wittwer et al. teaches that the triol can be trimethylolpropane (¶0069).
Considering Claim 26: The means of applying the hardened concrete is a statement of intended use. If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Shoes by Firebug LLC v. Stride Rite Children’s Grp., LLC, 962 F.3d 1362, 2020 USPQ2d 10701 (Fed. Cir. 2020) (The court found that the preamble in one patent’s claim is limiting but is not in a related patent); Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP § 2111.02.
.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wittwer et al. (US 2022/0186069) in view of Smith et al. (Journal of Polymer Science, Vol. 42, 391-416, 1960) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Foley et al. (US 2004/0087754).
Considering Claim 28: Wittwer et al. teaches the composition of claim 1 as set forth previous.
Wittwer et al. does not teach the triol as being from the claimed group. However, Foley et al. teaches using trimethylolethane as the triol chain extender for a polyurethane coating (¶0026). Wittwer et al. and Foley et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely polyurethane coatings. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have used the triol of Foley et al. in the coating of Wittwer et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, as Foley et al. suggests, it is a known chain extender for polyurethane coatings.
Response to Arguments
The applicant’s arguments were addressed in the advisory action mailed August 24, 2026.
Correspondence
/LIAM J HEINCER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767